الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / الاقتصاد

الاقتصاد

المقدمة

Economy Turkey - Labour Force
القطاع الزراعي والغير زراعي مقدراً بالنسبة المئوية

لطالما كانت تركيا بلداً فقيراً تهزه الأزمات الاقتصادية والمالية المزمنة (1959، 1969، السبعينيات، 1994، 2000-2001)، غير أنها أحرزت تقدماً خلال العقد الماضي لتحتل المرتبة 17 على صعيد القوى الاقتصادية العالمية. وذلك نتيجة: إعادة هيكلة المصارف في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين؛ وتحويل العديد من المحافظات (بما فيها أديامان ودينيزلي وغازيانتيب ومرعش وقيصرية وقونية ومرسين) إلى مناطق صناعية؛ وتوجه الشباب إلى نمط الاستهلاك “بالدين”؛ وقدرة البلاد على تزويد الأسواق المحلية للدول المجاورة، مثل جورجيا والعراق، بمنتجاتها المصنعة. في المقابل، تواجه تركيا نقصاً كبيراً على صعيد التجارة الخارجية: عام 2011، بلغت الواردات حوالي 240,8 مليار دولار (زيادة بنسبة 29% عن عام 2010) منها 54,1 مليار في قطاع الطاقة (زيادة بنسبة 40,6% في سنة واحدة)؛ بينما بلغت صادراتها 134,6 مليار دولار، مع زيادة بنسبة 18,2%. بلغت صادرات صناعة السيارات التركية أكثر من 20 مليار دولار، تليها المواد الكيميائية والمصنعة (16,3 مليار دولار) ومنتجات النسيج والملابس الجاهزة (16,2 مليار دولار).

يعيش حوالي 76,3% من السكان في مناطق حضرية (مقارنة بـ 25,2% في أوائل العشرينيات). تراجعت نسبة التوظيف في قطاع الزراعة إلى 25,2%؛ في حين سجلت نسبة التوظيف في قطاع الصناعة 19,9% و 6,3% في قطاع البناء. أما القطاع الثالث فيوظف 48,6% من اليد العاملة، ومن المتوقع أن يتخطى هذا الرقم عتبة الـ 50% في السنوات القادمة.

بعدما استقرت نسبة التضخم عند 100% لعقود عديدة، شهد العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين تراجع هذه النسبة إلى 8,9% عام 2010 لترتفع مجدداً إلى 10,5% عام 2011. وفق تقرير منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي، أظهرت تركيا قدرة كبيرة على مقاومة الأزمات النقدية والمالية العالمية. تمثل نفقات القطاع العام 14,7% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وإيرادات الحكومة المركزية 22,5%. معظم الدين العام، الذي يمثل 48,8% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، عبارة عن ديون داخلية (36,4%). وبينما هناك نقاش كبير بين رجال الاقتصاد والسياسيين حول المستوى الفعلي للمدخرات (المقدرة بين 10-22% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي وفق أخصائيين)، إلا أن الانتقال إلى مجتمع استهلاكي حدث رسمياً في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين- إيجابياً، لأن الاستهلاك خلق نمواً اقتصادياً حقيقياً وعزز الطبقة الوسطى؛ وسلبياً، لأنه تسبب بزيادة العجز في التجارة الخارجية.

ويشير التقرير السنوي لمجموعة البنك الدولي إلى تراجع نمو تركيا من 6.1% في عام 2015 إلى 2.1% في عام 2016، بسبب تأثير محاولة الإنقلاب الفاشلة (يوليو 2016) على ثقة الأعمال وما رافق ذلك من إحباط المستهلكين وانخفاض إيرادات السياحة في عام 2016 بنسبة 36% على أساسٍ سنوي. كما أدى ذلك إلى وضع ضغوط على الليرة التركية بالتزامن مع تقييد نمو الائتمان المحلي نتيجة انخفاض أسعار الفائدة في القطاع المصرفي. وأسفرت محاولة الانقلاب عن تسجيل أعلى انخفاض في نمو الناتج الإجمالي المحلي منذ مارس 2009 وبنسبةٍ وصلت إلى 2.7% في الربع الثالث من عام 2016.

وتأثر الزخم الإصلاحي للحكومة التركية بعد عزل عددٍ كبير من الموظفين الحكوميين من مناصبهم في أعقاب محاولة الانقلاب، بالتزامن مع تأثر الاستثمار الأجنبي نتيجة ما تعرضت له تركيا في الآونة الأخيرة من هجماتٍ إرهابية في مارس وديسمبر 2016 ويناير 2017.

وتأثر النمو الاقتصادي التركي خلال السنوات الماضية بما تشهده سورية من صراع وتباطؤ النمو في أوروبا.

واحتلت تركيا المرتبة 55 على مؤشر التنافسية العالمية للفترة الممتدة 2016-2017 مقارنةً مع تواجدها في المركز 51 في الفترة الممتدة 2016-2015.
ووصل الناتج الإجمالي المحلي التركي في عام 2015 إلى 717.8 مليار دولار أمريكي، مقارنةً مع 798.7 و823.2 مليار دولار في عامي 2014 و2013. وفي عام 2015، قدّر البنك الدولي نصيب الفرد من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي بـ9950 دولار أمريكي. كما من المتوقع ينمو الناتج الإجمالي المحلي في عامي 2018 و2019 بنسبة 3.5% و3.7% على التوالي. وعلى صعيد التضخم، فقد وصلت نسبة التخضم في عام 2015 إلى 7.4%.

Economy Turkey
صادرات و ورادات تركيا في عام 2012

Economy Turkey - Trade Balance
احصائيات التجارة في تركيا بين عامي 2000 – 2013

البنية التحتية

Economy Turkey - The Bosphorus Bridge, Istanbul
جسر البوسفور في إسطنبول

، ركزت تركيا على بناء السكك الحديدية التي بلغ طولها 10,900 كم، مما وضع البلاد في المرتبة 23 بين دول العالم في هذا المجال. ومنذ الخمسينيات، أهملت تركيا السكك الحديدية لصالح الطرقات والطرق السريعة – 65,049 كم من الطرقات عام 2012، منها 2119 كم من الطرقات السريعة، و 31,372 كم من الطرق الرئيسية التي تربط بين المدن، و 31,558 كم من الطرق الثانوية. وفي الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 1990 و 2000، تم بناء العديد من المطارات الجديدة؛ وكان ثمة 99 مطاراً ناشطاّ عام 2010.

ستستمر الاستثمارات في قطاع الطرق وقطاع النقل الجوي في العقود القادمة. ولكن وفق تصريحات وزير النقل، يبدو أن حكومة أردوغان ترغب بإعادة موازنة سياستها في مجال البنية التحتية وبناء ما لا يقل عن 10,000 كم من خطوط السكك الحديدة الفائقة السرعة، وخاصة بمساعدة شركات صينية. ويتم حالياً بناء سكة حديد مزدوجة بين أنقرة وإسطنبول، وأخرى بين أنقرة وقونية قيد الإنشاء.

الجانب الأهم في قطاع البنى التحتية: أصبحت إسطنبول “مدينة غير متناهية”، حيث ولا حتى بناء جسر ثالث يصل آسيا بأوروبا سيحل مشكلة المرور. وربما لن يتمكن مشروع بناء مترو أنفاق تحت سطح الأرض بين شواطئ الأناضول والشواطئ الأوروبية، والذي هو قيد الإنشاء حالياً، من حل مشكلة ازدحام المرور بين القارتين.

تركيا بلد بحري بامتياز، فيه مرافئ عديدة: على البحر الأسود (ريزه، طرابزون، غريسون، أردو، سامسون، زنغولداق) والبحر المتوسط ( دورتيول، إسكندرونة) وإزمير (بحر إيجة). وجميعها ذات استطاعة منخفضة نسبياً، مقارنة بتلك الموجودة في أوروبا.

Economy Turkey - Infrastructure
خريطة البنية التحتية في تركيا

Economy Turkey - Infrastructure
طول خطوط الأنابيب، الطرق والسكك الحديدية

الطاقة

للحصول على نظرة عامة متعمقة على قطاع الطاقة في تركيا، أنقر الزر أدناه.

الصناعة

يوظف قطاع الصناعة في تركيا 19,9% من القوى العاملة؛ وأهم الصناعات هي: الحديد/التعدين، والنسيج والملابس، والمنتجات النفطية، والأغذية، والمحركات. ومع أن حوض إسطنبول– كوكالي/ ازميت وسهل تشوكوروفا (مع أضنة وعاصمتها الإقليمية) ومنطقة إزمير، لا تزال تعتبر المناطق الصناعية التقليدية الثلاث، إلا أن عدداً من المناطق الأخرى نشأت – من قيصرية إلى عنتاب، ومن أديامان إلى دينيزلي – في السنوات العشرين الأخيرة كمراكز للإنتاج الصناعي.

Economy Turkey - Iron steel Karabuk
مصنع الحديد والصلب في كرابوك / Photo Shutterstock

البناء

turkey-urbanization

ساهم التحضر السريع الذي شهدته العقود الأخيرة والتطورات الإقليمية في الفترة الممتدة ما بين العامين 1980 و 1990 (مثل الحرب الإيرانية العراقية وانهيار الاتحاد السوفييتي) في تمكين قطاع البناء في تركيا من التطور في الخارج واحتلال مراكز هامة على الصعيد الدولي. وتبيّن أنقرة، الواقعة وسط شبكات الطرق السريعة والسكك الحديدية، كيف استفاد قطاع البناء بشكل كبير من تطور البنى التحتية وإنشاء المدن الكبيرة. كما استفاد قطاع البناء، الذي يوظف 6,33% من القوى العاملة، من بناء منشآت المطارات في تركيا ومحيطها، بما في ذلك إربيل في كردستان العراق.

كشفت الزلازل في منطقة مرمرة (ازميت، 1999) ومنطقة وان (2011) مدى تفشي الفساد في قطاع البناء وشهوة المال وغياب الإشراف الفعال والفعلي من قبل الحكومة، بالإضافة إلى نوعية البناء المتدنية. وفي إسطنبول بشكل خاص، كانت معظم المباني التي تهدمت بفعل الهزة الأرضية (التي نتج عنها حوالي 20,000 ضحية) تأوي أفراداً من الطبقة المتوسطة الدنيا الذين استثمروا مدخراتهم في هذه المباني المبنية حديثاً.

القطاع التجاري والمصرفي

turkey-gdp per sector
الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لكل قطاع

تعود كثافة الشبكات التجارية والمالية في تركيا جزئياً إلى: انتشار الأسواق الكبيرة منذ الثمانينيات؛ والتسهيلات الحكومية لإنشاء مصارف محلية أو فروع لمؤسسات مالية أجنبية؛ وتكاثر مراكز الإنتاج الصناعي. وفق التقديرات، تم بناء حوالي 150 “مركزاً تجارياً” على الطراز الأمريكي في إسطنبول في نهاية العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين. وساهمت هذه الديناميكية في جعل هذا القطاع “الثالث”، الذي يوظف حوالي نصف القوى العاملة، القطاع الرائد في البلاد.

في تركيا 48 مصرفاً: 31 مصرف تجزئة (3 حكومية و 11 خاصة و 16 أجنبية)؛ و 13 مصرف تنمية واستثمارات؛ و 4 مصارف تشاركية تعاونية. لهذه المصارف أكثر من 9,712 فرعاً، وتوظف 181,588 موظف. أكبرها: ZiraatBankasi (المصرف الزراعي) و İş Bankası (المصرف العمالي) و AKbank و Garanti Bank.

نسبياً لم تتأثر تركيا، والتي كان اقتصادها يعتبر ناشئاً وكانت تشهد تحولات اقتصادية كبيرة، كثيراً من الأزمة المالية في 2008-2012. وساعدت قوة الاستهلاك المحلي وإعادة الهيكلة الجذرية للقطاع المصرفي بعد أزمة عام 2000-2001 في جعل تركيا قادرة على مقاومة الصدمة العالمية. ولكن العديد من الخبراء الاقتصاديين يعتبرون أن الهدوء هو إنذار لمجيء أزمات ستضرب الاقتصاد التركي. بين العامين 2005 و 2010، ارتفعت نسبة العجز في التجارة الخارجية من 5% إلى 10% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، واستمر النمو من خلال تسهيل حصول المستهلكين على بطاقات الائتمان، النمط الاستهلاكي الذي قد يؤدي إلى أزمة شبيهة بأزمة الرهونات العقارية. أفاد اتحاد المصارف في تركيا أن عدد مستخدمي بطاقات الائتمان ارتفع من 3,735,000 عام 2007 إلى 5,136,100 عام 2011؛ وأن الاستهلاك بواسطة بطاقات الائتمان، الذي كان يمثل 16,5% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي عام 2007، ارتفع حتى 22% خلال السنوات الخمس التالية. وبلغت مديونية المستهلك حوالي 95 مليار دولار في شهر أيار/مايو عام 2012.

Economy Turkey - Agriculture Map
توزيع المحاصيل في تركيا
Economy Turkey - Agriculture Map
استخدام الأراضي في تركيا

السياحة

المتوقع أن تصل عائدات قطاع السياحة إلى 10 مليارات دولار عام 2012. وتشهد السياحة الداخلية ازدهاراً، غير أن معظم السياح هم من الأجانب. ارتفع عدد السياح الأجانب، الذين كان عددهم لا يتعدى الـ 10 ملايين عام 1998، إلى أكثر من 31 مليون عام 2011، وبلغت الأرباح 23 مليار دولار في تلك الفترة. تعزى هذه الزيادة إلى عوامل طويلة الأجل (وصول حشد من السياح من روسيا، وسعي تركيا إلى استقطاب السياح، وتدني الأسعار) وعوامل قصيرة الأجل (عدم الاستقرار في الدول العربية في 2011-2012).

turkey- passenger traffic
الزوار في تركيا عن طريق الجو

المناطق السياحية في تركيا

القطاع الغير رسمي

Photo Fanack Economy Turkey
Photo Fanack

الأبحاث المتعلقة بالقطاع غير الرسمي في تركيا متضاربة وغير موثوقة، غير أن عناصر عديدة تشير إلى أن هذا القطاع يلعب دوراً أساسياً في اقتصاد البلاد. تبقى بنية الأسرة قوية، مما ينتج عنه عمل النساء والأولاد دون أجر. كما أن روابط التضامن بين الأشخاص القادمين من المدينة أو المنطقة نفسها، والذين يسكنون غالباً في نفس المنطقة، تبقى صلبة جداً وتساهم في هيكلة عالم الاقتصاد على مستوى الاقتصاد الجزئي. ومع أن التحضر السريع تحت السيطرة حالياً، إلا أنه أدى في العقود الأخيرة إلى نشوء مساحات خارجة عن سيطرة الدولة. وأخيراً، الهياكل الاقتصادية التي على مثال المافيا فعالة جداً في بعض المجالات، مثل التجارة العابرة للحدود والقطاعات التي يكون فيها التعاقد الفرعي مهماً.

نظراً إلى مجموعة العوامل هذه، قدر الخبير الاقتصادي عثمان آلتوغ أن ثلث القوى العاملة (حوالي 5 ملايين شخص) كانوا يعملون في القطاع غير الرسمي في أوائل التسعينيات، وكانت عائداتهم تتخطى أحياناً 50% من الناتج القومي الإجمالي. وقدر اتحاد نقابات أرباب العمل أن 1,700,000 شخص كانوا يعملون في القطاع غير الرسمي في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين.

التنمية الإقليمية

Kurdish village near Hasankeyf / Economy Turkey
قرية كردية قرب حصن كيفا/ Photo HH

لطالما كانت التفاوتات الإقليمية كبيرة جداً في تركيا: تستحوذ إسطنبول والمدن المجاورة لها، وبخاصة كوكالي (إزميت)، على “حصة الأسد” من الاستثمارات العامة والخاصة. يبلغ عدد سكان هاتين المدينتين 14,815,816 نسمة، وتنتجان 26,2% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي؛ بينما تساهم دياربكر، وهي مدينة بنفس حجم مدينة كوكالي (1,518,958)، بنسبة 1,1% في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي؛ ومساهمة مدن مثل بدليس (228,767 نسمة) وموش وشرناق (عدد سكان كل منهما أكثر من 400,000 نسمة) في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لا تتخطى 0,1%. ليس فقط بعد هاتين المدينتين سبب فقرهما: في عهد الجمهورية الكمالية، رفضت السلطات الاستثمار سوى في القطاعين العسكري والأمني.

منذ الستينيات، تحاول منظمة تخطيط الدولة معالجة هذه التفاوتات. ومع إنشاء “بلديات كبيرة” وكيانات حضرية جديدة ومن ثم إنشاء وكالات تنمية إقليمية في العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين، قامت الدولة بوضع سياسة تنموية جديدة كانت مفيدة للمناطق والمحافظات، غير أن نتائجها كانت مخيبة للآمال أحياناً. تُظهر حالة ديار بكر وأورفة مدى عدم تنفيذ الإجراءات المتخذة بسبب عدم توافر الموارد البشرية والمالية والتقنية اللازمة. كانت النتائج مختلطة: فعلى سبيل المثال، معدل الدخل الفردي في بعض المحافظات الكردية يساوي عشر معدل الدخل الفردي في المدن الكبرى غرب تركيا. وفي حين تستفيد منطقة الأناضول الوسطى من مجاورتها لمنطقتي إيجة والبحر المتوسط ونشوء مراكز صناعية جديدة، إلا أن سواحل البحر الأسود، باستثناء بعض المناطق مثل مدينة طرابزون، لا تزال مهملة.

Turkey economy
قيمة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لكل منطقة في عام 2008

العمل والهجرة

يبلغ مجموع القوى العاملة في تركيا 46,9 مليون شخص، من بينهم 24,5 مليون امرأة. (وتقدر مصادر رسمية نسبة مشاركة المرأة في العمل بـ 26% فقط). هناك 3,5 مليون شخص عاطل عن العمل، ويدخل 500,000 شاب سوق العمل سنوياً. وتظهر دراسة أعدتها جامعة كوش في إسطنبول الصعوبات التي يواجهها الشباب عند البحث عن أول فرصة عمل لهم، وخاصة في المناطق الحضرية. وفق تقرير آخر أعده مركز SETA للأبحاث الموالي للحكومة، تراجعت نسبة الوظائف في مجال الزراعة من 36% (7,7 ملايين) عام 2000 إلى 24% (5,2 مليون) عام 2009. وتمكن 53% من الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 20 و 24 عاماً من إيجاد عمل في المناطق الريفية، مقارنة بـ 35% في المناطق الحضرية.

Turkish migrant family in Germany, in the 1970s Economy Turkey
عائلة تركية مهاجرة في ألمانيا في السبعينات

لطالما كانت هجرة اليد العاملة مشكلة تعاني منها تركيا، غير أنها أصبحت مستقرة حالياً، بل حتى معكوسة. يُقدر عدد المواطنين الأتراك وذريتهم في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة وأستراليا بـ 4 ملايين شخص، ما يعادل أكثر من 5% من عدد السكان في تركيا. وفق نائب رئيس غرفة التجارة والصناعة الألمانية-التركية، تشهد تركيا عودة العديد من المحترفين ذوي الكفاءات العالية والمنتمين إلى الجيل الثالث من المهاجرين الأتراك من ألمانيا سعياً للعمل، الأمر الذي يعكس بصورة هامشية حركة الهجرة إلى أوروبا التي بدأت في الستينيات.

Turkey economy- Turkish-German girl
فتاة تركية ألمانية

حتى ولو تراجع التدافع إلى الدول الغربية، فالهجرة الداخلية مستمرة. وفق تقرير SETA المذكور أعلاه، تعتبر إسطنبول ومنطقة شرق مرمرة ومنطقة إيجة موطناً لحوالي 68% من الذين يتقاضون رواتب، مما يفسر استمرار هجرة اليد العاملة من باقي الأناضول إلى هذه المواقع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تسببت الحرب والدمار الشامل التي تعرضت لها المناطق الريفية في كردستان في التسعينيات بزيادة الهجرة الداخلية، مما أدى إلى نشوء مجتمعات كردية كبيرة في إسطنبول وأنقرة وإزمير وأضنة ومرسين، بالإضافة إلى العديد من المدن الأخرى.

أصبحت تركيا مركز عبور للمهاجرين الأفغان والعراقيين وأحياناً الإفريقيين إلى أوروبا، ويقدر عدد هؤلاء المهاجرين بمئات الآلاف؛ وغالباً ما يتم استخدامهم في القطاع غير الرسمي بانتظار تمكنهم من المغادرة إلى أوروبا. يمثل هؤلاء المهاجرون نسبة تصل إلى 2% من القوى العاملة في تركيا، أي ما يعادل مليون شخص تقريباً. ويقدّر أن هناك 80.000 مهاجر أرمني تقريباً دون وضع قانوني في تركيا.

Turkey economy- Top Migration Regions in Turkey 2000
أفضل مناطق الهجرة في تركيا لعام 2000
Economy Turkey
الوجهات الرئيسية للمهاجرين الاتراك

الموقع في السوق العالمية

Cargo ship in the Istanbul harbour / Economy Turkey
سفينة شحن في مرفأ إسطنبول / Photo Shutterstock

اعتمدت تركيا طويلاً على استيراد المنتجات المصنعة، ولم تتمكن صادراتها الزراعية من موازنة هذا الاعتماد على الاستيراد. ومنذ إعادة هيكلة الاقتصاد في الفترة الممتدة ما بين العامين 1980 و 1990، شجعت تركيا تصدير المنتجات الصناعية واكتسبت خبرة في مجال البناء في العالم العربي في فترة الثمانينيات، ومن ثم في الاتحاد السوفييتي السابق في فترة التسعينيات. وتحتل تركيا المرتبة السادسة على صعيد القوى الاقتصادية الأوروبية الكبرى، والمرتبة السابعة كأكبر شريك تجاري تعتمد عليه أوروبا بشكل كبير على صعيد الصادرات والواردات. اليوم، وعلى الرغم من أن الاتحاد الأوروبي خسر بعضاً من نفوذه، إلا أنه يبقى الشريك التجاري الأساسي لتركيا التي وقّع معها اتفاق اتحاد جمركي عام 1995. وفق التقديرات الأخيرة، تراجعت نسبة الصادرات التركية إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي من 48,4% عام 2011 إلى 41% عام 2012، وانخفضت نسبة وارداتها من الاتحاد الأوروبي من 38,4% إلى 36,9%.

مع أن بورصة إسطنبول لم تصنّف من بين العشرين الأولى في العالم، إلا أنها تبقى مهمة بالنسبة إلى دول البلقان ومنطقة البحر الأسود.

Economy Turkey
شركاء تركيا التجاريون حسب البلد (2012)

Home / Turkey / Economy

Economy

Introduction

Economy Turkey - Labour Force
Agricultural vs. Non-Agricultural Sector, in %

Turkey has long been a poor country shaken by chronic economic and financial crises (1959, 1969, the 1970s, 1994, 2000-2001), but it has risen, in the last decade, to rank 17th among global economic powers, as a result of the restructuring of the banks in the 2000s; the conversion of many provinces (including Adıyaman, Denizli, Gaziantep, Kahramanmaraş, Kayseri, Konya, and Mersin) into industrial zones; the dynamism of a young population buying on credit; and the ability of the country to supply, through its manufactured products, the domestic markets of neighbouring countries such as Georgia and Iraq. Turkey is, however, facing a chronic deficit in foreign trade: in 2011, imports amounted to USD 240.8 billion (up 29 percent from 2010), of which 54.1 billion was in the energy sector, up 40.6 percent in one year), while its exports amounted to USD 134.6 billion, up 18.2 percent. The Turkish automotive industry was responsible for more than USD 20 billion of exports, followed by chemical and manufactured products (USD 16.3 billion) and textiles and clothing (USD 16.2 billion).

76.3 percent of the population resides in urban areas (compared to 25.2 percent at the beginning of the 1920s). Agricultural employment has fallen to 25.2 percent of the workforce, while 19.9 percent is employed in industry and 6.3 percent in construction. The service sector employs 48.6 percent of the workforce, a figure expected to exceed 50 percent in coming years.

Having reached 100 percent for many decades, inflation dropped in the 2000s and stood at 8.9 percent in 2010 and increased to 10.5 percent in 2011. According to an OECD report, Turkey showed great resilience in the face of the global monetary and financial crisis. Public-sector expenditures represent 14.7 percent of the GDP, while the revenues of the central government represent 22.5 percent of GDP. Most of the public debt, which is 48.8 percent of the GDP, is domestic (36.4 percent). While there is a great debate among economists and politicians on the actual level of savings (estimated by experts to be between 10 and 22 percent of the GDP), the transition to a consumer society was more pronounced in the 2000s – for the better, because consumption created true economic growth and strengthened the middle class, and for the worse, because it has been continuously increasing the foreign-trade deficit.

In its 2016 annual report, the World Bank pointed to declining growth in Turkey, down from 6.1 per cent in 2015 to 2.1 per cent in 2016. This was due in part to the impact on business and consumer confidence of the coup attempt in July 2016, and an annual decline in tourism revenues of 36 per cent. This put pressure on the Turkish lira while simultaneously restricting the growth of local credit as a result of the drop in interest rates. The coup attempt resulted in a drop in GDP growth to 2.7 per cent in the third quarter of 2016, the largest drop since March 2009.

The government’s reform attempts were similarly impacted by the large number of civil servant lay-offs following the coup attempt, and foreign investment slowed as a result of a series of terrorist attacks between March 2016 and January 2017.

Also affecting Turkey’s economic growth is the ongoing war in Syria and an economic slow-down in Europe.

Turkey ranked 55th in the Global Competitiveness Report 2016-2017, dropping from 51st place in 2015-2016.

GDP in 2015 was $717.88 billion, compared with $798.7 billion in 2014 and $823.2 billion in 2013. In 2015, GDP per capita was estimated at $9,950. The World Bank predicts that GDP will grow by 3.5 per cent in 2018 and 3.7 per cent in 2019.

[

Economy Turkey
Turkey’s Exports & Imports in 2012

Economy Turkey - Trade Balance
Turkey Trade Statistics: 2000 – 2013

Infrastructure

Economy Turkey - The Bosphorus Bridge, Istanbul
The Bosphorus Bridge, Istanbul

During the Hamidian period (1876-1909) and the Kemalist period (1922-1945), Turkey focused on the construction of railways, 10,900 kilometres in length, ranking the country 23rd in the world in this field. Since the 1950s, however, Turkey has neglected railways in favour of roads and highways – 65,049 kilometres of roads in 2012, of which 2,119 kilometres was highways, 31,372 kilometres trunk roads, and 31,558 kilometres secondary roads.
In 1990-2000, many new airports were constructed; there were 99 active airports in 2010.
Investments in the road and air sectors will continue in the coming decades, but, according to the Ministry of Transport, it appears that the Erdoğan government wishes to rebalance its policy in the infrastructure sector and construct at least 10,000 kilometres of high-speed railways, with the help especially of Chinese companies. Double-track railways between Ankara and Istanbul and between Ankara and Konya are currently under construction.
Of great importance in the infrastructure sector, Istanbul has become an ‘infinite city’, where not even the construction of a third bridge connecting Europe and Asia will solve the complex traffic problem. The underwater metro project between the European and Anatolian coasts, which is currently under construction, will probably not relieve the traffic congestion between the two continents.
A maritime country par excellence, Turkey has many ports, on the Black Sea (Rize, Trabzon, Giresun, Ordu, Samsun, Zonguldak) and on the Mediterranean (Dörtyol, Iskenderun), as well as Istanbul (on the Bosporus) and Izmir (on the Aegean). These are all relatively low-capacity ports, compared to those of Europe.

Economy Turkey - Infrastructure
Infrastructure Map

Economy Turkey - Infrastructure
Length of Pipelines, Roads and Railways

Energy

For an in-depth overview of Turkey’s energy sector click on the button below.

Industry

Turkish industry employs 19.9 percent of the labour force; its major industries are steel/metallurgy, textile and clothing, petroleum products, food, and automotive. Although the Istanbul-Kocaeli/İzmit basin, the Çukurova plain (with Adana as its regional capital), and the Izmir region are still considered the three traditional industrial areas, many other regions, from Kayseri to Gaziantep, and from Adıyaman to Denizli, have emerged in the last twenty years as centres of industrial production.

Economy Turkey - Iron steel Karabuk
Iron and steel industry in Karabuk / Photo Shutterstock

Construction

turkey-urbanization

Rapid urbanization during the last decades and regional developments from 1980 to 1990 (e.g., the Iraq-Iran War and the collapse of the Soviet Union) enabled the construction sector in Turkey to develop externally and become important on the international stage. Ankara, at the centre of Turkey’s highway and railway networks, demonstrates how the construction sector has also benefited greatly from infrastructure development and constructed large cities. The construction sector, which employs 6.33 percent of the labour force, has also benefited from the construction of airport facilities in Turkey and its neighbourhood, including in Arbil/Hewler, in Iraqi Kurdistan.

Earthquakes in the Marmara region (İzmit, 1999) and in Van (2011) have revealed the extent of corruption in the construction sector, the lust for money, and the lack of effective and genuine government supervision, as well as the poor quality of construction. In Istanbul, in particular, most of the buildings that were destroyed by the earthquake (which killed nearly 20,000 people), were home to lower-middle-class people who had invested their life savings in those newly constructed buildings.

Trade and Banking

turkey-gdp per sector
GDP per sector

The density of commercial and financial networks in Turkey is explained, in part, by the spread of hypermarkets since the 1980s, the government’s facilitation of the creation of local banks or branches of foreign financial institutions, and the multiplication of industrial production centres. It is estimated that about 150 American-style shopping malls will have been constructed in Istanbul in the late 2010s. This dynamism has made the ‘tertiary sector’, which employs almost half of the labour force, the leading sector in the country.

Turkey has 48 banks, including 31 retail banks (3 public, 11 private, and 16 foreign), 13 development and investment banks, and 4 participatory-cooperative banks. These banks have more than 9,712 branches and 181,588 employees. The largest banks are Ziraat Bankası (Agricultural Bank), İş Bankası (Labour Bank), Akbank, and Garanti Bank.

Turkey, which is considered an emerging economy and was in the midst of economic transformations, was relatively unaffected by the 2008-2012 financial crisis. The strength of domestic consumption and the radical restructuring of the banking sector after the 2000-2001 crisis helped make Turkey somewhat resistant to the global shock, but many economists consider the lull a warning of upcoming storms in the Turkish economy. Between 2005 and 2010, the foreign-trade deficit increased from 5 to 10 percent of GDP, and growth was maintained by easy consumer access to credit cards, a form of consumption that may lead to a crisis similar to that in the subprime-mortgage business. The Bank Association of Turkey reported that the number of credit-card users increased from 3,735,000 to 5,136,100 from 2007 to 2011 and that credit-card consumption, which represented 16.5 percent of the GDP in 2007, increased to 22 percent over the next five years. Consumer debt amounted to USD 95 billion in May 2012.

Economy Turkey - Agriculture Map
Crop Distribution in Turkey
Economy Turkey - Agriculture Map
Land Use Distribution in Turkey

Tourism

The income generated by the tourism sector is expected to reach USD 10 billion in 2012. Domestic tourism is booming in Turkey, but most tourists are foreign. The number of foreign tourists increased from fewer than 10 million in 1998 to 31 million in 2011, generating a net profit of USD 23 billion over that period. This increase can be explained by factors both long-term (an influx of tourists from Russia, Turkey’s attractions, and the low prices) and short-term (instability in Arab countries in 2011-2012).

turkey-passenger traffic

Tourist Attractions in Turkey

Informal Sector

Photo Fanack Economy Turkey
Photo Fanack

Research on the informal sector in Turkey is contradictory and unreliable, but several factors suggest that it plays a major role in the economy of the country. Family structures remain strong, which leads to the unpaid labour of women and children. The ties of hemșehrilik (solidarity between people from the same city or region, who often congregate in the same neighbourhood in their new place of residence) remain strong and contribute to the structuring of the economic world at a micro level. Similarly, although rapid urbanization is now under control, it created, in recent decades, areas largely beyond the control of the state. Finally, Maffia-like economic structures are extremely powerful in some fields, such as cross-border trade and sectors in which subcontracting is important.

Given all these factors, economist Osman Altuğ estimated that, at the beginning of the 1990s, one-third of the labour force (around 5 million people) worked in the informal sector, with revenues sometimes exceeding 50 percent of GNP. The TİSK (Turkish Confederation of Employers’ Unions) estimated that 1,700,000 people worked in the informal sector at the beginning of the 2000s.

Regional Development

Kurdish village near Hasankeyf / Economy Turkey
Kurdish village near Hasankeyf / Photo HH

Regional inequalities have always been large in Turkey: Istanbul and its neighbouring cities, especially Kocaeli (İzmit), take the lion’s share of private and public investment. These two cities, with a total population of 14,815,816, are responsible for 26.2 percent of the GDP. The contribution to GDP of Diyarbakır, a city the same size as Kocaeli (1,518,958), is 1.1 percent. The contribution to GDP of cities such as Bitlis (population 228,767) and Muş and Şırnak (population more than 400,000 each), does not exceed 0.1 percent. The peripheral situation of these cities cannot alone explain the causes of poverty: under the Kemalist Republic, authorities refused to invest in sectors other than military and security.

Economy Turkey
GDP Value Added per Region in 2008

The State Planning Organization (Devlet Planlama Teșkilatı) has attempted since the 1960s to address these inequalities. With the creation of ‘large municipalities’ and new urban entities, followed by the establishment of Regional Development Agencies (Bölgesel Kalkınma Ajansları) in the 2000s, the state produced a new development policy that benefited the regions and provinces, but the results were occasionally disappointing. The cases of Diyarbakır and Urfa show how measures remain unimplemented due to the lack of necessary human, financial, and technical resources. The results were mixed: the per capita income in some Kurdish provinces, for instances, is one-tenth that of large cities in western Turkey. While the Central Anatolia region benefits from its proximity to the Aegean and Mediterranean regions and the emergence of new industrial centres, the coasts of the Black Sea, with the exception of some areas such as Trabzon, are still neglected.

Work and Migration

The labour force in Turkey totals 46.9 million, of which 24.5 million are women. (Official sources estimate the participation of women in work at only 26 percent.) 3.5 million are unemployed, and 500,000 young people enter the job market every year. A study prepared by Koç University, in Istanbul, shows the difficulties faced by young people in finding their first job, particularly in an urban context. According to another report prepared by the pro-government think tank SETA, agriculture’s share of the job market decreased from 36 percent (7.7 million) in 2000 to 24 percent (5.2 million) in 2009. Fifty-three percent of those between 20 and 24 were able to find jobs in rural areas, compared to 35 percent in urban areas.

The emigration of labour has long been an issue in Turkey, but emigration has been stabilized today and even reversed. It is estimated that the number of Turkish nationals and their descendants in Europe, the US, and Australia totals 4 million, or more than 5 percent of the population in Turkey. According to the deputy chairman of the Turkish-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry, many highly qualified third-generation Turkish immigrant professionals are returning to Turkey from Germany to pursue an occupation, marginally reversing the migration to Europe that began in the 1960s.

Even if the rush to the western El Dorado is fading, internal migration continues. According to the above-mentioned SETA report, Istanbul, Eastern Marmara, and the Aegean region are home to nearly 68 percent of wage earners, which explains the continued migration of labour from the rest of Anatolia to these locations.

Furthermore, the war and massive destruction in the rural areas in Kurdistan in the 1990s also strengthened internal migration, leading to the formation of large Kurdish communities in Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Adana, Mersin, and many other cities.

Turkey has become a transit hub for Afghani and Iraqi immigrants and sometimes African immigrants bound for Europe. The number of these immigrants is estimated at hundreds of thousands; they are often employed in the informal sector, pending possible departure for Europe. These immigrants represent 2 percent of the Turkish labour force, or nearly one million people. It is estimated that Turkey has about 80,000 Armenian immigrants without legal status.

Turkish migrant family in Germany, in the 1970s Economy Turkey
Turkish migrant family in Germany, in the 1970s

Economy Turkey
Turkish-German Girl

Economy Turkey
Top Migration Regions in Turkey (2000)

Economy Turkey
Main Destinations for Turkish Migrants

Position in the Global Market

Cargo ship in the Istanbul harbour / Economy Turkey
Cargo ship in the Istanbul harbour / Photo Shutterstock

Turkey has long depended on the import of manufactured products, and its agricultural exports have failed to counterbalance this dependence. Since the economic restructuring of 1980-1990, Turkey has encouraged the export of industrial products and developed expertise in the construction field, first in the Arab world in the 1980s and then in the former Soviet Union in 1990s. Turkey is the sixth-largest economy and the seventh-largest trading partner in Europe, on which it depends heavily for imports and exports. Today, even though it has lost some of its influence, the European Union remains the main trading partner of Turkey, with which it entered a customs union in 1995. According to recent estimates, Turkish exports to the European Union decreased from 48.4 percent in 2011 to 41 percent in 2012, and its imports from the European Union decreased from 38.4 percent to 36.9 percent.

Although it has not made the top twenty in the world, the Istanbul Stock Exchange is important in the Balkans and the Black Sea region.

Economy Turkey
Turkey’s Trade Partners by Country (2012)