الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / السكان

السكان

بغداد Photo Fanack
بغداد Photo Fanack

المحتويات

التركيبة العرقية
السنة و الشيعة
النزوح الداخلي و اللاجئون

المقدمة

العراق كيان سياسي مصطنع، مثل الكثير من دول ما بعد الاستعمار. وبذلك تتنوع تركيبته السكانية، وخاصة في الشمال والذي كان منذ الأزل ملاذاً آمناً نسبياً للأقليات العرقية والدينية. وبالتالي، مع تشكيل دولة العراق الحديثة، تعايشت عدة مجموعات سكانية مختلفة الدين والعرق معاً داخل حدود الدولة: العرب والأكراد والآشوريون والتركمان، كما الشيعة والسنّة والمسيحيون. يكشف النظر إلى هذه المجموعات المتنوعة الجراح العميقة التي ألمّت بالمجتمع العراقي، ولا سيما من قبل نظام صدام حسين.

التركيبة العرقية

العرب

حوالي ثلاثة أرباع ما يقرب من 30 مليون عراقي (تقديرات عام 2010) هم من العرب. وهم أحفاد الغزاة الذين غزوا العراق من شبه الجزيرة العربية في القرن السابع الميلادي. ينقسم العرب دينياً إلى حد كبير. 80% من العرب هم من الشيعة، ويشكّلون القسم الأكبر من السكان. والـ 20% المتبقين هم منالسنّة.

مع أن السنّة يشكّلون الأقلية، إلا أنهم سيطروا على السياسة العراقية حتى عام 2003. عانى الشيعة العرب، إلى جانب الأكراد، من الاستعباد السياسي والاقتصادي الطويل، مما يُظهر بوضوح التشوهات الموجودة في النظام السياسي القائم في العراق نظراً لنسبتهم المئوية من مجموع السكان. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أثرت الحرب مع إيران وأزمة الكويت على جنوب العراق بشكل أشد، حيث يعيش معظم الشيعة. وتم قمع الثورات الشعبية في الجنوب في ربيع عام 1991 بعنف شديد، وقام النظام حينها بحملة دعائية عنيفة معادية للشيعة.

بالكاد تم تخصيص أيّ من الموارد القليلة المتوفرة للحكومة المركزية لجنوب البلاد، الأمر الذي نتج عنه في الغالب أن أصبح وضع العرب الشيعة هو الأسوأ بين سكان العراق. وبسبب ندرة حصولهم على وظائف حكومية، امتهن الشيعة التجارة والحرف.

بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين عام 2003، حصل العرب الشيعة على مناصب بارزة في السياسة العراقية، بالنسبة إلى عددهم إلى حد ما. وكما كان متوقعاً، صعُب على العرب السنة خسارة السلطة والنفوذ السياسي بعد عام 2003.

عرب الأهوار

المعدان، أو عرب الأهوار، هم مجموعة فريدة من نوعها. تعود ثقافتهم إلى الحضارتين القديمتين السومرية والبابلية، وعمرها ستة أو سبعة آلاف سنة. يقطن المعدان الأهوار الشاسعة في مثلث العمارة والناصرية والقرنة. وتم تهجير الكثير منهم من أراضيهم في تسعينات القرن العشرين في أعقاب تجفيف قسم كبير من المستنقعات من قبل نظام صدام حسين. وكانت دوافع تجفيف الأهوار سياسية إلى حد كبير. ولكونها صعبة الاختراق، فقد خدمت تلك الأهوار عبر القرون كمخبأ للخصوم السياسيين لحكام بغداد، كما كان الأمر بعد هزيمة القوات في الكويت عام 1991.

كان عدد المعدان في الأصل نصف مليون نسمة، أما اليوم فلا يزال أقل من 250,000 منهم في الأهوار، وبشكل رئيسي في القسم الشرقي على طول الحدود مع إيران. وبعد عشر سنوات، هناك دافع ضعيف للمعدان الذين طردوا من أراضيهم للعودة إلى حياتهم القاسية في الأهوار. وبعد عام 2003، بذلت جهود عكس التأثير الناتج عن مشروع التجفيف، وذلك ببساطة عن طريق إزالة عدد من السواتر الرملية. والمعدان هم من الشيعة.

الآشوريون

تعيش المجتمعات الآشورية في غرب كردستان العراق – لا سيما في منطقة شرق مدينة الموصل وسهول نينوى – وفي بغداد. ومع أنهم غالباً ما يصنفون خطأ كأقلية دينية، إلا أن الآشوريين يعتبرون أنفسهم شعباً ذا لغة خاصة مميزة وأحفاد الآشوريين القدامى الذين بنوا إمبراطورية قوية في بلاد ما بين النهرين قبل العصر المسيحي بعدة قرون. ونتيجة للترحيل والهروب والهجرة الطوعية (خصوصاً بين الشباب)، انخفض عدد السكان الآشوريين إلى حد كبير على مدى العقود الماضية. يعيش حوالي نصف الآشوريين في بغداد، وحوالي 10% في المحافظات الثلاث الشمالية لكردستان العراق، موطنهم الأصلي؛ وبعيش 40% في المنطقة بين بغداد والشمال.

كما هو حال الطائفة الأرمينية الصغيرة، الآشوريون مسيحيون، ينتمي ثلثاهم إلى الطائفة الكاثوليكية الكلدانية، والباقي نساطرة. ومع أنهم اعتمدوا اللغة العربية، إلا أن لغتهم الخاصة، السريانية ( اللهجة الآرامية الشرقية، التي تنتمي إلى عائلة اللغات السامية، كالعربية)، لا تزال محكية.

الصابئة المندائيون

الصابئة المندائيون – الذين يوقّرون آدم ونوح ويوحنا المعمدان – طائفة عرقية دينية مهددة في العراق اليوم. عاشوا في جنوب بلاد ما بين النهرين منذ عصور ما قبل الإسلام. قبل ثلاثة قرون كان عددهم 70,000 نسمة، وتضاءل إلى 5000. انتهى العديد من المندائيين كلاجئين في الدول المجاورة والغرب، بعد اضطرارهم إلى مغادرة العراق بسبب الحروب والاضطهادات من قبل المتطرفين المسلمين. يشتهر المندائيون بمهارتهم في صناعة المجوهرات.[/fusion_text]

التركمان

يعود وجود جماعة التركمان في العراق إلى أيام الإمبراطورية العثمانية. ومع أن التركمان الفاتحين استقروا في العراق منذ القرن الحادي عشر، إلا أنه تم توطين معظمهم من قبل السلاطين العثمانيين في التلال الواقعة بين دجلة وكردستان كمنطقة عازلة ولحماية الطرق التجارية الهامة من دمشق إلى آسيا الوسطى. وبهذا أصبح التركمان جنوداً وحرفيين وإداريين في المدن الحامية على طول هذه الطرق التجارية. كان التركمان، مثل الأكراد والآشوريين، ضحايا لسياسات الترحيل من قبل نظام صدام حسين خلال الفترة الواقعة بين ثمانينيات وتسعينات القرن العشرين، ولا سيما في المناطق الغنية بالنفط في كركوك.

حجم المجتمع التركماني، كغيره من الأقليات، متنازع عليه: يؤكد قادتهم بأن هناك 2,5 مليون تركماني يعيشون في العراق، بينما تشير المصادر غير التركمانية إلى أنهم أقل من نصف مليون. ثلثا التركمان هم من السنّة، والباقي من الشيعة. يتحدث التركمان، بالإضافة إلى اللغة العربية، بلهجة تركية. ومنذ عام 2003، أثار تصعيد النزاع بسبب الوضع المستقبلي لمحافظة كركوك التوتر بين التركمان الذين يعتبرون محافظة كركوك موطنهم الأصلي والأكراد الذين يزعمون بأنها جزء من المنطقة الكردية.

اليهود

حتى أوائل خمسينات القرن العشرين، كان هناك جالية يهودية كبيرة في العراق. في تعداد عام 1947 قدّر عددهم بنحو 117,000. عاش اليهود قروناً عديدة في بلاد ما بين النهرين، كمطرودين ومتحوّلين إلى اليهودية. تركز معظمهم في المناطق الحضرية، خاصة في بغداد، حيث كانوا يسيطرون على أغلب التجارة. ومع أن معظم اليهود يتحدثون اللغة العربية، إلا أنهم تمكنوا من الحفاظ على اللغة العبرية والشعائر الدينية الخاصة بهم. كما كان هناك مجتمعات يهودية صغيرة في الشمال الكردي، كان أفرادها يتكلمون اللغة الكردية واشتركوا مع الأكراد المحيطين بالكثير من العادات.

زادت التطورات السياسية، مثل نشوء الصهيونية والأحداث المأساوية التي أحاطت بإقامة دولة إسرائيل عام 1948، من عدم استقرار وضعهم. تسببت هذه العوامل مجتمعة، مع الهجمات التي استهدفت اليهود على وجه التحديد (التي ارتكبها العملاء الصهاينة كما تبين فيما بعد)، بهجرة واسعة إلى إسرائيل في خمسينات القرن العشرين. في الوقت الحاضر، هناك أقل من 250 يهودي في العراق. تم ملء الفراغ الذي تركته هجرة اليهود في الاقتصاد العراقي في خمسينات القرن العشرين إلى حد كبير من قبل التجار العرب الشيعة.[/fusion_text]

الإيرانيون

يشير إحصاء أُجري في منتصف سبعينات القرن العشرين إلى وجود 234,000 مواطن عراقي كانوا يعتبرون أنفسهم إيرانيين. وهم أبناء الموظفين الدينيين والطلاب – الذين جاؤوا من بلاد الفرس إلى مختلف المراكز الدينية الشيعية في العراق، مثل النجف وكربلاء والكاظمية – أو الحجاج الذين بدؤوا بالتجارة هناك. يعيش معظمهم اليوم في المدن. وكانوا يجيدون اللغة العربية فضلاً عن الفارسية، وكانوا جميعهم من الشيعة. وخلال الحرب العراقية الإيرانية (1980-1987)، تم ترحيل ما لا يقل عن 150,000 منهم إلى إيران ومصادرة ممتلكاتهم. وكان من السهل تحديدهم لوجود الإضافة “الجنسية إيرانية” إلى جانب أسمائهم في سجلات الدولة الإدارية. عاشت معظم عائلاتهم في العراق لعدة أجيال دون أية مشكلة.

السنّة والشيعة


حوالي 95% من سكان العراق من المسلمين. ينقسم المسلمون إلى مجموعتين تعودان إلى السنوات الأولى من الإسلام. فبعد وفاة النبي محمد عام 632 م، نشأ معسكران مختلفان داخل الأمة (المجتمع الإسلامي) فيما يتعلق بخلافته: السنّة والشيعة. يعود مصطلح “الشيعة” إلى المصطلح العربي “شيعة علي”. كان أتباع علي بن أبي طالب – ابن عم النبي محمد وصهره – متحدين في هذه الشيعة. وعلى أساس وعود شخصية يعتقد بأن النبي محمد أعطاها لعلي، فاز علي بالزعامة لنفسه ولذريته ضمن الأمة (أطلق شيعته على هذه الزعامة مصطلح “الإمامة”). أما أهل السنّة، الذين يشتق اسمهم من سنّة النبي، على قناعة بأن الحكم يكون عن طريق زعيم مختار (أطلقوا على الحكم مصطلح “الخلافة”). ومع أن الشيعة يعتبرون علي الإمام الأول، صنّفه السنّة على أنه الخليفة الرابع (للخلفاء الراشدين أبو بكر وعمر وعثمان). وازداد النزاع بين الفرعين الرئيسيين للإسلام بعد موت علي. انتهى الصراع عام 680 بمعركة بالقرب من مدينة كربلاء، حيث تمت هزيمة الشيعة بزعامة أحد أبناء علي، الإمام حسين، في معركة غير متكافئة، وقتل حسين ورفاقه هناك.

في القرن السادس عشر، تلقى الإسلام الشيعي زخماً قوياً عندما ارتقى إلى دين الدولة من خلال السلالة الصفوية في بلاد الفرس المجاورة، وانتشر تدريجياً بين السكان السنّة. ومنذ ذلك الحين شق الحجاج وطلبة الدين من إيران ومن المجتمعات الشيعية في كل مكان في العالم العربي/الإسلامي، وخاصة لبنان، طريقهم إلى “مدينتي النجف وكربلاء المقدسة” في العراق. وأدت هذه الحركات إلى علاقات سياسية واجتماعية واقتصادية بين هذه المجتمعات، والتي لا تزال قائمة حتى اليوم.

هناك خمس فرائض – دعيت بأركان الإسلام الخمسة – يلتزم بها جميع المسلمين: الشهادتان (لا إله إلا الله وأن محمداً رسول الله)، والصلاة خمس مرات يومياً، والزكاة، وصيام شهر رمضان، والحج إلى مكة. ويلتزم الشيعة بفريضة مماثلة تقريباً بالحج إلى مدن النجف وكربلاء المقدسة. ويمكن أن يضاف إلى هذه الفرائض الخمس مشاركة كل مسلم في الجهاد، وهو القتال دفاعاً عن الأمة ضد هجمات الكفار.

أهم ثمانية مساجد للسنّة والشيعة في العراق:

قبر أبو حنيفة في بغداد
قبر أبو حنيفة في بغداد
قبرا الإمام موسى الكاظم والإمام محمد الطاقي في الكاظمية (بغداد) Photo Fanack
قبرا الإمام موسى الكاظم والإمام محمد الطاقي في الكاظمية (بغداد) Photo Fanack
قبر الإمام حسين في كربلاء Photo Fanack
قبر الإمام حسين في كربلاء Photo Fanack
مسجد الكوفة حيث أصيب الإمام علي بجراح مميتة Photo Fanack
مسجد الكوفة حيث أصيب الإمام علي بجراح مميتة Photo Fanack
قبر الإمام علي في النجف
قبر الإمام علي في النجف
الموصل
الموصل
 في قلعة
في قلعة
المسجد الكبير في قلعة أربيل
المسجد الكبير في قلعة أربيل

المقامات الشيعية

لأسباب تاريخية، ولنسبة الشيعة في السكان، يعتبر الإسلام الشيعي في العراق أكثر نموذجية من الإسلام السنّي. يعتبر جنوب العراق مهد الإسلام الشيعي، وهناك خاض الإمام علي وخلفاؤه صراعاً مع أهل السنّة. وفي العراق أضرحة العديد من الأئمة. أصبحت هذه القبور على مر قرون مواقع هامة للحج. كما نشأت المدارس التعليمية الدينية الشيعية هناك، وخصوصاً في النجف وكربلاء.

تعتبر النجف (جنوب بغداد) الأبرز بينها، حيث ضريح الإمام علي. وكمركز ديني، دعيت النجف “بفاتيكان العالم الشيعي”. ومن هناك يرشد آيات الله الأكبر المجتمعات الشيعية في جميع أنحاء العالم. كما تدربت هناك أجيال من العلماء من جميع أنحاء العالم الشيعي. وفي انتظار يوم القيامة، كان المؤمنون الشيعة يُدفنون بالقرب من قبر الإمام علي، في مقبرة تغطي اليوم عدة كيلومترات ، تدعى بـ “وادي السلام”.

المدينة الثانية بعد النجف هي كربلاء، في جنوب بغداد أيضاً، حيث يوجد ضريحا الإمام حسين وأخيه غير الشقيق، عباس، بطلا معركة كربلاء. كما تعتبر كربلاء مركزاً هاماً للتعليم الديني. وأخيراً هناك الكاظمية، وهي ضاحية من ضواحي بغداد، وفيها ضريحا الإمامين موسى الكاظم ومحمد الجواد؛ وسامراء، وهي مقاطعة شيعية في شمال بغداد، وفيها ضريحا الإمامين علي الهادي وحسن العسكري.

رجال الدين


الإسلام الشيعي مبني على انقسام أساسي في جماعة المؤمنين، بين “المقَلَّدون” [بفتح اللام] (أولئك الذين يعرفون العقيدة جيداً) و “المقلِّدون” [بكسر اللام] (الذين يتبعون). تتألف الفئة الأولى من “المجتهدين”، وهم علماء الدين الذين يسمح لهم في المشاركة في التفسير (الاجتهاد) الخاص للقرآن والشريعة الإسلامية. يُمنح المجتهد هذه السلطة من قبل مرشده، بعد سنوات عديدة من الدراسة في واحد من مراكز التعليم الديني في العالم الشيعي، والتي تشمل – إلى جانب النجف وكربلاء والكاظمية في العراق – مدينة قم ومشهد في إيران. كعلمانيين، يتوقع من المقلِدين إتّباع فتاوى المجتهدين ودفع الزكاة لهم. تستخدم هذه الزكاة لصيانة المؤسسات الدينية ودعم المحتاجين. اعتماداً على مستواه العلمي، يحصل الطالب الديني على الألقاب الفخرية على التوالي: ثقة الإسلام، حجة الإسلام، آية الله. يشار إلى آية الله البارز (بناء على شهرته وعدد أتباعه) بلقب “مرجع التقليد”، ويُمنح اللقب الفخري “آية الله العظمى”. تعتبر فتوى مرجع التقليد الكلمة الأخيرة لكل تساؤلات المؤمنين الشيعة – ويتوقع من الجميع إتّباع إرشاد مرجع التقليد الذي على قيد الحياة.

عادة ما يكون هناك عدة مراجع تقليد في وقت واحد. وأبرز أربعة من آيات الله الكبرى يعيشون ويعملون في النجف في الوقت الحاضر، هم: السيد (إشارة إلى أحد أفراد سلالة النبي محمد، ويرتدي عمامة سوداء) محمد سعيد الحكيم (مواليد العراق عام 1936)، الشيخ بشير حسين النجفي (مواليد باكستان عام 1942)، الشيخ محمد إسحاق الفياض (مواليد أفغانستان عام 1930)، والسيد علي الحسيني السيستاني (مواليد إيران عام 1930). ويعتبر هذا الأخير الأول بين أقرانه. وبشكل جماعي، تسمى أعلى القيادات الدينية الشيعية بـ “المرجعية” (مجموع مراجع التقليد)، أما المؤسسات التعليمية والعاملون فيها فتدعى “الحوزة العلمية”.

ليس لرجال الدين السنّة بناء هرمي مماثل، وهناك علاقة أكثر مرونة بين المؤمن العادي والموظفين الدينيين والعلماء. ويتميزون بمناصبهم: الإمام والقاضي والمفتي. وكالشيعة، للأخير السلطة لإصدار الفتاوى. وفي كثير من الحالات، يقضي أعضاء الدوائر الدينية العليا سنوات دراستهم في جامعة الأزهر الشهيرة في القاهرة. كما يدفع المؤمنون السنّة الزكاة للموظفين الدينيين.

الشيخ محمد إسحاق الفياض
الشيخ محمد إسحاق الفياض
الشيخ بشير حسين النجفي
الشيخ بشير حسين النجفي
السيد محمد سعيد الحكيم
السيد محمد سعيد الحكيم

السيد علي الحسيني السيستاني
السيد علي الحسيني السيستاني

النزوح الداخلي واللاجئون


مر المجتمع العراقي في فوضى تامة على مدى العقود الماضية نتيجة الحروب والقمع والتطهير العرقي؛ وقد نتج عن ذلك عدد كبير من المشردين وشتات عراقي واسع النطاق.

عام 2002، قدّر عدد المشردين داخل العراق بنحو 600,000 إلى 800,000 في الشمال، وما يصل إلى 300,000 في الأجزاء الوسطى والجنوبية من البلاد. عاد ما يقدر بـ 100,000 لاجئ في السنة الأولى بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين، من إيران المجاورة في المقام الأول (كان الشتات العراقي عدة أضعاف هذا الرقم). وفي بداية الألفية الثالثة، كان نحو 4,5% من السكان من المشردين داخلياً واللاجئين العائدين. تزايد عدد المشردين واللاجئين بشكل كبير بعد عام 2003، وذلك بسبب تصعيد أعمال العنف. ووضع ذلك عبئاً إضافياً على الاقتصاد الذي كان متضرراً في الأساس. وكانت البنية التحتية اللازمة لرعاية هؤلاء الناس غير كافية. ونظراً لارتفاع معدل البطالة، فبالكاد كان يوجد أي احتمال لإيجاد عمل.

تشكل الجهود التي يبذلها النازحون واللاجئون للحصول على تعويضات مصدر توتر سياسي. وهذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على كردستان العراق – حيث تم تهجير الأكراد والآشوريين والتركمان على أساس العرق – واحتل العرب الشيعة بيوتهم. اليوم، وبعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين، يطالب العديد من أولئك الذين طردوا بعودة ممتلكاتهم التي سرقت منهم – المنازل والأراضي والمحلات التجارية. وهم يصعّدون ضد أولئك المستوطنين العرب الذين غالباً لا يرغبون أو لا يقدرون على العودة إلى المناطق التي أتوا منها. ولم تتخذ الحكومة الجديدة حتى الآن إجراءات قانونية ولا تقدم أي دعم اقتصادي لهم.

محافظة كركوك

تورط الأكراد لسنوات في صراع مع التركمان والآشوريين والعرب حول الوضع المستقبلي لمحافظة كركوك، والتي رسمت حدودها عام 1975، بعد اقتطاع ثلث أراضيها وسكانها الأكراد. وسميت المحافظة الجديدة بالتأميم. وبعد ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين وعلى مدى العقود القليلة التالية، كانت كركوك أهم مراكز إنتاج النفط في العراق. تغيرت تركيبة السكان في هذه المحافظة المختلطة، بغالبية من الأكراد بالإضافة إلى التركمان في المدينة، وذلك ليس لصالح الأكراد جذرياً نتيجة سياسات الترحيل وتوطين العرب، السياسات التي تم تصميمها لمنع مطالب الأكراد بالمحافظة. إلا أن الأكراد استمروا بمطالبة أن تصبح محافظة كركوك تحت السيطرة الكردية. عام 2003، خلق انهيار الدولة العراقية القوية فرصة جديدة في هذا الصدد.

نافس التركمان والعرب المطالب الكردية. وزاد وجود النفط من الصراع ولفت انتباه جهات خارجية، مثل تركيا. حيث أملت أنقرة، من خلال دعم التركمان، بمنع سلطات كردستان المجاورة ذاتية الحكم من السيطرة على حقولها النفطية الضخمة. وفي الوقت الحالي، تتعامل تركيا مباشرة مع الأكراد. وهذا صراع سياسي خطير ذو بعد عرقي واضح. تزايدت التوترات بين العرب والأكراد في معقل القومية العربية في مدينة الموصل بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين.

العراق السكان
النزوح الداخلي واللاجئون في العراق
عائلات كردية عادت إلى قراها لإعادة إعمار منازلهم التي دمرها نظام صدام حسين Photo Fanack
عائلات كردية عادت إلى قراها لإعادة إعمار منازلهم التي دمرها نظام صدام حسين Photo Fanack
العراق الاكردا
انفصال المحافضات الكردية شمال و وسط العراق

Home / Iraq / Population

Population

Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Baghdad Photo Fanack

Contents

Ethnic Groups
Sunnis and Shiites
Internally displaced persons and refugees

Introduction

Like so many post-colonial countries, Iraq is an artificial political entity. The population is varied in its composition, especially in the north, where, from time immemorial, the vast mountainous region has provided a relatively safe haven for ethnic and religious minorities. Thus, with the formation of the modern state of Iraq, several population groups differing in religion and ethnicity have come to live together within the boundaries of a state: Arabs, Kurds, Assyrians and Turkmen, but also Shiites, Sunnis and Christians. A look at these diverse groups reveals the deep wounds that were inflicted on Iraq’s society
, particularly by the regime of Saddam Hussein.

Ethnic Groups

Arabs

About three-quarter of the approximately 30 million (2010 estimate) Iraqis are Arabs. They are descendants of the conquerors who invaded Iraq from the Arabian Peninsula in the seventh century CE. The Arab population is sharply divided in religion. 80 percent of the Arabs are Shiites, making up the largest section of the population. The other 20 percent of Arabs are Sunni.

Although a minority, Sunni Arabs dominated Iraqi politics until 2003. Along with the Kurds, the Shiite Arabs have long suffered political and economic exclusion, which, given their proportion of the total population, demonstrates clearly the distortions in the existing political order in Iraq. In addition, the wars with Iran and over Kuwait have affected most severely southern Iraq, where most of the Shiites live. The popular rebellions in the south in the spring of 1991 were suppressed with extreme violence, whereupon the regime carried out a sharp anti-Shiite propaganda campaign.

The scarce resources available to the central government were hardly ever allocated to the south of the country, with the result that the Shiite Arabs are often the worst off among Iraq’s peoples. Because they seldom had access to government jobs, the Shiites turned to trade and the professions as their primary occupations.

After the downfall of Saddam Hussein in 2003, Shiite Arabs gained prominent positions in Iraqi politics and government, more or less in proportion to their numbers. Sunni Arabs have predictably found their loss of political power and influence after 2003 hard to accept.

Marsh Arabs

A unique group are the Madan, or Marsh Arabs. Their culture goes back to the ancient Sumerians and Babylonians, and is six or seven thousand years old. The Marsh Arabs inhabit the vast marshes in the Amara-Nasiriya-Qurna triangle. Many of them were driven from their territory in the 1990s following the draining of a large part of the swamps by Saddam Hussein’s regime. The motives for the draining of the Marshes were largely political. Difficult to penetrate, throughout the centuries these marshes served as a hiding place for political opponents of the rulers in Baghdad, as they did after the army’s defeat in Kuwait in 1991.

Originally numbering half a million, today less than 250,000 Madan still live in the Marshes, chiefly in the eastern part, along the border with Iran. Ten years later, there is little incentive among the Madan who have been driven out to return to their hard existence in the Marches. After 2003, efforts have been made to reverse the effects of the drainage project, simply by breaking through a number of the dikes. The Madan are Shiites.

Assyrians

Communities of Assyrians live in western Iraqi Kurdistan – particularly in the region east of Mosul, the Nineveh (Ninawa) Plains – and in Baghdad. Though they are often incorrectly classified as a religious minority, the Assyrians see themselves as a people with their own distinct language and regard themselves as descendants of the ancient Assyrians, who built a mighty empire in Mesopotamia centuries before the Christian era. Through deportation, flight, and voluntary emigration (chiefly among the young), the Assyrian population has declined greatly over the past decades.

About half the Assyrians live in Baghdad, and another 10 percent in the three northern provinces of Iraqi Kurdistan, their original home territory; the remaining 40 percent live scattered across the region in between Baghdad and the north. Like the small Armenian community, the Assyrians are Christians, about two-thirds adherents of the Chaldaean Catholic rite, the remainder Nestorians. Although they have adopted the Arabic language, their own language, Sureth (Syriac, an Eastern Aramaic language, which, like Arabic, belongs to the Semitic language family) is still spoken.

Mandaeans

The Mandaeans – who revere Adam, Noah, and John the Baptist – are now a threatened ethno-religious community in Iraq. They have lived in southern Mesopotamia since before Islam. Three decades ago still a community of 70,000, their number has dwindled to 5,000. Many Mandaeans have ended up as refugees in neighbouring countries and in the West, having been forced from Iraq by warfare and persecution by extremist Muslims. Mandeans are famous for their craftsmanship in jewelry.

Turkmen

The presence of the Turkmen (Turcoman) community in Iraq goes back to the time of the Ottoman Empire. Although Turkmen conquerors had settled in what is now Iraq since the 11th century, most of them were settled by the Ottoman sultans in the hills between the Tigris and Kurdistan as a buffer and to protect the important trade routes from Damascus to Central Asia. The Turkmen thus became soldiers, administrators, and craftsmen in the garrison towns along these trade routes. Like the Kurds and the Assyrians, the Turkmen were victims of the deportation policies of Saddam Hussein’s regime during the 1980s and 1990s, particularly in the oil-rich Kirkuk region.

The size of the Turkmen community, like that of other minorities, is disputed: their leaders assert that 2.5 million Turkmen live in Iraq. Non-Turkmen sources suggest fewer than a half million. Two-thirds of the Turkmen are Sunni, the rest Shiite. In addition to Arabic, the Turkmen speak a Turkish dialect. Since 2003 a flare-up of the conflict over the future status of the Kirkuk Governorate has raised tensions between the Turkmen, who consider Kirkuk their original home, and the Kurds, who claim it as part of the Kurdish region.

Jews

Until the early 1950s there was a sizeable Jewish community living in Iraq. In the 1947 census their numbers were estimated at around 117,000. The Jews have lived for many centuries in Mesopotamia, as deportees and as converts. Most of them were concentrated in urban areas, especially Baghdad, where much of the trade there was in their hands. Although most of the Jews spoke Arabic, they were able to preserve the Hebrew language and their own religious customs. There were also small Jewish communities in the Kurdish north, whose members spoke Kurdish and shared many customs with the surrounding Kurds.

Political developments, such as the rise of Zionism and the dramatic events surrounding the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948, made their position increasingly precarious. These factors, combined with attacks aimed specifically at Jews (committed by what later turned out to be Zionist agents), brought about a massive emigration to Israel in the 1950s. At present, there are fewer than 250 Jews in Iraq. The void in the Iraqi economy that was left by Jewish emigrants in the 1950s has, to a large extent, been filled by Shiite Arab merchants.


Iranians

A census in the mid-1970s indicates that about 234,000 Iraqi citizens considered themselves Iranians. They are descendants of religious functionaries and students – who had come from Persia (today Iran) to the various Shiite theological centres in Iraq, such as Najaf, Karbala, and Kadhimiya – or of pilgrims who began trading there. Most of them thus lived in cities. They spoke Arabic as well as Farsi; all were Shiites. During the Iraq-Iran War (1980-1987), at least 150,000 of them were deported to Iran and their possessions confiscated. They were easy to identify, because the annotation ‘Iranian citizenship’ (jinsiya Iraniya) was made against their names in the state administrative records. That most of the families had lived in Iraq for several generations did not matter.

Sunnis and Shiites

Approximately 95 percent of the population of Iraq is Muslim. Muslims are divided into two groups, going back to the early years of Islam. After the death of the Prophet Muhammad in 632 CE, there arose two different camps within the umma (Muslim community) with regard to his succession, the Sunnis and Shiites. The designation ‘Shiite’ goes back to the Arabic term shiat Ali (Party of Ali). The followers of Ali ibn Abi Talib, the cousin and son-in-law of the Prophet Muhammad, were united in this party. On the basis of personal promises believed to be made by Muhammad, Ali obtained the leadership within the umma (his party termed this leadership the imamate) for himself and his descendants.

The Sunnis, whose name derives from the sunna (the tradition of the Prophet) argued for rule by a chosen leader (which rule they termed the ‘caliphate’). Although Ali, regarded by the Shiites as their first imam, was chosen as the fourth caliph by the Sunnis (as successor to the caliphs Abu Bakr, Umar, and Uthman), the conflict between the two main branches of Islam over leadership escalated after his death. That conflict ended in 680 CE, with the battle near Karbala, where the Shiites, now led by one of Ali’s sons, Imam Husayn, were defeated in an unequal contest. Husayn and his comrades were slain there.

Shiite Islam received a powerful stimulus when it was elevated to the state religion by the Safavid dynasty in neighbouring Persia in the 16th century, and it spread gradually through the Sunni population. Since then, pilgrims and religious students from Persia/Iran and from Shiite communities elsewhere in the Arab/Islamic world, particularly Lebanon, have made their way to the ‘holy cities’ of Najaf and Karbala in Iraq. These movements led to social, political, and economic contacts among these communities, which are still important today.

There are five obligations – called the Five Pillars of Islam – incumbent on all Muslims: the confession of faith (‘There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is His Prophet’), prayer five times a day, the giving of alms, fasting during the month of Ramadan, and pilgrimage to Mecca. Shiites attach almost equal value to a pilgrimage to their holy cities of Najaf and Karbala. To the Five Pillars can be added the obligation of every Muslim to engage in jihad, the struggle to defend the community of believers (umma) against attacks by the infidel.

Eight of the most important Sunni and Shiite mosques in Iraq:

Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Baghdad, tomb of Abu Hanifa
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Kadhimiya (Baghdad), tombs of the Imams Musa al-Kadhim and Muhammad al-Taqi
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Karbala, tomb of Imam Husayn, Photo Fanack
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Kufa Mosque where Imam Ali was fatally wounded, Photo Fanack
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Najaf, tomb of Imam Ali
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Mosul
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
Samarra
Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
The Great Mosque in the Citadel of Arbil

Shiite Sites

On historic grounds, and because of the proportion of Shiites in the population, Shiite Islam is more typical of Iraq than is Sunni Islam. Southern Iraq is the cradle of Shiite Islam, and it was there that Imam Ali and his successors fought out the conflict with the Sunnis. In Iraq one also finds the mausoleums of several of their Imams. Over the course of centuries these tombs became important pilgrimage sites. Important Shiite theological educational centres (madrasas) also arose there, especially in Najaf and Karbala.

The most prominent is Najaf (south of Baghdad), which is the last resting place of Imam Ali. As a theological centre, Najaf has been called the ‘Vatican of the Shiite world’. From there the Grand Ayatollahs give direction to Shiite communities all over the world. There too, generations of ulama (clergy) from all parts of the Shiite world have been trained. In expectation of the Day of Judgement, Shiite believers through the centuries have had themselves buried close to the tomb of Imam Ali, in a cemetery that now covers several square kilometres, the Wadi al-Salam (Valley of Peace).

Second to Najaf is Karbala, also south of Baghdad, where the mausoleums of Imam Husayn and his half-brother Abbas, the hero of the battle of Karbala, are located. Karbala is also an important centre for theological education. Finally, there are Kadhimiya, a suburb of Baghdad, with the graves of Imams Musa al-Kadhim and Muhammad al-Taqi, and Samarra, a Shiite enclave north of Baghdad, with the mausoleums of the Imams Ali al-Hadi and Hasan al-Askari.

The Clergy

Shiite Islam is based on a fundamental dichotomy in the community of believers, between muqallads ( ‘those who know the doctrine well’) and muqallids (literally, ‘those who follow’). The first category comprises mujtahids, religious scholars who are authorized to engage in their own interpretation (ijtihad) of the Koran and Islamic law. This authority is conferred upon a mujtahid by his master, after many years of study at one of the centres of theological education in the Shiite world, which, besides Najaf, Karbala, and Kadhimiya in Iraq, include Qom and Mashhad in Iran. As laymen, muqallids are expected to follow the religious directives (fatwas) of the mujtahids and pay their religious tax (zakat, khums) to them. These taxes are used for the upkeep of religious institutions and for the support of the needy.

Depending on his level of knowledge, a religious student acquires successively the honorary titles Thiqat al-Islam (Trust of Islam), Hujjat al-Islam (Hojatolislam, Proof of Islam) and Ayat Allah (Ayatollah, Sign of God). A prominent ayatollah (based on his fame and the number of his followers) is denoted as Marja al-Taqlid (Source of Emulation), and is given the honorary title Ayat Allah al-Uzma (Ayatollah al-Ozma, Grand Ayatollah). The fatwa of the Marja al-Taqlid is the last word on all questions for the faithful Shiite – everyone is expected to follow the directives of a living Marja al-Taqlid.[/fusion_text]There are generally several Maraji al-Taqlid at a given time. Four of the most prominent Grand Ayatollahs are presently living and working in Najaf: Sayyid (‘lord’, denoting a descendant of the Prophet Muhammad and recognizable by his black turban) Mohammad Said al-Hakim (born in Iraq in 1936), Sheikh Basheer Hussain al-Najafi (born in Pakistan in 1942), Sheikh Mohammad Ishaq al-Fayad (born in Afghanistan in 1930), and Sayyid Ali al-Husayni al-Sistani (born in Iran in 1930). The latter is regarded as the first among equals. Collectively, the highest Shiite religious leadership are designated as the Marjaiya (collective of Maraji al-Taqlids) and the educational institutions and the staff connected with them are the Hawza Ilmiya (Area of Knowledge).

Sunni clergy do not have a comparably rigid hierarchical structure, and there is a looser connection between the ordinary believer and the religious functionaries and scholars. They are distinguished by their functions: the imam (leader of communal prayer), the qadi (judge), and the mufti (legal scholar). Like his Shiite colleagues, the latter has authority to issue fatwas. In many cases, those in the higher religious circles have had years of study at Cairo’s prominent al-Azhar University. Among the Sunni the faithful also pay a religious tax to religious functionaries.



Internally displaced persons and refugees

Iraqi society has been thrown into total confusion over the past decades, as a consequence of warfare, repression, and ethnic cleansing: these have produced many displaced persons and an extensive Iraqi diaspora.

In 2002, the number of displaced persons within Iraq was estimated at 600,000 to 800,000 in the north and up to 300,000 in the central and southern sections of the country. In the first year after the fall of the regime of Saddam Hussein, an estimated 100,000 refugees returned, primarily from neighbouring Iran (the Iraqi diaspora was several times this figure). At the start of the new millennium about 4.5 percent of the population consisted of internally displaced persons and returned refugees; the number of internally displaced people and refugees increased dramatically after 2003, due to escalating violence. This has placed an extra burden on an already ravaged economy. The infrastructure needed to care for these people is inadequate. Because of the high rate of unemployment, there is hardly any prospect for work.

The efforts of the displaced and refugees to obtain compensation constitute a source of political tension. This is particularly true in Iraqi Kurdistan – where Kurds, Turkmen, and Assyrians were displaced on the grounds of ethnicity – and Shiite Arabs moved into their places. Now, after the fall of the Saddam Hussein regime, many of those who were driven out are demanding the return of possessions stolen from them – homes, land, and businesses. They run up against Arab settlers who are often unwilling or unable to return to the areas they came from. The new government has so far not taken legal measures nor provided economic support.

Kirkuk Governorate


For years, Kurds have been involved in a conflict with Turkmen, Assyrians, and Arabs over the future status of Kirkuk Governorate, whose boundaries were redrawn in 1975, severing a third of its territory and a third of its Kurdish inhabitants; the new governorate was renamed al-Tamim (‘Nationalization’). After the 1930s, and for the next several decades, Kirkuk was Iraq’s most important oil-production centre.[/fusion_text]The composition of the population in this mixed governorate, with Kurds a majority overall and Turkmen in the city, changed radically against the Kurds, as a result of both the deportation policies and the settlement of Arabs, policies that were designed to thwart Kurdish claims to the governorate. The Kurds nevertheless continued to demand that Kirkuk Governorate come under Kurdish control. The collapse in 2003 of the strong centralized Iraqi state created new opportunities in this respect.
The Turkmen and Arabs contest the Kurdish claims. The presence of oil has heightened the conflict and has drawn in outside actors, such as Turkey. By supporting the Turkmen, Ankara originally hoped to prevent the authorities in the neighbouring Kurdistan Autonomous Region of Iraq from gaining control of its huge oil fields. At present, Turkey deals directly with the Kurds. This is a dangerous political conflict with a clear ethnic dimension. In the Arab-nationalist stronghold of Mosul, tensions between the Arabs and Kurds also increased after the fall of Saddam Hussein.


Iraq Population - Fanack Chronicle
The Breakdown of Kurdish Provinces – Iraq