الصفحة الرئيسية / المغرب / السكان

السكان

Berber family / Photo HH
أسرة بربرية / Photo HH

المحتويات

    Loading index...

المقدمة

يُقدّر عدد سكان المغرب بـ 32,6 مليون نسمة (2013)، بمعدل نمو سنوي حوالي 1%. اليد العاملة 11,3 مليون نسمة. البطالة مرتفعة، تناهز 10%؛ غير أنّها أعلى من ذلك للفئة العمرية بين 15-24 عاماً: 22,8% للذكور و 19,4% للإناث. يبلغ متوسط العمر المتوقع عند الولادة 72 عاماً. المجتمع السكاني صغير السن: 33% تحت سن 15 عاماً.

نمو سكاني مغرب
النمو السكاني في المغرب بين اعوام 1950 فخ 2050

المناطق المأهولة


عام 2009، قدّرت الأمم المتحدة الكثافة السكانية بـ 71,6 شخص/كم2. والدار البيضاء هي أكبر مدن المغرب، وهي المركز التجاري والصناعي الرئيسي. الدار البيضاء مدينة من نتاج الاستعمار الفرنسي. فقد بدأت بالتطور كمرفأ في منتصف القرن التاسع عشر، وبحلول عام 1913 أصبحت مدينة مترامية الأطراف يسكنها 12,000 نسمة. غير أن المقيم العام الأول الفرنسي في المغرب، لوي هوبير ليوطي، صمم على جعل الدار البيضاء مركز التجارة والأعمال وأطلق حملة تخطيط مدني واسعة ليحولها إلى إحدى أهم المدن الفخمة. بحلول عام 1921، بلغ عدد سكانها 110,000 نسمة، وارتفع هذا العدد إلى 965,000 بحلول عام 1961. عام 2009، قُدر عدد سكان الدار البيضاء الكبرى بـ 3,2 مليون نسمة (كتاب حقائق العالم لوكالة الاستخبارات الأمريكية)، يشمل هذا الرقم مدناً تابعة، مثل مديونة والمحمدية والنواصر. الدار البيضاء ليست العاصمة السياسية للبلاد: يبدو أنّ ليوطي وجد أنها هشة وتفتقر للجلال والتاريخ، فجعل الرباط التي تقع شمالي البلاد على طول الشاطئ المركز الإداري للبلاد. فحوّل بذلك التركيز على التحضر بعيداً عن مدن الداخل، مثل فاس ومراكش، إلى المدن الساحلية، مع أنّ عدد سكان المدن المغربية الرئيسية كبير جداً (عام 2009، بلغ عدد سكان العاصمة الرباط ومدينة سلا 1,8 مليون نسمة، ومدينة فاس مليون، ومراكش 909,000، وسلا 903,000، وطنجة 768,000، ومكناس 641,000).

السكان المغرب
التعداد السكاني بي الاعوام 1960-2011
السكان المغرب
التوزع السكاني في المحافظات المغربية
المغرب مدن
اكبر عشر مدن في المغرب

يعيش في محافظات الساحل الأطلسي بين طنجة وسطات 46% من السكان، وفي بعض هذه المحافظات، وبخاصة الدار البيضاء الكبرى والمنطقة المحيطة بالرباط وسلا، معظم السكان من الحضر (92% و 84% على التوالي). وعلى الرغم من التحضر الكثيف لهذه المناطق، إلا أنها ما زالت تعتبر من أهم المناطق إنتاجية على صعيد الزراعة – غالبية الأراضي الصالحة للزراعة في هذه المناطق وفي الأجزاء الداخلية للبلاد (التي يقطنها 50% من السكان)، مثل منطقتي فاس ومراكش الحضريتين. مع ذلك، يغلب على بعض المحافظات الطابع الريفي وقلة السكان، خصوصاً في أقصى الشمال الغربي والجنوب. أما نسبة سكان المناطق التي شكلت الصحراء الإسبانية السابقة فلا تتعدى 3% من عدد السكان الإجمالي، وهي حضرية إلى حد بعيد (94% في العيون).

التركيبة العرقية والدينية


وفق الإحصاءات، المغرب مجتمع متجانس بشكل لافت للنظر على الصعيدين الثقافي والديني. يشكّل المسلمون 99% والمسيحيون 1% من السكان، ويبلغ عدد اليهود حوالي 6,000 نسمة. 99% من السكان هم من العرب والبربر، وهناك ثلاث لغات رئيسية: العربية والبربرية أو الأمازيغية (كلاهما لغتان رسميتان) والفرنسية (لغة الأعمال والحكومة والدبلوماسية). في الواقع، هذا التجانس الظاهر مضلّل: فالهويتان اللغوية والدينية متنازع عليها.[/caption]تشكل اللغة الفارق الأساسي بين العرب والبربر في المغرب. كانت البربرية لغة غالبية السكان إلى أن تم تعريبها من خلال الدين والتجارة والحكومة الحضرية. اللغة العربية لغة سامية، غير أن اللغة البربرية لغة غير سامية، وهي من اللغات الأفروآسيوية ولها اختلافات لغوية عديدة (تعتبر لغات أو لهجات) مستعملة في شمال إفريقيا. يشير ناشطون من البربر بشكل عام إلى مجتمعهم بمصطلح “أمازيغ”، وهو مشتق من إحدى اللهجات البربرية الثلاث: التاشلحيت (المستعملة في الأطلس الكبير)، والتامازيغت (المستعملة في الأطلس المتوسط) والتريفيت (المستعملة في الأرياف). وفق مكتب الإحصاء المغربي، عام 2004 بلغت نسبة السكان الذين تخطت أعمارهم الخمس سنوات والذين يتكلمون إحدى اللهجات العربية 89% والتاشلحيت 14% والتمازيغت 9% والتريفيت 5%. وتعقدت الأمور أكثر بعد ضم الصحراء الغربية، والتي يتكلم سكانها لهجة عربية مختلفة تُعرف بالحسانية (0,7% من سكان المغرب بعد عام 1975).

تاريخياً، تشابه البربر والعرب من حيث التنظيم القبلي والقرابة. في الفترات التي كانت فيها الحكومة المركزية ضعيفة، كما كان الأمر قبل الحكم الاستعماري في النصف الأول من القرن العشرين، شكّلت الأنظمة القائمة على القرابة، الحقيقية منها أو الصورية، أساس التضامن الاقتصادي والاجتماعي الفعال. وارتبط استعمال أفراد القبائل للغة البربرية أو العربية العامية بمسؤولي الحكومة. غير أنّ هاتين اللغتين لم تكونا لغة الأدب. فتاريخياً، انحصر استعمال اللغة العربية الفصحى بالأنشطة الرسمية والدينية، وكانت اللغتان البربرية والعربية العامية تستخدمان وفق متطلبات كل بيئة. وتغيرت الحدود اللغوية: فقد تم تعريب القبائل البربرية على نحو متزايد.

خلال فترة الاستعمار، شكّلت القبائل الناطقة باللغة البربرية مقاومة مسلحة أقوى بكثير من الناطقين باللغة العربية في السهول والمدن. حاولت السلطات الفرنسية (وبشكل أقل الإسبانية) التعامل معها من خلال اختيار البربر كمجموعة اجتماعية إثنية والاعتراف بخصائصهم والتركيز على اختلافهم عن الناطقين بالعربية. أدى ذلك إلى صدور “الظهير البربري” الشهير عام 1930، وهو مرسوم أُسس بموجبه نظام قانوني مستقل للمناطق التي اعتبرها الفرنسيون بربرية ثقافياً. وكان ذلك المحفز الرئيسي لنشوء الحركة الوطنية الأولى التي ارتبطت إيديولوجياً بحركات مماثلة في الشرق العربي، وبهذا حددت الحركة الوطنية هويتها بكلمات عربية. بعد الاستقلال، تم التركيز على اللغة العربية الأدبية في التعليم، وهمّش نظام التعليم الوطني اللغات البربرية. وحافظت اللغة الفرنسية على مكانتها الرفيعة في الإدارة والحكومة والثقافة، وبقيت اللهجات العامية للغتين العربية والبربرية مستعملةً في الحياة اليومية. نتيجةً لذلك، لا يمكن تحديد الفروق اللغوية بشكل محدد؛ ولكن من المؤكد أن بعض المناطق يسود فيها استعمال اللغة العربية وأخرى اللغة البربرية. ونفس الشخص قد يستعمل أكثر من لغة ولهجة لذات اللغة في مناسبات مختلفة.

في المغرب نظام معقد ثلاثي اللغات يتمثل في الاستعمالات المتعددة للغة نفسها. يستخدم ضرب من اللغة العربية المغربية العامية للعلاقات الحميمة غير الرسمية في الحياة اليومية؛ ولغة عربية “ثقافية” متوسطة بين الغرباء لأغراض رسمية (حوالي 40% من السكان يستخدمون هذا الضرب من اللغة، وأكثر من ذلك يمكنهم فهمها)؛ وتنحصر اللغة العربية الأدبية المكتوبة  بالمتعلمين. إلى جانب الازدواجية اللغوية، هناك ثلاث لغات محكية: البربرية والعربية والفرنسية. وتُقدر نسبة السكان الذين يجيدون اللغة الفرنسية بطلاقة، قراءةً وكتابةً ومحادثة، بـ 10%، وأكثر بكثير يجيدون استعمال لغة هجينة بعض الشيء.

تعقيداً للأمور، للغة البربرية ازدواجية لغوية أيضاً، وذلك نتيجةً للسياسات المتعلقة بالهوية البربرية منذ أوائل التسعينيات. عام 1994، أعلن الملك حسن الثاني أنّ “اللهجات” الأمازيغية كانت “إحدى مكونات أصالة تاريخنا”. وبدأت الحكومة باستيعاب مطالب الاعتراف باللغة البربرية، وذلك من خلال تأسيس محطات تبث باللهجات الرئيسية الثلاث. نصّت ديباجة دستور عام 1996 على أنّ اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للدولة، غير أنّها لم تذكر اللغة البربرية. لكن نشطاء من البربر أسسوا جمعيات وصحفاً، كما اقترح عسكريون إعادة المغرب إلى ما قبل التراث الاستعماري والإسلامي. وبعد جلوس محمد السادس على العرش، بدأت حركة إحياء الثقافة البربرية، وأسست الحكومة عام 2001 المعهد الملكي للثقافة الأمازيغية بميزانية هائلة (ما يزيد عن 100 مليون دولار) للتنمية الثقافية. وأسهمت الموسيقى في النمو الثقافي من خلال أشرطة التسجيل والأقراص المدمجة ومن ثم الإنترنت. عام 2010، أُطلقت قناة أمازيغ التلفزيونية، والتي تبث محلياً.

أكمل دستور عام 2011 هذه العملية: تتناول ديباجته الوحدة المغربية القائمة على تنوع مكوناتها العربية الإسلامية والأمازيغية (البربرية) والصحراوية الحسانية والغنية بتياراتها الإفريقية والأندلسية واليهودية ودول البحر البيض المتوسط. وتنص المادة 5 على أنّ العربية هي “اللغة الرسمية للدولة”. بينما تشكل الأمازيغية أيضاً “لغة رسمية للدولة”. وكلغة رسمية، يجري العمل على تشكيل وكتابة اللغة البربرية على أساس خط تيفيناغ، الخط التاريخي الصحيح الذي يستعمله الطوارق في الصحراء. وتستخدم نسخة معدلة عن هذا الخط في بعض المدارس الابتدائية، لكنه يصلح للدلالة على الصفاء الثقافي أكثر منه بديلاً عملياً للخطين العربي أو اللاتيني.

المغرب مجموعات عرقية
المجموعات العرقية في المغرب

الدين


دستورياً، المغرب ليس بلداً إسلامياً فحسب – 99% من كونه من نسل النبي محمد، يلعب الملك محمد السادس دوراً هاماً في العالم الإسلامي السنيالسكان هم من المسلمين (السنّة) –وإنما الملك أيضاً يعتبر زعيماً دينياً: “أمير المؤمنين”. هذا اللقب مؤسس على إدعاء نسبه المباشر إلى النبي محمد: وبذلك، فإن شرعية الملك قائمة على أساس الدين والأصل، الأمر الذي لا ينطبق على الرؤساء المدنيين، حتى في الجمهوريات الدينية.

يشدد النظام على مظاهره الدينية، غير أن الإسلام في المغرب ليس متجانساً ولم يكن كذلك تاريخياً. المذهب السائد هو الإسلام السنّي المالكي، غير أن الممارسات تختلف بين الناس. تقليدياً، أكرم المغاربة المسلمون أضرحة الأولياء من الرجال والنساء: المرابطين. ومع أن مفهوم التقديس ليس موجوداً في الإسلام، غير أن المرابطين يتمتعون بميزة “البركة”، وهي مزيج من القداسة الشخصية والاستحقاق المتوارث من الأب إلى الابن ثم أفراد العائلة الآخرين. في بعض الأحيان، كانت هذه الحظوة الموروثة، تماماً كالشرعية الملكية، قائمة على النسب إلى سلالة النبي محمد، ويُعرف هؤلاء الأشخاص بالشرفاء. تكثر أضرحة المرابطين والشرفاء في الريف المغربي؛ وكان المرابطون الأحياء، الذين هم فوق سياسة الدولة أو القبيلة، يتوسطون في النزاعات ويلجأ إليهم الفارّون. كان بعض المرابطين خبراء في أنواع التصوف. كانت الأخويات الصوفية العظمى (الطرق) التي تأسست في العصور الوسطى، تتمتع بسلطات وثروات كبيرة. بشكل عام، لعب المرابطون وزعماء الطرق دوراً محافظاً في فترة الاستعمار، وفقدوا تأثيرهم السياسي في فترة ما بعد الاستقلال. ولكن رحلات الحج إلى الأضرحة الهامة لا تزال تستقطب أعداداً هائلة من الحجاج، وخصوصاً النساء. وتنتقد الحركة الإسلامية التي تطورت في المغرب في أواخر الثمانينيات وأوائل التسعينيات هذه الظواهر بحجة أنها لا تمت للدين بصلة، لأنها تعتمد وسيطاً بين الله والمؤمنين، الأمر المرفوض في الدين، بحسب الإسلاميين.
لليهود تاريخ طويل في المغرب. فقد كان لهم وجود في البلاد قبل مجيء الإسلام، وانضم إليهم لاحقاً موجات عديدة من اللاجئين اليهود. كان هناك مجموعتان رئيسيتان من اليهود: المتحدرين من الريف المغربي، وبشكل خاص من الأطلس الكبير؛ وأبناء الطبقة العليا المتحدرين من عائلات أُجليت من إسبانيا بعد عام 1492. بحلول القرن التاسع عشر، غادر بعض اليهود الريف إلى المدن، مع أنّ سكان الأرياف بقوا حتى القرن العشرين، ويتكلمون اللغة المحلية: البربرية أو العربية. واصل اللاجئون من إسبانيا استعمال إحدى لهجات اللغة الإسبانية في العصور الوسطى ضمن مجتمعاتهم، حتى إنّ أسماءهم كانت إسبانية. شكّل هؤلاء الرجال المتعلمون جزءً من الشبكة اليهودية عبر البحر الأبيض المتوسط، مما أتاح لهم جني ثروات طائلة من التجارة. كما عملوا كممثلين تجاريين للسلاطين، مما أكسب المجتمعات اليهودية حماية السلطان، وكان الحي اليهودي قريباً من القصر الملكي أو مقر الحاكم. ومن جهة أخرى، كانت قيود صارمة مفروضة على لباسهم وسلوكهم، وقد وقع اليهود في بعض الأحيان ضحية العصابات، خصوصاً خلال الأزمات الاقتصادية. خلال الحماية الفرنسية، ازدهر يهود المغرب، حتى الحرب العالمية الثانية، في حماية الملك محمد الخامس، بينما لاقوا سوء المعاملة من حكومة فيشي بضغط من النازيين. نتيجةً لذلك، وفي فترة ظهور الحركة الوطنية وأوائل فترة الاستقلال، كان اليهود مفضلين لدى الملك محمد الخامس، ومحتقرين من الوطنيين المستائين من إنشاء دولة إسرائيل. هاجر العديد من اليهود، بعضهم إلى إسرائيل والبعض الآخر إلى أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية، بما في ذلك كندا الفرنسية، فيما بقي البعض في المغرب وحافظوا على علاقات وثيقة بالعائلة الحاكمة، وعملوا في بعض الأحيان كمستشارين اقتصاديين للملك الحسن الثاني. ولعلاقتهم الجيدة بالنخبة في إسرائيل، عملوا كوسطاء دبلوماسيين. وقد لعبت المغرب دوراً أساسياً في المفاوضات التي أدت إلى زيارة أنور السادات إلى القدس. لذلك، ومع أن عدد اليهود تراجع من 250,000 منذ نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية، إلا أنّ عدداً لا بأس به (5000-6000 نسمة) لم يغادر البلاد. كما أنّ المعابد اليهودية مفتوحة والمواقع اليهودية محفوظة.

التركيبة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية

يمكن تصنيف سكان المغرب من حيث الثقافة (العرب والبربر) والثروة. وليس بالضرورة أن تكون هاتان الفئتان متزامنتين.

التمايز الثقافي بين العرب والبربر ليس العامل الحاسم الذي يحدد مستوى الحياة ونوعيتها. فهذا ينتج من عوامل إقليمية وثقافية أكثر منها إثنية، وليس الديني بالتأكيد، لأن جميع المغاربة تقريباً هم من المسلمين السنّة. تقع معاقل البربر في الجبال والصحارى، مع أن سكان محافظات الصحراء الإسبانية سابقاً يتكلمون إحدى اللهجات العربية. صحيح أن هذه المناطق هي الأفقر غالباً، لكن ليس دائماً؛ فالعديد من البربر يهاجرون إما إلى المدن الساحلية، حيث يتم تعريبهم ويبقون فقراء؛ أو إلى أوروبا حيث يتوجب عليهم تعلّم لغات أوروبية ويحققون ثروات أكثر مما يستطيعون تحقيقه في المغرب.

أما الاختلافات الأكثر وضوحاً فهي الدخل والتعليم والصحة، والتي تنعكس في فروقات متوسط العمر المتوقع بين سكان الأرياف والمدن. بشكل عام، يتمتع سكان المدن بظروف أفضل على صعيدي التعليم والصحة. ولا تُعزى هذه الامتيازات إلى ارتفاع مستوى الدخل. فالخدمات الطبية والمدارس متوفرة بوفرة في المدن أكثر من الأرياف – عدد الأطباء والمتخصصين في الرباط والدار البيضاء أكثر من جبال الريف في الشمال أو في بلاد السوس في الجنوب.

فقر مغرب
معدلات الفقر في المغرب

توزيع الدخل والفقر

انتشل النمو الاقتصادي السريع في المغرب، والذي بدأ عام 2000، الكثيرين من المغاربة من براثن الفقر، لكن نتج عنه زيادة في سوء توزيع الثروات. يحصل 20% من الطبقة العليا على حوالي نصف دخل البلاد (47,88%)، بينما 20% من الطبقة الدنيا على 6,5%. ولم تتغير هذه النسب كثيراً منذ عام 2001، منذ كانت 47,7% و 6,47% على التوالي (وفق البنك الدولي).

إلا أن عدد المغاربة الذين يعيشون في فقر مدقع تراجع إلى حد بعيد. قسم تقرير صادر عن مديرية الإحصاء المغربية عام 2007، وتناول توزيع الثروات، المستوى الأدنى من سلّم الدخل وفق مقاييس الفقر النسبي وقابلية الإصابة بالفقر كما يحددها البنك الدولي. كانت الحسابات معقدة: كان الفقر النسبي مبنياً على مؤشر الدخل المطلوب لشراء ما يكفي من الطعام لتوفير 1984 سعرة حرارية في اليوم، المرتبط بمؤشر خاص بالمواد غير الغذائية. تم تحديد قابلية الإصابة بالفقر بضرب هذا المؤشر بـ 1,5. أفاد التقرير بأن بين 2001 و 2007، تراجع الفقر النسبي من 15,3% إلى 8,9% في جميع أنحاء البلاد، ومن 7,6% إلى 4,8 في المدن، ومن 25,1% إلى 14,4% في المناطق الريفية. كما تراجع مؤشر القابلية للإصابة بالفقر (من 22,8% إلى 17,5% في جميع أنحاء البلاد، ومن 16,6% إلى 12,7% في المدن، ومن 30,5% إلى 23,6% في المناطق الريفية). وأظهرت مقاييس الحرمان الأخرى النمط ذاته على صعيد الدخل المطلق والمواد التموينية.

فقر مغرب
الإنخفاض النسبي لمعدلات الفقر في المغرب

بينما يُظهر النمط العام تراجعاً سريعاً في الفقر، إلا أنّ هذا النمط يختلف على المستوى الإقليمي. أظهرت قياسات الفقر النسبي المطبقة على كل محافظة على حدة أن الفقر النسبي كان أدنى من المعدل الوطني على الساحل بين الدار البيضاء والرباط وطنجة، لكنه كان أعلى بكثير في المناطق الريفية في الشمال الشرقي وحول المدن الداخلية الكبرى: فاس ومكناس ومراكش. لكن محافظات الصحراء الغربية، المستعمرة الإسبانية سابقاً، كانت أغنى من باقي مناطق المغرب، مما يشهد على كمية الاستثمارات ذات الدافع السياسي فيها. كما تظهر هذه الفروقات على الصعيد المحلي: على سبيل المثال في محافظة مكناس، يشير مؤشر الفقر في بلدية مراسين إلى 35,9% ومؤشر قابلية الإصابة بالفقر إلى 27%، فيما تبلغ هذه النسب 4,8% و 11,8% على التوالي في المهاية. المسافة بين هاتين المدينتين ليست أكثر من 20 كم، غير أن الفارق الثقافي قد يكون كبيراً وله جانب اقتصادي: عندما يكون الدخل منخفضاً في الريف، يُنتج الناس غذائهم بأنفسهم؛ وعندما يكون أعلى في المدن، تكون تكاليف السكن أعلى بكثير.

Home / Morocco / Population

Population

Berber family / Photo HH
Berber family / Photo HH

Contents

    Loading index...

Introduction

Morocco’s population is estimated at 32.6 million (2013), with an annual growth rate of about 1 percent. The labour force is 11.3 million. Unemployment is high, averaging 10 percent, but even higher for the age group 15-24: 22.8 percent for males and 19.4 percent for females. Life expectancy at birth is 72 years. The population is young: 33 percent is under 15 years of age.

[/two_third]

Areas of habitation

In 2009, the population density was estimated by the United Nations at 71.6 per square kilometre. The largest city is Casablanca, which is the main commercial and industrial centre. Casablanca is almost entirely a creation of French colonialism. It began to grow as a port in the mid-19th century and was by 1913 a sprawling town of 12,000 people. But the first French resident-general, Louis ‘Hubert’ Lyautey, determined to make it the commercial and business centre and inaugurated an impressive campaign of urban planning to turn it into one of the great imperial cities. By 1921, it had 110,000 inhabitants and by 1961 965,000. The estimated population of greater Casablanca in 2009 was 3.2 million (CIA World Factbook), a figure that includes satellite towns such as Mediouna, Mohammedia, and Nouaceur. Casablanca is not the political capital: Lyautey apparently felt that it was too brash and lacked dignity and history and fixed on Rabat northwards along the coast as the administrative centre. By doing so, he shifted the emphasis on urbanization away from the cities of the interior, such as Fez and Marrakesh, to the coast, although all the main cities of Morocco now have substantial populations (in 2009 the capital Rabat, together with Salé, had 1.8 million, Fez one million, Marrakesh 909,000, Salé 903,000, Tangier 768,000, and Meknes 641,000).

The provinces of the Atlantic coast between Tangier and Settat contain 46 percent of the population, and in some of them, notably greater Casablanca and the area around Rabat-Salé, most of the population is classified as urban (92 percent and 84 percent respectively). Despite their heavy urbanization, these are also among the most agriculturally productive regions – most arable land is found in these regions and in the parts of inland Morocco (with 50 percent of the population) like the Fez and Marrakesh regions that are heavily urbanized. Some provinces, though, are predominantly rural and lightly populated, particularly in the far north-west and south. The provinces that made up the former Spanish Sahara account for only 3 percent of the total population of Morocco and are extensively urbanized (94 percent in the case of Laayoune).



Ethnic and Religious Groups

The raw statistics would suggest that Morocco is a remarkably homogeneous society culturally and religiously. Muslims form 99 percent of the population and Christians 1 percent, and Jews number about 6,000. The population is 99 percent Arab-Berber, though three main languages are spoken, Arabic, Berber or Tamazight (both official languages), and French (as the language of business, government, and diplomacy). In reality, this apparent homogeneity is misleading: both linguistic and religious identities are contested.
The essential difference between the Arab and Berber peoples in Morocco is linguistic. Berber was the language of the mass of the population until it became Arabized through religion, trade, and urban-based government. Arabic is a Semitic language, but Berber is a non-Semitic language of the Afro-Asiatic group and has many variants (variously considered languages or dialects) across North Africa. Berber activists generally refer to their community as Amazigh, though that is an expression derived from one of the three distinct dialects of Berber: Tashlhit (spoken in the High Atlas), Tamazight (spoken in the Middle Atlas, and Tarifit (spoken in the Rif). According to the Moroccan Census Office, 89 percent of the population aged over five in 2004, spoke a dialect of Arabic, 14 percent spoke Tashlhit, 9 percent spoke Tamazight, and 5 percent spoke Tarifit. The picture is further complicated by the annexation of the Western Sahara, whose people speak a distinct Arabic dialect known as Hassaniya (0.7 percent of the total population of post-1975 Morocco).
Historically, the Berbers and Arabs resembled each other in tribal and kinship organization. In times when the central government of the state was weak, as it was before colonial rule in the first half of the 20th century, kinship-based systems, real or fictitious, provided the basis of a functioning economic and social solidarity. Whether a tribe’s members spoke Berber or colloquial Arabic was a matter largely of contact with state officials. In neither case were these literary languages. Historically, literary Arabic was confined to official and religious business, and both Berber and colloquial Arabic were spoken according to what was needed in a particular environment. The linguistic boundaries shifted: over time, Berber tribes were increasingly Arabized.
During the colonial period, Berber-speaking tribes posed a much stronger armed resistance than did the Arab-speakers of the plains and cities. The French (and to a lesser extent Spanish) authorities attempted to deal with this by co-opting the Berbers as a socio-ethnic group, recognizing their particularities and emphasizing their differences from the Arab speakers. This led to the famous Berber Dahir of 1930, a decree that established a separate legal system for areas that the French determined were culturally Berber. This was a main impetus to the early nationalist movement, which was connected ideologically to similar movements in the Arab East, so the nationalist movement identified itself in terms of Arabic. After independence, literary Arabic was emphasized in education, and the national educational system marginalized the Berber languages. French retained a prestigious position in administration, government, and culture, and vernacular dialects of Arabic and Berber remained in use for everyday purposes. As a result, the linguistic distinctions cannot be mapped cartographically with any certainty, beyond a very general assertion that some areas are predominantly Arab-speaking and some predominately Berber. The same person may use different languages and different forms of the same language on different occasions.
There is essentially a complex system of triglossia, that is, alternative uses of the same language. A variety of vernacular Moroccan Arabic is used in intimate, informal, everyday purposes; an ‘educated’ variety, exclusively spoken, Middle Moroccan Arabic is used between strangers for formal, official purposes (an estimated 40 percent of the population can use this variety, and greater numbers can understand it); written, literary Arabic, is, of course confined to those who are literate. Side by side with this triglossia, is a functioning trilingualism, in spoken Berber, Arabic, and French. It is estimated that 10 percent of people can use French effectively for reading, writing, and speaking, but many more can use a more or less pidginized form.
To complicate matters further, a diglossia is emerging in Berber as well, the result of Berber identity politics since the early 1990s. In 1994, King Hassan II declared that Amazigh ‘dialects’ were ‘one of the components of the authenticity of our history’, and the government began to accommodate demands for Berber to be recognized, by setting up broadcasting in each of the three main dialects. The preamble to the 1996 Constitution made it clear that Arabic was the official language of the state and made no mention of Berber. Berber activists nevertheless set up associations and newspapers, and militants proposed a redefinition of Morocco harking back to its pre-colonial and pre-Islamic heritage. After Mohammed VI came to the throne, a Berber cultural revival began, and the government in 2001 set up the Royal Institute of Amazigh Culture (IRCAM), with a huge budget (over USD 100 million) to be spent on cultural development. Music helped cultural growth through cassette tape recorders, CDs, and then the Internet. In 2010, a Tamazigh TV station was set up, broadcasting nationally.
The 2011 Constitution continued this process: its preamble speaks of Moroccan unity as founded on the convergence of its Arabo-Islamic, Amazigh (Berber), and Saharo-Hassani components, nourished by African, Andalusian, Jewish, and Mediterranean currents. Article 5 states that Arabic is ‘the official language of the state’ (‘la langue officielle de l’État’, emphasis added) while Tamazight constitutes ‘an official language of the State’ (‘une langue officielle de l’État’, emphasis added). As an official language, there is a growing movement for Berber to be formalized and written, based on the Tifinagh script, the historic consonantal script used by the Tuareg people of the Sahara. A modified version of that script is used in a few elementary schools, but it serves more as a marker of cultural purity than as a practical alternative to the Arabic or Latin scripts.

Religion

Constitutionally, Morocco is not only a Muslim country – 99 percent of the population is officially described as (Sunni) Muslim – but its King is specifically the leader of a religious community, the ‘Commander of the Faithful’ (amir al-muminin). This title is based on a claim of direct descent from the Prophet Muhammad: the King’s legitimacy is therefore defined by both faith and descent in a way that the legitimacy of secular presidents, even those of religious republics, is not.

The regime emphasizes its religious aspects, but Moroccan Islam is not homogeneous and has not been historically. Moroccan Islam is Sunni, of the Maliki school of law, yet there are great differences in practice across the population. Traditionally, Moroccan Muslims have paid great respect to the tombs of holy men and women, known in Morocco as marabouts. Although Islam has no concept of canonization, marabouts possess the quality of baraka (blessing), a mixture of personal holiness and inherited worth that can pass from father to son and to other members of the family. Sometimes this inherited prestige was based, like royal legitimacy, on descent from the Prophet Muhammad, whose descendants are known as sharifs in Morocco. The tombs of marabouts and sharifs dot the Moroccan countryside; living marabouts who stood outside both state and tribal political authority provided mediation in disputes and sanctuary for fugitives. Some marabouts were adepts of forms of Islam’s mystical path, Sufism. The great Sufi brotherhoods (tariqas), which were founded in the Middle Ages, exercised considerable power and enjoyed great wealth. Both marabouts and the leaders of tariqas played a generally conservative role during the colonial period and lost political influence in the post-independence period, but mass pilgrimages to important tombs still attract many people, particularly women. The Islamic movement that developed in Morocco in the late 1980s and early 1990s criticizes these phenomena as irreligious innovations, because they speak of intercession between God and believers which, Islamists say, has no place in a strict interpretation of their faith.

Jews have a long history in Morocco. Their communities predate the coming of Islam, and their residents were later joined by many waves of Jewish refugees. There were two main groups of Jews: those who originated in the Moroccan countryside, particularly in the High Atlas, and a sort of upper class, often descended from families expelled from Spain after 1492. By the 19th century, some Jews had left the countryside for the cities, although rural communities remained well into the 20th century, speaking the local language, Berber or Arabic. Refugees from Spain continued to speak a dialect of mediaeval Spanish among themselves and even had Spanish names. These educated men were part of a Jewish network across the Mediterranean that enabled them to make fortunes from trade. They often acted as commercial representatives of the sultans. Consequently, the sultan extended protection to the Jewish communities and in every town, the Jewish milla (quarter) was close to the walls of the royal palace or the residence of the governor. On the other hand, there were rigorous restrictions on dress and behaviour imposed on them, and Jews were sometimes the object of mob violence, especially in times of economic difficulty. During the French Protectorate, the Jewish population of Morocco thrived, at least until World War II, when, under Nazi pressure, the Vichy authorities mistreated them, while King Mohammed V protected them. As a result, during the nationalist movement and the early independence period, Jews were both favoured by King Mohammed V and, on occasion, reviled by nationalists, who resented the creation of the State of Israel. Many Jews emigrated, some to Israel, some to Europe and North America, including French Canada, but others remained in Morocco, closely attached to the royal family, sometimes even as economic advisors to King Hassan II. Because they also had good contacts with the Israeli elite, they acted as diplomatic go-betweens, and Morocco was an important player in the negotiations leading up to Anwar Sadat’s visit to Jerusalem. Thus, although the Jewish community declined from about 250,000 at the end of World War II, there is still an important community of 5,000-6,000 people, synagogues are open, and Jewish sites are preserved.

Socio-economic composition

The Moroccan population can be divided by culture (Arab and Berber) and by wealth. These two main categories are not necessarily coincident.

The cultural distinction between Arabs and Berbers is not the critical determinant of standard of living and quality of life. That results more from regional and educational factors than from ethnic ones. It is certainly not religious, as nearly all Moroccans are Sunni Muslims. The Berber heartlands are in the mountains and the deserts, although the desert inhabitants of the provinces of the former Spanish Sahara speak a dialect of Arabic. It is true that these regions are often poorer, but not always. Many Berbers migrate, either to the cities of the coast, where they have to Arabize but often remain poor, or to Europe where they have to learn European languages but often grow much richer than they could in Morocco.

The most blatant disparities are in income, education, and health and are reflected in the differences in life expectancy between rural and urban populations, the latter generally having better education and health conditions. These advantages are only partly the result of higher income. Medical service and schools are provided in greater abundance in urban than rural areas – there are more doctors and more specialists in Rabat and Casablanca than there are in the Rif mountains, in the north, or the Sous, in the south.

Income distribution and poverty

The rapid growth of the Moroccan economy, especially since 2000, has lifted many Moroccans out of extreme poverty but has resulted in a more unequal distribution of wealth. The upper 20 percent of income earners earn nearly half (47.88 percent) of the income of the country, while the lowest 20 percent earn 6.5 percent. These figures have not changed much since 2001, when the figures were 47.7 percent and 6.47 percent, respectively (data are from the World Bank).

Yet the number of Moroccans who are extremely poor has fallen sharply. A report by the Moroccan Census Office in 2007, analyzing the distribution of wealth, divided the lower end of the income spectrum according to measures of relative poverty and vulnerability defined by the World Bank. The calculations were complicated: relative poverty was based on an index of the income needed to buy enough food to provide 1,984 calories a day, tied to an index of non-food items. Vulnerability was defined by multiplying this index by 1.5. The report stated that between 2001 and 2007, relative poverty declined from 15.3 percent to 8.9 percent across the entire country, from 7.6 percent to 4.8 percent in urban areas, and from 25.1 percent to 14.4 percent in rural areas. The index of vulnerability declined as well (from 22.8 percent to 17.5 percent nationally, from 16.6 percent to 12.7 percent in urban areas, and from 30.5 percent to 23.6 percent in rural areas). Other measures of deprivation showed the same pattern, in terms of absolute income and food supply.

While the general pattern shows a rapid decline in poverty, the pattern is much more varied at the regional level. Measures of relative poverty applied to individual provinces showed that relative poverty was lower than the national average on the coast between Casablanca, Rabat, and Tangier but was much higher in the rural areas of the north-west and around the great inland cities – Fez, Meknes, and Marrakesh. But the provinces of the former Spanish colony of Western Sahara were all richer than the rest of Morocco, testifying to the amount of politically driven investment there. The same variations exist at the local level: in the province of Meknes, for example, the commune of Mrhassiyine has a poverty index of 35.9 percent and a vulnerability index of 27 percent while in the small town of M’haya the figures are 4.8 percent and 11.8 percent respectively. The distance between the two places is less than 20 kilometres, but the cultural distance may be huge, and that has an economic aspect: while income may be low in the countryside, people produce their own food; income may be higher in towns, but housing is more expensive.