الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / حقوق الإنسان

حقوق الإنسان

UDHR Text
الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان. Photo Geneva Centre for Human Rights Advancement and Global Dialogue.

أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. التفسيرات المتباينة ممكنة، مع وجود اختلافاتٍ عادةً وفقاً للخلفية الثقافية. ومع ذلك، فإنّ معظم هذه التفاهمات تشتمل، شعورياً أو لا شعورياً، على الحقوق الأساسية الواردة في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة.

اعتمدت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان في العاشر من ديسمبر 1948. وقد كُتب في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية “… على أنه المستوى المشترك الذي ينبغي أن تستهدفه كافة الشعوب والأمم حتى يسعى كل فرد وهيئة في المجتمع، واضعين على الدوام هذا الإعلان نصب أعينهم…” وبالتالي، كان مُراداً له أن يكون عالمياً حقاً، لحماية المواطنين من أي نوعٍ من أنواع الانتهاكات التي شهدها العالم مؤخراً، على النحو المُبين في الديباجة والمواد الثلاثين الواردة في هذا الإعلان.

وعلى هذا النحو، تتضمن الإعلان مواداً حول الحق في الحياة بكرامة؛ والحرية والأمن؛ وحرية التنقل؛ والحق في الجنسية والتعليم؛ والمعاملة العادلة بين البشر والاحترام؛ فضلاً عن حرية التعبير والرأي، والحماية من التعذيب أو المعاملة اللاإنسانية، وكذلك الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية.

القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان

الإعلان ليس مُلزماً من الناحية القانونية، إلا أنه أساس القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان. تم تشكيل عهدين ملزمين تابعين للأمم المتحدة كنتيجةٍ للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان؛ العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، والعهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية. غالباً ما يُشار إلى هذه الوثائق الثلاث معاً بـ”الشرعة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان.”

وعلى مدى سنوات طويلة، تمت كتابة مواثيق أخرى للإضافة إلى والإسهاب في هذه القاعدة، مع التركيز على مواضيع مختلفة مثل اللاجئين (1951 و1967)، والتمييز ضد المرأة (اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة (سيداو)- 1979)، والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة (2008)، ومناهضة التعذيب (1987)، وحماية العمّال المهاجرين (1990)، ومناهضة التمييز العنصري (1969)، على سبيل المثال لا للحصر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قامت منظمة العمل الدولية بتجميع عدد كبير من الاتفاقيات، وعلى وجه الخصوص تلك المتعلقة بمعايير العمل والقوى العاملة، والتي تعتبر 8 منها من “الاتفاقيات الأساسية،” ألا وهي حرية تكوين الجمعيات (1948، الاتفاقية رقم 87)، وحق المفاوضة الجماعية (1949، الاتفاقية رقم 98)، وتحريم السُخرة (1930، الاتفاقية رقم 29، و1957 الاتفاقية رقم 105)، والحد الأدنى للسن (1973، الاتفاقية رقم 138)، وعمالة الأطفال (1999، الاتفاقية رقم 182)، والمساواة في الأجر (1951، الاتفاقية رقم 100)، وتكافؤ الفرص والمعاملة (الاتفاقية رقم 111).

اتفاقيات جنيف

اتفاقيات جنيف هي تنقيح للاتفاقيات التي تمت صياغتها سابقاً، والتي تم تعديلها بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية، وتركز بشكلٍ خاص على معاملة الأشخاص في زمن الحرب. تتألف من أربع اتفاقيات، وثلاثة برتوكولات إضافية. وتوضح اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر أنّ هذه الاتفاقيات “تهدف إلى ضمان احترام كرامة الإنسان، المعترف بها دولياً من حيث المبدأ، حتى في خضم الأعمال العدائية.”

وخلال سلسلة من اجتماعات الخبراء، وتجمعات وكالات الصليب الأحمر، والتقاء ممثلي الحكومات مراراً، تم تنقيح المواد إلى أنّ تم تقديم مشروع قانون في المؤتمر الدبلوماسي لوضع اتفاقيات دولية لحماية ضحايا الحروب عام 1949. تم التوقيع على الاتفاقية الختامية من قِبل تسعة وخمسين دولة، البعض منها لم تعد موجودة، بالإضافة إلى توقيع المزيد من الدول منذ ذلك الحين.

تم تجميع إعلان القاهرة حول حقوق الإنسان في الإسلام من قِبل منظمة التعاون الإسلامي في عام 1990، خلال مؤتمر العالم الإسلامي التاسع عشر لوزراء الخارجية في القاهرة، وتم التوقيع عليه من قِبل 57 دولة. يحمل هذا الإعلان مبادىء مماثلة، إن لم تكن متطابقة، للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان، ولكن تتضمن أيضاً، بصورة ملحوظة، على مواد تتعلق بـ”القانون في الحرب” – حدود السلوك المقبول زمن الحرب، بشكلٍ مماثل لاتفاقيات جنيف. كما يتناول إعلان القاهرة حول حقوق الإنسان في الإسلام المساواة بين الرجل والمرأة، وحقوق الطفل، والحرية، والحق في الرعاية الطبية، والحق في تقرير المصير، وغيرها. أبرزها المادة (25) من هذه الوثيقة التي تدرج الشريعة الإسلامية باعتبارها المرجع الوحيد بما في ذلك العقاب. تمت المصادقة على إعلان القاهرة حول حقوق الإنسان في الإسلام من قِبل 45 دولة، مما مجموعه 57 عضواً في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي.

اتفاقيات وقعتها سوريا

وقّعت سوريا على اتفاقات جنيف في 2 نوفمبر 1953، والبروتوكول الإضافي الأول (المتعلق بحماية ضحايا المنازعات الدولية المسلحة) في 14 نوفمبر 1983. وعلاوة على ذلك، أصبحت سوريا من الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية حقوق الطفل في 15 يوليو 1993، والبروتوكول الاختياري لاتفاقية حقوق الطفل في 17 أكتوبر 2003.

صوتت سوريا لصالح الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان، إلى جانب 48 دولة أخرى، وهي عضو في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي منذ عام 1972. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تمت المصادقة على الاتفاقيات الثمانية الأساسية لمنظمة العمل الدولية من قِبل الجمهورية العربية السورية.

اللاجئون

تستند الاتفاقية المتعلقة بوضع اللاجئين إلى المادة (14) من الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان، وتقر حق اللجوء وحماية اللاجئين. تمت الموافقة عليها خلال اجتماع الجمعية العامة في 14 ديسمبر 1950، ودخلت حيز النفاذ في 22 أبريل 1954. ومع ذلك، حددت الاتفاقية الأصلية نطاقها باللاجئين الفارين قبل الأول من يناير 1951. وعلى هذا النحو، تم إدراج بروتوكول إضافي عام 1967، وإزالة هذه القيود.
سوريا ليست طرفاً في اتفاقية عام 1951 ولا بروتوكولها.

المرأة

تمت الموافقة على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، التي تُسمى أيضاً سيداو، خلال دورة الجمعية العامة في 18 ديسمبر 1979، ودخلت حيز النفاذ في 3 ديسمبر 1981. في 28 مارس 2003، انضمت سوريا للاتفاقية. من خلال “الانضمام” تقبل الدولة عرض أو فرصة أن تصبح طرفاً في المعاهدة، التي تم التفاوض عليها أو توقيعها سابقاً من قِبل الدول الأخرى. لها نفس الأثر القانوني للمصادقة. الدول التي صادقت أو انضمت لاتفاقية سيداو مُلزمة قانوناً بتطبيق أحكامها، والموافقة بموجب ذلك على تقديم تقارير وطنية عن التدابير المتخذة للامتثال بالتزاماتها. يتم جمع هذه التقارير، على الأقل، كل أربع سنوات.

كان لدى الجمهورية العربية السورية تحفظاتٍ بشأن المادة (2)، التي تدين التمييز ضد المرأة؛ والفقرة (2) من المادة (9) فيما يتعلق بجنسية الأبناء؛ والفقرة (4) من المادة (15) فيما يتعلق بحرية التنقل؛ والبند (ج) من الفقرة (1) من المادة (16)، التي تمنح نفس الحقوق والواجبات أثناء الزواج وعند فسخه؛ والبند (د) من الفقرة (1) من المادة (16)، الذي ينص على منح نفس الحقوق والمسؤوليات كوالدة بغض النظر عن حالتها الزوجية؛ والبند (و) من الفقرة (1) من المادة (16) التي تمنح المرأة نفس الحقوق والمسؤوليات فيما يتعلق بالولاية والقوامة والوصاية على الأطفال وتبنيهم؛ والبند (ز) من الفقرة (1) من المادة (16)، التي تفرض نفس الحقوق الشخصية للزوج والزوجة بما في ذلك الحق في اختيار اسم الأسرة والمهنة والوظيفة؛ والفقرة (2) من المادة (16) المتعلقة بزواج الأطفال؛ والفقرة (1) من المادة (29)، فيما يتعلق بالخلاف بين الدول الأطراف حول تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ الفقرة (2) من المادة (29) تسمح على وجه الخصوص بمثل هذا التحفظ.

أدرج تفسير واحد فقط لهذه التحفظات، المتعلق بالفقرة (2) من المادة (16) مشيراً إلى أنه لا يتفق مع الشريعة الإسلامية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ذكرت صراحةً أن انضمامها للاتفاقية “لا يعني بأي حالٍ من الأحوال الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو الدخول مع إسرائيل بأي تعاملات في إطار أحكام هذه الاتفاقية…”

الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة

تمت الموافقة على اتفاقية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة خلال دورة الجمعية العامة في 13 ديسمبر 2006 ودخلت حيز النفاذ في 3 مايو 2008. وفي الوقت نفسه، تمت الموافقة على البروتوكول الاختياري، وإعطاء لجنة حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة أهلية فحص الشكاوى الفردية فيما يتعلق بالانتهاكات المزعومة من جانب الدول الأطراف في البروتوكول. لجنة حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة هي هيئة مكونة من خبراء مستقلين تقوم بمتابعة تطبيق الاتفاقية. وقعت سوريا على الاتفاقية في 30 مارس 2007، وصادقت عليها في 10 يوليو 2009. وفي نفس اليوم، انضمت للبروتوكول الاختياري. ومرة أخرى، أكدت التحفظات السورية أنّ المصادقة على الاتفاقية لا يعني الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو إنشاء أي علاقاتٍ معها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وفيما يخص المادة (12) التي تتعلق بالإعتراف بالأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة على قدم المساواة أمام القانون، فإنها تلتزم بالتفسير الوارد في الكتاب الذي وجهه الممثل الدائم للعراق. وفيما يتعلق بالتحفظات على البروتوكول، صرحت أنها- كما هو مسوحٌ بموجب المادة (8)- لا تعترف باختصاص اتفاقية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، على النحو الوارد في المادتين (6) و(7)، فيما يتعلق بالتعاون في إجراء الفحوصات أو التحقيقات في الانتهاكات المزعومة.

التعذيب

تم اعتماد اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية، والتي يُشار إليها أيضاً باتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب فحسب، خلال دورة الجمعية العامة في 10 ديسمبر 1984. وفي 26 يونيو 1987 تم تسجيلها وبالتالي دخولها حيز النفاذ. تتم مراقبة تطبيقها من قِبل لجنة مناهضة التعذيب، وهي هيئة تتألف من 10 خبراء من جنسياتٍ مختلفة. جميع الدول الموقعة ملزمة بإرسال تقارير منتظمة إلى لجنة مناهضة التعذيب، والتي على أساسها يتم وضع التوصيات. أكدت سوريا انضمامها للاتفاقية في 19 أغسطس 2004. إلا أنها أعلنت في نفس الوقت عدم اعترافها باختصاص اللجنة على النحو الوارد في المادة (20) والمسموح به في المادة (28). وعلاوة على ذلك، أشارت إلى أنّ الانضمام إلى الاتفاقية، على وجه التحديد، لا يعني الاعتراف بإسرائيل.

العمال المهاجرين

تمت الموافقة على الاتفاقية الدولية لحماية حقوق جميع العمال المهاجرين وأفراد أسرهم من قبل الجمعية العامة في 18 ديسمبر 1990 ودخلت حيز النفاذ في 1 يوليو 2003. انضمت سوريا إلى الاتفاقية في 2 يونيو 2005. وكحال جميع الاتفاقيات التي وقعتها سوريا، أبدت تحفظها بأنّ الانضمام إلى الاتفاقية، على وجه التحديد، لا يعني الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو أنها ستتعامل مع إسرائيل كجزءٍ من الاتفاقية.

التمييز العنصري

تمت الموافقة على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري من قبل الجمعية العامة، ووفقاً لذلك استهل التوقيع عليها في 7 مارس 1966. دخلت حيز النفاذ في 4 يناير 1969. وعلى الرغم من الوضوح في عنوان الاتفاقية، إلا أنها تهدف إلى طمس خطاب الكراهية وتعزيز التفاهم. تتم مراقبة تنفيذ المواد من قبل اللجنة المعنية بالقضاء على التمييز العنصري، التي تُقدم لها تقارير نصف سنوية من قبل كل دولة من الدول الموقعة. وهي مسؤولة عن التعامل مع الشكاوى بين الدول والأفراد والتي تتعلق بعدم الامتثال لأحكام الاتفاقية، على النحو المنصوص عليه في المادة (14).

انضمت سوريا إلى الاتفاقية في 21 أبريل 1969 بتحفظها الأساسي أنّ الانضمام إلى الاتفاقية، على وجه التحديد، لا يعني الاعتراف بإسرائيل، فضلاً عن تصريحها بأنها لا تعتبر نفسها مُلزمة بالمادة (22)، المتعلقة بالنزاع الذي ينشأ بين الدول الأطرف بشأن تفسير هذه الاتفاقية أو تطبيقها والتي تنص على إحالة جميع أطراف النزاع إلى محكمة العدل الدولية للفصل فيه.

حقوق الإنسان في سوريا


يعرّف الدستور (1973) الجمهورية العربية السورية بأنها دولة ديمقراطية شعبية اشتراكية ذات سيادة، حيث “الحرية حق مقدس”. ومع ذلك، كان نظام حافظ الأسد، والد وسلف الرئيس الحالي، مستبداً، ولم يتسامح مع أي انشقاق. وقد وضع العديد من السجناء السياسيين وراء القضبان لسنوات. وقد ذكرت منظمات حقوق إنسان حالات التعذيب بشكل متكرر.

عندما تولى بشار الأسد السلطة، أمل الكثيرون بأنه سيدخل العديد من الإصلاحات والتحسينات على وضع حقوق الإنسان. وهذا ما فعله بالفعل في الأيام الأولى. فقد أطلق بشار الأسد سراح العديد من السجناء السياسيين، وسمح بدرجة من حرية الصحافة. لكن في عام 2005، بعد ما سمي بإعلان دمشق – والذي طالب فيه العديد من المشاهير والمواطنين بالمزيد من الديمقراطية – تم تقييد حرية التعبير مرة أخرى، وتلا ذلك اعتقالات بتهم مثل “محاولة تغيير الدستور بوسائل غير مشروعة” و “نشر معلومات كاذبة”. وكما هو الحال في العديد من الدول العربية، في سوريا أيضاً “الاتجاه العام (…) واحد من تآكل الحرية الثابت لدعم الهيكل القائم على الحكم الاستبدادي”، وفق تقرير التنمية البشرية العربية 2005،

Home / Syria / Human Rights

Human Rights

UDHR Text
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Photo Geneva Centre for Human Rights Advancement and Global Dialogue.

The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. Varying interpretations are possible, with differences usually being based on cultural background. Nonetheless, most of these understandings consciously or subconsciously include the basic rights outlined in the United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

The United Nations General Assembly (GA) adopted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights on December 10th, 1948. It was written in the aftermath of World War II, “… as a common standard of achievement for all peoples and all nations, to the end that every individual and every organ of society, keeping this Declaration constantly in mind…” Thus it was truly meant to be universal, to protect citizens from any type of violation the world had recently experienced, as outlined in the Preamble and 30 Articles.

As such, it includes articles on the right to life in dignity; liberty and security; freedom of movement; right to nationality and education; just treatment of human beings and respect; as well as freedom of expressions and opinions, from torture or inhumane treatment, as well as economic, social and cultural rights.

International Human Rights Law

The Declaration is not legally binding, but is the basis of international human rights law. Two binding UN covenants were formed as a result of the UDHR; the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. Combined, these three documents are often referred to as the “International Bill of Human Rights”.

Over the years other conventions have been written to expand on and add to this fundament, focusing on a variety of topics such as refugees (1951 and 1967), discrimination of women (‘CEDAW’, 1979) and disabled persons (2008), against torture (1987), protection of migrant workers (1990), and against racial discrimination (1969) to name a few.

Additionally, the International Labour Organization has compiled a large number of conventions specifically related to work force and labour standards, of which 8 are considered ‘fundamental conventions’ and relate to freedom of association (1948, C087), collective bargaining (1949, C098), forced labour (1930, C029 and 1957, C105), minimum age (1973, C138), child labour (1999, C182), equal remuneration (1951, C100), equal opportunity and treatment (C111).

Geneva Conventions

The Geneva Conventions are a revision of previously constructed conventions, adjusted after WWII and specifically focus on treatment of persons in time of war. It consists of four Conventions, and three additional protocols. The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) explains that the Conventions “aims at ensuring that, even in the midst of hostilities, the dignity of the human person, universally acknowledged in principle, shall be respected.”

During a series of expert meetings, congregations by Red Cross agencies, and a confluence of government representatives over time, the articles were revised until a draft was represented at The Diplomatic Conference for the Establishment of International Conventions for the Protection of Victims of War in 1949. The Final Act was signed by fifty-nine nations, some of which no longer exist, and has attained more signatories since.

The Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam (CDHRI) was compiled by the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in 1990, during the 19th Islamic Conference of Foreign Ministers in Cairo, and has 57 signatories. This Declaration holds similar – if not identical – principles as the UDHR, but notably also included articles related to ‘jus in bello’ – acceptable wartime conduct, alike the Geneva Conventions. The CDHRI also addresses equality between women and men, rights of the child, freedom, right to medical care, right to self-determination, amongst others. Most notably is that this 25 Article document clearly lists the Sharia as reference point including for punishment. The CDHRI has been adopted by 45 countries, out of the total 57 members of the OIC.

Conventions Signed By Syria


Syria signed the Conventions on 2 November 1953, and the Additional Protocol I (Protection of Victims of International Armed Conflicts) on November 14, 1983. Moreover, Syria became signatory to the Convention for the Rights of the Child (CRC) on 15 July 1993, as well as the Optional Protocol to the CRC on 17 October 2003.

Syria voted in favor of the UDHR in 1948, along with 48 other member nations, and has been member of the OIC since 1972. Additionally, all eight fundamental ILO conventions have been ratified by the Syrian Arab Republic.

Refugees

The Convention relating to the Status of Refugees is based off Article 14 of the UDHR, and recognizes the right of asylum and protection of refugees. It was approved during the General Assembly meeting of December 14, 1950 and came into force on April 22, 1954. However, the original Convention limited its scope to refugees fleeing prior to 1 January 1951. As such, an additional protocol was compiled in 1967, removing these limitations.

Syria is not party to the 1951 Convention, nor its Protocol.

Women

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women – also called CEDAW, was approved during the General Assembly Session on 18 December, 1979 and entered into force on 3 September 1981. On March 28, 2003 Syria acceded to the Convention. Through “accession” a state accepts the offer or the opportunity to become a party to a treaty, which has already negotiated and signed by other states. It has the same legal effect as ratification. Countries that have ratified or acceded CEDAW are legally bound to put its provisions into practice, and thereby agree to submit national reports on measures taken to comply with its obligations. Such reports are to be compiled at least every four years.

The Arab Republic made reservations to Article 2, condemning discrimination against women; Article 9 (2), concerning children’s nationality; Article 15 (4), prescribing equality of freedom of movement; Article 16 paragraphs 1c, prescribing the same rights and responsibilities during marriage and upon dissolution; 1d, listing the same rights and responsibilities of parents regardless their marital status; 1f, granting equal rights and responsibilities regarding guardianship, wardship, trusteeship, and adoption; and 1g, prescribing equal personal rights, including that of choosing a family name and profession; Article 16 (2), concerning child marriage; and Article 29 (1), discussing dispute between states concerning interpretation or application of the Convention. It is noteworthy that Article 29 (2) specifically allows for such a reservation.

Only one explanation for the reservations was listed, pertaining to that of Article 16 (2), stating it is incompatible with the Sharia. Additionally, it explicitly stated that its accession to the Convention “shall in no way signify recognition of Israel or entail entry into any dealings with Israel in the context of the provisions…”

Persons with Disabilities

The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities was approved during the General Assembly session on December 13, 2006 and came into force on May 3, 2008. Simultaneously, the Optional Protocol was approved, giving the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) competence to examine individual complaints with regard to alleged violations by States parties to the Protocol. The CRPD is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention. Syria signed the Convention on March 30, 2007 and ratified it on July 10, 2009. On this same date, it acceded to the Optional Protocol. Syrian reservations to the Convention once more emphasized the ratification did not imply recognition of Israel or entry into relations with them. Additionally, regarding Article 12 on equal recognition before the law, it adheres to the interpretation denoted in a letter by the Iraqi Permanent Representative. As reservation to the Protocol, it states that – as allowed for in Article 8 – it does not recognize the competence of the CRPD, as listed in Articles 6 and 7, regarding cooperation in examinations or conducting inquiries in to alleged violations.

Torture

The Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, also referred to as just the Convention against Torture, was adopted during the General Assembly session on December 10, 1984. On June 26, 1987 it was registered and thereby came into force. Its implementation is monitored by the Committee Against Torture(CAT), composed of ten individuals of various nationalities. All signatory states are obliged to send regular reports to the CAT, based on which recommendations are made. Syria confirmed its accession to the Convention on August 19, 2004. It simultaneously declared its non-recognition of the competence of the Committee as described in Article 20 and allowed for in Article 28. Additionally it specifically denotes accession to the Convention does not signify recognition of Israel.

Migrant Workers

The International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families was approved by the General Assembly on December 18, 1990 and entered into force on July 1, 2003. Syria accessed it on June 2, 2005. As is the case for all other Conventions signed by Syria, a reservation was made denoting its accession does not imply recognition of Israel or that it will deal with Israel as part of the Convention.

Racial Discrimination

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination was approved by the General Assembly and accordingly opened for signature on March 7, 1966. It entered into force on January 4, 1969. Despite the obvious as stated in the Convention title, it aims to obliterate hate speech and promote understanding. Implementation of the articles is monitored by the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, to which bi-annual reports are submitted by each signatory. It also is responsible for handling inter-state and individual complaints related to non-conformity to the provisions of the Convention, as prescribed in Article 14.

Syria acceded to the Convention on April 21, 1969 with its standard reservation of accession not implying recognition of Israel as well as stating it does not consider itself bound by Article 22, pertaining to inter-state dispute resulting from interpretation or implementation of the Convention, stating that all parties to the dispute are to expressly consent to intervention of the International Court of Justice.

Human Rights in Syria


The Constitution (1973) describes the Syrian Arab Republic as a democratic, popular, socialist, and sovereign state, where freedom is a sacred right. Yet, the regime of Hafiz al-Assad, the father and predecessor of the incumbent president, was authoritarian and tolerated no dissidence. Numerous political prisoners were jailed for years. Torture cases were frequently brought to light by human rights organizations. When Bashar al-Assad took over, many hoped he would bring reforms and improvements to the human rights situation. In the early days, Bashar al-Assad released political prisoners and accepted a certain degree of press freedom.

But in 2005, after what was called the Damascus Declaration – in which a number of celebrities and renowned citizens asked for more democracy – freedom of expression was restricted again and arrests followed on charges such as attempting to change the constitution by illegal means and spreading false information. ‘As in most Arab countries, in Syria, too, the overall trend (…) has been one of steady erosion of freedom in support of the existing structure of authoritarian rule’, writes the Arab Human Development Report 2005.