الصفحة الرئيسية / إسرائيل / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الطريق إلى التقسيم / إعلان الاستقلال

إعلان الاستقلال

في 14 أيار/مايو عام 1948، غادر المندوب السامي الأخير، الجنرال آلان كننغهام، فلسطين وفق تعهد بريطانيا العظمى. وفي نفس الوقت تقريباً، وفي متحف تل أبيب (اليوم متحف أرض إسرائيل، انظر قاعة الاستقلال)، قرأ ديفيد بن غوريون، رئيس الهيئة التنفيذية للوكالة اليهودية، إعلان إقامة دولة إسرائيل، والذي وقع عليه 37 عضواً من مجلس الدولة المؤقت.

ربط الإعلان تأسيس الدولة اليهودية مباشرة مع “الكارثة التي حلت باليهود في الآونة الأخيرة والتي كان من ضحاياها الملايين من يهود أوروبا”، على أنها “دليل واضح آخر على ضرورة حل مشكلة المشردين”، وأشار إلى قرار الجمعية العامة رقم 181 في 29 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1947، والذي، وفق الإعلان “طالب سكان إسرائيل باتخاذ مثل هذه الخطوات إذا لزم الأمر من جانبهم لتنفيذ ذلك القرار”. “إن اعتراف الأمم المتحدة بحق الشعب اليهودي في إقامة دولته غير قابل للإلغاء . إنه حق طبيعي للأمة اليهودية لتقرر مصيرها مثل سائر أمم العالم ذات السيادة”.

في اليوم نفسه، اعترفت الولايات المتحدة بالدولة الجديدة، وتلاها الاتحاد السوفييتي بعد ثلاثة أيام. وفي الصباح الباكر من 15 أيار/مايو، عبرت الجيوش النظامية لسوريا ومصر والعراق وفلسطين وشرق الأردن حدود فلسطين. واندلعت الحرب.

الوثيقة الرسمية لإعلان الاستقلال Image www.mfa.gov.il
الوثيقة الرسمية لإعلان الاستقلال Image www.mfa.gov.il
عناوين صحيفة فلسطين بوست في 15 أيار/مايو 1948
عناوين صحيفة فلسطين بوست في 15 أيار/مايو 1948

دافيد بن غوريون يعلن استقلال دولة إسرائيل Photo HH
دافيد بن غوريون يعلن استقلال دولة إسرائيل Photo HH

Home / Israel / Past to Present / The way to partition / Declaration of Independence

Declaration of Independence

On 14 May 1948, the last British High Commissioner, General Alan Cunningham, left Palestine in accordance with Great Britain’s pledge. At about the same time, David Ben-Gurion, the chairman of the Jewish Agency Executive, read out the Declaration of the Establishment of the State of Israel in the Tel Aviv Museum (today the Eretz Israel Museum, see Independence Hall), which was signed by 37 members of the Provisional Council of State.

The declaration linked the establishment of a Jewish state directly to ‘the catastrophe which recently befell the Jewish people – the massacre of millions of Jews in Europe’ as ‘another clear demonstration of the urgency of solving the problem of its homelessness’, and referred to Resolution 181 of the United Nations General Assembly of 29 November 1947, which according to the declaration ‘required the inhabitants of Eretz Israel to take such steps as were necessary on their part for the implementation of that resolution’. ‘This recognition by the United Nations of the right of the Jewish people to establish their State is irrevocable. This right is the natural right of the Jewish people to be masters of their own fate, like all other nations, in their own sovereign State.’

On the same day, the United States recognized the new state, followed three days later by the Soviet Union. In the early morning of May 15, regular armed forces of Syria, Iraq, Egypt and Transjordan crossed the borders of Palestine. War had broken out.

Official document of the Declaration of Independence / Image source: www.mfa.gov.il
Official document of the Declaration of Independence / Image source: www.mfa.gov.il

Palestine Post headlines of 15 May 1948
Palestine Post headlines of 15 May 1948
David Ben-Gurion proclaiming the Independence of the State of Israel / Photo HH
David Ben-Gurion proclaiming the Independence of the State of Israel / Photo HH