الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحشد الشعبي: من أين وإلى أين؟

الحشد الشعبي: من أين وإلى أين؟

أعضاء من الحشد الشعبي يهتفون قبل التوجه إلى معركة تحرير الموصل، الموصل، العراق، 31 أكتوبر 2016. Photo Carolyn Cole

حثت المرجعية الدينية في مدينة النجف، في 13 يونيو 2014، في خطبة الجمعة، جميع أطياف الشعب العراقي على الإنخراط في الدفاع عن العراق من جموع الإرهابيين. وشددت السُلطة الدينية على لسان الشيخ الكربلائي، خطيب الجمعة أن “مسؤولية التصدي لهم ومقاتلتهم مسؤولية الجميع ولا تختص بطائفة دون أخرى أو طرفٍ دون آخر.” ودعا في نفس الخطبة المواطنين إلى “التطوع للانخراط في القوات الأمنية،” وعُرفت هذه الدعوة بـ”الجهاد الكفائي،” مما حدا بآلاف المواطنين، فيما بعد، إلى التوجه للمراكز الأمنية للتطوع في الأجهزة الأمنية، جُلهم من الطائفة الشيعية، حيث قدّر خبير أمني أن نسبة المتطوعين السُنّة بلغت 2% فقط.

حدث ذلك رداً على سقوط الموصل، ومحافظة نينوى بالكامل، وعدة مدن بمحافظات صلاح الدين وديالي والأنبار وكركوك، بيد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية السُني المتشدد “داعش،” في أعقاب انسحاب الجيش العراقي وقوات الشرطة الاتحادية من هذه المناطق. تلك هي سردية إنشاء الحشد الشعبي في العراق، ودستوره وتوجهات آية الله السيد السيستاني، المرجع الأعلى في النجف.

المؤسس والأب الروحي

قبل فتوة “الجهاد الكفائي،” من السيد السيستاني، وبعد سقوط الموصل بيوم، أعلن رئيس الوزراء العراقي آنذاك، نوري المالكي، خلال كلمته الأسبوعية عن تشكيل جيش رديف، وذكر أن “هناك محافظات شكلت ألوية جديدة وستدفعها إلى المعركة، تشكل في كل محافظة لواء كامل لمواجهة الخطر الذي يحيط بالعراق.” وفي إعلانٍ للجنة الوزارية التي كلفت بإدارة الأزمة، دعت اللجنة في بيانٍ صحفي بتاريخ 11 يونيو “بتشكيل أفواج من المتطوعين والحشد الشعبي لدعم الأجهزة الأمنية.”

تم الإعلان عن تشكيل “مديرية الحشد الشعبي،” بتاريخ 15 يونيو بأمر من رئيس الوزراء نوري المالكي، حسب مستشار الأمن الوطني العراقي، فلاح فياض، والتي تم بعدها تشكيل لجنة في كل محافظة يرأسها قائد الشرطة بهدف تنظيم عملية التطوع. ولاحقاً، تم تأسيس هيئة الحشد الشعبي ومن ضمنها مديرية الإدارة المركزية وفقاً للأمر الديواني رقم (47) بتاريخ 18 يونيو 2014، علماً أنّ هذا الأمر أثار حفيظة الشركاء السياسيين من التحالف الكردستاني واتحاد القوى عند الإعلان عن تنظيم عمليات التطوع هذه لبناء جيشٍ رديف لا تنتهي مهامه عند إنتفاء سبب إنشائه.

كما صرح نوري المالكي في مقابلةٍ مع صحيفة إيلاف الإلكترونية بقوله “أنا من أسس الحشد الشعبي،” في تعليقٍ أثار حفيظة الكثير من داخل العراق. وأكمل في نفس المقابلة على أن “فكرتي عن تأسيس الحشد الشعبي موجودة منذ 2012.” ومع تزايد الصدامات المسلحة في سوريا، أدى هذا التصريح إلى بعض اللغط في الشارع العراقي. ومع ذلك، يذكر الموقع الرسمي الالكتروني لهيئة الحشد الشعبي أنه “منذ الفتوى المباركة بتاريخ 14 يونيو 2014، صدر قرار مجلس الوزراء رقم (301) لسنة 2014 بتأسيس هيئة الحشد الشعبي.” ولكن ذلك لم يمنع من تأكيد هادي العمري، قائد منظمة بدر الشيعية وكتائب الحشد الشعبي أن من أسس الحشد الشعبي هو نوري المالكي بالفعل.

الحشد الشعبي، النسخة العراقية من قوات الباسيج شبه العسكرية الإيرانية

يضم الحشد الشعبي العشرات من الميليشيات الشيعية التي تشكلت بالأساس بعد الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق في عام 2003. تشتمل هذه على فيلق بدر وعصائب أهل الحق وقوات “النجباء” وكتائب حزب الله، والبعض منها تشكل بعد سقوط الموصل بيد ما ]عرف بـ”تنظيم الدولة،” وفتحت هذه المليشيات أبوابها للمتطوعين بعد فتوة “الجهاد الكفائي” الصادرة عن المرجعية في النجف المقدس. وبالتالي ينقسم المقاتلون تحت مظلة الحشد الشعبي بين أفراد المليشيات المنتمين أصلاً والمتطوعين الذين انضموا للحشد بعد نداء المرجعية الدينية في النجف والأغلبية منهم يعتبرون مقلدين للسيد السيستاني.

ويمكن تقسيم التيارات داخل الحشد إلى ثلاثة تيارات رئيسية، وهي المليشيات التي تتبع ولاية الفقيه الإيراني (نظرية في الإسلام الشيعي الذي يرى أن الإسلام يعطي الوصاية الفقهية على الناس، والتي يستخدمها النظام الإيراني للسيطرة على إيران والشيعة في جميع أنحاء العالم) وتتقاطع مع إيران بأهدفها الإيديولوجية والجيوسياسية، والتي تمثل حوالي ثلثين قوات الحشد الشعبي، حيث خدمت بعض هذه المليشيات ولا تزال في سوريا. أما الآخر فهو تيار سرايا السلام التابع لمقتدى الصدر، والثالث الفصيل التابع للمرجعية الدينية في النجف. فبنظر السيد علي أغوان، فإن الأهداف والايديولوجيا تختلف بين تيار مقتدى الصدر وما أسماها بـ”أتباع ولاية الفقيه،” كما أضاف أن لدى السرايا انتماءات إسلامية عربية على عكس أتباع ولاية الفقيه المرتبطة كلياً بإيران. أما الاختلاف بين أنصار ولاية الفقيه في العراق وحشد العتبات الحسينية والعباسية يرتكز بالاساس على اختلاف المرجعية الدينية والتي تنقسم بين الولاء للخامنئي والسيد السيستاني، وعلى أثر ذلك تختلف الأهداف والرؤى، علماً بأن التيار المتحالف مع إيران هو المتحكم الرئيسي في المؤسسة التي تضم أطراف الحشد الشعبي من خلال هادي العامري وأبو مهدي المهندس بشكلٍ رئيسي. ومع ذلك، تتفق هذه المليشيات فيما بينها على الهدف الرئيسي المعلن وهو دحر التنظيم الراديكالي من العراق.

الحشد الشعبي الشيعي

لم يكن ضرورة تأسيس الحشد الشعبي في نظر رئيس الوزراء السابق هو فقط لمحاربة داعش واستعادة الأرض، وإنما لاستشعاره أن الحرب القادمة هي حرب طائفية بدأت ملامحها تتبين في سوريا في 2012. واتهم المالكي أيضاً القوى السنية والكردية في الجيش بعدم قتال داعش في 2014 وقت مهاجمة قواتها شمال العراق، وبنظر المالكي فإن الحشد الشعبي الشيعي “ضرورة” في حال إنهار الجيش العراقي، وذلك ما عبر عنه المالكي حين صرح أن فكرة تأسيس الحشد الشعبي تعود لعام 2012.

وعلى عكس نوري المالكي، تحاول المرجعية الدينية في النجف أن تنفي طائفية الحشد الشعبي وأن تقدم فتوة “الجهاد الكفائي” التي جعلت عشرات الآلاف من الشباب الشيعية – بالغالبية العظمى- يتوجهون إلى معسكرات التطوع، على أنها فتوة تخص كل المسلمين وهي عابرة للطوائف، ويظهر ذلك في نصوص الخطابات المتعلقة بالتطوع والجهاد ومعاملة أهالي المناطق المحررة.

إلا أن ذلك لم يمنع السياسيين السنة من اظهار الامتعاض من عدم مشاركة فاعلة للسنة في الحشد الشعبي، حيث قدم اتحاد القوى – يمثل القوى السنية في البرلمان العراقي– طلباً لرئيس الوزراء العراقي، حيدر العبادي، في آواخر سنة 2015 لزيادة أعداد المقاتلين السنة المنضويين تحت الحشد الشعبي. كما خرجت بعض التصريحات من السياسيين السنة عن صعوبات تواجه مشاركة السنة في الحشد الشعبي، ومنها قلة تسليح السنة المشاركين في الحشد الشعبي. وفي محاولة لاظهار حسن النوايا وإبعاد شبهة أن الحشد الشعبي هو قوة شيعية، فقد وافق رئيس الوزراء على زيادة أعداد المقاتلين السنة، ولكن ذلك لم يطبق فعلياً على الأرض.

مستقبل الحشد الشعبي

لم يخلو النقاش الدائر عن مستقبل الحشد الشعبي من الدلالات على صعوبة المرحلة القادمة وكثرة السيناريوهات المحتملة لمستقبل العراق في ظل الجدل المحتدم في بغداد والعواصم العربية والعالمية. ففي الوقت الذي تم فيه اصدار قرار من رئاسة الوزراء في العراق في يوليو 2016 بهيكلة الحشد الشعبي وتحويله لجهاز موازٍ لجهاز مكافحة الإرهاب من حيث التدريب والتجهيز والقوانين، أي باعتباره أحد الاجهزة الامنية المستقلة عن المؤسسات العسكرية والامنية المختلفة وارتباطه المباشر برئاسة الوزراء، أكد نفس القرار على عدم السماح لمنتسبي هذا الجهاز بالعمل السياسي وفض ارتباط أفراده من كافة الأطر السياسية والحزبية والاجتماعية.

حمل هذا القرار أبعاداً سياسية على المستويين الداخلي والإقليمي، فعلى المستوى الداخلي ترى الاحزاب التقليدية الشيعية أن الطموح السياسي للحشد الشعبي، وخاصة الموالية لإيران، سيعرقل حظوظها في الانتخابات النيابية القادمة عام 2018، وقد تؤثر في المستقبل السياسي العراقي الشيعي. وهذا ما لا تشاطرهم به الميليشيات المنضوية تحت الحشد الشعبي مثل قوات بدر التي هي جزء من العملية السياسية، حيث صرح الأسدي في سبتمبر 2016 على أن الحشد الشعبي مشروع استراتيجي، وأن الحشد مهم لمستقبل العراق. كما شدد على أن العمل العسكري للحشد لا يمنع الطموح في السياسة، فيما قد يُفهم تحدي من قادة الحشد لقرارات رئاسة الوزراء.

كما تم معارضة القرار من الكتل السنية والكردية، حيث ترى الكتل السنية الرئيسية أن الحشد يجب أن يكون نواة للحرس الوطني العراقي، وأن على الحكومة حل الحشد الشعبي، والذي يجب إنشاؤه من قوات تعتمد على ابناء كل محافظة لحمايتها في المستقبل واستتباب الامن فيها.
فيما يرى الجانب الكردي على ضرورة إنهاء حالة الحشد الشعبي بعد تحرير الأراضي العراقية من داعش، حيث أن القوات العسكرية والامنية التابعة للحكومة الاتحادية وقوات البيشمركة قادرة في المستقبل على فرض الامن وحماية الأراضي العراقية.

أما على المستوى الاقليمي، فترى المملكة العربية السعودية أن الحشد الشعبي طائفي وأن اعماله الإجرامية هي طائفية بشكل أساسي ضد السنة وطالبت أيضاً بحل الحشد، فيما قرنت دولة الإمارات وتركيا بين داعش والنصرة والحشد الشعبي من حيث الأفعال الإرهابية.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، زعمت العديد من التقارير الدولية أنّ الحشد الشعبي ارتكب فظائع ضد السُنة. وتقول منظمة العفو الدولية أنها تمتلك أدلةً على “جرائم حرب،” وعمليات خطفٍ وقتلٍ لعشرات المدنيين السُنة أقدمت عليها قوات الحشد الشعبي خلال تحرير الفلوجة. وكما تقول كبيرة مستشاري الأزمات في منظمة العفو الدولية، دوناتيلا ريفيرا، “من خلال منح مباركتها للميليشيات […]، يظهر أن الحكومة العراقية تجيز ارتكاب جرائم الحرب.” وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، أوردت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش أيضاً تقارير عن انتهاكاتٍ يرتكبها الحشد الشعبي، بما في ذلك حرق المنازل في الفلوجة. ونقل التقرير عن اثنين من المسؤولين في محافظة الأنبار قولهم أنه في 23 يونيو أعدمت الشرطة الاتحادية وقوات الحشد الشعبي أكثر من 10 مدنيين من إحدى العشائر المحلية.

ومن جهةٍ أخرى، ترى إيران أن تجربة الحرس الثوري الإيراني، الباسيج، هي ناجحة ويجب نقلها للعراق للحفاظ على أمن العراق واستقلاله. فقد صرح الجنرال الإيراني محسن رفيقدوست، القائد العام السابق للحرس الثوري الإيراني وأحد أبرز مؤسسيه في زمن الخميني عام 1979، عن استعداده لتشكيل “الحرس الثوري العراقي” على شاكلة الحرس الإيراني. وبذلك، وعلى خلفية تكون عصب الحشد الشعبي من الطرف الشيعي وارتباط قادته عقائدياً مع قيادة الجمهورية الإيرانية، يعتقد أن الجمهورية الإسلامية فرضت هيمنتها السياسية على الإرادة السياسية العراقية من خلال الحشد الشعبي.

الحرب الإقليمية في العراق

إن حقيقة إرتباط الحشد الشعبي بمحاور إقليمية ورؤية نفسه كطرف في المعادلة الاقليمية، لن يكون إلا عامل اضافي في هشاشة استقرار العراق السياسية والاجتماعية، وإضعاف، إن لم يكن تقويض، الحكومة المركزية في العراق. فقد أعلن هادي العامري- قائد منظمة بدر الشيعية وكتائب الحشد الشعبي- قبل أيام، ومن بعده أكرم الكعبي- الأمين العام لحركة النجباء- وصول دعوة مباشرة من القيادة السورية لمحاربة داعش في الأراضي السورية وتأكيدهم على حاجة القتال هناك لاستئصال تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية”. تلاهما تصريح من قائد الحرس الثوري الإيراني، اللواء محمد علي جعفري، على أنه “قد يتم إرسال الحشد الشعبي إلى سوريا.”

ورغم مشاركة أطراف من الحشد في الحرب الدائرة في سوريا، بموافقة او رفض القيادة العراقية، إلا أن مشاركة الحشد بشكلٍ رسمي يُدخل العراق في أزمة دولية جديدة، وذلك لارتباط الحشد الشعبي بمكتب رئيس الوزراء مباشرةً، وبذلك تكون الدولة العراقية مشاركة رسمياً في الحرب الدائرة في سوريا، مما قد يفتح الباب لصراعات جديدة طائفية وإقليمية تكون الحشود الشعبية وقودها.

Home / Iraq / Past to Present / Iraq’s Popular Mobilization Units

Iraq’s Popular Mobilization Units

PMC members chant before going into battle during the offensive to liberate Mosul, in Mosul, Iraq, 31 October 2016. Photo Carolyn Cole

During a sermon on Friday 13 June 2014, the Shiite religious authority in the city of al-Najaf urged people at all levels of Iraqi society to help defend the country against terrorist groups. The religious authority headed by Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani stressed through its spokesman Sheikh al-Karbalai, who delivered the sermon, that “the responsibility of fending off and fighting terrorists lies with everybody, and is not limited to one sector or party”. During the same sermon, al-Karbalai called for the kifa’i or defensive jihad, which prompted thousands of Shiites to join the security services. A security expert estimated that the percentage of Sunni volunteers was only two per cent.

The military mobilization was in response to the fall of Mosul, the governorate of Ninawa and several cities in the governorates of Salah al-Din, Diyala, al-Anbar and Kirkuk to the extremist Sunni organization Islamic State (ISIS), following the withdrawal of the Iraqi army and federal police forces from these areas. This was the narrative of the Iraqi Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs), which consider the directives of al-Sistani to be their real constitution.

PMC Founder, Godfather

Before al-Sistani issued the kifa’i jihad fatwa (religious edict), Nuri al-Maliki, then prime minister, announced the day after the fall of Mosul the formation of a parallel military force in Iraq, saying that “a number of governorates have formed new brigades and will send them to the battleground, with each governorate sending one full brigade. These brigades have been formed to counter the threat facing Iraq.” Two days earlier, on 11 June 2014, a ministerial committee tasked with managing the crisis issued a press release calling for ‘the formation of regiments consisting of volunteers and popular mobilization forces to support the security services’.

The establishment of the Popular Mobilization Directorate was announced on 15 June 2014 on the orders of al-Maliki, according to Iraqi national security adviser Falah al-Fayyad. A committee was subsequently established in each governorate, and each of the committees was chaired by the police chief of that governorate with the purpose of regulating the recruitment process. On 18 June 2014, the Popular Mobilization Commission (PMC) and then the Central Administration Directorate were established following official Order No. 47. This angered political partners, including the Kurdistan Alliance and the Iraqi National Forces Alliance, which fear that the PMUs have a hidden agenda and will not be dissolved once they have achieved their objective of defeating ISIS.

Al-Maliki said during an interview with the electronic daily Ilaf that “I am the one who established the PMC.” In the same interview, he said that “my idea about the establishment of the PMC was initiated in 2012”. This was when the armed confrontations in Syria were escalating, causing controversy in Iraq. However, the PMC’s official website says: ‘Upon the blessed fatwa issued on 14 June 2014, Cabinet Decision No. 301 for 2014 has ordered the establishment of the PMC.’ This, however, did not prevent Hadi al-Amiri, head of the Shiite Badr Organization and the PMC brigades, from confirming that it was indeed al-Maliki who was behind the establishment of the PMC.

PMC, Iraqi’s Version of Iran’s Paramilitary Basij Forces

The PMC includes scores of Shiite militias, many of which were originally formed following the US occupation of Iraq in 2003. These include Badr Corps, Asaib Ahl-al-Haqq, al-Nujaba Movement, Kataib Hizballah. Other groups were formed after the fall of Mosul to ISIS and al-Sistani’s fatwa. In other words, PMC fighters can be divided into militias that already existed and recruits who joined the PMC in answer to the fatwa issued in al-Najaf. The majority of these recruits are considered to be supporters of al-Sistani.

The PMC is divided into three main groups. The first consists of the militias that are affiliated with the Iranian Vilayat-e Faqih (a theory in Shia Islam that holds that Islam gives an Islamic jurist custodianship over people, which the Iranian regime uses to control Iran and Shiites all over the world) and that share a number of ideological and geopolitical goals. This group accounts for approximately two thirds of the PMC forces, some members of which served and continue to serve as fighters in Syria. The second group is the Peace Brigades affiliated with Shiite leader Muqtada al-Sadr, and the third is the faction affiliated with the Shiite religious authority in al-Najaf. According to Sayyid Ali Aghwan, the al-Sadr group and the followers of Vilayat-e Faqih have different goals and ideologies. He added that the Peace Brigades have Islamist, Arab leanings, unlike the followers of Vilayat-e Faqih, who are completely linked to Iran. On the other hand, the followers of Vilayat-e Faqih in Iraq and the forces that have mobilized to defend the Husayniyat and other Shiite holy shrines have differences because their religious loyalties are divided between Iran’s Ayatollah Ali Khamenei and al-Sistani. The group that is aligned with Iran dominates the PMC, mainly through Hadi al-Amiri and Abu-Mahdi al-Muhandis, the PMC’s deputy chairman. Nevertheless, these militias share one goal, which is to defeat ISIS in Iraq and retake all areas under its control.

The Shiite PMC

According to former Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, he established the PMC not only because it was necessary to defeat ISIS, but also because he realized that the war was going to be a sectarian one, the signs of which became clear in Syria in 2012. Al-Maliki also accused Sunni and Kurdish forces in the Iraqi army of not fighting ISIS in 2014 when they were attacked by ISIS militants. Al-Maliki thus considered the PMC “a necessary” backup in case the Iraqi army collapsed. This is what he meant when he said that the idea of establishing the PMC originated in 2012.

Unlike al-Maliki, the religious authority in al-Najaf denies that the PMC is a sectarian force and reiterates that the fatwa was issued to all Muslims, irrespective of their sects. It also cites speeches given to fighters on how they should treat the residents of the areas liberated from ISIS.

This, however, has not prevented Sunni politicians from expressing resentment at the ineffective Sunni participation in the PMC. The Iraqi National Forces Alliance – which represents Sunni forces in the Iraqi parliament – submitted a request to Prime Minister Haydar al-Abadi in late 2015 to increase the number of Sunni fighters in the PMC. Some Sunni politicians also claimed that Sunni fighters lack the necessary armament. As a gesture of good will, and in an attempt to remove any suspicion that the PMC is an exclusively Shiite force, the prime minister agreed to increase the number of Sunni fighters, but this has not been implemented on the ground.

The Future of the PMC

The ongoing discussions about the PMC imply that there are different possible scenarios for the future of Iraq in light of the intensifying debate in Baghdad, as well as in other Arab and international capitals. The cabinet announced in July 2016 that it would make the PMC a structured organization and turn it into an apparatus with a similar status to the Iraqi Counterintelligence Agency in terms of the training and equipment it received and the laws that legitimize its activities. This has, in effect, made the PMC independent of the existing military and security services while still reporting directly to the prime minister. The same cabinet decision affirmed that PMC affiliates will not be allowed to engage in political work and must cut any ties they have to political, partisan and social entities.

The decision has had political repercussions on the domestic and regional levels. On the domestic level, classical Shiite parties believe that it will curb the political ambitions of the PMC – for instance, their participation in the 2018 parliamentary elections. PMC militias such as the Badr Forces do not agree with this view, however, especially because the Badr Forces are involved in the political process in Iraq. For example, PMC spokesman Ahmad al-Asadi said in September 2016 that the PMC is a strategic project and it is important for the future of Iraq. He stressed that the PMC’s military action will not put limits on its political ambitions, statements that could be perceived to be in defiance of the cabinet’s decision.

The decision was also rejected by Sunni and Kurdish blocs. The main Sunni blocs believe that the PMC should serve as the nucleus of the Iraqi National Guards and that the government must dissolve the PMC, which they believe should consist of forces from across the governorates so that these forces can protect their governorates and maintain security there.

For its part, the Kurdish bloc believes that the presence of the PMC should end immediately after the liberation of Iraqi territories from ISIS, because the security and military forces affiliated with the federal government, as well as the Peshmerga forces, are capable of maintaining security and protecting Iraq in the future.

On the regional level, Saudi Arabia has called for the dissolution of the PMC, saying it is sectarian and targets Sunnis. Meanwhile, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates compare the PMC with ISIS and al-Nusra Front because of its terrorist activities.

In addition, several international reports allege that PMUs have committed atrocities against Sunnis. Amnesty International says it has evidence of ‘war crimes’, kidnappings and the murder of dozens of Sunni civilians by PMU forces during the liberation of Fallujah. As Donatella Rivera, Amnesty International’s Senior Crisis Response Adviser, put it, “Through its blessing of the militias […] it seems that the Iraqi government permits the committing of war crimes.” Human Rights Watch also reports abuses by PMUs, including the burning of houses in Fallujah. The report quotes two officials from al-Anbar governorate as saying that on 23 June the federal police and the PMU executed more than ten civilians from one of the local clans.

In contrast, Iran believes that its experience of and success in establishing the Iranian Revolutionary Guards and the Basij should be transferred to Iraq in order to maintain Iraq’s security and independence. General Mohsen Rafiq Dost, former general commander of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards and one of the most prominent founders of the guards in 1979, said that he is ready to establish “the Iraqi Revolutionary Guards”, which will be similar to the Iranian version. Because the PMC is Shiite-dominated and linked ideologically to the Iranian leadership, it has been suggested that Iran is influencing Iraqi politics through the PMC.

Regional War in Iraq

The fact that the PMC is linked to regional parties and sees itself as part of the regional equation will only add to the fragility of the Iraqi political and social landscape, and will undermine and weaken the Iraqi central government. Hadi al-Amiri and later Akram al-Kabi, secretary general of the al-Nujaba Movement, announced a few days ago that they had received a direct request from the Syrian leadership to eradicate ISIS in Syria. These statements were followed by remarks by Major General Mohammad Ali Jafari, commander of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards, who expected that “PMC forces will be deployed in Syria”.

The involvement of the PMC in the ongoing war in Syria, whether approved by the Iraqi leadership or not, will involve Iraq in another international crisis because the PMC reports directly to the Iraqi prime minister. This could lead to new sectarian conflicts, with the different popular mobilization forces across the region fuelling the violence.