الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر / الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا

qatar-geography-al-khor-fanack-flickr
الخور في قطر. Photo Flickr

المحتويات

    Loading index...

حدود الدولة

يبلغ طول شبه جزيرة قطر الصغيرة قرابة 160 كم، في حين يتراوح عرضها ما بين 55 إلى 90 كم. وتبلغ مساحها الإجمالية 11,437 كم2. أما ساحل قطر على الخليج الفارسي فيبلغ طوله 563 كم. ويصل طول الحدود الجنوبية مع المملكة العربية السعودية 60 كم.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تشبه قطر من الناحية الجغرافية كلاً من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والكويت. ففي الداخل سهول صحراوية متموجة ومسطحات ملحية. وأعلى نقطة فيها فوق سطح البحر تقع في قرين أبو البول، وارتفاعها 103 م. ويتسم مناخها بالحرارة والرطوبة العالية في الصيف، حيث تصل معدلات الحرارة إلى 35 درجة مئوية، وقد تصل أحياناً إلى 50 درجة مئوية. وبالإضافة إلى المناخ الخانق في الصيف، يمكن أن تتسبب العواصف الرملية والرياح الشمالية الحارة، وتدعى ريح الشمال، بالكثير من الإزعاج.

أما في فصل الشتاء، الذي يبدأ في نهاية شهر تشرين ثاني/نوفمبر ويستمر حتى بداية شهر شباط/فبراير، فعادة ما يكون معتدلاً، حيث تتراوح درجات الحرارة فيه ما بين 10 إلى 25 درجة مئوية. تصل معدلات هطول الأمطار إلى 20 مم في الشهر، ويتوقع هطولها في الفترة ما بين شهر كانون أول/ديسمبر حتى نيسان/أبريل.

المناخ في العاصمة الدوحة

التنوع الحيوي

مع معدل 81 مم من الهطول السنوي، تعد قطر واحدة من أكثر البلدان جفافاً في العالم. ولذلك تندر الأشجار البرية، باستثناء جوز الهند والنخيل وشجرة السنط. ومع ذلك، خلال الأشهر الباردة – عندما تتجمع الأمطار والندى في الشقوق والوديان – تظهر الزهور لفترة قصيرة في السهول الداخلية.

من الصعب العثور على الحيوانات الثديية البرية في قطر، ومعظمها صغير الحجم وينشط في الليل. أما أنواع الحيوانات النهارية، كالمها العربي والغزال والوعل، فقد انقرضت نتيجة للصيد الجائر. يستثنى منها الثعلب الأحمر العربي الذي يمكن رؤيته خلال النهار (في الشتاء). أما الأفاعي، كالأفعى القرنية الأنف الخطرة والسحالي الكبيرة، فتتغذى على صغار القوارض كالجربوع، أو ما يسمى بفأر الكنغر، والجرد واليربوع.

تتخذ قطر من المها شعاراً وطنياً لها. وكان من المعتقد أن المها قد انقرضت بفعل الصيد، ولكن بعض قطعانها تعيش خارج البلاد. أما في يومنا هذا، يمكن رؤية المها محلياً – ليس فقط على زعنفة ذيل طائرات الخطوط القطرية. في محمية الشحانية يتم تربية المها في قطعان محمية، كجزء من خطة حكومية طموحة لإعادة المها إلى البرية.

تتوفر الطيور بشكل أكثر، رغم أن الطيور الأكبر حجماً والألذ طعماً، كالحباري والنعامة العربية، لقيت نفس مصير الثدييات الكبيرة. وفي فصل الشتاء على وجه الخصوص، تزخر منطقة الخليج بالطيور المهاجرة. ويمكن رؤيتها في أي مكان تتوافر فيه المياه وبعض النباتات، وتظهر في مسابح الفنادق ونادي الدوحة للغولف.

الخليج غني أيضاً بالحياة البحرية. على الشواطئ إلى الشمال من الخور تتوفر مواقع تعشيش السلاحف صقرية المنقار والخضراء. ويمكن رؤية الدلافين وخنازير البحر قبالة السواحل القطرية. وتجذب الشعاب المرجانية العديد من الأسماك الملونة إضافة إلى أنواع مختلفة من سمك القرش.

حماية الطبيعة

صادقت حكومة قطر على العديد من الاتفاقات الدولية المتعلقة بحماية البيئة، إلاّ أن التطور الصناعي والحضري والسياحي لا يزال يشكل خطراً على التنوع الحيوي. نتيجة لذلك، في حين أن الأماكن التي تقصدها السلاحف الخضراء المهددة بالانقراض لوضع بيوضها قرب الخور تخضع للحراسة وإعادة تشجير المنغروف جزئياً في الشمال، يتم إزالة المنغروف قرب الوكرة – الذي يوفر ثروة من النباتات والطيور والحياة البحرية – من أجل التنمية الحضرية. لا يوجد في قطر أية محمية طبيعية رسمية، رغم وجود خطة لتحويل ما يسمى بالبحر الداخلي، خور العديد، إلى منطقة محمية طبيعية. تقع هذه المنطقة على بعد 60 كم جنوبي الدوحة، وهي منطقة هامة للطيور المقيمة والمهاجرة، كالنحام والغاق والمخوّض والنورس والخرشنة.

المصادر الطبيعية

لا تزيد رقعة المساحة القابلة للزراعة في قطر، والتي تملكها الحكومة بالكامل، عن 1.64%، ونسبة 0.27% منها مزروعة بالمحاصيل الدائمة. يتم إنتاج الشعير والذرة والخضروات والبطيخ والتمور. إضافة إلى ذلك، يتم تربية الأبقار والجمال والماعز والأغنام والدجاج للحليب واللحوم والبيض. والبحر مصدر طبيعي إضافي هام. فقد سجّل أسطول صيد السمك المؤمم صيداً مقداره 14,000 طن تقريباً عام 2005.

لكن الأهم من هذا كله هو احتياطي الغاز والنفط المؤكد في قطر. يقدّر احتياطي الغاز المؤكد بحوالي 900 تريليون قدماً مكعباً، أي حوالي 13,7% من الاحتياطي العالمي وما بعادل 162 مليار برميل من النفط. وهذا يكفي لدعم الإنتاج المخطط له لأكثر من 22 سنة. أما بالنسبة لاحتياطي النفط المؤكد فهو 33 مليار برميل (بما في ذلك نواتج التكثيف)، وينبغي أن يضمن إنتاجاً مستمراً على المستويات الحالية للتسعين سنة القادمة (المصدر المفوضية الأوروبية). كما يتم استخراج مصادر جيولوجية أخرى، كالكبريت والحجر الجيري والحصى.

Home / Qatar / Geography

Geography

qatar-geography-al-khor-fanack-flickr
al-Khor, Qatar. Photo Flickr

Contents

    Loading index...

State Borders

The small (sub)peninsula of Qatar is about 160 kilometres in length and between 55 and 90 kilometres in width. Its total land surface measures 11,437 square kilometres. Qatar’s coastline along the Persian Gulf is 563 kilometres long. The land border with Saudi Arabia in the south measures 60 kilometres.

Geography Qatar - State Borders
Qatar State Borders

Geography and Climate

Qatar is geographically closely related to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Kuwait. Its interior consists of undulating desert plains and salt flats. In the south it reaches its highest point at the Qurayn Abu al-Bawl (Qurain Abul Bul), at 103 metres above sea level. The climate is hot and extremely humid in the summer. Summer temperatures average 35 °C, but 50 °C is not uncommon. In addition to the oppressive summer climate, frequent sandstorms and the hot northern wind (shamal) can also cause great inconvenience. Winters, lasting from the end of November until the beginning of February, are generally mild, with temperatures hovering between 10 and 25 °C. Modest rainfall of up to 20 millimetres a month, can be expected from December to April.
Geography Qatar - State Boundaries
Doha’s Climate within Qatar
Geography Qatar - Climate Chart
Qatar Climate Chart Doha

Biodiversity

With an average annual rainfall of only 81 millimetres, Qatar is one of the driest countries on the planet. Wild trees are scarce, except for coconut and date palms and the odd acacia tree. However, during the colder months – when rainwater and dew collect in crevices and wadis (river beds) – parts of the inland plains blossom for a short period.

Qatar’s wild mammals are hard to spot, most of them being small and nocturnal. The larger, diurnal species, like the Arabian oryx, gazelle and ibex, have been hunted down to extinction. An exception is the Arabian red fox, which can be spotted during the (winter) day. Snakes, like the dangers horned viper, and big monitor lizards feed on small rodents such as the lesser jerboa or ‘kangaroo mouse’, the jird and gerbil.

The Arabian oryx, al-maha in Arabic, is Qatar’s national emblem. It was once believed to have been hunted down to extinction, but some herds have survived outside Qatar. Nowadays this gracious animal can be seen again locally – and not just on the tail fins of Qatar Airways’ planes. In the Maha Sanctuary in al-Shahaniya they are bred in protected herds, as part of an ambitious government plan to reintroduce the animals into the wild.

Birds are much easier to sight, although the larger and tastier ones such as the Houbara Bustard and Arabian ostrich have suffered the same fate as the large mammals. Especially during the winter season the Gulf region abounds with migratory birds. They can be found wherever there is water and some vegetation, showing up at hotel swimming pools and the Doha Golf Club.

The Gulf also has a rich marine life. On the beaches north of al-Khor there are nesting sites of hawksbill and green turtles. Dolphins and porpoises can be seen off Qatar’s shores. The coral reefs attract a multitude of colourful fish as well as different species of shark.

Geography Qatar - Arabian Oryx
Arabian oryx
Geography Qatar - Desert Red Fox
Desert red fox
Geography Qatar - Sea Turtle
Sea turtle
Geography Qatar - Horned Viper
Horned viper

Nature Conservation

The government of Qatar has ratified multiple international agreements on natural conservation, but industrial, urban and touristic development continue to threaten biodiversity. As a result, while the nesting grounds of the endangered green turtles near al-Khor (or Kohr, al-Khawr) are patrolled and the mangroves of the north are partly being replanted, the mangroves near al-Wakra – sustaining a wealth of flora, birds and marine life – are being cleared for urban development. There are no official nature reserves in Qatar, although there are plans to turn the so-called Inland Sea, Khor al-Udaid, into a protected conservation area. It is about 60 kilometres south of Doha and an important area for resident and migratory bird species, such as flamingos, cormorants, waders, gulls and terns.

Natural Resources

A mere 1.64 percent of Qatar’s surface consists of arable land, and 0.27 percent is cultivated with permanent crops. All agricultural land is owned by the government. Barley, maize, vegetables, melons and dates are produced. In addition, cows, camels, goats, sheep, and chickens are bred for milk, meat and eggs. The sea is a major additional natural resource. Qatar’s nationalized fishing fleet registered a catch of almost 14,000 tons in 2005.

But most important are Qatar’s proven natural gas and oil reserves. The proven gas reserves are about 900 trillion cubic feet, 13.7 percent of the world total and the equivalent of 162 billion barrels of oil. This is sufficient to support the planned production for over 200 years. Qatar’s proven oil reserves are 33 billion barrels (including condensates) and should ensure a continued output at current levels for the next 90 years (EU Energy Country File). Other mined geological resources are sulphur, limestone and gravel.