الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا

المحتويات

    Loading index...
التباين الجغرافي بين المنطقتين كبير. حيث أن قطاع غزة منطقة ساحلية ذات شواطئ وكثبان رملية (يصل ارتفاعها إلى 40 م)؛ وفي الداخل، بالمقارنة مع الساحل، شريط من الأراضي الخصبة يصل إلى سلسلة جبال رملية. وفي حوالي منتصف الطريق، يقطع نهر غزة (وادي غزة) القطاع، والذي يمتلئ بالمياه خلال موسم الأمطار في فصل الشتاء فقط (ويجف خلال بقية السنة).

تشكل الضفة الغربية جزءً من التشكلات الجيولوجية التي تمتد من شرق إفريقيا عبر البحر الأحمر وخليج العقبة ووادي عربة إلى لبنان و سوريا، والتي تتكون من خط صدع عميق في القشرة الأرضية. تمتد سلسلتان جبليتان متوازيتان مع خط الصدع هذا بالقرب من الضفة الغربية. ويقع بينهما وادي الأردن الذي يبلغ عرضه أكثر من 20 كم (في لبنان يقع وادي البقاع بين سلسلتي جبال لبنان الشرقية والغربية). يشكل وادي الأردن حوالي ثلث مساحة الضفة الغربية.

يمكن تقسيم سلسلة الجبال العالية والمتوسطة في الضفة الغربية إلى ثلاث: جبل نابلس، وجبال القدس، وجبل الخليل. وهناك العديد من قمم الجبال العالية والمتوسطة، وأعلاها جبل العاصور (في جبال القدس) بارتفاع 1022 م. إلى الشرق، يحيط وادي الأردن بسلسلة الجبال. وتمتد التلال المنحدرة تدريجياً نحو الغرب مع مدرجات زراعية في أماكن عدة.

المناخ

تقع الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة في الجزء الشرقي من البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وبالتالي، يفرض هذا المناخ في هذه المناطق إلى حد كبير. يتميز مناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط بأنه حار وجاف في الصيف ومعتدل ورطب في الشتاء. يبلغ متوسط درجات الحرارة 19 درجة مئوية، مع أعلى مستوياتها بحوالي 40 درجة مئوية في حزيران/يونيو وأدنى مستوياتها في كانون الثاني/يناير، عندما تكون درجات الحرارة بالكاد فوق نقطة التجمد. تهطل الأمطار في الخريف والشتاء، حوالي 400 مم في السنة.
تقع الضفة الغربية نحو الداخل بالأكثر، وتتميز بالاختلافات الإقليمية. وعلى الرغم من أن متوسط درجات الحرارة 19 درجة مئوية في الضفة الغربية، إلا أن الجنوب أكثر برودة (-4 درجة مئوية) من الشمال، حيث نادراً ما تصل إلى نقطة التجمد. في فصل الصيف، قد تصل درجات الحرارة إلى 40 درجة مئوية في كلا المنطقتين، وحتى أعلى بعدة درجات في وادي الأردن. وبدخول وادي الأردن من الغرب يكون انخفاض أو ارتفاع درجات الحرارة واضحاً دائماً. تتساقط الأمطار وأحياناً الثلوج في فصلي الخريف والشتاء، أيضاً بمتوسط 400 مم في السنة.

في فصل الربيع، غالباً ما تهب رياح الخماسين، وهي رياح جافة شرقية دافئة تأتي من الصحراء الواسعة في سوريا والأردن والمملكة العربية السعودية. وتستمر لمدة تقارب الخمسين يوماً من بداية الربيع وحتى 25 آذار/مارس. تحمل رياح الخماسين معها رمالاً صحراوية ناعمة والتي تضفي على الجو الخانق لوناً أصفر منذراً بالسوء خلال النهار. وعند زخة مطر قصيرة، تسقط رمال الصحراء على الأرض. تشكل الرمال الناعمة خطراً صحياً على الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التهاب الشعب الهوائية، كما أنها ضارة بالنباتات والآليات والمحركات.

الزلازل

تحدث الزلازل بسبب خط الصدع في القشرة الأرضية، حيث تمتد الألواح التكتونية الإفريقية والعربية عكس بعضها البعض. يتم تسجيل زلازل خفيفة بفترات منتظمة. كما تذكر السجلات التاريخية زلازل ثقيلة أيضاً، كما هو الحال في الأعوام 746، 1016، 1034 ميلادية، والتي ألحقت أضراراً كبيرة في مناسبات عدة بالمسجد الأقصى في القدس – أحد أهم المقدسات الإسلامية، وهذا يفسر أيضاً سبب تسجيل هذه الأحداث.

في 1 كانون الثاني/يناير عام 1837، ضربت الكارثة مرة أخرى. وكان مركز الزلزال في صفد، شمال الضفة الغربية. ووفقاً للعلماء، لا بد أن شدة الزلزال كانت 6,5 على مقياس ريختر، من فئة الزلازل الثقيلة. لا يزال بعض الفلسطينيين يذكرون الزلزال الذي حدث في 11 تموز/يوليو عام 1927. هذه المرة كان مركز الزلزال جنوب أريحا في الضفة الغربية. وقد بلغت شدة الزلزال تقريباً نفس شدته عام 1837. وقد لقي بين 250 و 500 شخص مصرعهم في المنطقة المحيطة، وتسبب بأضرار مادية جسيمة وخاصة في مدينة نابلس. وقد تعرضت كل من قبة المسجد الأقصى وكنيسة القيامة، وكلاهما في القدس، إلى أضرار. وقد كان الزلزال الأعنف في فلسطين في القرن العشرين.

أصبحت فلسطين منذ ذلك الحين منطقة ذات كثافة سكانية عالية. المباني في افلسطين ليست مقاومة للزلازل (ولا في إسرائيل المزدهرة حتى الآن بشكل عام). ويخشى الخبراء من أن الزلازل الثقيلة يمكن أن تؤدي في المستقبل إلى عدد أكبر بكثير من الضحايا والإصابات مما كانت عليه عام 1927.

التنوع البيولوجي

بالتوافق مع الطبيعة المتغيرة (الساحل والجبال والتلال والوديان والأنهار)، هناك تنوع بيولوجي واسع في الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة. فالتربة الخصبة والمياه والمناخ المعتدل تنتج نباتات متنوعة بوفرة. وقد تم تحديد حوالي 2700 من الأنواع النباتية. في فصل الربيع، يزهر نبات المكنسة والقريضية في البرية، وفي الخريف ينمو النرجس البري والزعفران والزنابق. أنواع الأشجار الشائعة هي الزيتون (“أم جميع الأشجار”) واللوز والصنوبر والنخيل والرمان والسر،و كما أنواع مختلفة من أشجار الحمضيات والصنوبريات. وتنمو الجهنمية والياسمين والعنب في العديد من الحدائق وفي البرية أيضاً.

كما أن الحيوانات في فلسطين غنية في التنوع. فهناك 500 نوعاً من الطيور المختلفة، ربعها من الطيور المهاجرة من أوروبا إلى إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء. البجع الذي يحط على ساحل غزة ملفت للنظر. وقد تم تسجيل 115 نوعاً مختلفاً من الثدييات و 90 من الزواحف. كما يتواجد 285 نوعاً من الأسماك في البحر الأبيض المتوسط والأنهار المختلفة.

شجرة زيتون
شجرة زيتون
رمان
رمان
بجع مهاج
بجع مهاج

المياه

ان مشكلة المياه فى الأراضى الفلسطينية (الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة) مشكلة عصيبة . حيث تتميز بقلة المصادر وشحها إضافة الى تدني جودتها، وهي بذلك تؤثر على المستوى المعيشي والصحي والوضع الاقتصادي لكل فلسطيني .

ولا تتوقف أزمة المياه في فلسطين على مجرد جفاف المنطقة وأساليب الزراعة المتبعة حالياً  فلقد زادت سياسات الاحتلال الاسرائيلي وأساليبه الوضع سوءاً بحيث منعت الفلسطينيين من التحكم بمصادر المياه الخاصة بهم.

وبسبب القيود الاسرائيلية التي تحول دون وصول الفلسطينيين او تحكمهم في البنية التحتية لمصادر المياه في الضفة الغربية، وعدم تمكن الفلسطينيين من المحافظة على توافر مصادر المياه وتطوير مصادر جديد؛ فقد إزداد الطلب على المياه وبشكل مستمر فى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة في العقود الأخيرة.

من الناحية الجغرافية، تشترك فلسطين مع اسرائيل في مصدرين من مصادر المياه الجوفية وهما: (حوض المياه الجوفية الساحلي ونظام المياه الجوفية للضفة الغربية والمعروف بحوض المياه الجوفية الجبلي)، وحوض نهر الاردن وهذا الأخير يشترك أيضاً مع الاردن، ولبنان،  وسوريا .وبعد الاحتلال الاسرائيلي عام 1967، وُضعت مصادر المياه الفلسطينية تحت السيطرة الاسرائيلية الحصرية وذلك من خلال سلسلة أوامر عسكرية. وهكذا تم تجريد الفلسطينيين من حقهم في الحصول على قسمة عادلة من المياه المتوفرة، وتم تقييد امكانيتهم بشدة في تطوير مصادر المياه الخاصة بهم .

وبالإستناد الى المعايير الإقليمية والدولية، يمتلك الفلسطينيون الحد الأدنى من امكانية الوصول الى مصادر المياه العذبة . كما تحتل الضفة الغربية المرتبة الأدنى بين دول حوض نهر الأردن نسبةً الى إمكانية وصولها الى مصادر المياه. فعلى سبيل المثال فإن معدل استهلاك الفرد الواحد من الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية يُقدر بـ 70 لتر يوميا. أما في المناطق الريفية فإن معدل استهلاك الفرد الواحد ينخفض الى  20لتر يوميا وهو معدل أقل بكثير من الـ  100لترالمفترض استهلاكها يوميا للفرد الواحد بناءعلى توصيات منظمة الصحة العالمية .

لمزيد من المعلومات عن المياه في فلسطين, زوروا ملفنا عن فلسطين

Palestine. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015
فلسطين. المصدر: Fanack عن اليونسف، 2015.

المستوطنات اليهودية

لن يكون وصف المشهد في فلسطين كاملاً دون الإشارة إلى المستوطنات اليهودية التي تم بناؤها في الضفة الغربية بعد عام 1967. وفي صيف عام 2005، تمت إزالة المستوطنات اليهودية في قطاع غزة من قبل إسرائيل كجزء من محاولتها لإعادة تجميع قواتها المسلحة (انظر أيضاً: المستوطنات).

يوجد اليوم حوالي 145 مستوطنة يهودية (26 منها ضمن وحول القدس الشرقية التي ضمتها إسرائيل)، بالإضافة إلى نحو مئة من البؤر الاستيطانية (الفرق بين المستوطنة والمركز الاستيطاني هو أن الأخيرة لم يتم الاعتراف بها قانونياً من قبل السلطات الإسرائيلية). تتراوح المستوطنات في الحجم من تراكم عشرة منازل أو أكثر إلى مدن متوسطة الحجم. فعلى سبيل المثال، بلغ عدد سكان مستوطنة معاليه أدوميم (شرق القدس) 35,000 في نهاية عام 2009، وأرئيل 17,000 (في منتصف المسافة بين نابلس ورام الله). وفق مصادر إسرائيلية، كان هناك حوالي 496,000 مستوطن يهودي منتشرين في أنحاء هذه المستوطنات والبؤر الاستيطانية، 192,000 منهم (39%) كانوا يعيشون في سلسلة من المستوطنات الكبيرة حول القدس الشرقية التي تم ضمها. معاً، يشكلون نحو17% من مجموع سكان الضفة الغربية (11% من السكان اليهود في إسرائيل).

في أجزاء مختلفة من الضفة الغربية، تهيمن المستوطنات على المشهد، ولا سيما في منطقة القدس، حيث تتركز أكبر مجموعة من المستوطنين اليهود. ولكن في أماكن أخرى، عادة ما تكون واحدة أو عدة مستوطنات مرئية، فغالباً ما تقع على قمم الجبال ويمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة من القرميد الأحمر الذي يغطي المنازل.

جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
جبل أبو غنيم/هارحوما Photo Fanack
معاليه أدوميم Photo Fanack
معاليه أدوميم Photo Fanack
مستوطنة متجاوزة حدودها Photo Fanack
مستوطنة متجاوزة حدودها Photo Fanack
فصل المساحة المأهولة Photo HH
فصل المساحة المأهولة Photo HH
مستوطنة في مرحلة أولية Photo Fanack
مستوطنة في مرحلة أولية Photo Fanack
تجارة عقارات في مستوطنة Photo HH
تجارة عقارات في مستوطنة Photo HH
اضغط لاستعراض الخارطة التفاعلية
اضغط لاستعراض الخارطة التفاعلية
اضغط لاستعراض الجدول الزمني والخارطة التفاعلية
اضغط لاستعراض الجدول الزمني والخارطة التفاعلية

البنية التحتية

بالتزامن مع تأسيس المستوطنات اليهودية، تم بناء شبكة طرق تربط المستوطنات بعضها ببعض. وعلاوة على ذلك، أنشأت إسرائيل منذ عام 1993 ما يسمى بطرقات المستوطنين الجانبية حول المراكز السكانية الفلسطينية – والتي يمكن استخدامها فقط من قبل الأشخاص الذين يحملون المواطنة الإسرائيلية (لا وجود للجنسية الإسرائيلية)، بالإضافة إلى الفلسطينيين الذين يحملون بطاقة هوية القدس، الذين تحمل سياراتهم لوحة أرقام صفراء. ولا يجوز للفلسطينيين من فلسطين الذين يقودون سيارات تحمل لوحة أرقام بيضاء (سيارات الأجرة المشتركة تحمل لوحة أرقام خضراء) استخدام طرقات المستوطنين الجانبية. ويتم فرض غرامات باهظة على المخالفات – وفي حال تكرار المخالفة – يتم مصادرة السيارة وتطبيق عقوبة السجن.

يتم صيانة الطرق الجانبية وإنارتها بشكل جيد، وهي متعددة المسارات، وتمر غالباً عبر أنفاق وجسور مشيدة خصيصاً. وهي على هذا النحو أفضل الطرق في الضفة الغربية. وهناك طرق ثانوية للفلسطينيين، غالباً عبر التلال والضواحي، وتكون عادة في حاجة ماسة للصيانة. وعند تقاطع الطرق، حيث تتقاطع الطرق الثانوية وطرقات المستوطنين الجانبية، تمر الأخيرة دائماً تحت الطرق الثانوية، وبالتالي تشكل طريقة يمكن من خلالها إغلاقها في أوقات تصاعد التوترات السياسية، مما يسبب توقف حركة المرور. من خلال وضع مئات الحواجز على الطريق، (كتل إسمنتية وجدران ترابية) يتم توجيه حركة المرور عبر طرق تؤدي في النهاية إلى واحدة من نقاط التفتيش الدائمة والعديدة التي تديرها قوات الاحتلال الإسرائيلية. كما أن هناك ما يسمى بنقاط التفتيش العشوائية أو الطيارة (أي الحواجز التي تقام بصورة عشوائية لعدة ساعات).

أدى تشييد طرقات المستوطنين الجانبية مباشرة إلى خسائر كبيرة في فلسطين. فعلى سبيل المثال، هناك شريط عازل من 50 إلى 75 م على جانبي طرقات المستوطنين الجانبية حيث يحظر البناء فيه. ونتيجة لذلك، يبتلع كل مئة كم3 من الطريق 10 كم3 من الأراضي. وقد تم بناء 1661 كم من الطرق عام 2007، مما أدى إلى مصادرة 166 كم2 من افلسطين لهذا الغرض. وفق إسرائيل، في الغالب يكون بناء شبكة طرقات المستوطنين الجانبية نتيجة للتدابير الأمنية.

جسر: طريق للمستوطنين؛ تحت الجسر: طريق للفلسطينيين. يمكن السيطرة على حركة السير الفلسطينية عن طرق إغلاق الطريق تحت الجسر. اضغط للتكبير/ Photo Fanack
جسر: طريق للمستوطنين؛ تحت الجسر: طريق للفلسطينيين. يمكن السيطرة على حركة السير الفلسطينية عن طرق إغلاق الطريق تحت الجسر. اضغط للتكبير/ Photo Fanack

الجدار

منذ عام 2002، قامت إسرائيل ببناء جدار فاصل في الضفة الغربية على الجانب الغربي، يمتد عبر أكثر من 700 كم، ويتكون من جدار بارتفاع 8 أمتار، أو من سور في أجزائه الكبيرة. ويمكن استخلاص حقيقة امتداد معظم الجدار عبر فلسطين من طوله: وهي تقريباً ضعف مسافة الحدود بين إسرائيل والضفة الغربية. على جانبي الجدار يوجد شريط عريض من 80-100 م يحظر تشييد المباني فيه.

في عدة أماكن، يمر الجدار بجوار المنطقة المكتظة بالمباني أو يقطعها، وبالتالي ينتهك بشدة البيئة المعيشية للفلسطينيين. كما أن بعض الفلسطينيين تضرّروا بشدة نتيجة خسارتهم للأراضي الزراعية (وهكذا تكون إسرائيل بحكم الأمر الواقع  قد ضمت 10% أخرى من الأراضي في الضفة الغربية). وبالتالي، فإن المشهد يبدو قاتماً. وقد عزلت الأسوار والجدران بالفعل قطاع غزة تماماً عن العالم الخارجي، على خلفية التصعيد بين الفلسطينيين وقوات الاحتلال الإسرائيلية. (انظر أيضاً: القانون الدولي والجدار)

الرأي الاستشاري لمحكمة العدل الدولية

رفع الفلسطينيون قضية بناء الجدار إلى أعلى هيئة قضائية في العالم – محكمة العدل الدولية، وهي مؤسسة عائدة للأمم المتحدة مقرها قصر السلام في لاهاي. في 6 أيار/مايو 2004، أصدرت المحكمة رأيها الاستشاري غير الملزم للدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة (لا تصدر المحكمة أحكاماً) ولكنه له وزن الحكم الملزم. في رأيها الاستشاري، تشير المحكمة إلى أن بناء الجدار، والمستوطنات اليهودية انتهاك لاتفاقية جنيف الرابعة.

ارتأت المحكمة أن على إسرائيل التوقف الفوري عن بناء الجدار وأن تلغي أو تبطل مفعول جميع التدابير المتخذة التي تقيّد أو تعيق بشكل غير قانوني ممارسة سكان الضفة الغربية لحقوقهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أصبحت إسرائيل ملزمة بدفع تعويض عن جميع الأضرار الحاصلة.

يشكل الرأي الاستشاري معلماً بالنسبة للفلسطينيين، الأمر الذي يعتبر اعترافاً بحقوقهم – على مستوى القانون الدولي.

في 2 آب/أغسطس 2004، أقرت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، بموافقة 150 دولة ورفض 6 دول (مع امتناع 11 دولة عن التصويت)، القرار رقم ES-10/15 بتبني الرأي الاستشاري لمحكمة العدل الدولية.

The Wall on the West Bank / Map – Situation 2009
الجدار في الضفة الغربية/ خريطة- الوضع عام 2009.

Home / Palestine / Geography

Geography

Contents

    Loading index...
The West Bank and the Gaza Strip differ greatly geographically. The Gaza Strip is a coastal area, with beaches and sand dunes (up to 40 metres high); inland, parallel to the coast, a strip of fertile land makes way for a sandstone mountain ridge. About halfway, the Gaza Strip is intersected by the Wadi Ghazza (Gaza River), which is only replenished with water during the rainy season in the winter (running dry for the rest of the year).

The West Bank is part of a geological formation which stretches from East Africa via the Red Sea, the Gulf of Aqaba and the Wadi Araba (Arava Valley) to Lebanon and Syria, and which is made up of a deep fault line in the earth’s crust. Two mountain chains run parallel with this fault line close to the West Bank. In between lies the Jordan Valley, which is more than 20 kilometres in width (in Lebanon, the Beqaa Valley or Wadi al-Biqa is situated between the Lebanon and Anti-Lebanon mountains). The Jordan Valley makes up about a third of the surface area of the West Bank.

The medium-high mountain chain in the West Bank can be sub-divided into three segments: the mountains of Jabal Nablus (Nablus), Jibal al-Quds and Jabal al-Khalil (Hebron). There are various medium-high mountain peaks, of which al-Arsour (in the Jibal al-Quds) is the highest at 1,016 metres. To the east, the mountain range is flanked by the Jordan Valley. Gradually declining, sloping hills stretch westwards, with terraced agriculture in many places.

Climate

The West Bank and the Gaza Strip are situated in the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea. The Mediterranean climate is characterized by dry, hot summers and mild, wet winters. The average temperature is 19 ºC, with highs of about 40 ºC in June and lows in January, when temperatures are just above freezing. There is rainfall in autumn and winter, amounting to about 400 millimetres per year.

The West Bank lies more inland, and is marked by regional differences. Although the average temperature is 19ºC in the West Bank, the south is colder (-4 ºC) than the north, where it seldom freezes. In summertime, the temperature can reach highs of 40ºC in both regions, sometimes even a few degrees higher in the Jordan Valley. Entering the Jordan Valley from the west, the drop or rise in temperature is always palpable. Rainfall and sometimes (wet) snowfall occur in the autumn and winter, again on average about 400 millimetres per year.

In springtime, the khamsini, a dry, warm easterly wind, often blows from the extensive deserts of Jordan, Syria, and Saudi Arabia. This continues for a period of roughly fifty days – khamsini is Arabic for fifty – from the beginning of spring until 25 March. The khamsini carries fine desert sand that lends the sultry air an ominous yellow hue during the day. The desert sand falls to the ground as a result of short rain showers. The fine sand is a health hazard for people suffering from bronchitis, and is detrimental to vegetation, motors, and machinery.

Earthquakes

Earthquakes are caused by the build-up of pressure in the fault line in the earth’s crust, where the African and Arabian tectonic plates run up against each other. Light earthquakes are registered at regular intervals. Historical chronicles also mention strong earthquakes, such as in 746, 1016 and 1034 CE, which on various occasions severely damaged the Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem – one of the most important Islamic sanctuaries. This explains why these events were recorded.

On 1 January 1837, disaster struck again. The earthquake’s epicentre was located at Safad (Safed), north of the West Bank. According to scientists, the quake must have measured 6.5 on the Richter scale, which is in the heavy earthquake category. Some Palestinians can still remember the earthquake of 11 July 1927. This time, the epicentre was south of Ariha (Jericho), in the West Bank. The quake measured roughly the same as in 1837. Between 250 and 500 died in the area, and there was extensive material damage, especially in the city of Nablus. The dome of the Aqsa Mosque and the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, both of which are in Jerusalem, were damaged. It was Palestine’s most severe earthquake in the 20th century.

Palestine has since become a densely populated region. In Palestine, buildings are not earthquake-proof (nor are they, in general, in prosperous Israel, as of yet). Experts fear that future heavy earthquakes would result in a much higher number of fatalities and casualties than in 1927.

Biodiversity

In concurrence with the changing landscape (coast, mountains, hills, valleys, rivers) there is a rich biodiversity in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. The fertile soil, the water, and the mild climate yield a richly varied flora. Around 2,700 plant species have been identified. In spring, the broom and the rockrose blossom in the open; in autumn wild daffodils, crocuses, and hyacinths grow. Common tree species are the olive tree (‘the mother of all trees’), the almond tree, the pine, palm, pomegranate, and cypress, as well as various species of citrus trees and conifers. Bougainvillea, jasmine, and grapevines grow in many gardens but also in the open.

Palestine’s fauna is also rich in diversity. There are about 500 different bird species, of which a quarter are migratory birds, en route from Europe to Africa, south of the Sahara. The pelicans, stopping over on the coast of Gaza, are eye-catching. Scientists have also registered 115 different mammals and 90 different kinds of reptiles. In the Mediterranean Sea and various rivers one can find 285 species of fish.

Olive tree
Olive tree
Pomegranate
Pomegranate
Migrating pelicans
Migrating pelicans

Water

The water situation in Palestine (the West Bank and Gaza Strip) is dire. Characterized by a shortage of supply, restricted access and poor quality, it affects the quality of life, health and economic situation of every Palestinian.

The water crisis in Palestine is caused not only by the area’s aridity and current agricultural practices. A difficult situation has been made worse by Israeli occupation policies and practices, which prevent Palestinians from controlling their own water resources.

Palestinian water demand in the West Bank and Gaza Strip has been increasing steadily over recent decades. However, Palestinians have been unable to maintain existing water resources or develop new ones due to Israeli restrictions on Palestinian access and control of water infrastructure in the West Bank.

Geographically, Palestine and Israel share two groundwater sources (the Coastal Aquifer Basin and West Bank Aquifer system, known as the Mountain Aquifer Basin) and the Jordan River Basin, the latter also shared with Jordan, Lebanon and Syria. After the Israeli occupation of 1967, Palestinian water resources were brought exclusively under Israeli control through a series of Military Orders. Palestinians have thus been denied access to their rightful share of the available water and been severely restricted in their ability to develop their own water resources (Map 1).

By international and regional standards, Palestinians have the least access to freshwater resources. The West Bank ranks lowest among Jordan Basin states in terms of access to water. For example, the average West Bank Palestinian uses around 70 litres per day (L/d). In some rural areas, this amount drops to 20 L/d, which is far below the 100 L/d recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO).

For more on Water in Palestine, please see the Palestine file on Fanack Water.

Palestine. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015
Palestine. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2015

Jewish Settlements

A description of the landscape in the Palestinian Territories would be incomplete without mentioning the Jewish settlements which have been built in the West Bank after 1967. In the summer of 2005, the settlements in the Gaza Strip were dismantled by Israel as part of a regrouping of its armed forces.

Today, there are 145 Jewish settlements (of which 26 in and around annexed East Jerusalem), plus about a hundred ‘outposts’ (the difference between a settlement and an outpost is that the latter are not legally recognized by the Israeli authorities). The settlements vary in size from an accumulation of a dozen or more homes to medium-sized towns. For example, the inhabitants of the settlement of Ma’ale Adumim (east of Jerusalem) numbered 35,000 at the end of 2009 and Ariel (midway between Nablus and Ramallah) 17,000. According to Israeli sources, in mid 2009, there were circa 496,000 Jewish settlers scattered across these settlements and outposts, of whom 192,000 (39 percent) were living in a chain of large settlements around East Jerusalem, which has been annexed. Together, they make up about 17 percent of the total population of the West Bank (and 11 percent of the Jewish population in Israel).

In various parts of the West Bank, the settlements dominate the landscape, especially in the Jerusalem region, where the largest group of Jewish settlers is concentrated. But elsewhere, too, one or several settlements are usually visible, often situated on hilltops and easily recognizable from the red tiles with which the houses are roofed.

Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Ma'ale Adumim / Photo Fanack
Ma’ale Adumim / Photo Fanack
Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Jabal Abu Ghneim/Har Homa / Photo Fanack
Settlement encroachment / Photo Fanack
Settlement encroachment / Photo Fanack
Separated communities / Photo HH
Separated communities / Photo HH
Settlement in an early stage / Photo Fanack
Settlement in an early stage / Photo Fanack
Settlement real estate billboards / Photo HH
Settlement real estate billboards / Photo HH
Click to view the interactive map
Click to view the interactive map
Click to view the interactive timeline and map
Click to view the interactive timeline and map

Segregated Roads

In conjunction with the establishment of the Jewish settlements, a road network was constructed connecting the settlements to one another. Since 1993, Israel has also been constructing so-called bypass roads around the Palestinian population centres. These are accessible only to persons holding Israeli citizenship (the Israeli nationality does not exist), as well as Palestinians holding a Jerusalem identity card, whose cars have a yellow number plate. Palestinians from Palestine driving cars with a white number plate (shared taxis have a green number plate) are forbidden to use the bypass roads. Violation is punished by heavy fines and – in case of repetition of the offence – confiscation of the vehicle and a prison sentence. The construction of the bypass roads was part of a fundamental revision of Israel’s policy towards the West Bank, no longer focusing on total incorporation of the area within Israel, but instead on sectioning off the areas where Jewish settlement had already taken place.

The bypass roads are well-maintained and well-lit, with multiple lanes, often passing through specially constructed tunnels and viaducts. As such, they are the best roads in the West Bank. There are secondary roads for the Palestinians, often meandering through the hills and suburbs, which are generally badly in need of repair. At the junctions where the secondary and bypass roads cross one another, the latter always pass under the secondary roads, thus creating a route which can be closed off in periods of heightened political tension, halting the through traffic. By placing hundreds of obstacles on the road (concrete blocks, earthen walls), the through traffic is channelled along roads which eventually lead to one of the many permanent checkpoints manned by the Israeli occupying forces. There are also so-called random or flying checkpoints (i.e. checkpoints which can be set up at random for a couple of hours).

The construction of the bypass roads has led directly to a substantial loss of Palestinian territory. For example, there is a buffer strip of 50 to 75 metres on both sides of the bypass roads, where building is forbidden. As a result, every 100 kilometres of road swallows up about 10 square kilometres of territory. In 2007, 1,661 kilometres of roads were constructed, leading to the confiscation of 166 square kilometres of Palestinian land for this purpose. According to Israel, the construction of the bypass road network is predominantly the result of security concerns. At the same time, the project is part of a bigger scheme to extend Israel’s grip on the area.

Overpass: settlers road; underpass: Palestinian road. Palestinian traffic can easily be controlled by blocking the underpass. Photo Fanack
Overpass: settlers road; underpass: Palestinian road. Palestinian traffic can easily be controlled by blocking the underpass. Photo Fanack

The Wall

Since 2002, Israel has been constructing a separation barrier in the West Bank on the west side, stretching across more than 700 kilometres and consisting of a wall 8 metres in height, though in most places it is a fence. The fact that the Wall (al-Jidar) mostly runs through Occupied Palestinian territory can be deduced from its length: it is almost twice the distance of the border between Israel and the West Bank. On either side of the Wall is a strip measuring 80-100 metres in width where it is forbidden to erect buildings. In various places the Wall runs adjacent to or cuts across the built-up area, thereby severely infringing upon the Palestinians’ living environment. Many Palestinians have also been severely hit as a result of loss of farmland (Israel thus de facto annexing another 10 percent of the territory in the West Bank). Consequently, the landscape looks grim. Previously placed walls and fences had already completely cut off the Gaza Strip from the outside world, against the background of the escalation between Palestinians and the Israeli occupying forces.

See also: International Law and the Wall.

ICJ Advice

Palestinians have submitted the question of the construction of the Wall to the world’s primal judicial organ of the United Nations, the International Court of Justice (ICJ), based in the Peace Palace in The Hague (The Netherlands). On 6 May 2004, the Court issued an Advisory Opinion, which is non-binding on UN Member States (as the Court does not issue rulings) but which carries the weight of a binding ruling. In its Advisory Opinion, the Court states that the construction of the Wall and the construction of Jewish settlements are in violation of the Fourth Geneva Convention. The Court found that Israel must immediately cease the construction of the Wall and repeal or render ineffective all measures taken which unlawfully restrict or impede the exercise of the rights of the inhabitants of the West Bank; furthermore, Israel was found to be under an obligation to make reparation for all damage caused.

For the Palestinians, the Advisory Opinion is a mile stone in the recognition of their rights – on the level of international law.

On 2 August 2004, the UN General Assembly adopted Resolution ES-10/15 on the ICJ Advisory Opinion, by a vote of 150 in favour and 6 votes against (and 11 abstentions).

The Wall on the West Bank / Map – Situation 2009
The Wall on the West Bank / Map – Situation 2009