الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / الحكم

الحكم

haniyeh_abbas_cairo_dec-2012_730px_HH_15226155_93fa90bdcc
الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس (يمين) مع القيادي في حركة حماس إسماعيل هنية خلال لقاء بين فتح وحماس في القاهرة، مصر، 23 فبراير 2012 / Photo HH

المحتويات

الرئاسة
السلطة التنفيذية
السلطة التشريعية
القضاء
الحكومة المحلية

المقدمة

استناداً إلى إعلان المبادئ حول الحكومة الذاتية الانتقالية، الموقّع بين منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والحكومة الإسرائيلية في 13 أيلول/سبتمبر 1993، تشكلت حكومة انتقالية (لمدة خمس سنوات) لإدارة أجزاء من الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة.

استناداً إلى اتفاقية أوسلو الثانية (28 أيلول/سبتمبر 1995)، تم تقسيم الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة إلى ما يسمى بمناطق أ، ب، ج. في المناطق أ، الإدارة المدنية والعسكرية في يد السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. أما في المناطق ب، الإدارة المدنية في يد السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية، بينما الإدارة العسكرية تبقى تحت السيطرة الإسرائيلية. وفي المناطق ج، تبقى الإدارة المدنية والعسكرية تبقى تحت السيطرة الإسرائيلية. عملياً، للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية حالياً سيطرة رسمية على 18,2% من مجموع الأراضي. وتحتفظ إسرائيل بالسيطرة على الأمن الخارجي والمجال الجوي والممرات البحرية والمجال الكهرومغناطيسي لفلسطين.

على الرغم من انتظار الوضع النهائي للمفاوضات، للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية السمات المؤسسية لدولة، في ظل وجود سلطة تشريعية (المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني) وسلطة تنفيذية (الحكومة) وسلطة قضائية مستقلة اسمياً. ويترأس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية رئيس تنفيذي، ولها رئيس وزراء يترأس الحكومة منذ عام 2003. ومنذ 2007، يشهد الوضع السياسي الفلسطيني حالةً من الجمود في أعقاب الانقسام وتواجد حكومتين، حيث تتولى حكومة إسماعيل هنية إدارة قطاع غزة، فيما تدير الضفة الغربية حكومة رامي الحمد الله.

عبر التاريخ، اختبرت فلسطين العديد من الأنظمة القضائية، كونها كانت جزءً من الانتداب البريطاني، والأردن (الضفة الغربية)، ومصر (قطاع غزة)، وكنها خاضعة للاحتلال العسكري الإسرائيلي منذ 1967. ونظراً للوضع الانتقالي المؤقت، ليس لفلسطين دستور. منذ اتفاقات أوسلو، بذلت الجهود لتطوير إطار دستوري مناسب.

أقر المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني قانوناً أساسياً ليخدم كدستور مؤقت خلال الفترة المؤقتة التي توصل إلى إقامة دولة فلسطينية في نهاية المطاف. تنص المادة الأولى من القانون الأساسي على أن “فلسطين هي جزء من العالم العربي الكبير، وأن الشعب الفلسطيني هو جزء من الأمة العربية. الوحدة العربية هي إحدى الأهداف التي سيعمل الشعب الفلسطيني على تحقيقه”. وتعرّف الشعب الفلسطيني على أنه مصدر كل سلطة “ستتم ممارستها من خلال السلطات التشريعية والتنفيذية والقضائية على أساس مبدأ فصل القوى وبالطريقة التي ينص عليها هذا القانون الأساس”. كما ينص على أن القدس عاصمة فلسطين.

اسحق رابين يصافح ياسر عرفات في اتفاقات أوسلو مع الرئيس بيل كلينتون في 13 أيلول/سبتمبر 1993 في واشنطن
اسحق رابين يصافح ياسر عرفات في اتفاقات أوسلو مع الرئيس بيل كلينتون في 13 أيلول/سبتمبر 1993 في واشنطن

الرئاسة

يتم انتخاب رئيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية لفترة أربع سنوات، بشكل مباشر من الشعب الفلسطيني الذي يعيش في فلسطين. والرئيس هو قائد القوات المسلحة، ويقوم بتعيين رئيس الوزراء من أعضاء المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني الذي يشاركه السلطة. ولا يملك رئيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية السلطة لحل المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني والدعوة لانتخابات مبكرة.

عام 1996، أصبح ياسر عرفات، رئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية/فتح، أول رئيس للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. وبعد وفاته في أواخر عام 2004، خلفه في بداية عام 2005 زعيم فتح محمود عباس (أبو مازن). رغم أن ولايتها انتهت عام 2009، إلا أنه لا يزال القائم بأعمال رئيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية.

عام 2005 – بعد أن سحبت إسرائيل قواتها والمستوطنين الإسرائيليين من قطاع غزة – جرت أول انتخابات بلدية منذ “أوسلو“. شاركت حماس، التي قاطعت الانتخابات الرئاسية في 1996 و 2005، في هذه الانتخابات، وفازت بشكل ملحوظ وسيطرت على المجالس في عدة مدن رئيسية في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية. وعلى إثر الفوز الذي حققته قررت حماس للمرة الأولى الاشتراك في انتخابات المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني عام 2006. فازت حماس بأغلبية مطلقة في المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني (74 مقعداً من أصل 132؛ وحصلت فتح على45 مقعداً فقط).

في 17 آذار/مارس 2007، تم تشكيل حكومة وحدة تتضمن أعضاء من حماس وفتح، حيث تولى إسماعيل هنية القيادي السياسي في حركة حماس منصب رئيس الوزراء. وبعد فشل انقلاب قامت به فتح في حزيران/يونيو من تلك السنة، تولت حماس السيطرة على قطاع غزة. عند ذلك، قام رئيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية محمود عباس بحل حكومة الوحدة، وأعلن حالة الطوارئ. استبدل هنية بسلام فياض كرئيس للوزراء. لم تعترف حماس ولا المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني بشرعية هذه الخطوة، لأنه من صلاحيات للرئيس تنحية رئيس الوزراء وليس تعيين بديلاً عنه دون موافقة المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني. فنشبت أزمة بين فتح وحماس أدت إلى تولي حماس السيطرة على قطاع غزة وفتح على الضفة الغربية. ومنذ حزيران 2013 يتولى رامي الحمد الله رئاسة الحكومة المعينة من قبل عباس.

ياسر عرفات، أول رئيس للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية (1996-2004)
ياسر عرفات، أول رئيس للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية (1996-2004)
محمود عباس، ثاني رئيس (منذ 2005)
محمود عباس، ثاني رئيس (منذ 2005)
-سلام فياض، رئيس الوزراء السابق (2007-2014)
-سلام فياض، رئيس الوزراء السابق (2007-2014)
إسماعيل هنية، زعيم حماس في غزة (منذ 2007)
إسماعيل هنية، زعيم حماس في غزة (منذ 2007)

السلطة التنفيذية

يتم تعيين السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية من قبل رئيس الوزراء – في البداية من قبل الرئيس، إلى أن تم تعديل القانون الأساسي عام 2003، تحت ضغط من الدول المانحة الغربية. وهو مسؤول أمام الهيئة التشريعية (المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني). عند تعيينه من قبل الرئيس، على رئيس الوزراء تشكيل حكومته ضمن ثلاثة أسابيع (المادة 66 من القانون الأساسي). وتنص المادة 63 على أن “مجلس الوزراء (الحكومة) هو أعلى هيئة تنفيذية وإدارية، يتحمل مسؤولية تنفيذ البرنامج الذي تصادق عليه السلطة التشريعية (المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني)؛ باستثناء نطاق السلطة التنفيذية لرئيس السلطة الوطنية (الفلسطينية) كما يحدده القانون الأساسي، تكون السلطات التنفيذية والإدارية من اختصاص مجلس الوزراء”.
الرئيس محمود عباس
الرئيس محمود عباس
رئيس الوزراء رامي الحمدالله
رئيس الوزراء رامي الحمدالله
اسماعيل هنية، زعيم حماس
اسماعيل هنية، زعيم حماس

 

السلطة التشريعية

المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني هو الهيئة التشريعية للسلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية، وهو هيئة من أحادية المجلس منتخبة بالكامل تضم (حالياً) 132 ممثلاً. يكون المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني مسؤولاً عن الموافقة على جميع المناصب الوزارية الحكومية التي يقترحها رئيس الوزراء، كما عليه المصادقة على رئيس الوزراء نفسه عند تعيينه من قبل الرئيس. يتم انتخاب المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني بشكل مباشر على أساس دوائر انتخابية متعددة الأعضاء، وتكون فترة ولاية أعضائه خمس سنوات.

أقر المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني قانوناً أساسياً ليخدم كدستور مؤقت خلال الفترة المؤقتة التي توصل إلى إقامة دولة فلسطينية في نهاية المطاف.

في 18 حزيران/يونيو 2005، طرأ تغييرات رئيسية على قانون الانتخابات الفلسطينية عندما صادق المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني على قانون الانتخابات رقم 9. تشمل هذه التغييرات رفع عدد مقاعد المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني من 88 إلى 132 (مع ستة مقاعد مخصصة للمسيحيين). علاوة على ذلك، تم الحفاظ على النظام المختلط: كان يتم توزيع نصف المقاعد (66) بين مختلف المرشحين بناء على قائمة وطنية وعلى أساس الفوز بعدد الأصوات؛ والـ 66 مقعداً الباقية، والتي كانت موزعة على 16 حياً، كان يتم تقسيمها وفق نظام الدوائر الانتخابية.

القضاء

ليس لفلسطين دستور. أعدت لجنة من الشخصيات القانونية الفلسطينية وثيقة دستورية (القانون الأساسي) للدولة الفلسطينية. تقول ديباجة هذه الوثيقة: “إن كون هذا القانون الأساسي المؤقت قد شرّع لفترة انتقالية مؤقتة، فهو يشكل بالبداهة خطوة أساسية على طريق تحقيق الحقوق الوطنية والتاريخية الثابتة للشعب العربي الفلسطيني. ولا يمكن لأحد مصادرة حق الشعب الفلسطيني في السعي من أجل العودة وتقرير المصير، بما في ذلك إقامة الدولة الفلسطينية مع القدس عاصمة لها “.

أقر المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني هذا القانون الأساسي الذي يقول إن مبادئ الشريعة (الإسلامية) ستكون المصدر الرئيسي للتشريع (المادة 4). تقدم لجنة السلطة القضائية الفلسطينية تقاريرها إلى اللجنة المركزية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، التي شجعتها على العمل ولكنها لم تصادق عليها.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعترف القانون الأساسي بأن الهيئة القضائية مستقلة ومسؤولة عن المحاكم. ينظم القانون تعيين القضاة على اختلاف أنواعهم ودرجاتهم واختصاصاتهم وأوضاعهم. ويكون هيكل المحاكم وولاياتها القضائية وأحكامها الصادرة وفقاً للقانون. يتم إصدار الأحكام وتنفيذها باسم الشعب الفلسطيني. كما ينص على أن القضاة مستقلين ولا سلطان عليهم في قضائهم لغير سلطة القانون، ولا يجوز لأية سلطة التدخل في القضاء أو في شؤون العدالة. وتنص المادة 171 على أن “تتولى المحاكم السلطة القضائية تحت إشراف المجلس الأعلى للقضاء”.

من الجدير بالذكر أن تاريخ القضاء الفلسطيني اختبر سنوات من عدم الاستقرار السياسي، والذي أدى في نهاية المطاف إلى فقدان ثقة الشعب الفلسطيني في نظام عدالتهم. كما أثرت سياسات الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، بالإضافة إلى إزالة سيطرة السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية على فلسطين والقيود المفروضة على التنقل، بشدة على عمل نظام القضاء الفلسطيني (والذي يتطلب حضور ثلاثة قضاة ومدعي عام ومحامي دفاع وكاتب لتكون المحاكمات شرعية). وعلى الرغم من محاولات إصلاحه، إلا أن القضاء الفلسطيني يبقى ضعيفاً وسلطته التنفيذية غير مستقلة كفاية.

لجنة حقوق الإنسان المستقلة، رام الله Photo Fanack
لجنة حقوق الإنسان المستقلة، رام الله Photo Fanack
شرطة فلسطينية
شرطة فلسطينية

الحكومة المحلية

وفق اتفاقات أوسلو، تم تقسيم فلسطين إلى ثلاثة مناطق (أ، ب، ج) و 16 محافظة تحت سلطة السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية.

وهذه المحافظات الـ 16 هي: القدس، دير البلح، بيت لحم، غزة، الخليل، جنين، أريحا، خان يونس، نابلس، شمال غزة، قلقيلية، رام الله/البيرة، رفح، سلفيت، طوباس، وطول كرم.

تنص المادة 85 حول الإدارة المحلية على ما يلي: “تنظم البلاد بقانون في وحدات إدارة محلية تتمتع بالشخصية الاعتبارية، ويكون لكل وحدة منها مجلس منتخب انتخاباً مباشراً على الوجه المبين في القانون. ويحدد القانون اختصاصات وحدات الإدارة المحلية ومواردها المالية وعلاقتها بالسلطة المركزية ودورها في إعداد خطط التنمية وتنفيذها، كما يحدد القانون أوجه الرقابة على تلك الوحدات ونشاطاتها المختلفة .ويراعى عند التقسيم المعايير السكانية والجغرافية والاقتصادية والسياسية للحفاظ على الوحدة الترابية للوطن ومصالح التجمعات فيه”.

بعد الأزمة التي اندلعت بين فتح وحماس عام 2007 والتي أدت إلى تولي حماس السيطرة على قطاع غزة وفتح على الضفة الغربية، مما نتج عنه قيادات فعلية منفصلة. محافظات الضفة الغربية مسؤولة أمام السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية، والتي في الضفة الغربية تديرها الحكومة التي تترأسها حماس. وساهمت كلا القيادتين في زيادة الانقسام في الحكومة المحلية.

Home / Palestine / Governance

Governance

haniyeh_abbas_cairo_dec-2012_730px_HH_15226155_93fa90bdcc
Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas (right) with Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh during a meeting between Fatah and Hamas in Cairo, Egypt, on 23 February, 2012 / Photo HH

Contents

The Presidency
The Executive
The Legislative
The Judicial
Local Government

Introduction

Based upon the Declaration of Principles on Interim Self Government (DoP) signed between the PLO and the Government of Israel on 13 September 1993, the Palestinian National Authority (PNA) was created as an interim (five-year) administration to govern parts of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.

Based upon the Oslo-II Accord (28 September 1995) the West Bank and the Gaza Strip were divided into so-called A, B, and C Areas. In the A Areas both the civil and military administration is in the hands of the Palestinian National Authority (PNA). In the B Areas the civil administration is in the hands of the PNA, whereas the military administration remains under Israel’s control. In the C Areas both the civil and military administration remains under Israeli control. In practical terms, the PNA currently has formal control over 18.2 percent of the total territory. Israel retains control over Palestine’s external security, air space, sea lanes and electromagnetic sphere.

Despite still awaiting the conclusion of the permanent status negotiations with Israel, the Palestinian Authority (PA) has the institutional features of a state, with a legislative branch (Palestinian Legislative Council, PLC), an executive branch (the government) and a judicial branch that is nominally independent. The PA is headed by a president, who appoints the prime minister from the PLC to lead the government.

Throughout history, Palestine has dealt with several judiciary systems, having been part of the British Mandate, Jordan (West bank), Egypt (Gaza Strip), and being subject to Israeli military occupation from 1967. Given their temporary transitional status, Palestine does not have a Constitution. Since the Oslo Accords, efforts have been made to develop an appropriate constitutional framework.

The PLC passed a Basic Law to serve as a provisional constitution during the interim period leading to eventual statehood. Article 1 of the Basic Law states that ‘Palestine is part of the large Arab World, and the Palestinian people are part of the Arab Nation. Arab Unity is an objective which the Palestinian People shall work to achieve’. It defines the Palestinian People as the source of all power, which ‘shall be exercised through the legislative, executive, and judicial authorities, based on the principle of separation of powers, and in the manner set forth in this Basic Law’. It also states that Jerusalem is the capital of Palestine.

Yitzhak Rabin shakes hands with Yasser Arafat on the Oslo Accord, with President Bill Clinton, on 13 September 1993, in Washington D.C., US
Yitzhak Rabin shakes hands with Yasser Arafat on the Oslo Accord, with President Bill Clinton, on 13 September 1993, in Washington D.C., US


The Presidency

 The president of the Palestinian Authority (PNA) is elected for a period of four years by the Palestinian people in the Palestinian territories. The president is the leader of the armed forces, and appoints the prime minister from among the members of the Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC), with whom he shares power. The president does not have the authority to dissolve the PLC or to call for early elections.

In 1996, Yasser Arafat, chairman of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), became the first president of the PNA. After his death on 11 November 2004, he was succeeded by Mahmoud Abbas (also known as Abu Mazen). Despite his term ending on 9 January 2009, Abbas is still the acting president of the PNA.

In 2005, after Israel withdrew its forces and settlers from the Gaza Strip, the first municipal elections were held since the Oslo peace accords. Signed by Arafat and Israeli leader Yitzhak Rabin in 1993 and 1995, the accords remain the basis of relations between the two states. Hamas, which had boycotted the presidential elections in 1996 and 2005, participated in these elections. It won a significant number of seats, giving it control of the councils in several of the main cities in Gaza and the West Bank. Following this success, Hamas also decided to run in the 2006 PLC elections, winning 74 of the 132 seats. Fatah obtained only 45 seats.
On 17 March 2007, after months of clashes between their supporters, Fatah and Hamas agreed to form a unity government headed by Hamas Prime Minister Ismail Haniyeh. However, this failed to bring calm and tensions culminated in a military conflict in June of that year. Hamas took control of the Gaza Strip and removed Fatah officials. Mahmoud dismissed Haniyeh, who refused to step down and continued to exercise prime ministerial authority in the Gaza Strip. The ensuing political crisis resulted in the dissolution of the unity government and the de facto division of the Palestinian territories into the West Bank, governed by Fatah, and the Gaza Strip governed by Hamas. Abbas named Rami Hamdallah as prime minister on 2 June 2013.

Yasser Arafat, first PNA President (1996-2004)
Yasser Arafat, first PNA President (1996-2004)
Mahmoud Abbas, second President (since 2005)
Mahmoud Abbas, second President (since 2005)
Salam Fayyad, Former Prime Minister (2007-April 2013)
Salam Fayyad, Former Prime Minister (2007-April 2013)
Ismail Haniyeh, Hamas leader in Gaza (since 2007)
Ismail Haniyeh, Hamas leader in Gaza (since 2007)

The Executive

The PNA Cabinet is appointed by the Prime Minister – initially the Cabinet was appointed by the President, but in 2003 the Basic Law was amended under pressure of Western donor states – and is accountable to the legislature (the Palestinian Legislative Council, PLC).

Once appointed by the President, the Prime Minister must form his government within three weeks (Article 66 of the Basic Law). Article 63 states that ‘the Council of Ministers (Government) is the highest executive and administrative tool, which shoulders the responsibility of implementing the program that will be approved by the Legislative Authority (PLC), except the executive jurisdictions of the President of the (Palestinian) National Authority as specified in the Basic Law, the Executive and administrative powers, shall be the jurisdiction of the Council of Ministers’.

Prime Minister Rami Hamdallah
Prime Minister Rami Hamdallah
President Mahmoud Abbas
President Mahmoud Abbas
Ismail Haniyeh, Hamas leader in Gaza
Ismail Haniyeh, Hamas leader in Gaza

 

The Legislative

The Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC) is the legislative branch of the Palestinian National Authority, and is a fully elected unicameral body comprising (currently) 132 representatives. The PLC is responsible for approving all government cabinet positions proposed by the Prime Minister, and must also confirm the Prime Minister himself upon nomination by the president. The PLC is directly elected on a multimember constituency basis, and its members are meant to serve for five years.

The PLC passed a Basic Law to serve as a provisional constitution during the interim period leading to eventual statehood.

On 18 June 2005, major changes were made to Palestinian Electoral Law when the PLC ratified Elections Law No. 9. Those changes include an increase in the number of PLC seats from 88 to 132 (with six seats reserved for Christians). Furthermore, this time, a mixed system was maintained: half of the seats (66) were distributed among the various candidates based upon a national list and on the basis of the number of votes won; the remaining 66 seats, which were spread over 16 districts, were divided according to the constituency voting system.




The Judicial

Palestine has no official Constitution. A committee of Palestinian legal figures has drafted a constitutional document (Basic Law) for statehood. The introductory chapter of this document states: ‘The fact that the temporary Basic Law was meant to serve for the interim period makes the case that this is a crucial step along the path to achieving the national and historical rights of the Palestinian people. No one can abolish the peoples’ right to seek the right of return and self-determination, including the establishment of the independent Palestinian state with Jerusalem as its capital’.

The Palestinian Legislative Council passed this Basic Law, which states that the principles of the Sharia (Islamic law) will be the main source of legislation (Article 4). The committee of the Palestinian Judicial Authority reports to the Central Committee of the PLO, which has encouraged its work but not endorsed it.

Furthermore, the Basic Law acknowledges that the judiciary branch will be independent and will be the responsibility of the courts. Their varieties, levels, jurisdictions, and conditions for appointment of their judges will be regulated by law. The structure, jurisdiction, and rulings of the courts will be in accordance with law. The rulings will be announced and executed in the name of the Palestinian people. It also states that the judges will be independent, and not be subject to any authority other than the authority of law while exercising their duties, and that no other authority may interfere in the judiciary or in the judicial affairs. Article 171 states that the ‘Judicial authority shall be assumed by the courts under the supervision of the Supreme Judicial Council’.

It should be mentioned that the history of the Palestinian Judiciary has faced years of political instability, which ultimately resulted in the loss of the Palestinian people’s faith in their justice system. Also, Israeli occupation policies, including removing PNA control over Palestine and crippling restrictions of movement, have severely affected the operation of the Palestinian judicial system (which requires the presence of three judges, a prosecutor, a defence lawyer and a clerk for trials to be legal). Despite attempts to reform it, the Palestinian judiciary remains weak and insufficiently independent of the executive power.

Independent Commission for Human Rights, Ramallah / Photo Fanack
Independent Commission for Human Rights, Ramallah / Photo Fanack
Palestinian police
Palestinian police

Local government

In accordance with the Oslo Accords, Palestine was divided into three areas (A, B, and C Areas) and 16 governorates under the jurisdiction of the Palestinian National Authority.

The 16 governorates are (in alphabetic order): Jerusalem, Deir al-Balah (Dayr al-Balah), Bethlehem, Gaza City, Hebron, Jenin, Jericho, Khan Younis, Nablus, North Gaza, Qalqiliya, Ramallah/al-Bireh, Rafah, Salfit, Tubas and Tulkarm.

Article 85 on local administration states: ‘The country shall be organized, by law, into local administrative units enjoying juridical personality. Each unit shall have a council elected directly as prescribed by law. The law shall determine the jurisdiction ‘functions’ of the administrative units, their financial resources, their relations with central authority, and their role in the preparation and implementation of development plans. Further, the law shall determine the aspect of oversight over these units and their various activities. Demographic, geographical, economical, and political parameters shall be taken into consideration at the time of dividing the country administratively, to provide for the integrity and unity of soil and interests of the country’.

After the crisis that erupted between Fatah and Hamas in 2007 and which has left the former in control of the West Bank and the latter in control of the Gaza Strip, in reality two separate authorities were established. Governorates in the West Bank answer to the PNA; those in the Gaza Strip to the Hamas-led government. Both authorities have contributed to increasing the divide in local governance.