الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / من الماضي الى الحاضر / التاريخ العسكري / الاحتلال

الاحتلال

عملية عاصفة الصحراء الاحتلال الكويت صدام حسين
Photo by Lietmotiv/Flickr.

أفاقت الكويت على صدمة عنيفة في ساعات الصباح الباكر من يوم 2 آب/أغسطس 1990، عندما غزت القوات العراقية هذه الدولة المستقلة. كان إدعاء العراق أن الكويت كانت يوماً جزءً من أراضيه واهياً للغاية. والسبب الأكثر إقناعاً للغزو كان سياسة واقتصاد العراق المحلية. فقد كانت ثروة الكويت النفطية ذات الحماية القليلة الحل الظاهري لديون العراق خلال الحرب الكارثية مع إيران. وبحلول ظهر اليوم الأول، سيطرت القوات العراقية على مدينة الكويت. فهرب الأمير وحكومته، وكل العائلة المالكة عملياً، والكثير من المواطنين الكويتيين الأكثر ثراء جنوباً إلى المملكة العربية السعودية. وأعلن مسؤولون عراقيون ضم الكويت التي أكدوا أنها كانت دائماً جزءً من دولة العراق ذات السيادة، والتي هي “الوريث الشرعي للدولة العثمانية في المنطقة”. لم يقتنع المجتمع الدولي، وخصوصاً الولايات المتحدة، بالحجج العراقية. وفي 26 شباط/فبراير عام 1991، وبعد 42 يوماً من الأعمال القتالية، استسلمت آخر القوات العراقية في الكويت لقوات التحرير بقيادة الولايات المتحدة والتي صادقت عليها الأمم المتحدة وشارك فيها 34 دولة بشكل غير مسبوق.

بعد ثلاثة أسابيع، عندما عاد الأمير جابر الأحمد الصباح الثالث (1926-2006) من المملكة العربية السعودية، كانت سماء الكويت مسودّة بسبب الدخان المتصاعد من احتراق 700 بئر بترول بعد أن أضرمت القوات العراقية المنسحبة النار في منشآت النفط الكويتية. تم فتح صمامات المنشآت غير المتضررة، وتسببت بحيرات ضخمة من النفط بتلوث التربة والمياه الجوفية والساحلية في الكويت. وتعرضت البنوك والمستشفيات والمطارات ومراكز الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية والمؤسسات التعليمية والعلمية والمتاحف للنهب. ووفق التقديرات الأخيرة، لقي 113 من المدنيين الكويتيين و 118 من الجنود الكويتيين و 439 من الكويتيين غير المواطنين مصرعهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، بقي حوالي 600 كويتي مسجلين في عداد المفقودين. وقد شوهدوا للمرّة الأخيرة في السجون العراقية. وتم العثور على جثث العديد منهم في مقبرة جماعية في العراق عام 2004. ولم يُعرف عدد الكويتيين الذين تعرضوا للتعذيب والاغتصاب في السجن على الإطلاق، نظراً للتحفظ الكويتي التقليدي بشأن المواضيع “الخاصة” والمواضيع المتعلقة بالجنس.

استمر العنف الذي صاحب الاحتلال وتحرير الكويت في المجتمع في مرحلة ما بعد الحرب. فقد احتفظ أعضاء مجموعات المقاومة الكويتية بأسلحتهم، حيث استخدموها في بعض الأحيان للانتقام من غير المواطنين المشتبه في تعاونهم مع العراق أو غيرها من الأعمال الإجرامية. وكان الوضع مقلقاً بالنسبة للعائلة المالكة، كون أكثر أعضاء المقاومة السابقين وجهوا انتقادات لعائلة الصباح بسبب عجزهم عن منع العراق من تدمير وطنهم، بل وعلاوة على ذلك، لقضائهم فترة الاحتلال والأسابيع الأولى بعد التحرير في ترف في منفاهم. وبمجرد عودة أمير البلاد وحكومته، تم فرض الأحكام العرفية. وربما لاستعادة الثقة بين أولئك المواطنين الكويتيين الذين عانوا الويلات أثناء الاحتلال العراقي، تم اعتقال ما يقارب من 6000 من المتعاونين المزعومين، معظمهم من غير المواطنين، من قبل السلطات قبل رفع قانون الأحكام العرفية في صيف عام 1991. انتقدت منظمات حقوق الإنسان انعدام الحقوق الأساسية لهؤلاء المشتبه بهم، وانتشرت مزاعم تعذيبهم بشكل واسع. وأشارت بعض التقارير إلى أن العشرات من المواطنين غير الكويتيين ماتوا في السجون.

 

تعويضات الحرب

عام 1991، أسست الأمم المتحدة لجنة التعويضات (UNCC) للنظر في جميع طلبات التعويض الناجمة عن الغزو العراقي. وبعد الانتهاء من تجهيز المطالبات عام 2005، تجاوز مجموع قيمتها 350 مليار دولار. ومن هذا المبلغ، دفعت لجنة التعويضات 53 مليار دولار. وبحلول صيف عام 2009، كان العراق قد دفع أكثر من 27 مليار دولار. وكانت التعويضات مثيرة للجدل؛ حيث يقول الناقدون إنه لا يجوز أن يدفع شعب العراق الحالي الفقير ثمن جرائم الديكتاتور السابق.

Home / Kuwait / Past to Present / Military history / Occupation

Occupation

Operation Desert Storm Occupation Kuwait Saddam hussein
An Iraqi aircraft destroyed by Allied forces during Operation Desert Storm. Photo by Lietmotiv/Flickr.

A traumatic backlash hit the independent nation in the small hours of 2 August 1990, when Saddam Hussein’s Iraqi troops invaded Kuwait. The Iraqi claim that Kuwait was once part of its territory was tenuous at best. A more compelling explanation can be found in domestic Iraqi economics and politics. Kuwait’s lightly-guarded oil wealth offered an apparent solution to the debt Iraq had contracted during the disastrous war it had launched on Iran. By noon of the first day, Iraqi forces controlled Kuwait City. The Emir, his government, practically all of the royal family, and scores of wealthier Kuwaiti citizens fled southwards, to Saudi Arabia. Iraqi officials announced the annexation of Kuwait, which they asserted had always been part of the sovereign state of Iraq, as ‘the rightful successor of the Ottoman Empire in the region’. The international community, especially the United States, was not convinced by the Iraqi arguments. On 26 February 1991, after forty-two days of military action, the last Iraqi troops in Kuwait surrendered to a US-led, UN-sanctioned liberation force, to which an unprecedented thirty-four nations had contributed.

Three weeks later, when Emir Jaber III al-Sabah (1926-2006) returned from Saudi Arabia, the sky above Kuwait was blackened by the smoke from seven hundred oil fires, the result of the torching of Kuwait’s petroleum facilities by the retreating Iraqi forces. The valves of undamaged facilities had been opened, and huge lakes of oil polluted Kuwait’s soil, underground aquifers, and coastal waters. Banks, hospitals, airports, telecommunication centres, educational and scientific institutions, and museums had been looted. According to recent estimates, 113 Kuwaiti civilians, 118 Kuwaiti soldiers and 439 Kuwaiti ‘non-nationals‘ had been killed. In addition, some six hundred Kuwaitis remained registered as ‘missing’. They were last seen in Iraqi custody. The bodies of many of these MIA were found in a mass grave in Iraq in 2004. The number of Kuwaitis tortured and raped in prison will never be known, given the traditional Kuwaiti reticence about ‘private’ and sexually-related subjects.

The violence that had accompanied the occupation and liberation of Kuwait spilled over into its post-war society. Members of Kuwait’s resistance groups retained their weaponry, sometimes using them for retaliation – often against non-citizens they suspected of collaboration – or for other criminal acts. The situation was discomforting for the royal family, since most former members of the resistance were critical of the fact that the Al Sabah had been unable to prevent Iraq from devastating their homeland, and had, moreover, spent the occupation and the first weeks after liberation in luxury in exile. As soon as the Emir and his government returned, martial law was imposed. Perhaps in order to regain credit among those Kuwaiti citizens who had lived through the horrors of the Iraqi occupation, almost 6,000 alleged collaborators, mostly non-citizens, were rounded up by the authorities before martial law was lifted in the summer of 1991. Human-rights organizations have criticized the lack of basic rights for these suspects, and allegations of torture were widespread. Some reports have suggested that dozens of Kuwaiti non-citizens died in custody.

 War compensation

In 1991 the UN established a Compensation Commission (UNCC) to consider all claims for compensation resulting from the Iraqi invasion. When the claim processing was concluded in 2005, the total claims exceeded USD 350 billion. Of this, USD 53 billion was awarded by the UNCC. By the summer of 2009, more than USD 27 billion had been paid by Iraq. The repayments are controversial: critics argue that the present impoverished population of Iraq should not be expected to pay for the crimes of its former dictator.