الصفحة الرئيسية / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الولاء السوداني موضع اختبار مع توسع أزمة قطر

الولاء السوداني موضع اختبار مع توسع أزمة قطر

Sudan-al-bashir and king Salman
ملك السعودية سلمان بن عبد العزيز يستقبل الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير في مطار الملك خالد الدولي في الرياض، المملكة العربية السعودية. Photo FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP

إنّ أزمة قطر، التي اندلعت في 5 يونيو 2017 بعد أن أعلنت كل من المملكة العربية السعودية، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، والبحرين، ومصر قطع علاقاتها الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية مع قطر بسبب دعمها المزعوم للإرهاب، آخذةٌ بالتوسع.

فبعد أن قطعت ثمانية دول إفريقية، أو خفضت، علاقاتها مع الإماراة الخليجية الصغيرة، يأتي السودان أخيراً ضمن القائمة التي تتعرض لضغوطاتٍ واضحة ومستترة على حد سواء من قِبل دول المقاطعة، كما يصفها الإعلام العربي، لينحاز في خضم هذا الصراع.

ومنذ اندلاع الأزمة، أعرب وزير خارجية السودان، إبراهيم غندور، عن موقفٍ متحفظٍ لبلاده ، إذ قال “لن تقف السودان في الحياد او تنحاز لطرف في الأزمة الخليجية. بيد أننا في قلب الحدث.”

وبالرغم من أن السودانيون يدركون جيداً أن بلادهم لا تملك نفوذاً سياسياً على اطراف النزاع، إلا انهم تنفسوا الصعداء لهذا الموقف الذي ابعد عنهم، على الاقل في الوقت الراهن، شبح الثمن الباهظ الذي دفعوه نتيجة لموقف الحكومة السودانية المؤيد للغزو العراقي للكويت عام 1990.

لكن دول المقاطعة لم تقدر حساسية الموقف السوداني وحرجه وضغطت بغلظة لدفع الحكومة السودانية لاتخاذ موقف مؤيد لها، حيث طالب سفراء السعودية والإمارات ومصر في اجتماع مع وزير الخارجية السوداني في 17 يونيو 2017 توضيح موقف الخرطوم من الأزمة الخليجية القطرية. غير أن الوزير السوداني جدد لهم حرص السودان على إصلاح ذات البين بين الأشقاء، من خلال دعمه ومساندته لمبادرة أمير الكويت، حسب وكالة الانباء السودانية.

الاقتصاد: القضية الرئيسية

لا يملك السودان قدرة الانحياز لطرف ولا ترف تجاهل الازمة. يعتمد الاقتصاد السوداني المتهالك على الاموال التي تتدفق اليه عبر البحر من السعودية ودول الخليج الأخرى، إذ أصبح هذا الاعتماد شديداً بصفة خاصة في أعقاب العقوبات الدولية. وتستثمر السعودية حوالى 26 مليار دولار في عشرات المشروعات في السودان غير الاموال المعلنة وغير المعلنة التي تدفع نقداً للحكومة. وتضخ الحكومة والشركات الاماراتية امولاً مقدرة للسودان في مساعداتٍ مباشرة ومشاريع استثمارية قدرت قيمتها بما يزيد عن 6 مليارات دولار العام 2016.

وفوق ذلك كله، لا زال رفع العقوبات الاقتصادية الامريكية على السودان المنتظر في اكتوبر المقبل هو الشهادة التي تحتاج اليها الخرطوم للخروج من ازماتها السياسة الاقتصادية والعودة للمجتمع الدولي كعضو مقبول. في واقع الأمر، لعبت السعودية دوراً حاسماً في اقناع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الاقدام على هذه الخطوة، ولا تستطيع الحكومة السودانية المغامرة بفقدان الدعم الدبلوماسي السعودي قبل بضعة اشهر من القرار الامريكي.

يُضاف إلى ذلك ان السعودية تدفع مبالغ طائلة غير معروفة بالضبط للحكومة السودانية مقابل مشاركتها في عاصفة الحزم اضافة للرواتب العالية، بالمعايير السودانية، التي تدفع للآلاف من الجنود السودانيين الذين يقاتلون هنالك، والتي تضخ بدورها عملاتٍ اجنبية عزيزة في شرايين الاقتصاد السوداني.

ففي أغسطس 2017، نشرت الحكومة السودانية الآلاف من قوات الدعم السريع التابعة لها لرفع أعداد القوات السودانية الموجودة في اليمن. وتتميز قوات الدعم السريع السودانية، والتي كانت اصلاً مليشيات محلية متورطة في الحرب الاهلية والقبلية، بخفة الحركة وقدرتها على تحويل جبهات القتال بسرعة باستخدام سيارات الدفع الرباعي، التي تعتبر أكثر ملائمة لحرب اليمن من الجيوش الكبيرة ثقيلة الحركة. كما أن ارسالها للخارج، بالرغم من الانتقاد المتكرر لمعارضيها، تصريفٌ مفيدٌ ومغرٍ للحكومة لأن قوى المتمردين الذين كانت تقاتلهم قوات الدعم السريع في دارفور قد استنزفت ولم يبق للدعم السريع الكثير مما تفعله في دارفور.

لكن قطر أيضاً كان لها ايادٍ بيضاء على حكومة السودان، فقد ساندت الخرطوم ودعمتها في احلك سنوات عزلته الاقليمية والدولية ورعت لسنوات جهود احلال السلام في دارفور بين الحكومة والمتمردين عليها واستثمرت اموالاً طائلة في هذه الجهود وغيرها من المجالات الاقتصادية في السودان. كما أن التقارب الايديولوجي والارتباط المشترك بالإسلام السياسي وحركة الاخوان المسلمين بين الحكومة السودانية وقطر يعزز علاقتهما البرجماتية بحبل سري متين.

ويتعاون السودان وقطر في ملف بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة للسودان، وهو مقاومة استفراد انصار خليفة حفتر بشرق ليبيا وفرض سيطرته عليها، لأن الأخير يدعم متمردي دارفور ضد الحكومة السودانية التي تدعم خصومه الليبيين.

علاوة على أن الإبقاء على صلة جيدة بقطر يقربها أكثر من تركيا التي القت بثقلها خلف قطر، ولديها علاقات اقتصادية وسياسية مهمة مع الخرطوم. وبالمثل، ربما تُبقي العلاقات الطيبة مع قطر الباب موارباً وليس مغلقاً أمام ايران، التي ضحت بها السودان قرباناً للسعودية.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يُعتبر الفريق طه عثمان، الذي كان مقرباً من الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير، عراب تطبيع العلاقات السعودية السودانية في الفترة ما بين 2014-2015، وتربطه علاقات وثيقة بكبار المسؤولين في السعودية. فقد حاول الفريق طه، حسب بعض التقارير الصحفية، أن يعدل موقف السودان لتأييدٍ مباشر لمعسكر المناهضين لقطر بزعامة السعودية. وأقيل طه عثمان فجأة واعتقل ليوم واحد قبل أن يطلق سراحه ويسمح له بالسفر للسعودية التي اعلن منها انه يحمل الجنسية السعودية وأنه قد تم تعيينه مستشاراً لوزير الخارجية السعودي للشؤون الافريقية. وبعدها بأسبوعين، ظهر الفريق طه عثمان في مؤتمر قمة افريقي في أديس ابابا في أثيوبيا ضمن وفدٍ سعودي جاء لحشد الدعم للموقف السعودي ضد قطر، مما سبب حرجاً بالغاً للدبلوماسية السودانية.

وفي 19 يونيو 2017، وبعد اقالة الفريق طه بأسبوعٍ واحد، قام الرئيس البشير بزيارة للسعودية لأداء فريضة العمرة والتقى مسؤولين سعوديين. كرر الزيارة للسعودية في 19 يوليو وزار بعدها الكويت والامارات، ثم التقى الملك سلمان في مدينة طنجة المغربية في الثالث من أغسطس وسط تأكيداتٍ بأن مشاركة السودان في حرب اليمن ستستمر وتتوسع وربما لاحتواء أي آثار سلبية لإقالة الفريق طه عثمان.

واضطر وزير الاعلام السوداني احمد بلال عثمان للتراجع عن تصريحات منتقدة لقناة الجزيرة ادلي بها في زيارة لمصر، وقدم اعتذراً مهيناً امام البرلمان السوداني انكر فيها التصريحات التي ادلى بها امام عشرات الصحفيين بعد تعرضه لضغوط شديدة حد المطالبة باستقالته من نواب في البرلمان اعتبروا موقفه تأييداً لمصر والسعودية وانحيازاً ضد قطر.

لكن الحكومة سمحت على أي حال لمؤيدي قطر بالإفصاح عن آرائهم، حيث اعلن الأمين العام لحزب المؤتمر الشعبي السوداني، وهو حزب إسلامي معارض منشق عن الحزب الحاكم، علي الحاج، تأييده لموقف قطر. وتساءل علي الحاج في كلمة أمام مجلس شورى حزبه “شخصية مثل الشيخ يوسف القرضاوي كيف يمكن أن يكون إرهابياً.” وكانت الدول الأربع قد أصدرت قراراً بإدراج 59 شخصاً، بينهم القرضاوي، و12 كياناً مرتبطاً بالدوحة على قوائم الإرهاب التابعة لها.

واستنكر النائب عن الحزب الحاكم ورئيس جهاز الامن السابق صلاح عبد الله قوش إدراج حركة حماس الفلسطينية في القائمة نفسها، مؤكداً أن السودان لا يعتبر حماس حركة ارهابية.

تمكنت الحكومة السودانية حتى الآن، على أي حال، من الحفاظ على قدرٍ معقول من التوازن والمسافة المعتدلة بين طرفي النزاع بطريقة تحافظ على مصالحها وحرصها على عدم التورط في صراعٍ لا مصلحة لها فيه، لكن تطاول هذه الازمة لأمد بعيد أو تصعيدها سيكون له عواقب سلبية على السودان وربما تؤدي سياسة الحياد التي تتبناها الخرطوم نفسها لاستياء الطرفين واعتبار الموقف السوداني منحازاً للطرف الأخر.

Home / Sudan / Past to Present / Sudan’s Loyalties Tested as Qatar Crisis Widens

Sudan’s Loyalties Tested as Qatar Crisis Widens

Sudan-al-bashir and king Salman
Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz welcomes Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir at King Khalid International airport in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Photo FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP

The Qatar crisis, which erupted on 5 June 2017 after Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain and Egypt announced they were cutting ties diplomatic and economic ties with Qatar over its alleged support of terrorism, is spreading.

After eight African countries cut or downgraded relations with the tiny Gulf state, Sudan is the latest to come under implicit and explicit pressure from the boycotting nations – as the Arab press describes them – to take sides in the dispute.

Since the start of the crisis, Sudan’s Foreign Minister Ibrahim Ghandour has remained vague on his country’s position. “We will not be a neutral party, nor will we take sides. However, we are at the heart of the issue,” he said.

Although Sudanese officials are well aware that their country has no political influence over the parties in the conflict, they breathed a sigh of relief that Sudan has, at least for the time being, been spared the heavy price it paid for supporting the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in 1990.

However, the boycotting countries did not take the sensitivity of Sudan’s position and the embarrassment it could face into consideration. In a meeting with Ghandour on 17 June 2017, ambassadors from Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt demanded that Sudan clarify its position regarding the crisis. According to the Sudanese News Agency, the minister stressed his c ountry’s desire to play a role in achieving reconciliation by supporting the initiative taken by the Emir of Kuwait.

Economy a Key Question

Sudan cannot be aligned with any one party, nor does it have the luxury of ignoring the crisis. Sudan’s stagnant economy relies heavily on the money flowing to it across the sea from Saudi Arabia and other Gulf countries. This reliance has become especially acute in the wake of international sanctions. Saudi Arabia is investing about $26 billion in scores of projects in Sudan, both through announced or unannounced funds that are paid in cash to the government. The UAE has also poured funds into Sudan through direct financial assistance and investment projects estimated at more than $6 billion in 2016.

Moreover, the possible lifting of economic sanctions imposed by the United States (US) by next October 2017 indicates that Khartoum will need to overcome many of its political and economic crises in order to rejoin the international community as an acceptable member. In fact, Saudi Arabia played a decisive role in persuading the US to lift the sanctions, so Sudan cannot risk losing Saudi diplomatic support just months before the US decision comes into force.

Furthermore, Saudi Arabia is paying significant but unknown amounts to Khartoum in return for its involvement in the Saudi-led Operation Decisive Storm in Yemen. This is in addition to the high salaries, by Sudanese standards, paid to thousands of Sudanese soldiers fighting in the conflict.

Thanks to these payments, significant amounts of foreign currency are transferred to Sudan and used to prop up the economy.

In August 2017, the Sudanese government deployed thousands of soldiers from its Rapid Deployment Forces (RDF) to swell the number of Sudanese troops already in Yemen. Originally made up of local militias involved in the civil and tribal war in Sudan, the RDF are known for their agility and ability to shift fighting fronts quickly using SUVs, a tactic that is more suitable for the war in Yemen than large and slow-moving armies. Besides, sending these forces abroad, despite repeated criticism by opponents, is a useful solution for the government: the rebel forces that the RDF fought in Darfur have been depleted and there is little left for them to do there.

At the same time, Qatar has also been generous to Sudan, supporting Khartoum during the bleakest years of its regional and international isolation. For years, Qatar has sponsored efforts to broker peace in Darfur between the government and rebels, and has invested huge amounts of money in these efforts and other economic activities. The ideological proximity between the countries, particularly through political Islam and the Muslim Brotherhood, has reinforced and strengthened the pragmatic relations between the two.

Furthermore, Sudan and Qatar are cooperating on one file that is a top priority for Sudan, namely, the efforts by supporters of Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar, commander of the Libyan National Army, to dominate eastern Libya. Haftar supports Darfur rebels against the Sudanese government, which in turn supports Haftar’s Libyan rivals.

Maintaining good relations with Qatar also brings Sudan closer to Turkey, which has thrown its weight behind Qatar and has important economic and political relations with Khartoum as well. Similarly, maintaining good ties with Qatar will keep the doors open for rapprochement with Iran, a relationship that Sudan compromised to please Saudi Arabia.

Lieutenant General Taha Osman, who was close to Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir, is considered the godfather of rapprochement in 2014-2015 between Saudi Arabia and Sudan and has close ties with senior officials in Saudi Arabia. According to press reports, Osman tried to modify Sudan’s position and make it directly supportive of the boycotting countries. Osman was suddenly arrested and detained for a day in June 2017 before being released and allowed to travel to Saudi Arabia, where he announced that he holds Saudi nationality and had been appointed as adviser to the Saudi foreign minister for African affairs. Two weeks later, he made an appearance at an African summit in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, as part of a Saudi delegation trying to rally support for the Saudi position against Qatar, causing Sudan considerable diplomatic embarrassment.

On 19 June 2017, a week after Osman’s dismissal, al-Bashir visited Saudi Arabia to perform the Umrah (minor pilgrimage) and meet with Saudi officials. He made another visit on 19 July 2017, followed by visits to Kuwait and the UAE. On 3 August 2017, he met with Saudi Arabia’s King Salman in the Moroccan city of Tangier, amid confirmations that Sudan’s participation in the war in Yemen will continue and will even expand, possibly to contain any negative repercussions of Osman’s dismissal.

Sudanese Information Minister Ahmad Bilal Osman had to back down on his earlier criticism of the Qatar-based al-Jazeera channel during his visit to Egypt. Under immense pressure from the Sudanese parliament, which included calls for his resignation, the minister made a humiliating apology, denying that he made the statements.

The Sudanese government, however, allowed Qatar’s supporters to express their views. Ali al-Hajj, secretary general of the Popular Congress Party, an Islamist opposition party that has splintered from the ruling party, expressed support for Qatar. Addressing his party’s Shura Council, he added: “How can a figure like Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi be designated as a terrorist?” He was referring to the decision by the boycotting countries to put 59 individuals, including al-Qaradawi and 12 entities linked to Doha, on their terrorism lists.

Moreover, Salah Abdallah Gosh, an MP for the ruling party and former head of the Sudanese National Security and Intelligence Services, condemned the decision to add the Palestinian Hamas movement to the same lists, noting that Sudan does not consider Hamas to be a terrorist movement.

So far, Sudan has managed to strike a reasonable balance that protects its interests while indicating its desire not to be involved in the crisis. However, prolonging or escalating the crisis will almost certainly have negative consequences for the country if it is unable to maintain the quasi-neutral stance it has so far adopted.