الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / الاقتصاد

الاقتصاد

المقدمة

Kuwait- GDP per capita
نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي عام 2015

وفق البنك الدولي، كان الناتج الإجمالي المحلي في الكويت 176,5 مليار دولار عام 2011. وفي نفس العام، احتل اقتصاد الكويت المرتبة 51 في العالم في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الاسمي. وتبقى الكويت تعتمد على عائدات النفط؛ حيث يشكل النفط ما يقارب من نصف الناتج الإجمالي المحلي و 95% من دخل الحكومة. ونتيجة للاعتماد شبه الكامل لاقتصاد الكويت على المنتجات النفطية، يتقلب الاقتصاد بقوة مع ارتفاعات وانخفاضات سوق النفط العالمي السريع التأثر.

وبحسب بيانات البنك الدولي، فقد وصل الناتج الإجمالي المحلي الكويتي في عام 2015 إلى 114.04 مليار دولار أمريكي، مقارنةً مع 162.6 و174.1 مليار دولار في عامي 2014 و2013 على التوالي. ويشير صندوق النقد الدولي إلى أن نصيب الفرد من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي في عام 2015 بلغ 27756 دولار أمريكي. ومن المتوقع أن يشهد الناتج الإجمالي المحلي الكويتي نمواً بنسبة 2.6% خلال عام 2017، مقارنةً مع 2.5% و1.1% في عامي 2016 و2017 على التوالي.

ووصلت نسبة التضخم في عام 2017 إلى 3.8%، مقارنةً مع 3.4% و3.2% في عامي 2016 و2015.

ويرى البنك الدولي أنه يتوجب دعم النشاط الاقتصادي الكويتي من خلال زيادة الإنتاج النفطي، وتوفر خطة الاستثمار بين عامي 2015 و2019 8 مشاريع شراكة رئيسية بين القطاعين العام والخاص، ما من شأنه دعم النمو في القطاع غير النفطي.

واحتلت الكويت المرتبة 38 على مؤشر التنافسية العالمية للفترة الممتدة بين 2016-2017.

وأدخل الحاكم الحالي الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح، وابن أخيه رئيس الوزراء الأسبق ناصر المحمد الأحمد الصباح، مشاريع قوانين للإصلاح الاقتصادي منذ توليه السلطة عام 2006، إلا أن معظم مبادرات السلطة التنفيذية أحبطتها السلطة التشريعية، مما أدى إلى تكرار حل البرلمان من قبل أمير البلاد. إن رفض أعضاء البرلمان الموافقة على معظم مشاريع قوانين الاصلاح الاقتصادي ناتج جزئياً عن دوافع سياسية. حيث تريد المعارضة أن يسبق الإصلاح السياسي تحرر اقتصادي. والأهم من ذلك، يطالب أعضاء المعارضة بحق التأثير على تشكيل حكومة جديدة، والتي يقوم أمير البلاد باختيارها. تصور المعارضة الحكومة الحالية على أنها فاسدة وعديمة الكفاءة، ولكن موقف المعارضة أيضاً متأثر بقناعتها أن حزمة الاصلاحات الحكومية لن تفيد سوى رجال الأعمال والنخبة السياسية الحالية، وليس الشعب ككل. ومن جانبها، تتهم الحكومة المعارضة بالشعوبية وعدم المسؤولية، ويعتقد الكثيرون أن الأمير يتدارس بجدية فكرة تعليق البرلمان مرة أخرى، وهذه المرة إلى أجل غير مسمى.

التنمية الاقتصادية

economy kuwait - worldbank bussiness
مؤشر تسهيلات الاستثمار

يمكن تقسيم تاريخ الكويت الاقتصادي إلى أربع فترات ذات خصائص اقتصادية متميزة. الأولى هي فترة ما قبل العصر الحديث (حتى حوالي عام 1850) عندما لم يكن هناك دول في منطقة الخليج، ولم تكن تجارة الإمبراطورية البريطانية قد سيطرت بعد على المنطقة. ولعدم وجود دولة بيروقراطية حديثة في الكويت أو في أي من مشيخات الخليج الأخرى، كان التجار العرب يتنقلون بحرّية نسبياً في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. سيطرت العائلات التجارية الكبيرة – العربية والفارسية – في الخليج على الاقتصاد الإقليمي المبني على صيد اللؤلؤ والأسماك وتجارة الترانزيت بين جنوب-غرب وجنوب آسيا، وبدرجة أقل مع شرق أفريقيا.

في الفترة الثانية، والتي استمرت حتى خمسينات القرن العشرين تقريباً، هيمنت الإمبراطورية البريطانية على الاقتصاد الإقليمي. لم يتمكن التجار المحليون من النمو إلا من خلال المشاركة في الأجواء الاقتصادية والسياسية للإمبراطورية البريطانية – وبشكل أكثر تحديداً، البريطانية- الهندية. وبالتالي، عمل بعض التجار المحليين كممثلين رسميين أو غير رسميين للتاج البريطاني (الهندي) في مشيخات الخليج، كما فعل التاجر الفارسي الحاج علي رضا في مدينة الكويت، من عام 1899 حتى عام 1904.

تتميز الفترة الثالثة، التي قد تكون قد اقتربت من نهايتها، بتقلص مطّرد لنفوذ بريطانيا العظمى وصعود النفوذ الأمريكي؛ وظهور دول شديدة المركزية والبيروقراطية وهيمنتها اللاحقة؛ وظهور اقتصادات دولانية متآلفة تعتمد على عائدات النفط؛ وتنامي العلاقات الاقتصادية مع دول ما بعد فترة الاستعمار في دول جنوب وشرق آسيا. وكانت الكويت رائدة إقليمياً في معظم هذه النواحي. عام 1961، كانت أولى المشيخات العربية التي تحصل على الاستقلال. وكانت الكويت والبحرين أولى دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج الحالي في بناء دولة رفاهية حديثة ومركزية، مع بنية تحتية حديثة وتعليم وأنظمة رعاية صحية عالية التطور، يتم تمويلها كلها من عائدات النفط. كما كانت الأولى في المنطقة التي تجعل اقتصادها معتمداً بشكل شبه كامل على النفط أو على الدخل المرتبط بالنفط، التطور الذي يعتبر على نحو متزايد على أنه نقمة وليست نعمة؛ ومن المؤكد أن المثل القائل “الذين هم في المقدمة يجدون صعوبة أكثر في التكيف مع الظروف الجديدة” ينطبق على الكويت. وبدخولها الفترة الاقتصادية الرابعة، التي تتميز بالتحرر الاقتصادي والتنوع، تخلفت الكويت عن جيرانها.

العصور الحديثة

حيث أنه حتى الآن لم تدخل أية دولة من دول الخليج العربي هذه الفترة الرابعة بالكامل، فمن الأفضل الحديث عن سياسة مرتقبة بدلاً من فعلية. ومع ذلك، قطعت معظم دول الخليج أشواطاً كبيرة في العقد الأخير في محاولة فتح اقتصادها على الأقل أمام المستثمرين ورجال الأعمال الخاصين. يؤكد تقرير صادر عن البنك الدولي، بعنوان “ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال في العالم العربي 2012“، نُشر في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2009، هذا الاتجاه، وكما يوضح التقرير أن الاقتصاد الكويتي هو الأكثر دولانية، وبالتالي الأكثر ثباتاً وصعوبة للاختراق، في المنطقة. وفي تصنيف البنك الدولي لأكثر البلدان ملائمة للأعمال التجارية في العالم، احتلت الكويت المرتبة 67، بعد منغوليا وروسيا البيضاء؛ واحتلت جميع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، باستثناء عمان، مراتب أعلى، وعلى رأسها المملكة العربية السعودية (12) والإمارات العربية المتحدة (35). وفي سهولة البدء بأعمال تجارية، احتلت الكويت المرتبة 137. في المتوسط، يستغرق الانتهاء من جميع الإجراءات اللازمة لتأسيس عمل تجاري في الكويت 35 يوماً (مقارنة مع 19 يوماً في موريتانيا غير الملائمة للأعمال التجارية، وخمسة أيام فقط في المملكة العربية السعودية). وحالياً يحتل مركز الكويت التجاري السابق، مع تقليده التجاري الغني، المرتبة 109 في العالم في سهولة التجارة عبر الحدود.

أدخل الحاكم الحالي الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح، وابن أخيه رئيس الوزراء السابق ناصر المحمد الأحمد الصباح، مشاريع قوانين للإصلاح الاقتصادي منذ توليه السلطة عام 2006، إلا أن معظم مبادرات السلطة التنفيذية أحبطتها السلطة التشريعية، مما أدى إلى تكرار حل البرلمان من قبل أمير البلاد. إن رفض أعضاء البرلمان الموافقة على معظم مشاريع قوانين الاصلاح الاقتصادي ناتج جزئياً عن دوافع سياسية. حيث تريد المعارضة أن يسبق الإصلاح السياسي تحرر اقتصادي. والأهم من ذلك، يطالب أعضاء المعارضة بحق التأثير على تشكيل حكومة جديدة، والتي يقوم أمير البلاد باختيارها. تصور المعارضة الحكومة الحالية على أنها فاسدة وعديمة الكفاءة، ولكن موقف المعارضة أيضاً متأثر بقناعتها أن حزمة الاصلاحات الحكومية لن تفيد سوى رجال الأعمال والنخبة السياسية الحالية، وليس الشعب ككل. ومن جانبها، تتهم الحكومة المعارضة بالشعوبية وعدم المسؤولية، ويعتقد الكثيرون أن الأمير يتدارس بجدية فكرة تعليق البرلمان مرة أخرى، وهذه المرة إلى أجل غير مسمى.

البنية التحتية

economy kuwait - infrastructure map
البنية التحتية في الكويت

م تقدير إجمالي طول شبكة الطرق في الكويت بما يقارب من 6000 كم عام 2006. وفي تلك السنة، تم تسجيل 975,000 سيارة خاصة، بزيادة قدرها نحو 30% خلال أربع سنوات فقط. تقدّم 3000 حافلة عائدة لشركة النقل العام الكويتية المملوكة للدولة الخدمات المحلية، فضلاً عن خدمات منتظمة إلى مكة المكرمة في المملكة العربية السعودية. إضافة إلى ذلك، تسهّل 18,000 حافلة خاصة و 184,000 عربة نقل و 9200 سيارة أجرة تنقّل السكان في البلاد. عام 2007، استخدم حوالي 7 مليون مسافر مطار الكويت الدولي، أكثر بـ 4,3 مليون مسافر عام 2003. يجري توسيع وتحديث المطار الوطني حالياً. وهو مصمم لاستيعاب 20 مليون مسافر سنوياً في المستقبل القريب و 50 مليون مسافر في مرحلة لاحقة.

أكبر ميناء تجاري في الكويت هو ميناء الشويخ غربي مدينة الكويت. ويقع ثاني أكبر الموانئ التجارية بالقرب من منطقة الشعيبة الصناعية على بعد حوالي 56 كم إلى الجنوب من مدينة الكويت. وهنا يكون الخليج أكثر عمقاً، مما يسمح بإرساء السفن الأكبر حجماً. ولهذا السبب بالذات، يقع ميناء الأحمدي وميناء عبد الله لنقل النفط على طول هذا الجزء القصير من الساحل. تتم إدارة مؤسسة الموانئ الكويتية من قبل أحد أفراد آل الصباح الحاكمة، وهذا دليل يؤكد الأهمية القصوى لهذه الموانئ على اقتصاد البلاد. ومع ذلك، يجري بحث خطط لخصخصتها.

الطاقة

للحصول على نظرة عامة متعمقة على قطاع الطاقة في البحرين، أنقر الزر أدناه.

القطاع المصرفي والمالي

قطاعات المال والعقارات والأعمال هي المساهم الثاني في الناتج الإجمالي المحلي للبلاد بعد النفط (17% عام 2007). ضربت الأزمة المالية العالمية الكويت في وقت متأخر وإنما بقوة. حيث تدهورت الإمدادات المالية المحلية وشروط الائتمان بسرعة في الأشهر الأخيرة من عام 2008، وبقي سوق المال جامداً خلال عام 2009. وتراجعت بورصة الكويت للأوراق المالية بنسبة 45% في خريف عام 2008. وسجلت شركات الاستثمار المحلية خسارة مجموعها أكثر من 32 مليار دولار، وانهارت اثنتان منها. وكانت ردة فعل الحكومة الكويتية إقرار قانون الاستقرار الاقتصادي الطارئ، والذي وفّر شبكة أمان للبنوك المنازعة، مقابل قواعد إدارة مخاطر أكثر صرامة. وضمنت الدولة جميع ودائع البنوك المحلية، وتم إنشاء صندوق استثمار لحالات الطوارئ بمبلغ 5,4 مليار دولار لدعم سوق الأوراق المالية المعتل. وأنقذت الحكومة جزئياً بعض شركات الاستثمار المحلية. وانتعشت بورصة الكويت جزئياً في الربع الثاني من عام 2008، مع زيادة بنسبة 182% للأسهم المتداولة. كما تعافى سوق العقارات المحلية، الذي تضرر بشكل خاص من الانكماش المالي المفاجئ.

بلغت مديونية المستهلك حوالي 25 مليار دولار في أواخر عام 2009. ويتوقع المواطنون الكويتيون أن تلجأ الحكومة إلى إنقاذهم من المشاكل المالية، كما فعلت أحياناً كثيرة في الماضي. تبدو الدولة قادرة على تحمل هذا على المدى القصير. ونتيجة لانخفاض الإنفاق وانتعاش أسعار النفط، واصلت الدولة تحقيق فوائض في الميزانية بقيمة مليار دولار عام 2012، إلا أن ميزانية الاستثمار على المدى الطويل تأثرت. يرجع هذا جزئياً إلى أن الدولة سحبت من هذه الأموال لتمويل التحفيز الاقتصادي وحزم الأمان، مثل صندوق الاستثمار في سوق الأسهم؛ وجزئياً بسبب الخسائر في الاستثمارات الخارجية، وخاصة في البنوك الأميركية. خسرت هيئة الاستثمار الكويتية، التي تدير صناديق الثروات السيادية، 31 مليار دولار في النصف الثاني من عام 2008. أي حوالي 15% من محفظة الاستثمارات الإجمالية المقدّرة. كما بدأت الدولة باستخدام احتياطات العملات الأجنبية، والتي قدرت بمبلغ 17 مليار عام 2008.

economy kuwait - banking and finance
اسعار النفط و سوق البورصة الكويتي في عامي 2007-2008

الميزان التجاري

أدى ارتفاع أسعار النفط باستمرار تقريباً في الفترة من عام 2004 وحتى عام 2012 (مع تراجع عام 2008) إلى فائض قياسي متعاقب في الميزان التجاري الخارجي للكويت. بلغ مجموع عائدات التصدير في الكويت إلى 89 مليار دولار عام 2008، 85,5 مليار دولار منها (96%) من منتجات النفط والغاز. لم تكن آثار هذا التدفق الهائل للأموال النفطية مفيدة تماماً لهذا البلد، فقد ارتفعت أسعار البيع بالجملة المحلية والسلع الاستهلاكية، وبلغ التضخم 11,6% في آب/أغسطس عام 2008. كانت اليابان وجهة التصدير الرئيسية للكويت عام 2007: 14% من إجمالي عائدات الصادرات. وبلغت حصة كوريا الجنوبية وسنغافورة والولايات المتحدة: 12,2% و 7,3% و 6,2% على التوالي. وكانت المنتجات المرتبطة بالنفط والغاز، مثل المواد الكيماوية والبلاستيكية، المصدر الثاني للدخل الأجنبي (2.5%) بعد النفط والغاز. يتم بيع هذه السلع في المقام الأول إلى المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وإندونيسيا والباكستان.

بلغت نفقات الاستيراد 25 مليار دولار عام 2008، بزيادة 20,6 مليار دولار عام 2007 و 14,3 مليار دولار عام 2006. أهم الواردات هي معدات النقل والآلات والمعادن غير المعالجة، والتي عادة ما تشكل مجتمعة حوالي 60% من إجمالي قيمة الواردات. وشكلت المواد الغذائية والحيوانات الحية ما يقارب من 10% من قيمة الواردات في الفترة حتى عام 2006، تليها المواد الكيميائية (حوالس 8%). عام 2007، كانت الولايات المتحدة المصدر الرئيسي لواردات الكويت (14,1%) تليها اليابان (9,2%) وألمانيا (8,1%) والصين الشريك التجاري الأسرع نمواً (7,7%). وفي السنوات المقبلة، يتوقع أن تصبح إيران الشريك الرئيسي لواردات الكويت كمصدر للغاز الطبيعي المسال والمياه العذبة الضرورية جداً من الناحية الاستراتيجية. وهذا سيثير بالتأكيد انزعاج الولايات المتحدة والقيادة السياسية في المملكة العربية السعودية التي هي الشريك التجاري الرئيسي للكويت في منطقة الخليج في الوقت الحاضر (6,3% من مجموع نفقات الواردات عام 2007).

economy kuwait - import export
الاستيراد والتصدير في الكويت 2011

الزراعة والثروة السمكية

عام 2007، ساهم قطاع الزراعة والثروة السمكية بنسبة 0,2% فقط من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. ويتم استيراد معظم المواد الغذائية في البلاد، حتى معظم ثروتها السمكية، (بتكلفة قدرها 1,8 مليار دولار عام 2005). تبلغ مساحة الأراضي الزراعية المروية في البلاد 7000 هكتار (0,4% من إجمالي مساحة الأراضي). والمحاصيل الرئيسية هي الطماطم (البندورة) والبطاطس والخيار والجيركين (خيار صغير) والباذنجان. والثروة الحيوانية الرئيسية في الكويت ليست الجمال (5000 فقط)، وإنما الدجاج (أكثر من 32 مليون). وتشكل الأغنام (حوالي 900,000) النوع الثاني من الثروة الحيوانية. وسنوياً يتم إنتاج 46,000 طن متري من لحم الدواجن محلياً و 22,000 طن من البيض و 30,000 طن من لحم الضأن والغنم. وتنتج 28,000 بقرة في الكويت 40,000 طن متري من الحليب سنوياً. وظّف قطاعي الزراعة والثروة السمكية 34,800 عامل عام 2006 (1,7% من إجمالي القوى العاملة). 200 منهم فقط من المواطنين.

عام 2007، إضافة إلى استيراد أكثر من 200 مليون دولار من لحوم الدجاج وأكثر من 100 مليون دولار من المواد الغذائية الجاهزة، كان على الكويت استيراد كميات كبيرة من المواد الغذائية الأساسية، مثل الأرز ( 168 مليار دولار) والشعير والقمح ( كلفة كل منهما أكثر من 48 مليون دولار). دفع اعتماد البلاد المتزايد باستمرار على واردات المواد الغذائية بالحكومة إلى اقتناء مساحات كبيرة من الأراضي الزراعية في كمبوديا والسودان. ونظراً لصراع الكويت التاريخي الطويل لتأميم مواردها الطبيعية، إلا أن انهماك الحكومة في عملية شراء أو استئجار الأراضي الزراعية المثيرة للجدل في البلدان المتخلفة (ما يسمى بـ “سباق الزراعة”) أمر لافت للنظر.

السياحة

مثل جميع دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج الأصغر حجماً، تعتبر الكويت تطوير الصناعة السياحية المحلية جزءً هاماً من برنامج التنويع الاقتصادي الخاص بها. ذهبت معظم أموال الاستثمار إلى زيادة الطاقة الاستيعابية للفنادق. ازداد عدد الضيوف الذين يزورون الكويت بشكل مذهل، من 90,000 (280,000 ليلة) عام 2004 إلى 292,000 ( 408,000 ليلة) عام 2007. عام 2004، جاء معظم الزوار الأجانب من المملكة العربية السعودية (896,000، أو 30%). وكون عددهم يفوق عدد نزلاء الفنادق كثيراً، لم تتجاوز إقامة أغلبهم اليوم الواحد على وجه الحصر. انخفض عدد زوار المتاحف في الكويت من 64,000 عام 2004 إلى 33,000 عام 2006. ساهم قطاع الفنادق والمطاعم بنسبة 0,6% فقط من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي عام 2007. ونتيجة لحظر استهلاك الكحول، لا يمكن للكويت منافسة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في سوق السياح الأوروبيين.

سوق العمل

economy kuwait - labour market
سوق العمل عام 2007

وفق كتاب حقائق العالم لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية الأمريكية، بلغ مجموع القوى العاملة في الكويت 2,24 مليون عام 2011. قدّرت الهيئة العامة للمعلومات المدنية (PACI) أن القوى العاملة في الكويت بلغت 2,09 مليون في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2007 (61% من مجموع السكان). 15% فقط من القوى العاملة من المواطنين (324,300)، منخفضة من 17,4% (341,200) عام 2006. وتم تسجيل 75,4% من الأجانب كناشطين اقتصادياً، مقارنة مع 30,8% فقط من المواطنين. إن الرقم الأخير المنخفض ليست ناتجاً عن غياب المرأة المحلية في سوق العمل – ازدادت نسبة الإناث في القوى العاملة المحلية من 41,7% في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2006 إلى 43,7% في نهاية عام 2007. معظم القوى العاملة الأجنبية من الذكور (حوالي 80% ).

تعمل الغالبية العظمى من المواطنين في الإدارة العامة (78,8%). وفي نهاية عام 2007، تم توظيف 2% فقط من في القطاع الخاص، والذي شهد زيادة ملحوظة بنسبة 15,7% خلال شهر كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2006. واعتباراً من كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2008، كان 16,641 مواطن (4,9% من القوى العاملة الوطنية) عاطلاً عن العمل.

الاتحادات العمالية

من حيث المبدأ، يمكن للعمال المواطنين وغير المواطنين إنشاء النقابات العمالية أو الانضمام إليها في الكويت، مع أن غير المواطنين لا يسمح لهم بذلك إلا بعد خمس سنوات فقط من الإقامة وكأعضاء فقط ليس لهم حق التصويت. وهناك العديد من القيود: يسمح بالإضراب فقط بعد الحصول على موافقة من الحكومة وتحكيم خارجي إلزامي للنزاع؛ يعتمد تمويل الاتحاد على دعم الدولة، ولا يمكن إنشاء أكثر من اتحاد واحد لكل مهنة تجارية. 3% فقط من القوى العاملة الكويتية ينتسبون إلى اتحاد ما.

المساعدات الخارجية

كانت الكويت رائدة في المساعدات الخارجية في العالم العربي مع تأسيس الصندوق الكويتي للتنمية الاقتصادية العربية (KFAED) عام 1962. كان الدافع جزئياً من وراء هذه المبادرة التهديدات العراقية لغزو الدولة المستقلة حديثاً. بلغت المساعدات الكويتية الخارجية أعلى مستوى لها خلال النصف الثاني من سبعينات القرن العشرين، حيث تراوحت حينئذ بين 8% و 15% من دخلها القومي الإجمالي. ومنذ عام 1981، كان الصندوق ذاتي التمويل؛ تستخدم مدفوعات السداد لتقديم قروض ومنح جديدة لبلدان نامية في كل من آسيا وأفريقيا. وحتى عام 2003، تم تقديم قروض إلى 99 بلد، ما مجموعه 3345 مليار دينار (حوالي 11 مليار دولار بأسعار الصرف الحالية)، و 335 مليار دينار كويتي (1,2 مليار دولار) على شكل منح ومساعدات تقنية إلى 163 بلد.

economy kuwait - foreign-aid
التمويل الكويتي لمشروعات التنمية الاقتصادية في الدول العربية

Home / Kuwait / Economy

Economy

Introduction

kuwait-gdp per capita
GDP per capita in 2015

According to the Worldbank, Kuwait’s GDP was $176.5 billion in 2011. In 2011, Kuwait’s economy ranked 51st in the world in nominal GDP. Kuwait remains dependent on petroleum revenues: oil accounts for almost half of its GDP and 95 percent of government income.

Because of the almost complete dependence of Kuwait’s economy on petroleum products, it fluctuates strongly with the highs and lows of the volatile global oil market.

According to the World Bank data, the Kuwaiti gross domestic product (GDP) had reached in the year 2015 to 114.04 billion US dollars, in comparison with 162.6 billion dollars in the years 2014 and 2013 respectively. The International Monetary Fund points that the GDP per capita in the year 2015 had reached 27756 US dollars. It is predicted that the Kuwaiti GDP will witnesses a growth by a rate of 2.6% during the year 2017, in comparison with 2.5% and 1.1% in the years 2016 and 2017 respectively.
The inflation rate in 2017 had reached 3.8%, in comparison with 3.4% and 3.2% in the years 2016 and 2017.

The World Bank sees that it is a must to support the Kuwaiti economic activity through increasing oil production, and providing an investment plan between the years 2015 and 2019 and main partnership projects between the public and private sectors, which due to it will lead to support growth in the non-oil sector(s).

Kuwait had occupied the 38th rank on the Global Competitiveness Report  for the period stretching between 2016-2017.

The present ruler Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmad al-Sabah and his nephew, former Prime Minister Nasser al-Mohammed al-Ahmed al-Sabeh, have been introducing economic-reform bills since coming to power in 2006, but most initiatives of the executive branch have been thwarted by the legislature, leading to repeated dissolution of Parliament by the Emir. The parliamentarians’ refusal to approve most of the economic-reform bills is, in part, politically motivated. The opposition wants political reform to precede economic liberalization. Most importantly, opposition members demand the right to influence the formation of a new government, which is now handpicked by the Emir. The opposition portrays the present government as corrupt and incompetent, but the opposition’s position is also influenced by its conviction that the government’s reform package will only benefit the current business and political elite, not the population as a whole. The government, for its part, accuses the opposition of populism and irresponsibility, and many suspect that the Emir is seriously considering suspending Parliament once more, this time indefinitely.

Economic Development

economy kuwait - worldbank bussiness
Ease of doing business index

The economic history of Kuwait can be divided into four eras with distinct economic features. The first is the pre-modern period (until about 1850), when there were no nation states in the Gulf, and the commerce of the British Empire did not yet dominate the region.

Because there was no modern bureaucratic state in Kuwait or in any of the other Gulf sheikhdoms, Arab traders in the Gulf moved relatively freely around the region. Together, the great Arab and Persian trading families of the Gulf dominated a regional economy based on pearling, fishing, and transit trade between south-western and South Asia, and to a lesser extent with eastern Africa.

In the second era, lasting roughly until the 1950s, the regional economy was dominated by the British Empire. Local merchants could thrive only by participating in the British imperial – more specifically, the British-Indian – economic and political sphere. Some local traders therefore acted as official or unofficial representatives of the British(-Indian) Crown in the Gulf sheikhdoms, as did the Persian merchant Hajji Alireza in Kuwait town, from 1899 until 1904.

The third era, which may now be nearing its end, is characterized by the steadily shrinking influence of Great Britain and the rise of American influence; the rise and subsequent hegemony of highly centralized, bureaucratic nation-states; the rise of monolithic, statist economies based on petroleum revenues; and growing economic ties with post-colonial states in South and East Asia. Kuwait has been a regional forerunner in most of these respects. In 1961 it was the first of the Arab sheikhdoms to gain independence. Kuwait and Bahrain were the first of the present Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states to construct a modern, centralized welfare state, with state-of-the-art infrastructure, education, and health-care systems, all financed with oil revenues. It was also the first in the region to base its economy almost exclusively on oil, or oil-related income, a development that is seen increasingly as a curse rather than a blessing: the law of the handicap of a head start – which holds that forerunners often have the most trouble adapting to new circumstances – certainly applies to Kuwait. Entering the fourth economic era, characterized by economic liberalization and diversification, Kuwait is lagging behind its neighbours.

Modern Times

As this fourth era has not yet been fully entered by any of the Arab Gulf states, it is better to speak of an intended rather than an actual policy.

Most Gulf States have, however, made significant strides in the last decade in at least attempting to open their economies to private investors and entrepreneurs. A report by the World Bank, Doing Business in the Arab World, published in November 2009, emphasizes this trend, but the report also makes clear that Kuwait’s economy is one of the most statist, and therefore most static and impenetrable, in the region. In the World Bank ranking of the most business-friendly countries in the world, Kuwait is listed 67th, behind Dominica and Azerbaijan; all GCC countries, except for Oman, rank higher, with Saudi Arabia (12th) and the UAE (33th) leading the group. In the ease of starting a business, Kuwait ranks a dismal 137th. On average, it takes 35 days to finish all the procedures needed to establish a business in Kuwait (compared with 19 days in none too business-friendly Mauritania and only five days in Saudi Arabia). The former trading centre Kuwait, with its rich merchant tradition, now ranks 109th in the world in ease of cross-border trade.

Infrastructure

economy kuwait - infrastructure map
Kuwait infrastructure

The total length of Kuwait’s road network has been estimated at almost 6,000 kilometres in 2006. That year, 975,000 private automobiles were registered, an increase of almost 30 percent in just four years. The 3,000 buses of the state-owned Kuwait Public Transport Company (KPTC) provide domestic services as well as regular services to Mecca, in Saudi Arabia. In addition, 18,000 private buses, 184,000 trucks, and 9,200 taxis facilitate the mobility of the nation’s inhabitants. In 2007, almost 7 million passengers used Kuwait International Airport, up from 4.3 million in 2003. The national airport is currently being expanded and modernized. It is designed to accommodate 20 million passengers per year in the near future and 50 million passengers at a later stage.

Kuwait’s largest commercial seaport is Port al-Shuwaikh, west of Kuwait City. The second largest commercial port is located near the Shuaiba Industrial Area, 56 kilometres south of Kuwait City. Here, the Gulf is much deeper, allowing larger vessels to moor. It is for just this reason that the oil terminals of Mina al-Ahmadi and Mina Abdullah are also located along this short stretch of coast. The Kuwait Ports Authority is directed by a member of the ruling Al Sabah, a sure indication of the prime importance of these ports in the country’s economy. Nevertheless, plans for their privatization are being discussed.

Energy

For an in-depth overview of Kuwait’s energy sector click on the button below.

Banking and finance

The finance, real estate, and business services sector is the second contributor to the nations’ GDP, after oil (17 percent in 2007). The global financial crisis hit Kuwait late but hard. Local money supply and credit conditions deteriorated rapidly in the final months of 2008, and the money market remained tight through 2009. The Kuwait Stock Exchange (KSE) plummeted 45 percent in autumn 2008. Local investment companies recorded a combined loss of more than USD 32 billion, and two of them collapsed. The Kuwaiti government reacted with an emergency financial-stability law, which provided a safety net for struggling banks, in return for stricter risk-management regulation. All local bank deposits were guaranteed by the state, and a USD 5.4 billion emergency investment fund was established to shore up the ailing stock market. Some local investment firms have been partly bailed out by the government. The KSE rebounded partially in the second quarter of 2008, with a 182 percent increase in traded shares. The local real-estate market, which was especially hard-hit by the sudden financial contraction, also appeared to recover.

Consumer debt stood at an estimated USD 25 billion in late 2009. Kuwaiti citizens expect the government to bail them out of financial difficulties, as it has often done in the past. The state appears to be able to afford this in the short term. Due to lower spending and recovering oil prices, the state continued to run a billion-dollar budget surplus in 2012, but the nation’s long-term investment portfolios have suffered. This is partly because the state drew from these funds to finance its economic stimulus and safety packages, such as the stock-market investment fund, and partly because of losses in overseas investments, particularly in American banks. The Kuwait Investment Authority, which manages the emirate’s sovereign-wealth funds, is said to have lost USD 31 billion in the second half of 2008. This amounts to roughly 15 percent of its estimated total investments portfolio. The state has also dug deep into its foreign-exchange reserves, which were estimated at USD 17 billion in 2008.

economy kuwait - banking and finance
Crude oil price and the Kuwait stock exchange in 2007-2008

Trade Balance

Almost continually rising oil prices from 2004 until 2012 (with a dip in 2008) led to consecutive record surpluses in Kuwait’s foreign trade balance. Kuwait’s export earnings totalled USD 89 billion in 2008, of which USD 85.5 billion (96 percent) came from hydrocarbon products. The effects of this huge influx of oil money have not been entirely beneficial to the country. Local wholesale and consumer prices have skyrocketed, with inflation peaking at 11.6 percent in August 2008. Japan was Kuwait’s main export destination in 2007, providing 14 percent of total export revenues. South Korea, Singapore, and the United States had shares of 12.2, 7.3, and 6.2 percent, respectively. After hydrocarbons, hydrocarbon-related products, such as chemicals and plastics, were the second source of foreign revenue (2.5 percent). These commodities are sold primarily to Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Indonesia, and Pakistan.

Import expenditures reached USD 25 billion in 2008, up from USD 20.6 billion in 2007 and USD 14.3 billion in 2006. The most important imports are transport equipment, machinery, and unprocessed metals, which collectively typically make up about 60 percent of total import value. Food and live animals accounted for roughly 10 percent of import value in the period until 2006, followed by chemicals at roughly 8 percent. In 2007, the US was Kuwait’s main source of imports (14.1 percent), followed by Japan (9.2 percent), Germany (8.1 percent), and China, Kuwait’s fastest growing trade partner (7.7 percent). In the coming years, Iran is expected to become a main import partner of Kuwait, as a source for LNG and fresh water, both of which are strategically very important. This will certainly trouble both the United States and the political leadership of Saudi Arabia. The latter is presently Kuwait’s main trading partner in the Gulf (6.3 percent of total import expenses in 2007).

economy kuwait - import export
Kuwait export and import in 2011

Agriculture and Fishing

In 2007, agriculture and fishing contributed just 0.2 percent to Kuwait’s GDP. Most of the country’s food, even most of its fish, has to be imported (at a cost of about USD 1.8 billion in 2005). The country has a total area of irrigated agricultural land of 7,000 hectares (0.4 percent of the total land area). The primary crops are tomatoes, potatoes, cucumbers, gherkins, and aubergines. Kuwait’s principal livestock is not camels (just 5,000) but chickens (more than 32 million). Sheep (about 900,000) form the second type of livestock. Annually, this results in some 46,000 metric tons of locally produced chicken meat, 22,000 tons of eggs, and 30,000 tons of mutton and lamb. Kuwait’s 28,000 cows produce 40,000 metric tonnes of milk per year. The agriculture and fishing sectors employed 34,800 workers in 2006 (1.7 percent of the total labour force). Only 200 of them were citizens.

In 2007, in addition to importing more than USD 200 million worth of chicken meat and more than USD 100 million worth of prepared foodstuffs, Kuwait had to import large quantities of food staples, such as rice (USD 168 million) and barley and wheat (each costing more than USD 48 million). The country’s continually increasing dependence on food imports has led the government to acquire large tracts of farmland in Cambodia and Sudan. Given Kuwait’s own long historical struggle to nationalize its natural resources, the fact that it is now engaging in the controversial practice of buying or leasing farmland in underdeveloped countries (the so-called ‘farms race’) is striking.

Tourism

Like all smaller Gulf Cooperation Council states, Kuwait considers the development of a local tourist industry an important part of its economic diversification package. Most investment money has gone into increasing hotel capacity. The number of guests visiting Kuwait has increased spectacularly, from 90,000 (280,000 nights) in 2004 to 292,000 (408,000 nights) in 2007. In 2004, most foreign visitors came from Saudi Arabia (896,000, or 30 percent). Since their number greatly outweighed the number of hotel guests, these were almost exclusively day-trippers. They certainly did not come to admire the country’s museums; the number of museum visitors in Kuwait decreased from 64,000 in 2004 to 33,000 in 2006. The hotel and restaurant sector contributed only 0.6 percent to GDP in 2007. Because of Kuwait’s ban on alcohol consumption, the country is less competitive than the UAE in the market for European tourists.

Labour Market

economy kuwait - labour market
Labour market in 2007

According to the CIA World Factbook, Kuwait’s labour force totalled 2.24 million in 2011. The Public Authority for Civil Information (PACI) estimated that Kuwait’s labour force totalled 2.09 million in December 2007 (61 percent of the total population). Only 15 percent of the labour force consisted of nationals (324,300), down from 17.4 percent (341,200) in 2006. 75.4 percent of the foreign population were registered as economically active, compared with just 30.8 percent of the national population. The latter low figure is not the result of the absence of local women in the labour market – the share of females in the local labour force grew from 41.7 percent in December 2006 to 43.7 percent at the end of 2007. The foreign labour force is overwhelmingly male (about 80 percent).

The large majority of nationals work in public administration (78.8 percent). At the end of 2007 just 2 percent were employed in the private sector, which was still a marked increase of 15.7 percent over December 2006. As of December 2008, 16,641 citizens (4.9 percent of the national workforce) were registered as unemployed.

Workers’ unions

In principle, both citizen and non-citizen workers can establish and join labour unions in Kuwait, although the latter can do so only after five years of residence and only as non-voting members. There are many restrictions: strikes are allowed only after government approval and compulsory external arbitration of the dispute; union financing depends on state subsidies, and no more than one union may be established in any occupational trade. Only 3 percent of the Kuwaiti workforce is unionized.

Foreign Aid

Kuwait pioneered foreign aid in the Arab world with its establishment of the Kuwait Fund for Arab Economic Development (KFAED) in 1962. This initiative was motivated partly by Iraqi threats to invade the newly independent country.
Kuwait’s foreign aid reached its highest level during the second half of the 1970s, then ranging between 8 percent and 15 percent of its gross national income. Since 1981 the fund has been self-financing; repayments are used to provide new loans and grants to developing countries in both Asia and Africa. Up to 2003, it had made loans to 99 countries, for a total of KD 3345 billion (about USD 11 billion at current exchange rates) and supplied KD 335 million (USD 1.2 billion) in grants and technical assistance to 163 countries.

economy kuwait - foreign-aid
Kuwait fund for Arabic economic development