الصفحة الرئيسية / إسرائيل / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / المجتمع المدني / الحب والعمل: الوجه المتغير للمجتمع الاسرائيلي

الحب والعمل: الوجه المتغير للمجتمع الاسرائيلي

 israel-society-and-media-Ultra-orthodox-wedding
حفل زفاف لليهود الأرثودوكس. Photo MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP

قال سيغموند فرويد، هناك أمران فقط يحتاجهما البشر ليكونوا سعداء: الحب والعمل. وكلاهما يشهدان تغيرات كبيرة في إسرائيل وسط التحولات الديمغرافية والدينية.

تاريخياً، كانت الزيجات في إسرائيل تتم بموجب قوانين صاغتها الإمبراطورية العثمانية، والتي تنص على أن كل جماعة دينية لها ولاية قضائية على أمور الزواج فيها. استمر ذلك خلال الانتداب البريطاني، وفي عام 1948، مع إقامة دولة إسرائيل، بقي الحال على ما هو عليه. ونتيجةً لذلك، تتم الزيجات من خلال سلطة دينية، أي الحاخامية الرئيسية. وهذا يعني أن عدداً متزايداً من الإسرائيليين، 660 ألف حسب منظمة هيدوش، وهي مجموعة لوبي تدافع عن التعددية الدينية، لا يستطيعون الزواج. فعلى سبيل المثال، الأزواج مثلي الجنس، والأزواج مختلفي الأديان ومعتنقي اليهودية، ليس لديهم بديل مدني.

وفي حين أن المحاكم الاسرائيلية العلمانية تمتلك اعترافاً قضائياً قوياً بقانون الزواج العام، مثل الزواج من نفس الجنس والزواج بين الأديان، إلا أن هناك ارتياب متزايد حول احتكار الحاخامية الرئيسية للزواج والطلاق. ونتيجةً لذلك، هناك دعم شعبي متزايد للزواج المدني، بما في ذلك من الأوساط المتدينة.

وعليه، تشهد أعداد الازواج الذين يرغبون في الزواج خارج سلطة الحاخامية تزايداً. كما أن هناك اشمئزاز واسع النطاق “للمساومة” السياسية على حساب حرية الزواج. وبما أن الأحزاب الأرثوذكسية ضرورية لبناء ائتلاف في الكنيست (البرلمان الإسرائيلي)، يقومون بالتلاعب بالحزب الحاكم من خلال المساومة على ميزانيات مدارسهم وسلطتهم ضد الحاخامية. وبدلاً من الحفاظ على اليهودية الأرثوذكسية، يعمل هذا على تآكل الدعم العلماني للحاخامية، والتي تعتبر قديمة ومميزة. ومع ذلك، فإن الحزبين المتشددين، شاس والتوراة اليهودية الموحدة (يهودات هتوراه)، يمتلكان أغلبية بصوتين في الكنسيت، وبالتالي، فمن غير المرجح أن يتغير الوضع الراهن في أي وقت قريب.

ووفقاً لدراسة أجراها في مارس 2017 معهد اقتراع رافي سميث لصالح منظمة هيدوش، يؤيد أكثر من 64% من اليهود الإسرائليين الزواج المدني والاعتراف بزواج المثليين. كما يُسافر المزيد من الأشخاص خارج البلاد للزواج بعيداً عن الحاخامية وللنأي بنفسهم عن التيار المحافظ. حتى أن المزيد من الناس باتوا يختارون تجاهل قيود االحاخامية، التي كانت يوماً ما سُلطةً محترمة.

وأخبرتنا نافا ماشيا في فَنك، “أذكر النقاشات الجدلية قبل زفافي… هل يجب أن نتزوج في الخارج أم وفقاً لقيود الحاخامية؟” وتُضيف “في نهاية المطاف، تزوجنا في إسرائيل بموجب قوانين الحاخامية، واضطررنا إلى انجاز الكثير من المتطلبات التي كانت غريبة على زوجين اسرائليين علمانيين، مثل فترات الطهارة للمرأة في المكفا (طقوس الاستحمام)، وحضور الزوجين لحلقة دراسية حول القيم الأسرية. “سايرنا الموجة لنتمكن من إقامة زفافنا في إسرائيل بحضور أصدقائنا.”

وهناك مجالٌ آخر تحدث فيه تغييرات سريعة لتلائم الواقع الاسرائيلي الجديد ألا وهو تضمين المجتمع الأرثوذكسي في القوى العاملة. فالحكومة تحرص على الحد من البطالة، التي يمكن أن تعيق آفاق الازدهار المستقبلية على المدى الطويل في البلاد. وبسبب الشيخوخة السكانية ونمو الأقلية الأرثوذكسية، سيكون هناك عدد قليل جداً من الاسرائيلين العاملين لدعم المتقاعدين والضعفاء في المجتمع إذا ما استمر الاتجاه الحالي. وأفاد المكتب المركزي للإحصاء أن 10,6% من السكان تجاوزوا سن الـ65 عام 2014، وأن عدد السكان المسنين سيتضاعف عام 2023. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو المجتمع الأرثوذكسي من 11% إلى 18% في نفس العام.

وعلى نحوٍ تقليدي، يعفى اليهود المتشددون من العمل والخدمة العسكرية للتركيز على دراساتهم الدينية. يحصلون على رواتب لمساهمتهم في الحفاظ على التراث اليهودي. ومع هذا النمو الهائل للمجتمع الأرثوذكسي، أصبحت هذه الصيغة الاقتصادية غير مستدامة. ووفقاً لإحصاءات بنك إسرائيل، ارتفعت نسبة العمالة بين الرجال الأرثوذكس من 40% إلى 50% منذ عام 2001. كما أن النساء الأرثوذكسيات أكثر اندماجاً، إذ ارتفعت مستويات توظيفهن من أقل من 50% في عام 2001 إلى ما يقرب من 70%، وهي أعلى من نسبة الـ60% لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية.

وقد أنفقت وزارة الاقتصاد الملايين من الشواكل على مساعدة اليهود الأرثوذكس في العثور على وظائف. وتشتمل الجهود على تقديم دروس بالرياضيات والعلوم والإنجليزية، التي لم يتلقوها في اليشيفا (الكلية اليهودية الأرثوذكسية). كما تقدم الوزارة خدمات التوظيف والتدريب.

وقد وصلت إسرائيل إلى حاجزٍ غير مرئي (السقف الزجاجي) في توظيف العمالة الماهرة، وخاصة في مجال صناعات التكنولوجيا الفائقة، التي تعتبر محرك نمو غاية في الأهمية للبلاد، كما يُنظر إلى الاستفادة من مجتمع اليهود المتشددين باعتباره وسيلةً للمضي قدماً. فعلى سبيل المثال، KamaTech، وهي منظمة غير حكومية تحفز الشركات الناشئة، تدمج أصحاب المشاريع من اليهود المتشددين في عالم صناعة التكنولوجيا الفائقة في إسرائيل. وتُقيم المنظمة فعاليات منذ عام 2013، وتقدم للمشاركين منحة تدريبية بقيمة 20 ألف شيكل (5,500 دولار). فقد كانت النتائج مثيرة للاعجاب: فمن المجموعة السابقة للشركات الناشئة المشاركة مع KamaTech، تمكنت 7 شركات من أصل 8 من جمع ما معدله مليون شيكل، وتوظيف أكثر من 100 شخص.

ويبدو أن الظروف الديموغرافية تجبر القطاعات المختلفة في اسرائيل على التكيف مع واقعٍ جديد، سواء كان ذلك بفعل تراجع تأثير الحاخامية أو انضمام اليهود الأرثوذكس المتدينين إلى القوى العاملة. وقد تسببت هذه الحقائق العملية بضغوطٍ على الوضع الراهن، كما ازدهرت جماعات التأييد والمنظمات غير الحكومية لضمان ترسيخ هذه الاتجاهات بشكلٍ دائم.

Home / Israel / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Civil society / Love and Work: the Changing Face of Israeli Society

Love and Work: the Changing Face of Israeli Society

 israel-society-and-media-Ultra-orthodox-wedding
Jewish ultra-orthodox wedding, Israel. Photo MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP

Sigmund Freud said there are only two things human beings need to be happy: love and work. Both are undergoing major changes in Israel amid demographic and religious shifts.

Marriages in Israel were historically performed under laws drafted during the Ottoman Empire, which state that each religious community has jurisdiction over its own marriages. This continued through the British Mandate, and in 1948, with the establishment of the state of Israel, the status quo was maintained.

As a result, marriages are performed through a religious authority, i.e. the Chief Rabbinate. This means an increasing number of Israelis – 660,000 according to Hiddush, a religious pluralism lobby group – cannot marry. Gay couples, interfaith couples and Jewish converts do not have a civil alternative.

While Israeli secular courts have strong judicial recognition of common law marriage such as same-sex marriage or interfaith marriage, there is a growing mistrust in the Rabbinate’s monopoly over marriage and divorce. Consequently, there is increasing public support for civil marriage, including from the religious quarter.

The number of couples wishing to marry outside the Rabbinate’s authority is increasing.  There is widespread disgust at political ‘horse trading’ at the expense of freedom of marriage. Since the Orthodox parties are essential to build a coalition in the Knesset (Israeli parliament), they manipulate the ruling party by haggling for budgets for their schools and power over the Rabbinate. Rather than preserving Orthodox Judaism, this is serving to erode secular support for the Rabbinate, which is deemed antiquated and discriminatory. However, the ultra-Orthodox parties Shas and United Torah have a two-vote majority in the Knesset, so the status quo is unlikely to change anytime soon.

According to a March 2017 survey conducted by the Rafi Smith Polling Institute for Hiddush, more than 64 per cent of Jewish Israelis support civil marriage and the recognition of gay marriage. More people are flying abroad to marry or are marrying outside the Rabbinate and distancing themselves from the conservative stream. Even more people are choosing to ignore the restrictions of the Rabbinate, which was once a respected authority.

“I recall the contentious debates before my wedding … Should we marry abroad or under the Rabbinate restrictions?” Naava Mashiah told Fanack. “In the end we married in Israel under Rabbinate rules, and we had to go through many requirements which were alien to a secular Israeli couple, such as the woman being purified in a mikveh [ritual bath] and the couple attending a family-values seminar. We ‘went through the motions’ in order to be able to have the wedding in Israel in the presence of our friends.”

Another area where changes are happening rapidly to fit a new Israeli reality is the ultra-Orthodox community’s inclusion in the workforce. The government is eager to reduce unemployment, which could hinder the country’s long-term growth prospects. Due to an aging population and expanding Orthodox minority, there will be too few Israelis in employment to support pensioners and the vulnerable in society if the current trend continues. The Central Bureau of Statistics reported that 10.6 per cent of the population was over 65 in 2014, and that the elderly population will double be 2023 . The Orthodox community is expected to grow from 11 per cent to 18 per cent of the population by the same year.

Traditionally, ultra-Orthodox men are exempted from employment and military service in order to focus on their religious studies. They receive a stipend for their contribution to preserving Jewish heritage. With the exponential growth of the Orthodox community, however, this economic formula is becoming unsustainable. According to Bank of Israel statistics, employment among Orthodox men has risen from 40 per cent to 50 per cent since 2001.  Ultra-orthodox women are better integrated, with their employment levels rising from below 50 per cent in 2001 to close to 70 per cent, above the OECD average of 60 per cent.

The Ministry of Economy has spent millions of shekels on helping Orthodox Jews to find jobs. Efforts include providing maths, science and English lessons, which they did not receive in Yeshiva (Orthodox Jewish college). The ministry also offers work placements and training.

Israel has reached a glass ceiling in recruiting skilled labour, particularly for the high-tech industry, which has been an important growth engine for the country, and tapping into the ultra-Orthodox community is viewed as a way forward. KamaTech, for instance, an NGO and start-up accelerator, integrates ultra-Orthodox entrepreneurs into the Israeli high-tech industry. Its events have been taking place since 2013 and provides participants with a 20,000 shekel ($5,500) training grant. The results are impressive: from the previous group of start-ups raised within KamaTech, seven out of eight managed to raise an average of 1 million shekels and together employ more than 100 people.

It seems that demographic circumstances are forcing Israel’s various sectors to adjust to a new reality, whether this is the Rabbinate’s waning influence or ultra-Orthodox Jews joining the workforce. These practical facts have put pressure on the status quo, and advocacy groups and NGOs have sprung up to ensure these trends are entrenched permanently.