الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا

Photo Shutterstock
Photo Shutterstock

المحتويات

    Loading index...

حدود الدولة

تقع تركيا عند التقاء القارتين الآسيوية والأوروبية، وتحدها سوريا (877 كم) والعراق (331 كم) من الجنوب، وإيران (454 كم) وأرمينيا (316 كم) وجورجيا (276 كم) من الشرق والشمال الشرقي، وبلغاريا (269 كم) واليونان (212 كم) من الشمال الغربي. لتركيا حوالي 5000 كم من الحدود البحرية مع رومانيا وروسيا وأوكرانيا وقبرص.

نظراً لكونها تفصل بين أراضٍ أو مناطق ثقافية عربية وفارسية وروسية وتركية، خضعت أجزاء كبيرة من الحدود التركية إلى نزاعات على مر التاريخ. شهد القرن السادس عشر صراعات متواصلة بين الامبراطورية العثمانية وبلاد فارس، غير أنها لم تؤد إلى تغييرات هامة على الحدود الفاصلة بينهما والمحددة بموجب اتفاقية جالديران عام 1514. وأدت النزاعات بين روسيا والعثمانيين، والتي اشتدت في القرن التاسع عشر، إلى تغيير الحدود مرات عديدة، خاصة بعد نهاية حرب 1877-1878، وذلك قبل تثبيتها نهائياً بموجب معاهدة موسكو عام 1921. وتم تحديد الحدود الفاصلة بين تركيا والعراق وسوريا بعد تفكيك الامبراطورية العثمانية واحتلال القوات البريطانية والفرنسية لمحافظات الباب العالي السابقة بعد نهاية الحرب العالمية الأولى في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1918. وتم رسم الحدود الغربية وفق تقدم أو تراجع القوات العثمانية أثناء حروب البلقان 1912-1913 وتثبيتها في مؤتمر لوزان.

تم إضفاء الطابع العسكري على الحدود التركية خلال القرن العشرين، ولا تزال كذلك حتى يومنا هذا: رغم وفاق البلقان 1934 القصير الأجل بين تركيا واليونان ورومانيا ويوغوسلافيا، وتوتر العلاقات بين أنقرة وأثينا؛ وتمت عسكرة الحدود مع بلغاريا والقوقاز بشكل كبير خلال الحرب الباردة، فضلاً عن الحدود الجنوبية مع إيران والعراق وسوريا، والتي تقسم كردستان إلى أربعة كيانات تابعة. وبقيت الحدود الأرمينية التركية مغلقة منذ نزاع كاراباخ بين باكو ويريفان (1988-1994)، والذي اشتد بعد انهيار الاتحاد السوفييتي في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1991.

تركيا الجغرافياتركيا الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا والمناخ

في العشرينيات، استبدل النظام الكمالي (1923-1945) إسطنبول بأنقرة كعاصمة لتركيا، وقسّم تركيا إلى سبعة أقاليم: مرمرة وإيجة والبحر الأسود والبحر المتوسط ووسط الأناضول والأناضول الشرقية وجنوب شرق الأناضول.

لا تمثل تراقيا الشرقية – التي تضم محافظات أدرنة وكيركلاريلي وتيكيرداغ، بالإضافة إلى الجزء الأوروبي من إسطنبول – سوى 3% من مساحة البلاد الإجمالية البالغة 780,000 كم2. يبلغ عدد سكان تراقيا خارج إسطنبول 1,521,328 نسمة، أو 2,1% من إجمالي عدد السكان.

تشمل مشاريع “إسطنبول الكبرى”، التي اقترحتها حكومة أردوغان، بناء جسر ثالث يصل أوروبا بآسيا بهدف استقطاب حوالي مليوني شخص إلى هذه المنطقة في المستقبل القريب.

ليس لتركيا الكثير من البحيرات – أكبرها بحيرة وان، مساحتها 3755 كم2 – وإنما العديد من الأنهار، مثل نهري دجلة (1900 كم) والفرات (2780 كم) اللذين ينبعان من نفس المنطقة، ونهري قزلرماك (النهر الأحمر) (1150 كم) ويزلرماك (520 كم)، ونهري مندريس الصغير والكبير (548 كم و 157 كم على التوالي).

تتميز الطبيعة في تركيا بالتنوع، مع تباينات كبيرة، من تراقيا إلى القوقاز، بما في ذلك المناطق الساحلية ووادي الأناضول. يؤثر هذا التنوع على المناخ: المتوسطي في سواحل بحر إيجة والبحر الأبيض المتوسط؛ والمعتدل والممطر في سواحل البحر الأسود؛ والقاري في المناطق الوسطى؛ وشبه الجاف في المنطقة الجنوبية الشرقية؛ والقاري، مع رياح سيبيرية، على طول حدود جبال القوقاز مع إيران وأرمينيا.

تتراوح درجات الحرارة القصوى في إسطنبول بين 18-28 في الصيف، وتنخفض إلى 5 في الشتاء. وتتراوح درجات الحرارة في أنقرة تبعاً للفصل بين 0-30. وفي إزمير وقسم كبير من منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، تكون مرتفعة على الدوام: 16 درجة مئوية. وفي شانلورفا، تتراوح درجات الحرارة بحسب الفصول بين 3-40، وديار بكر بين -2 و 40 تقريباً، وفي أرضروم بين -12 (تنخفض إلى -35) و 27، وفي زنغولداك على ساحل البحر الأسود 3-26.

يتنوع معدل هطول الأمطار بشكل كبير وفق المنطقة والفصل: 10-50 ملم في أنقرة؛ 20-70 ملم في ديار بكر و شانلورفا؛ 21-70 ملم في أرضروم؛ 21-105 ملم في إسطنبول؛ 50-140 ملم في زنغولداك. وتفسر هذه الاختلافات الفصلية الجفاف في جزء كبير من تركيا، وخاصة في الفترة الممتدة بين شهري حزيران/يونيو وأيلول/سبتمبر.

تركيا الجغرافيا

تركيا الجغرافيا

الزلازل

تقع تركيا في جزء من العالم حيث النشاط الزلزالي مرتفع. وفي كل يوم يتم تسجيل 15-20 هزة أرضية طفيفة. ويضرب البلاد زلزال شديد مرة كل عام.

هناك كسر يعبر الأناضول من الجنوب الغربي إلى الشمال الشرقي. ويشكل هذا الكسر حدود الصفيحة العربية شرقاً وصفيحة الأناضول غرباً. ونتيجة لحركة الصفيحة العربية شمالاً، تحدث في منطقة الكسر هذه بشكل خاص تصدعات أفقية في القشرة الأرضية، والتي ينشأ عنها ضغوط تتفرغ على شكل هزات أرضية.

تحدث معظمها على طول ما يسمى بصدع الأناضول الشمالي (الموازي لساحل البحر الأسود)، أو على طول صدع الأناضول الشرقي (كردستان التركية).

حدث الزلزال المدمر الأخير في 17 آب/أغسطس عام 1999 في محافظة كوجالي غرب تركيا. وكانت شدته 7,6 درجة على مقياس ريختر. وكان مركز الزلزال جنوب غربي مدينة ازميت، على بعد 80 كم من إسطنبول، في جزء من البلاد مكتظ بالسكان حيث تتركز مناطق صناعية كثيرة. لم يكن العدد الكبير من الضحايا فقط لأن المنطقة كانت مكتظة بالسكان، وإنما أيضاً فاجأ الزلزال الناس في منتصف الليل وهم نياماً: وفق تقديرات متحفظة، نحو 17,000 قتيل و 45,000 جريح. أصيب ما يقرب من 70% من المباني، بما في ذلك العديد من الشركات، بأضرار جسيمة أو انهارت. وبشكل عام، تضررت البنية التحتية بشدة. وقدرت الأضرار المادية الإجمالية بنحو 5 مليارات دولار.

وان عام 2011
وان عام 2011

صدع شمال الأناضول

حدد العلماء هجرة الزلازل نحو الشرق على طول منطقة صدع شمال الأناضول البالغ 1300 كم، مما يثير التساؤل حول إمكانية حدوث زلزال في مدينة إسطنبول، حيث يعيش ملايين السكان.
تركيا الجغرافيا

التنوع الحيوي والبيئة الطبيعية

بفضل تنوع المناطق المناخية، هناك حوالي 3000 نوع من النباتات المستوطنة في تركيا، وهي نباتات لا تتواجد إلا في إحدى مناطقها. أثنت منظمة الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة (WWF) على وعي – حتى ولو جاء متأخراً – السلطات في أنقرة، والتي أنشأت في السنوات القليلة الماضية مناطق محميات خاصة وشاركت بشكل كبير في نشاطات “وكالة حماية البيئة في المناطق الخاصة”.

تتمثل البيئة الطبيعية المتغيرة في تركيا على وجه الخصوص بموقعين معروفين عالمياً، وهما: “باموكال“، حيث حولت المياه الغنية بالمعادن المنطقة إلى “قلعة قطن”؛ و “كبادوكيا“، منطقة بركانية حيث تشكل المخاريط البازلتية أبراجاً مدهشة غير قابلة للنفاذ اتخذها الرهبان كمناسك وأماكن للعبادة.

يقسم القانون رقم 2873 المتعلق بحماية الحدائق الوطنية، والذي دخل حيز التنفيذ عام 1983، التراث الطبيعي في تركيا إلى أربع فئات: 33 حديقة وطنية (بما في ذلك Aladağlar و Uludağ وBey dağları الساحلية وبحيرة Beyşehir و Gala Gölüو Kazdağı)؛ و 16 حديقة طبيعية (بما في ذلك بحيرة Abant و Çorum Çatak و Gölcük و Polonezköy). كما تصنف 35 محمية طبيعية لحماية الأنواع التي تقطنها (بما في ذلك Bolu و SakaGölü وبحيرة Saka و Büyük Menderes ومارماريس وجبل نمرود).

تركيا الجغرافيا

الموارد الطبيعية

حتى ولو كانت تركيا – التي تحتل المرتبة 61 على صعيد إنتاج النفط في العالم: أكثر من 50,000 برميل في اليوم – تعتمد بشكل شبه كامل على العراق وإيران وروسيا للتزود بالطاقة، إلا أنها تملك موارد مائية كبيرة. وفق المكتب الدولي للمياه، تقدّر الموارد المائية في تركيا بـ 231,70 كم3 في السنة أو 3439 كم3 للفرد الواحد في السنة. تنقسم تركيا إلى 26 حوضاً مائياً، تحتوي على حوالي 186 مليار م3 من المياه.

تركيا غنية أيضاً بالمعادن. وتحتوي على 65% تقريباً من احتياطي البورون في العالم – يصل إنتاج تركيا السنوي من البورون إلى 2,2 مليون طن في العام. وتحتل تركيا المرتبة العاشرة عالمياً في الإنتاج الكلي من المعادن؛ وتنتج حوالي 60 معدناً – بما في ذلك الكروم والنحاس (أكثر من 60,000 طن في السنة) والبوكسيت والمنغنيز والكبريت والنيكل والرخام والفحم والذهب، بكميات صغيرة – محققة بذلك إيرادات سنوية بقيمة 2,5 مليار دولار.

تركيا الجغرافيا

المشاكل البيئية

وفق UBIFRANCE، المكتب التجاري الفرنسي، سيبقى الوضع البيئي مثيراً للقلق، على الرغم من اعتماد العديد من القوانين في السنوات الأخيرة: تركيا بحاجة إلى نحو 70 مليار دولار لضمان الامتثال للمعايير الدولية لحماية البيئة: 56 مليار دولار لإدارة المياه التي إما ملوثة أو غير معالجة بشكل كافٍ (76% من المياه في تركيا سطحية و 24% جوفية)؛ و 14 مليار للتخلص من النفايات الصناعية الخطرة والحد من التلوث الصناعي. وفق UBIFRANCE، يتم معالجة أقل من نصف النفايات وفق المعايير التي فرضتها تركيا على نفسها وغير القادرة على الوفاء بها.

السبب الآخر للتلوث هو الاستخدام المكثف للفحم (الفحم الحجري البني في الغالب، احتياطي تركيا منه 12,3 مليار طن). تستهلك محطات الطاقة التركية حوالي 79 مليون طن من الفحم سنوياً (76% من الكمية الإجمالية)، في حين تستهلك الصناعة والقطاع الخاص 10 و 14 مليون طن على التوالي، لأغراض التدفئة بشكل رئيسي. خلال فصل الشتاء، يساهم الفحم الذي توزعه البلديات مجاناً في تلوث الهواء ويحد من مدى الرؤية في المدن متوسطة الحجم، مثل دنيزلي. والحكومات المحلية ليست الوحيدة المسؤولة عن التلوث، فالحكومة المركزية أيضاً لا تمارس رقابة على الاستخدام المفرط للفحم لتطوير المشاريع العملاقة.

كان لمشاريع المياه الضخمة التي تم تنفيذها في الستينات عواقب إيكولوجية كبيرة. على سبيل المثال، أحدث مشروع الأناضول الجنوبي، الذي يوفر 12% من الكهرباء في البلاد، بشكل كبير في تغييرات في الطبيعة وهدد بغمر موقع هاسانكيف القديم. وحالياً، يتم تنفيذ مشاريع سدود أخرى في منطقة البحر الأسود، على الرغم من المعارضة المحلية الشديدة.

Home / Turkey / Geography

Geography

Geography Turkey - Seashore Climate
Photo Shutterstock

Contents

    Loading index...

State Borders

Located at the crossroads of Asia and Europe, Turkey shares borders with Syria (877 kilometres) and Iraq (331 kilometres) to the south; Iran (454 kilometres), Armenia (316 kilometres), and Georgia (276 kilometres) to the east or north-east; and Bulgaria (269 kilometres) and Greece (212 kilometres) to the north-west. The country also has about 5,000 kilometres of maritime borders with Romania, Russia, Ukraine, and Cyprus.

Separating as they do the Arabic, Persian, Russian, and Turkish states or cultural areas, large sections of the Turkish borders have been subject to conflicts throughout history. The 16th century was marked by chronic conflicts between the Ottoman Empire and Persia, which made no major changes to the borders defined between the two states by the Treaty of Chaldiran in 1514. Conflict between Russia and the Ottomans, which was intense in the 19th century, resulted in many changes in the borders, especially following the end of the 1877-1878 war, before those borders were permanently defined by the Treaty of Moscow (1921). Turkey’s borders with Iraq and Syria were defined after the dissolution of the Ottoman Empire and the British and French occupation of the former provinces of the Sublime Porte following the end of World War I in October 1918. The western borders were defined by the retreats and advances of the Ottoman Army during the Balkan Wars of 1912 and 1913 and were confirmed at the Conference of Lausanne, in 1923.

The Turkish borders were highly militarized throughout the 20th century and remain so today: despite the short-lived Balkan Pact of 1934 between Turkey, Greece, Romania, and Yugoslavia, relations between Ankara and Athens were often tense; the borders with Bulgaria and in the Caucasus were heavily militarized during the Cold War, as were the borders with Iran, Iraq, and Syria, which divide Kurdistan into four state entities. The Armenian-Turkish border has remained closed since the Karabakh conflict between Yerevan and Baku (1988-1994), which intensified after the dissolution of the USSR in December 1991.

Geography Turkey - Borders Map
Elevation Map of Turkey
Geography Turkey - Cyprus Map
Map of Northern Cyprus

Geography and Climate

In 1920, the Kemalist regime (1923-1945) replaced Istanbul with Ankara as the capital of Turkey and divided the nation into seven regions: Marmara, Aegean, Black Sea, Mediterranean, Central Anatolia, Eastern Anatolia, and South-Eastern Anatolia.

Eastern Thrace – which includes the provinces of Edirne, Kırklareli, and Tekirdağ, as well as the European part of Istanbul – represents only 3 percent of the total area of the country (780,000 square kilometres). The population of Thrace outside Istanbul is 1,521,328, or 2.1 percent of the total population.

The ‘Great Istanbul’ projects put forward by the government of Prime Minister Erdoğan include, in particular, a third bridge connecting Europe and Asia, with the aim of attracting an average of two million people to this area in the near future.

Turkey has few lakes – the largest is Lake Van, with an area of 3,755 square kilometres – but it has many rivers, including the Tigris (1,900 kilometres) and the Euphrates (2,780 kilometres), which have their sources in the same area; the Kızılırmak (Red) River (1,150 kilometres); the Yeşilırmak (Green) River (520 kilometres); and the Büyük and Küçük Menderes (Great and Little Maeander) rivers (548 kilometres and 175 kilometres respectively).

The landscape of Turkey is diverse, with strong contrasts, from Thrace to the Caucasus, including coastal regions and Anatolian steppes. This diversity affects the climate, which is Mediterranean on the coasts of the Aegean and the Mediterranean Sea, temperate and rainy on the coasts of the Black Sea, continental in the central parts, semi-arid in the south-east, and continental, with Siberian winds, along the Caucasus Mountains borders with Iran and Armenia.

The maximum temperatures in Istanbul range from 18 to 28 °C during the summer and decrease to an average of 5 °C during the winter. Ankara’s temperature varies seasonally from 0 to 30 °C. The average annual temperature in Izmir and much of the Mediterranean area is always high (16 °C). The temperatures range seasonally from 3 to 40 °C in Şanlıurfa; minus 2 to about 40 °C in Diyarbakır; minus 12 (with minimum temperatures as low as minus 35) to 27 °C in Erzurum; and 3 to 26 °C in Zonguldak, on the Black Sea coast. Rainfall varies considerably by region and season, ranging from 10 to 50 millimetres in Ankara; from 20 to 70 millimetres in Diyarbakır and Şanlıurfa; from 21 to 70 millimetres in Erzurum; from 21 to 105 millimetres in Istanbul; and from 50 to 140 millimetres in Zonguldak. Seasonal variations explain the drought observed in much of Turkey, especially between June and September.

Geography Turkey - Climate Map
Rainfall in Turkey
Geography Turkey - Climate Chart
Average Temperature and Rainfall per City

Earthquakes

Turkey is situated in a part of world subject to high levels of seismic activity. Fifteen to twenty light earthquakes are monitored on a daily basis. Heavy earthquakes occur periodically.

A fault line runs straight across Anatolia from the south-west to the north-east. The fault line stretches along the plate boundary in a zone of collision between the Arabian plate in the east and the Anatolian plate in the west. The northward migration of the Arabian plate causes horizontal fault slips, storing strain energy which, when released, results in earthquakes.

Most of the earthquakes occur in the so-called North Anatolian Fault zone (parallel to the Black Sea coast), as well as in the East Anatolian Fault zone (in Turkish Kurdistan). Turkey’s most recent devastating earthquake, with a 7.6 magnitude on the Richter Scale, took place on 17 August 1999 in the Kocaeli province in West Turkey. The epicentre was located to the south-west of the city of İzmit, 80 kilometres from Istanbul, in a densely populated and highly industrialized area. The earthquake took place in the middle of the night, when most people were in bed asleep, and in densely populated area, which explains the high death toll – conservative estimates put the figure at around 17,000 – and number of casualties – 45,000 injured. About 70 percent of the buildings, including many industrial facilities, sustained heavy damage and collapsed. On the whole the infrastructure suffered severely. At the time the total material damage was estimated at USD 5 billion.

North Anatolian Fault

Scientists have signalled an eastward migration of the earthquakes along the 1,300 kilometre-long North Anatolian Fault zone, prompting the question whether Istanbul, with its population of thirteen million, will be hit by an earthquake.

Geography Turkey
Seismic Activity along the North Anatolian Fault

Biodiversity and Natural Environment

Because it has many climatic zones, Turkey has nearly 3,000 endemic plants, that is, plants that are found exclusively in one of its regions. The Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF) has welcomed the awareness – even if it has been slow in coming – of the authorities in Ankara, who have, in the last few years, established SPAs (Specially Protected Areas) and participated fully in the activities of the Turkish government’s Environmental Protection Agency for Special Areas.

The diverse natural environment of Turkey is exemplified by two internationally recognized sites: Pamukkale, where mineral-rich waters have turned the area into a ‘cotton castle’, and Cappadocia, a volcanic area where basaltic cones form impressive, inaccessible towers that have long been a place of worship and hermitage.

Law No. 2873 on National Parks, which came into force in 1983, divides Turkey’s natural heritage into four categories: 33 national parks (including Aladağlar National Park, Uludağ National Park, Beydağları Coast National Park, Lake Beyşehir, Gala Gölü, and Kazdağı and 16 [check] nature parks (including Lake Abant Nature Park, Çorum-Çatak Nature Park, Gölcük Nature Park, and Polonezköy). It further classifies 35 [check] nature reserves, for the protection of the species they are home to (including Bolu Hazelnut, the Saka Gölü Nature Reserve Area/Lake Saka Nature Reserve Area, Büyük Menderes, Marmaris, and Mount Nemrut.

Geography Turkey
Nature Reserves in Turkey

Natural Resources

Even though Turkey – the 61st oil producer in the world, at just over 50,000 barrels per day – depends almost entirely on its neighbours Iraq, Iran, and Russia for its energy supply, it does have significant water resources. According to the International Office for Water, the water resources of Turkey are estimated at 231.70 kms³ per year , or 3,439 km³ per capita per year. Turkey is divided into 26 drainage basins, which contain around 186 billion m³ of water.

Turkey is also rich in minerals. It has about 65 percent of world boron reserves – the annual Turkish production of boron is 2.2 million tons per year – and Turkey is the tenth country in the world in total production of minerals; it produces around 60 minerals – including chromium, copper (more than 60,000 tons per year), bauxite, manganese, sulphur, nickel, marble, coal, and, marginally, gold – which produce an annual revenue of USD 2.5 billion.

Geography Turkey
Turkish Claims of Territorial Waters

Environmental Issues

According to Ubifrance, the French Trade Office, the environmental situation remains worrying in Turkey, despite the adoption of several laws in recent years: Turkey needs about USD 70 billion to ensure compliance with international standards of environmental protection. USD 56 billion would be required to manage water that is either polluted or inadequately treated (76 percent of Turkey’s water is surface water and 24 percent groundwater). The remaining USD 14 billion would be required for the elimination of hazardous industrial waste, and for the reduction of industrial pollution. According to Ubifrance, less than half of the waste is treated in accordance with the standards that Turkey has imposed on itself and has been unable to meet.
Another cause of pollution is the massive use of coal (mostly lignite, of which Turkish reserves amount to 12.3 billion tons). Turkish power plants consume about 79 million tons of lignite per year (76 percent of the total amount), whereas industry and the private sector consume 10 and 14 million tons respectively, primarily for heating. Coal distributed by municipalities as charity contributes to air pollution and reduces visibility in medium-sized cities, such as Denizli, during winter. Local governments are not the only parties responsible for the pollution; the central government does not exercise control in the excessive use of coal of the development of megaprojects.
Huge water projects undertaken in the 1960s had significant ecological consequences. For example, the Southern Anatolia Project (GAP), which supplies 12 percent of the country’s electricity, has profoundly altered the landscape and threatened to submerge the ancient site of Hasankeyf. Other dam projects are currently underway in the Black Sea Region, despite intense local opposition.