الصفحة الرئيسية / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العقود الأولى من استقلال سوريا: 1946-1963

العقود الأولى من استقلال سوريا: 1946-1963

بدأت سوريا عهد الاستقلال الكامل كدولة ديمقراطية برلمانية، ولكن في غضون أشهر استلم الجيش زمام المبادرة وقام بتنظيم سلسلة من الانقلابات العسكرية والتسلط بالتعاون مع نخبة سياسية واقتصادية تضم عدداً صغيراً من عائلات أصحاب الأطيان والتجار، معظمهم في دمشق وحمص وحلب. حدث أول انقلاب غير دموي في 30 آذار/مارس عام 1949 من قبل رئيس هيئة الأركان العقيد حسني الزعيم، الذي أطاح بحكومة الرئيس شكري القوتلي المنتخبة، وقام بحل البرلمان. وقام العقيد سامي الحناوي بالانقلاب الثاني في 14 آب/أغسطس عام 1949. ألقي القبض على حسني الزعيم ورئيس وزرائه محسن البرازي، وتمت محاكمتهما وإعدامهما. أعاد الحناوي سوريا إلى الحكم المدني من خلال انتخابات عامة أجريت في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وفي 19 كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1949، تمت الإطاحة بنظامه في انقلاب ثالث بقيادة العقيد أديب الشيشكلي، الذي شارك في انقلاب الحناوي. اعتقل الزعيم السوري الجديد الحناوي متهماً إياه بالتآمر مع العراق ضد سوريا. وأصر الشيشكلي على أن تضم جميع الحكومات صديقه المقرّب فوزي السلو كوزير للدفاع. وعندما رفض رئيس الوزراء معروف الدواليبي، قام الشيشكلي بانقلاب آخر في 28 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1951. فقام باعتقال الدواليبي مع مجلس وزرائه بالكامل والعديد من رجال السياسة الآخرين ممن لا يثق بهم. واحتجاجاً على ذلك، استقال الرئيس هاشم الأتاسي.

أصبح حكم الشيشكلي دكتاتورياً على نحو متزايد. عام 1952، حظر جميع الأحزاب السياسية، وأسس حزبه الخاص: حركة التحرر العربية. وبحلول منتصف عام 1953، كانت المعارضة لنظام الشيشكلي قد وصلت أوجها، ولا سيما في أوساط اليساريين والقوميين، وفي أوساط الدروز الذين عاداهم الشيشكلي بشكل خاص. اتفقت أحزاب المعارضة الرئيسية على العمل معاً لإسقاط الشيشكلي. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير عام 1954، قصف الجيش مدناً في جبل الدروز بالمدفعية الثقيلة، مما أسفر عن مقتل وإصابة الكثيرين. وأعلن النظام الأحكام العرفية، ولكن دون جدوى. وفي 27 شباط/فبراير عام 1954، قلم العقيد فيصل الأتاسي بالانقلاب العسكري الخامس منذ الاستقلال، وأعاد الحكم البرلماني.

استقلال سوريا شكري القوتلي
شكري القوتلي
حسني الزعيم
استقلال سوريا سامي الحناوي
سامي الحناوي
استقلال سوريا أديب الشيشكلي
أديب الشيشكلي

القومية العربية وحزب البعث

استقلال سوريا جمال عبد الناصر
جمال عبد الناصر، تجسيد للقومية العربية

كانت هذه الأنظمة العسكرية البدائية غير أيديولوجية بشكل أو بآخر، إلا انها ظهرت عندما اجتاحت المنطقة موجة القومية التي صمم زعماؤها على تصحيح الأخطاء والقضاء على نقاط الضعف التي أدت إلى هزيمة العرب من قبل الصهيونية في حرب عام 1948 -1949 في فلسطين. عام 1952، تمت الإطاحة بالنظام الملكي المصري من قبل ضباط الجيش الشباب برئاسة جمال عبد الناصر ذي الشخصية الجذابة، والذي سرعان ما تبنى الفكر القومي العربي الشعبي، وسقط النظام الملكي العراقي عام 1958. كان حزب البعث أحد أقوى التيارات في هذه الموجة. تأسس حزب البعث في دمشق في أربعينات القرن العشرين من قبل اثنين من معلمي المرحلة الثانوية، من خريجي جامعة السوربون الفرنسية: ميشيل عفلق، مسيحي من طائفة الروم الأرثوذكس؛ وصلاح الدين البيطار، مسلم سنّي. وكان شعارا الحزب الرئيسيان “الوحدة والحرية والاشتراكية” و “أمة عربية واحدة ذات رسالة خالدة”.

في سنواته الأولى، كان لحزب البعث بضع مئات من الأعضاء، معظمهم طلاب من أصول ريفية، وكان يؤيد الوحدة العربية والعدالة الاجتماعية باعتبارها الطريق إلى النهضة العربية. وفي أوائل خمسينات القرن العشرين، بلغ عدد أعضائه حوالي 4500 فقط، ولكن العلامة البارزة في تطور حزب البعث جاءت عام 1952 عندما اندمج مع الحزب العربي الاشتراكي بزعامة أكرم الحوراني، الخطوة التي أعطت الحزب أول جمهور كبير من الفلاحين الأنصار. اشتهر الحوراني، وهو محام من مدينة حماة، كقومي عربي في عهد الانتداب الفرنسي، وبعد استقلال سوريا عام 1946 كبطل المزارعين الفلاحين المظلومين في منطقته. عام 1950، نظم الحوراني أتباعه في الحزب العربي الاشتركي، الذي كان مقره الرئيسي في مدينة حماة. وفي ظل ديكتاتورية أديب الشيشكلي، الذي كان قد استولى على السلطة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1949، لجأ الحوراني والبيطار وعفلق إلى لبنان، حيث اتفقوا على دمج أحزابهم في حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي. ووفق أخصائي في الشؤون السورية، كان “تحالفاً للطبقة الحضرية الرفيعة والمدرسين والموظفين الحكوميين وأمثالهم، مع الفلاحين الثوريين” (باتريك سيل، “الأسد: الصراع على الشرق الأوسط”، 1995، ص 47). وازداد تأييد حزب البعث بسرعة خلال خمسينات القرن العشرين.

الديمقراطية البرلمانية: 1954-1958

استقلال سوريا جمال عبد الناصر و  شكري القوتلي
الرئيس السوري شكري القوتلي (يسار) والرئيس المصري جمال عبد الناصر يوقعان على اتفاق تشكيل الجمهورية العربية المتحدة عام 1958
اضغط للتكبير

كانت خمسينات القرن العشرين ذروة القومية العربية اليسارية الراديكالية في الشرق الأوسط، والتي أججتها الهزيمة العربية في حرب فلسطين 1948-1949؛ وحملة السويس البريطانية الفرنسية الإسرائيلية عام 1956؛ والحرب الباردة بين الشرق والغرب، حيث كان كل طرف فيها يبحث عن عملاء محليين. وفي سوريا، انعكست هذه التطورات بشكل واضح على الحياة السياسية في البلاد. فاز حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي بـ 15% من الأصوات و 22 مقعداً من أصل 142 في البرلمان في انتخابات عام 1954، مما جعله أكبر حزب يساري قومي في البرلمان وثاني أكبر حزب في الترتيب العام بعد حزب الشعب الوطني المحافظ الذي فاز بـ 30 مقعد. وجاءت الكتلة الوطنية القومية المحافظة (التي انشق عنها حزب الشعب) في المركز الثالث بـ 19 مقعداً. وفاز الحزب الشيوعي السوري، الذي كان أشد منافس لحزب البعث خلال خمسينات القرن العشرين، بمقعد واحد فقط. وضمت المجموعة الوحيدة الأكبر في البرلمان ستين عضواً من المستقلين.

لكن قبل أواخر خمسينات القرن العشرين، تضاءل تأييد المحافظين بشكل كبير. ولتشجيع تراجع تأييد المحافظين بشكل أكثر، اتفق حزب البعث والحزب الشيوعي السوري، التجمعان اليساريان/القوميان الأكثر فعالية، على التعاون. وبحلول نهاية ذلك العام، سيطر الحزبان مع الحلفاء اليساريين والقوميين على الحكومة.

عام 1958، وتماشياً مع إيديولوجية حزب البعث الوحدوية واستحسان الجمهور السوري، الذي أصبح عبد الناصر بالنسبة له بطلاً بعد أزمة السويس، اتحدت سوريا ومصر في الجمهورية العربية المتحدة، وأصبحت سوريا تدعى “الإقليم الشمالي” والشريك الأصغر بالنسبة لعبد الناصر. وتذوق السوريون لأول مرة الطعم الحقيقي للحياة في ظل دولة بوليسية اعتادت فيها المخابرات على اجتثاث المعارضة والقضاء عليها. وغالباً ما يُرجع الليبراليون السوريون بداية متاعب بلادهم الحالية إلى هذه الفترة. كان الحزب الحاكم في الجمهورية العربية المتحدة حزب “الاتحاد الوطني”، الذي كان من نتاج الزعيم المصري عبد الناصر. ومع أن حزب البعث السوري كان قد حل نفسه رسمياً، بناء على إصرار عبد الناصر، تم تشكيل لجنة عسكرية بعثية سرية عام 1959، دون علم البعثيين المدنيين، وذلك من قبل ضباط سوريين معينين في القاهرة، وكان من بينهم حافظ الأسد.

انتهت الوحدة غير السعيدة في 28 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1961 بانقلاب في دمشق بقيادة العقيد عبد الكريم النحلاوي اليميني المناهض للوحدة. وأعيدت الحكومة البرلمانية لفترة وجيزة (مع فوز حزب البعث بـ 20 مقعداً من أصل 172 في البرلمان والإخوان المسلمين بعشرة مقاعد). ولكن حدث انقلاب عسكري آخر في آذار/مارس عام 1962. واستمرت الاضطرابات السياسية. وفي 8 آذار/مارس عام 1963، وبعد شهر فقط من تولي حزب البعث الحكم في العراق المجاور، استولى البعثيون في تحالف مع الناصريين والقوميين المستقلين على السلطة في انقلاب عسكري، وهو الانقلاب الثامن منذ استقلال البلاد.

Home / Syria / Past to Present / Syria’s First Decades of Independence (1946-1963)

Syria’s First Decades of Independence (1946-1963)

Syria began its fully independent life as a parliamentary democracy, but within months the military took the lead, staging a series of coups and wielding power in cooperation with a political and economic elite comprising a small number of land-owning and merchant families, most based in Damascus, Aleppo, and Homs. The first, bloodless, coup was staged on 30 March 1949 by the chief of staff, Colonel Husni al-Zaim, who overthrew the elected government of President Shukri al-Quwatli and dissolved parliament. The second coup, by Colonel Sami al-Hinnawi, occurred on 14 August 1949. Al-Zaim and his Prime Minister, Muhsin al-Barazi, were arrested, tried, and executed. Al-Hinnawi returned Syria to civilian rule through general elections in November. On 19 December 1949, his regime was toppled in a third coup, led by Colonel Adib Shishakli, who had taken part in al-Hinnawi’s putsch. The new Syrian leader arrested al-Hinnawi, accusing him of conspiring with Iraq against Syria. Shishakli insisted that all governments should include his protégé, Fawzi Selu, as Defence Minister. When Prime Minister Maarouf al-Dawalibi refused, Shishakli staged a second coup, on 28 November 1951. He arrested al-Dawalibi, along with his entire cabinet and numerous other politicians whom he distrusted. In protest, President Hashim al-Atassi resigned.

Husni al-Zaim Shukri al-Quwatli
Shukri al-Quwatli
Syria independence Husni al-Zaim
Husni al-Zaim
Syria independence Sami al-Hinnawi
Sami al-Hinnawi
Syria independence Adib Shishkali
Adib Shishakli

Shishakli’s rule became increasingly dictatorial. In 1952 he banned all political parties while establishing his own party, the Arab Liberation Movement. By mid-1953 opposition to Shishakli’s regime was reaching fever pitch, particularly amongst leftists and nationalists and amongst the Druze, towards whom Shishakli had been especially antagonistic. The main opposition parties agreed to work together for Shishakli’s downfall. In January 1954 the army bombarded towns in the Jabal al-Druze with heavy artillery, killing and wounding scores. The regime declared martial law, but to no avail. On 27 February 1954 Syria’s fifth military coup since independence was staged, by Colonel Faisal al-Atassi, who restored parliamentary rule.

Pan-Arab nationalism and the Baath party

Syria independence Gamal Abdul Nasser
Gamal Abdul Nasser, personification of Arab nationalism

These initial military regimes were more or less non-ideological, but they came as the region was swept by a tide of nationalism whose leaders were determined to rectify the mistakes and eliminate the weaknesses that had led to the Arab defeat by the Zionists in the 1948-1949 war in Palestine. In 1952 the Egyptian monarchy was toppled by young military officers headed by the charismatic Gamal Abdel Nasser, who was soon riding a wave of pan-Arab popularity, and the Iraqi monarchy fell in 1958. Baathism was one of the strongest currents in this tide. The Baath (Renaissance) Party was founded in Damascus in the 1940s by two high-school teachers, both graduates of the Sorbonne: Michel Aflaq, a Greek Orthodox Christian, and Salah al-Din al-Bitar, a Sunni Muslim. The party’s two key slogans were ‘Unity, Freedom, Socialism’ and ‘One Arab Nation with an Eternal Mission’.

In its early years the Baath Party, advocating Arab unity and social justice as the way to an Arab revival, had only a few hundred members, most of them students from rural backgrounds. By the early 1950s the membership totalled only about 4,500, but a landmark in the Baath’s development came in 1952 when it merged with the Arab Socialist Party (ASP) of Akram al-Hourani, a step that gave the party its first mass peasant constituency. Al-Hourani, a lawyer from the city of Hama, had earned a reputation as an Arab nationalist during the French mandate and, following Syrian independence in 1946, as a champion of his region’s oppressed peasant farmers. In 1950 al-Hourani organized his followers into the ASP, whose headquarters were in Hama. Under the dictatorship of Adib Shishakli, who had seized power in December 1949, al-Hourani, al-Bitar, and Aflaq all took refuge in neighbouring Lebanon, where they agreed to merge their parties into an Arab Socialist Baath Party. According to a Syria specialist, it was ‘a coalition of the white-collar urban class, schoolteachers, government employees and the like, with revolutionary peasants’ (Patrick Seale, Asad: The Struggle for the Middle East, p. 47). Support for the Baath Party grew rapidly during the 1950s.

Parliamentary democracy: 1954-1958

Syria independence  Shukri Quwatli  Gamal Abdul Nasser
Syrian President Shukri Quwatli (left) and Egyptian President Gamal Abdul Nasser sign the agreement forming the United Arab Republic (UAR), 1958

The 1950s were the peak of radical leftist pan-Arabism in the Middle East, fuelled by the Arab defeat in the 1948-1949 Palestine war, by the Anglo-French-Israeli Suez campaign in 1956, and by the East-West Cold War, in which each side was seeking local clients. In Syria, these developments were clearly reflected in the country’s political life. The Baath Party won 15 percent of the vote and 22 of the 142 parliamentary seats in the 1954 elections, making it the largest leftist/nationalist party in parliament and the second largest party overall, after the conservative nationalist People’s Party, which won 30 seats. In third place was the conservative nationalist National Bloc (from which the People’s Party had split), with 19 seats. The Syrian Communist Party, which, during the 1950s, was the Baath Party’s fiercest rival, won only one seat. The largest single group in parliament comprised 60 independents.

By the late 1950s, however, support for the conservatives had waned dramatically. To encourage further erosion of support for conservatives, in 1957 the Baath Party and the Syrian Communist Party, by far the most effective of the leftist/nationalist groupings, agreed to collaborate. By the end of that year the two parties, with leftist and nationalist allies, controlled the government.

In 1958, in line with the Baath Party’s unionist ideology and to the acclaim of the Syrian public, to whom Nasser had become a hero after the Suez crisis, Syria and Egypt merged into the United Arab Republic (UAR), in which Syria became the ‘Northern Province’ and, for Nasser, very much the junior partner. Syrians had their first real taste of life in a police state where the Mukhabarat, or secret police, were used to root out and eliminate dissent. Syrian liberals often date the start of their country’s present travails to the period. The ruling party of the UAR was Nasser’s National Union, which was a creature of the charismatic Egyptian leader. Although the Syrian Baath Party had formally dissolved itself, as Nasser had insisted, a secret Baathist Military Committee, whose existence was unknown to civilian Baathists, was formed in 1959 by Syrian officers posted to Cairo; these included Hafiz al-Assad.

The unhappy unionist marriage ended on 28 September 1961 with a putsch in Damascus headed by the anti-unionist and rightist army colonel Abd al-Karim al-Nahlawi. Parliamentary government was briefly restored (with the Baath Party winning 20 of the 172 parliamentary seats and the Muslim Brotherhood winning ten) but another army coup was staged in March 1962. Political turmoil persisted, and on 8 March 1963, just a month after a Baathist takeover in neighbouring Iraq, the Baathists, in alliance with Nasserists and independent nationalists, seized power in a military coup, the eighth since independence.