الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / حقوق الإنسان / وضع الأطفال السوريين اللاجئين

وضع الأطفال السوريين اللاجئين

أطفال من اللاجئين السوريين يحضرون أحد الدروس في مدرسة مؤقتة أقيمت في إحدى الخيم في مخيم غير رسمي للاجئين في ضواحي مدينة المفرق، بالقرب من الحدود السورية، الاردن- 10 مارس 2016. . Photo Muhammed Muheisen

وفقاً للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، غادر ما يقدر بنحو 11 مليون سوري منازلهم منذ بداية الحرب الأهلية السورية في مارس 2011. ومن بين الـ4,810,710 لاجىء سوري المسجلين من قِبل المفوضية (اعتباراً من 30 نوفمبر 2016)، يعيش غالبيتهم في خمسة بلدانٍ مجاورة فحسب. فقد تم تسجيل حوالي 2,1 مليون لاجىء سوري في لبنان والأردن والعراق، بينما تستضيف تركيا 2,7 مليون لاجىء. ومن بين الـ4,8 مليون لاجىء مسجل، تُشير الأمم المتحدة إلى أنّ أكثر من نصفهم- ما يقارب الـ2,5 مليون- تحت سن الـ18 عاماً، حيث لم يلتحق غالبيتهم بأي مدارس منذ أشهر وإن لم يكن لسنوات. ويُقدر تقريرٌ صادرٌ عن اليونيسف في مارس 2016، أنّ 3,7 مليون طفل سوري ولدوا منذ اندلاع الصراع عام 2011، إذ يمثل هذا واحداً من بين ثلاث أطفال سوريين. ويوّثق التقرير ولادة أكثر من 811 ألف طفل سوري في الدول المجاورة لسوريا، منهم 306 ألف طفل ولدوا بوضع لاجىء مسجل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تُشير تقديرات اليونيسف أنّ أكثر من 80%، أي حوالي 8,4 مليون طفل من أطفال سوريا تشكلت حياتهم بفعل أعمال العنف، وبسبب الخوف والتشرد، وتأثروا بالنزاع.

ووفقاً لتقرير الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة حول الأطفال والنزاع المسلح من فبراير 2014، قُتل أكثر من 10 آلاف طفل في سوريا بين عاميّ 2011 و2013. ولا يوجد أي مصدر آخر للمعلومات عن عدد الأطفال الذين قتلوا منذ ذلك الحين.

فاليوم، لا يوجد مكانٌ آمنٌ للأطفال في سوريا. ومع وصول العنف إلى مستوياتٍ قياسية، حل الدمار بالمنازل والملاعب والمدارس والحدائق العامة وأماكن العبادة دون تمييز. ومنذ اندلاع الحرب عام 2011، تمكنت اليونيسف من توثيق أكثر من 1,500 انتهاك خطير ضد حقوق الأطفال في سوريا؛ وتتضمن هذه الانتهاكات القتل والتشويه (ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى الأسلحة المتفجرة)، وتجنيد الجنود الأطفال من قِبل أطراف الصراع والاختطاف والاعتقال والاغتصاب والإتجار بالبشر، والحرمان من وصول المساعدات الإنسانية، وذلك بشكلٍ رئيسي من قبل النظام السوري. وتعتبر هذه أخطر الإنتهاكات من بين أخرى لا تعد ولا تحصى. وعلاوة على ذلك، نشرت الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان (SNHR) تقريراً عام 2014 تتهم فيه النظام السوري بسجن ما لا يقل عن 9,500 طفل منذ بدء الإنتفاضة عام 2011. ولم تتم هذه الإعتقالات على أساسٍ قانوني، بل اختطفت قوات النظام الأطفال الذين شاركوا في المسيرات السلمية التي جرت في الأشهر الست الأولى من الإنتفاضة السورية.

فقد قال مران عبد السلام، وهو محتجزٌ سابق في فرع المخابرات العسكرية السورية لصحيفة “العربي الجديد” عام 2014، وبعد صدور تقرير الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان، أنه خلال فترة اعتقاله رأى “أكثر من 30 طفلاً” معتقلين معه. وأضاف أن بعضهم كانت تقل أعمارهم عن 10 سنوات. وقال مروان أنه في بعض الأحيان، كان المحققون يضربون الأطفال بقضيب من السيليكون من أجل إنتزاع معلوماتٍ عن أسرهم وأقاربهم ممن قد شاركوا في التظاهرات المناهضة للنظام.

ويتمثل أحد الإتجاهات من بين الإنتهاكات التي يتعرض لها الأطفال، والذي يرتبط مباشرةً بالحط من احترام القوانين الدولية الإنسانية وحقوق الإنسان من قبل أطراف النزاع، بزيادة توظيف الأطفال للقتال في الصراع. وبالنظر إلى الواقع الاقتصادي القاسي الذي يحكم سوريا في الوقت الحاضر، تشجع الجماعات الحزبية المنخرطة في الصراع، بنشاط، الأطفال على الانضمام إلى الحرب، وتقديم المكافآت المختلفة بما في ذلك الرواتب التي يمكن أن تصل إلى 400 دولار شهرياً. ففي أول عامين على الصراع، كانت الغالبية العظمى من الأطفال المجندين من الصبية الذين تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 15-17 عاماً، والذين اعتبروا مُجدين لدعم الأدوار بعيداً عن الخطوط الأمامية- عادةً على نقاط التفتيش ومناوبات الحراسة- وذلك في الغالب في المناطق التي يُسيطر عليها النظام. ومنذ عام 2014، كانت الأطراف التي يُنسب لها تجنيد الأطفال هي، تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” والجيش السوري الحر والجماعات التابعة له، ولواء التوحيد، واللجان الشعبية في مختلف أنحاء البلاد، ووحدات حماية الشعب الكردية، وأحرار الشام، وجبهة النصرة، وجيش الإسلام.

ومع اشتداد الحرب، وبخاصة في بعض المخيمات حيث تندلع مواجهاتٌ بين النظام وداعش، استُهدف التجنيد للأطفال الذين لا تتجاوز أعمارهم السبع سنوات، إذ غالباً ما يتم هذا دون موافقة الوالدين، لكن بعض الآباء والأمهات يوافقون أيضاً على تجنيد أطفالهم بسبب المنافع المالية التي يحصلون عليها من الأطراف التي تُجندهم. ووثق تقريرٌ لليونسيف من عام 2015 زيادةً في المجندين الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 15 عاماً مقارنةً مع عام 2014. وفي الوقت الحاضر، يتلقى الأطفال، رسمياً، تدريباتٍ عسكرية ويشاركون في القتال، بالإضافة إلى تولي أدوار أكثر تهديداً للحياة في مقدمة الخطوط الأمامية للمعركة، بما في ذلك إخلاء ومعالجة الجرحى. كما يتم أيضاً تجنيد الفتيات.

ويتمثل أحد أهم تحديات حقوق الأطفال والتي أنشأها الصراع بتعليم الأطفال. ويُقدر تقرير اليونسيف أنّ أكثر من 2,1 مليون طفل داخل سوريا، وأكثر من 700 ألف طفل في الدول المجاورة، خارج المدرسة. كما ضربت معدلات الحضور إلى المدرسة داخل سوريا الحضيض عام 2016، في العام الخامس على الصراع، حيث انخفض إجمالي معدل التسجيل في التعليم الأساسي إلى 74%. وفي ضوء ذلك، ذهب عقدين من الاستثمار في التعليم أدراج الرياح، إذ لم تعد أكثر من 6 آلاف مدرسة تعمل في سوريا، إما بسبب التهجير أو بسبب القصف. كما انخفض إجمالي التسجيل في التعليم الإبتدائي إلى ما نسبته 70% عام 2013، وهي نسبة منخفضة، تماماً كما كان الحال عليه في ثمانينيات القرن الماضي عندما عانت سوريا بشكلٍ كبير من الناحية الاقتصادية، إلى جانب الحملة العسكرية التي شُنت على مدينة حماة. وفي حلب، كان معدل الإلتحاق بالمدارس منخفض جداً بالفعل عام 2013، بنسبة 6%.

ومن بين المحافظات الـ14 الموجودة في سوريا، وصل مجموع الأطفال في المحافظات الخمس التي تشهد قتالاً عنيفاً بين الجماعات المناهضة للحكومة والجماعات الحكومية، إلى نصف الأطفال في المدرسة. هذه المحافظات هي، دمشق، وريف دمشق، وحلب، وإدلب، وحمص. وبحلول عام 2016، ووفقاً لتقرير لليونسيف بعنوان “التعليم في خط النار،” أفرغت الفصول الدراسية بشكلٍ منهجي، إما لأن المعلمين أو الطلاب قتلوا، أو لأن أكثر من 52 ألف معلم ومعلمة تركوا وظائفهم لأسباب مختلفة، إذ تمثل أحد الأسباب بطرد النظام الجماعي للمعلمين الذين أظهروا تعاطفاً أو شاركوا في نشاطاتٍ مناهضة للنظام، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي، بالاحتجاجات.

ومع ذلك، لا يعتبر إيجاد أماكن في الفصول الدراسية المشكلة الرئيسية. فالعديد من الأطفال يفتقرون إلى الحق في التسجيل أو لا يملكون الوثائق الرسمية للالتحاق بالمدارس. وهذا هو الوضع الذي يواجهه غالبية الأطفال اللاجئين في الدول المجاورة، سيما في لبنان؛ بلدٌ ينتشر فيه اللاجئون بين المناطق الريفية والحضرية دون وجود مخيماتٍ رسمية لإيوائهم (بصرف النظر عن المخيمات القائمة بالفعل والتي يسكنها اللاجئون الفلسطينيون). وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يواجه الأطفال خارج سوريا صعوبةً في استيعاب المناهج الجديدة واللغات الفرنسية والإنجليزية غير المألوفة. كما يواجه الأطفال الذين لم يرتداوا المدرسة منذ سنوات صعوباتٍ نفسية بالتواجد داخل الغرف الصفية مع طلاب أصغر سناً. ففي لبنان والعراق، تُفضل الأسر عدم إرسال بناتها إلى المدارس، خوفاً من السير لمسافاتٍ طويلة في شوارع غير آمنة مما قد يعرضهنّ لعمليات الخطف أو الإغتصاب.

وتقول ملالا يوسف زي، وهي رمزٌ عالمي وناشطة في مجال التعليم، أنّ هناك حاجة لمبلغ 1,4 مليار دولار أمريكي سنوياً لتعليم الأطفال في سوريا. وكما تقول، فإن المبلغ معقول مقارنةً بتكلفة خسارة جيل بأكمله في الحرب والعنف، بمجرد أن يحتاج العالم الجيل القادم من الأطباء والمعلمين والمهندسين لإعادة إعمار سوريا. وفي عام 2012، بلغ مجموع الخسائر الاقتصادية من تكوين رأس المال البشري بسبب التسرب من المدارس في سوريا، 10,7 مليار دولار أمريكي، وذلك وفقاً لدراسة أجرتها اليونسيف. ويشكل هذا ما نسبته 17%، أو خُمس، الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السوري عام 2010.

هذا وقد تم القضاء على المكاسب التنموية التي تحققت منذ أواخر ثمانينيات القرن الماضي في سوريا. ففي السنوات الست الماضية، تراجعت سوريا 23 مرتبة على مؤشر التنمية البشرية، وتراجع تطورها أربعة عقودٍ إلى الوراء. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن ما يقارب الـ7 ملايين طفل يعيشون في سوريا تحت خط الفقر، ويُجبر الأطفال، الذين لا تتجاوز أعمارهم ثلاث سنوات، على العمل. كما تُجبر الفتيات على الزواج في سن مبكر، وذلك ببساطة لأنّ الأسر لم تعد قادرةً على رعاية جميع أطفالها بعد الآن. وخلصت دراسة لليونيسف حول الزواج المبكر في مخيمات اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن، إلى أن ثلث زواج السوريات في المخيمات ينطوي على تزويج الفتيات تحت سن الـ18، أي ضعف معدل عام 2011. فالفتيات بعمر الزهور، 12 عاماً، يحملّن، بحيث بات غالبيتهنّ يعانين من أعراض الشدة النفسية والعاطفية العميقة بينهنّ وبين المواليد الجدد.

Home / Syria / Human Rights / Situation of Syrian Refugee Children

Situation of Syrian Refugee Children

Syrian refugee children attend a class at a makeshift school set up in a tent at an informal tented settlement near the Syrian border on the outskirts of Mafraq, Jordan, 10 March 2016. Photo Muhammed Muheisen

According to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, an estimated 11 million Syrians have left their homes since the start of the Syrian civil war in March 2011. Among the UNHCR’s 4,810,710 registered Syrian refugees (as of 30 November 2016), most live in only five neighboring countries. About 2.1 million Syrians are registered in Lebanon, Jordan and Iraq, while 2.7 million are hosted by Turkey. Out of the 4.8 million registered refugees, the U.N. suggests that more than half of them — roughly 2.5 million — are under the age of 18, with a majority that has not attended school in months or even years. A report issued by UNICEF in March 2016 estimates that 3.7 million Syrian children has been born since the conflict broke out in 2011. That represents 1 in 3 of all Syrian children. The report documents more than 811,000 children born in countries neighbouring Syria, out of which 306,000 children born with the registered refugee status. Additionally, UNICEF estimates that over 80 per cent – around 8.4 million children of Syria’s child population have had their lives shaped by violence, by fear and displacement, and have been affected by the conflict.

According to a report of the United Nations Security General (UNSG) for Children and Armed conflicts from February 2014, more than 10,000 children were killed in Syria between the years 2011 and 2013. There is no other source of information on the number of children killed since then.

There is no safe place for children in Syria today. With violence reaching record-levels, destruction has hit homes, playgrounds, schools, parks and places of worship indiscriminately. Since the break of the war in 2011, UNICEF has managed to document over 1,500 grave violations against Syrian children’s rights; these violations include killing and maiming (mainly due to explosive weapons), child-soldier recruitment by parties of the conflict, abduction, arrest, rape, trafficking, and the denial of humanitarian access – mainly by the Syrian regime. These are the gravest among a myriad of others. Moreover, the Syrian Network for Human Rights (SNHR) published a report in 2014 accusing the Syrian regime of imprisoning at least 9,500 children since the start of the uprising in 2011. These arrests were not conducted on any legal basis, but were carried out by regime troops kidnapping children that had participated in the peaceful demonstrations that took place in the first six months of the Syrian uprising.

Marwan Abdulsalam, a former detainee of the Syrian military intelligence branch, told ‘the New Arab’ newspaper in 2014, after the release of the SNHR’s report, that during his detention, he saw “more than 30 children” detained with him. He added that some were younger than 10 years old. Marwan said that, at times, interrogators beat the children with a silicon rod in order to extract information about their families and relatives who might be involved in anti-regime protests.

One trend among the violations against the children, which is directly related to the denigration of the respect for international humanitarian and human rights laws by the parties of the conflict, is the increase in the recruitment of the children to fight in the conflict. Given the harsh economic reality that governs Syria nowadays, partisan groups to the conflict actively encourage children to join the war, offering various rewards including salaries that can amount to US $400 per month. In the first couple of years of the conflict, the majority of children recruited were boys between the ages of 15 and 17, who were deemed useful for supporting roles away from the frontlines – usually on checkpoints and for guard shifts, in regime-held areas mostly. Since 2014, the parties attributed for child recruitment are the Islamic State (IS), the Free Syrian Army and its affiliated groups, Liwa’ al-Tawhid, popular committees in different parts of the country, the Kurdish People’s Protection Units (YPG), Ahrar al-Sham, the Nusra Front, and the Army of Islam.

With the war intensifying, especially in some specific camps where the regime and IS are fighting, recruitment has targeted children as young as seven years old. It often happens without parental consent, but some parents also accept their children’s recruitment for the financial benefits offered by the recruiters. A UNICEF report from 2015 documented a hike in recruits under the age of 15 compared with 2014. Nowadays, children are formally receiving military training and participating in combat, in addition to assuming a more life-threatening role upfront on battle lines, including evacuation and treatment of the wounded. Girls are being recruited too.

One of the most significant challenges to children’s rights created by the conflict has been child education. The UNICEF report estimates that more than 2.1 million children inside Syria and more than 700,000 in neighboring countries are out-of-school. School attendance rates inside Syria was hitting rock-bottom in 2016, the 5th year of the conflict, as gross enrolment ratio in basic education was down to the 74 per cent mark. Two decades of investment in education have been thrown down the drain, with over 6,000 schools in Syria that are no longer functioning, either due to abandonment or due to bombardment. The net enrolment in primary education has fallen to the 70 per cent mark in 2013, a number as low as in the 1980s when Syria hugely suffered economically, in addition to the military crackdown on the Syrian city of Hama. In Aleppo, the school attendance rate was already extremely low in 2013, at 6%.

Out of the 14 governorates Syria is divided into, the five governorates with the most intense fighting among anti-government and government groups amount to half of the children at school. These governorates are Damascus, rural Damascus, Aleppo, Idlib and Homs. By 2016, and according to the UNICEF report titled ‘Education under Fire,’ classrooms were systematically emptied either because teachers and students were killed, or because more than 52,000 teachers left their posts due to various reasons. One of the reasons was the regime’s mass firing of teachers had showed sympathy or participated in anti-regime activity, mainly protests.

Yet, finding spaces in classrooms is not deemed the main problem. Many children lack the right or official documents to enroll. This is a situation most of the refugee children in neighboring countries are facing, especially in Lebanon, a country where refugees are scattered among rural and urban areas with no official refugee camps hosting them (apart from camps set up, and already inhabited by, Palestinian refugees). Additionally, children outside of Syria face the difficulty of accommodating to the new curricula and unfamiliar languages of English and French. Children who have missed school for years now face the psychological difficulty of sharing classes with much younger students. In Lebanon and Iraq, families prefer not to send their daughters to school, fearing long walks through insecure streets might expose them to operations of kidnapping or rape.

Malala Yousafzai, a global icon and education activist, says that a sum of US $1.4 billion a year is needed to educate the children of Syria. According to her, this number is affordable in comparison to the cost of losing a generation to war and violence, just when the world will need the next generation of doctors, teachers and engineers to rebuild Syria. In 2012, the total economic loss of human capital formation due to dropout from schools in Syria amounted to US $10.7 billion, according to a UNICEF study. This constitutes 17 percent, or one-fifth, of the 2010 Syrian GDP.

Developmental gains achieved since the late 1980s in Syria have been wiped out. In the last six years, Syria has regressed 23 places on the Human Development Index and its development has been pushed four decades back. Nearly seven million children living in Syria are under the poverty line, and children as young as three years old are being forced to work. Girls are also being forced into marriages at a younger age, simply because families cannot afford to take care of all their children anymore. A study on early marriages in refugee camps in Jordan, conducted by UNICEF, concluded that one-third of all Syrian marriages in camp settings are involving girls under the age of 18 – double the rate of 2011. Girls as young as 12 years old are getting pregnant, causing a majority to show signs of profound psychological and emotional distress among them and their newborns.