الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بريطانيا العظمى والأزمة

بريطانيا العظمى والأزمة

في نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، أصبح قاسم الشيخ الأعلى في قطر، إلا أن زعامته كان متنازعاً عليها ضمن عائلته الخاصة. وكان المتحدي الرئيسي له أخوه أحمد الذي عُيّن قائم مقاماً بعد اشتباك قاسم مع الأتراك. أراد قاسم إقامة علاقات حميمة مع القوات السعودية الوهابية في قلب الجزيرة العربية، لدرجة أنه وافق علانية على عقائدهم الدينية. إلاّ أن أحمد وضع يده في يد العثمانيين. ولم ينته العداء بينهما إلا باغتيال أحمد بشكل غامض عام 1905. وعندما مات قاسم عام 1913 – السنة التي طرد فيها السعوديون العثمانيين من شرق الجزيرة العربية – خلفه ابنه الخامس، عبد الله. وقد كانت زعامة عبد الله متنازعاً عليها ضمن العائلة منذ البداية. مع تحول عشيرته إلى السعوديين من أجل الدعم المسلح ورحيل العثمانيين، لم يكن أمام عبد الله خياراً آخر سوى مناشدة بريطانيا العظمى للحصول على الدعم العسكري والدبلوماسي.

مكتشفو نفط بريطانيون في الصحراء القطرية، 1948

في تشرين ثاني/نوفمبر من عام 1916، وقّع عبد الله والبريطانيون معاهدة جديدة. وعد من خلالها “زعيم قطر” بالامتناع عن خوض المعارك البحرية وعدم إقامة علاقات مع قوى أخرى، وعدم التنازل عن أي أرض ما أو صيد اللؤلؤ أو منح حقوق امتياز دون موافقة من بريطانيا العظمى. وبالمقابل، تقدم الأخيرة الحماية لقطر من أي اعتداء عن طريق البحر. وبذلك دخلت قطر بشكل مستقل “نظام المصالحة” البريطاني في منطقة الخليج. وسمح البريطانيون لعبد الله بشراء الأسلحة لحمايته من أفراد عائلته. لكن كان عليه أيضاً أن يدفع سراً لابن سعود جزية سنوية مقدارها 100,000 روبية هندية – العملة المحلية للمشيخات الخليجية الخاضعة للسيطرة البريطانية – لقاء عدم تدخله في الشؤون العائلية. وبالتالي عندما أصبح عبد الله في حاجة ماسة إلى النقد، منح امتياز التنقيب عن النفط لشركة فرعية تابعة لشركة النفط البريطانية الفارسية (أبوك) في عام 1926.

عام 1935، تم تمديد هذا الامتياز بعد أن قدمت بريطانيا العظمى ضماناً بحماية قطر من “أي اعتداء لا مبرر له عن طريق البر”. وأثناء ذلك، رسمت الشركة النفطية حدود قطر على خارطة مرفقة بالامتياز. كما اعترفت بريطانيا بحمد بن عبد الله ولياً للعهد، في محاولة منها لتبسيط مسألة الوراثة لسلالة آل ثاني الحاكمة. لكن النفط لم يكتشف في قطر حتى عام 1939. وقبلها كان الاقتصاد والمجتمع في قطر يعانيان من أزمة حادة. انهيار سوق اللؤلؤ – نتيجة اختراع صناعة اللؤلؤ الصناعي في اليابان قرابة عام 1930 – مقترناً بالكساد الاقتصادي العالمي أصاب الاقتصاد المحلي بالشلل، والذي كان يعتمد كلياً على صيد اللؤلؤ.

عام 1937، كاد آل خليفة في البحرين أن يوجهوا ضربة قاضية لقطر عندما أعلنوا حظر التجارة والسفر إلى جزيرة قطر الصغيرة. وكانت تلك النتيجة المباشرة للعداء المتجدد حول الزبارة، التي كان قد زارها ممثلون من شركة النفط. هاجر التجار القطريون إلى مناطق أخرى في الخليج، مع جميع عشائرهم. وهكذا، هُجرت قرى بأكملها وحل فيها الخراب. وانخفض إجمالي عدد السكان في قطر من 27,000 في عام 1908 إلى مجرد 16,000 في عام 1949.

Home / Qatar / Past to Present / Great Britain and crisis

Great Britain and crisis

At the end of the 19th century, Jassim was the paramount Sheikh of Qatar, but his leadership was contested within his own family. His brother Ahmad, who was appointed kaymaqam after Jassim’s clash with the Turks, was his main challenger. Jassim wanted to establish close relations with the Saudi-Wahhabi forces in central Arabia, even publicly accepting their religious creeds. Ahmad however threw in his lot with the Ottomans. Their feud only ended with Ahmad’s murder under mysterious circumstances in 1905. When Jassim died in 1913 – the year the Saudis drove the Ottomans from eastern Arabia – his fifth son Abdullah succeeded him. Abdullah’s leadership was contested within the family from the very beginning. With his ambitious kin turning to the Saudis for armed support, and with the Ottomans gone, Abdullah had no choice but to plead with Great Britain for military and diplomatic assistance.

British oil explorers in the Qatari desert, 1948
British oil explorers in the Qatari desert, 1948

In November 1916, Abdullah and the British signed a new treaty. The ‘chief of Qatar’ promised to abstain from maritime warfare and not to establish relations with other powers nor to cede any land, pearling or concession rights without British consent. In return the British would protect Qatar from attack by sea. Thus Qatar independently entered the British ‘trucial system’ in the Gulf. The British allowed Abdullah to buy arms to keep family members at arm’s length. But he also had to secretly pay Ibn Saud an annuity of 100,000 Indian rupees – then the local currency of the British controlled sheikhdoms of the Gulf – in exchange for not meddling in family affairs. In desperate need of cash, Abdullah subsequently granted an oil exploration option to a subsidiary of the British Anglo-Persian Oil Company (APOC) in 1926.

In 1935, this option was extended after the British guaranteed to protect Qatar from ‘unprovoked aggression by land’. In the process, the oil company defined the borders of Qatar in a map attached to the concession. Britain also recognized Abdullah’s son Hamad as heir apparent, in an effort to streamline the Al Thani dynastic succession. But oil was not discovered in Qatar until 1939. By then, Qatar’s economy and society were in deep crisis. The crash of the pearl market – as a result of the Japanese invention of artificially cultured pearls around 1930 – combined with a worldwide economic depression had crippled the local economy, which was almost entirely dependent on pearl fishing.

In 1937, the Al Khalifas of Bahrain almost delivered Qatar’s deathblow by declaring a trade and travel embargo on the tiny peninsula. It was the direct result of renewed hostilities over al-Zubara, which had been visited by oil company representatives. Qatari traders migrated to other places in the Gulf, taking their entire clans with them. Whole villages were deserted and fell to ruin. The total population of Qatar dropped from 27,000 in 1908 to a mere 16,000 or less in 1949.