الصفحة الرئيسية / قطر

قطر

الاسم الرسمي: دولة قطر

يصل طول شبه جزيرة قطر الصغيرة على الخليج العربي إلى 160 كم، ويتراوح عرضها ما بين 55 إلى 90 كم، وتبلغ مساحتها 11,437 كم2. أما ساحل قطر فيبلغ طوله 563 كم. يبلغ طول الحدود البرية الوحيدة، مع المملكة العربية السعودية من الجنوب، 60 كم. يتّسم مناخها بالحرارة والرطوبة الشديدة في فصل الصيف، ويعتدل على العموم في الشتاء. مع نسبة هطول أمطار لا تتجاوز 81 مم في السنة، تعتبر قطر واحدة من أكثر البلدان جفافاً في العالم.

تشير الاكتشافات الجديدة إلى الوجود البشري في قطر في أزمنة ما قبل التاريخ، ولكن في معظم تاريخها لم يساعد المناخ الجاف سوى على الاستيطان القصير المدى من قبل قبائل البدو الرحّل. وفي عام 1872، وسّعت الإمبراطورية العثمانية، التي كانت تشكل القوة السائدة في المنطقة وما وراءها منذ القرن السادس عشر، حكمها غير المباشر إلى قطر. اعترف العثمانيون بحاكم قطر، وكان وقتها الشيخ محمد بن ثاني الذي أقام عاصمته في البدع، وهو الاسم القديم لمدينة الدوحة في يومنا هذا. لكن مع سقوط الدولة العثمانية، والذي توّجه انهزام التحالف الذي أبرمته مع ألمانيا والنمسا خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى، ملأت بريطانيا الفراغ بصفة الوصاية على المنطقة. كانت المحميات البريطانية الأقاليم التي ادّعت بريطانيا مسؤوليتها عن إدارة شؤونها الخارجية والدفاع عنها. وعادة ما كان يتم إنشاؤها كأداة للاستحواذ على السيطرة لدعم المصالح البريطانية المالية والتجارية وغيرها. وكانت بريطانيا تبقي على سلطة ومؤسسات السكان الأصليين وفقاً للسياسة البريطانية في “الحكم غير المباشر”. عندما انسحب العثمانيون من الدوحة عام 1915، انتقلت السلطة إلى الشيخ عبد الله بن جاسم آل ثاني الذي وقّع معاهدة مع بريطانيا عام 1916 على غرار المعاهدات الأخرى التي وقعت عليها الإمارات الخليجية الأخرى مع بريطانيا. وبموجب تلك المعاهدة، وافق الحاكم على عدم التخلي عن أي إقليم أو إقامة أية علاقة مع حكومات أجنبية أخرى دون موافقة بريطانيا. وفي مقابل ذلك وعدت بريطانيا بحماية قطر من أي عدوان خارجي.

عام 1968، أعلنت بريطانيا العظمى عن إنهاء معاهداتها في المناطق الواقعة شرقي قناة السويس، بما فيها الإمارات الخليجية. ونتيجة لذلك، انضمت قطر إلى الدول الثمانية الأخرى التي كانت تحت الحماية البريطانية في خطة لتشكيل اتحاد للإمارات العربية. ومع حلول منتصف عام 1971، ومع اقتراب موعد إنهاء المعاهدة البريطانية، لم تكن الدول التسعة قد اتفقت بعد على شروط الاتحاد. ووفقا لذلك، أعلنت قطر استقلالها ككيان مستقل وأصبحت دولة قطر المستقلة بشكل كامل في 3 سبتمبر/أيلول 1971.

مزيد من القراءة

Home / Qatar

Qatar

Map Qatar
Official name: State of Qatar (Dawlat Qatar).

The small peninsula of Qatar in the Persian Gulf is about 160 kilometres in length and between 55 and 90 kilometres in width. Its total land surface covers 11,437 square kilometres. Qatar’s coastline is 563 kilometres long. The only land border, with Saudi Arabia in the south, measures 60 kilometres. The climate is hot and extremely humid in summer. Winters are generally mild. With an average annual rainfall of just 81 millimetres, Qatar is one of the driest countries on the planet.

Recent discoveries indicate human presence in Qatar in pre-historic times, but for most of its history the arid climate discouraged anything other than only short-term settlement by nomadic tribes. In 1872, the Ottoman Empire, since the 16th century the most dominant power in the region and far beyond, extended its mainly indirect rule to Qatar. They recognized the ruler of Qatar, Sheikh Mohammed bin Thani, who had his capital in al-Bidda, the present city of Doha.

With the decline of the Empire, culminating in the defeat of its allies Germany and Austria-Hungary during World War I, the British filled the gap as protector of the region. The British protectorates were territories for which Britain assumed responsibility for external affairs and defence. They were usually created as a means of acquiring control in order to advance British financial, commercial, and other interests. The authority and institutions of the indigenous people were usually preserved in accordance with the British policy of ‘indirect rule’. By the time the Ottoman withdrew from Doha in 1915, local power had passed to Sheikh Abdullah bin Jassim Al Thani, who signed a treaty with Great Britain in 1916, which was similar to those entered into by the British with other Gulf principalities. Under it, the ruler agreed not to cede any territory and not to enter into relationships with other foreign governments without British consent. In return, the British promised to protect Qatar from outside aggression.

In 1968, Great Britain announced that it was to end its treaty relationships east of the Suez, including those with the Gulf sheikhdoms. Qatar subsequently joined the eight other states then under British protection in a plan to form a union of Arab Emirates. By mid-1971, as the termination date of the British treaty relationship approached, the nine countries still had not agreed on terms of unification. Accordingly, Qatar declared its independence as a separate entity and became the fully independent State of Qatar on 3 September 1971.