الصفحة الرئيسية / الحرب العراقية الإيرانية (1980-1988) / المجتمع الدولي

المجتمع الدولي

تخطت عواقب الحرب العراقية الإيرانية حدود المنطقة. فقد بدأت كحرب محصورة بين دولتين مجاورين وانتهت كحرب شاملة شارك فيها حوالي 44 بلداً بطريقة أو بأخرى. قامت قوى خارجية عديدة بتقديم الدعم المالي و/أو اللوجستي إلى إحدى الدولتين، وبخاصة العراق، وذلك من خلال المتاجرة (غير المشروعة) بالسلاح أو تدويل النزاع في الخليج الفارسي.

أدت الحرب إلى سلسلة من الفضائح أهمها فضيحة “إيران – كونترا” في الولايات المتحدة. فعلى الرغم من أن العديد من الدول تاجرت سراً بالأسلحة مع البلدين، إلا أن معظم القوى الخارجية انتقدت إيران علانية ودعمت العراق، أو التزمت الحياد. كانت إيران قد أثارت عداوة معظم دول العالم في موقفها المتصلب على صعيد العلاقات الدولية وخطاباتها الثورية. وقد تخوفت قوى عديدة من تأثير الثورة الإسلامية السلبي ليس في المنطقة فحسب، إنما أيضاً في باقي دول العالم. في المقابل، شعرت إيران بأنها مهددة من قبل العالم بأسره منذ بداية الحرب. ورأت القوى الخارجية حليفة للنظام العراقي، وبدأت ترى “الحرب المفروضة” مؤامرة عالمية ضد الجمهورية الإسلامية والإسلام بحد ذاته.

كما تعرضت الأمم المتحدة، التي شاركت بفعالية في النزاع منذ البداية تقريباً، إلى الانتقاد من قبل النظام الإيراني. ومع استمرار الحرب وشعور إيران بالقلق حيال المجتمع الدولي، أصبح خطابها العسكري أكثر عدائية، مشددة على عدم الاكتفاء بالدفاع عن الثورة الإسلامية في البلاد فقط، وإنما أيضاً على الحاجة إلى نقلها إلى الخارج. ومع استمرار الحرب، ازدادت عزلة إيران أكثر فأكثر.

حاملة طائرات أمريكية في مضيق هرمز
حاملة طائرات أمريكية في مضيق هرمز
جنود في خنادق خلال الحرب العراقية الإيرانية
جنود في خنادق خلال الحرب العراقية الإيرانية

قضية إيران – كونترا

رونالد ريغان، رئيس الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية 1981-1989
رونالد ريغان، رئيس الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية 1981-1989
أوليفر نورث، عضو مجلس الأمن الوطني الأمريكي، المتورط في قضية إيران-كونترا
أوليفر نورث، عضو مجلس الأمن الوطني الأمريكي، المتورط في قضية إيران-كونترا

في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1986، تم الكشف عن فضيحة إيران-كونترا الشهيرة الناشئة عن الحرب العراقية الإيرانية. بدأ المخطط السري – الذي لم يعاقب عليه الكونغرس الأمريكي – عام 1985 عندما قامت إدارة الرئيس رونالد ريغان سراً بإمداد إيران بالأسلحة، على أمل ضمان إطلاق سراح الرهائن الأمريكيين لدى حزب الله الموالي لآية الله الخميني في لبنان. وساعدت عائدات بيع الأسلحة عصابات الكونترا في نيكاراغوا التي كانت تقود حرب عصابات ضد حكومة ساندينيستا.

Home / Iraq-Iran War (1980-1988) / The international community

The international community

The repercussions of the Iraq-Iran War extended far beyond the region. What began as a limited war between neighbours ended in total warfare in which as many as 44 countries were involved in one way or the other. Many outside powers provided financial and/or logistical support to one side or the other, mainly Iraq, through (illicit) trade in arms or through the internationalized conflict in the Persian Gulf.

The war would lead to a series of scandals, the best known of which was the Irangate (or Iran-Contra) scandal in the United States. Although many countries secretly traded arms with the two countries, most of the outside powers publicly criticized Iran and backed Iraq, or remained neutral. Iran had antagonized most of the world with its uncompromising stance in international relations and its revolutionary rhetoric. Many powers feared the negative influence of the Islamic Revolution not only in the region but also in the rest of the world.

Iran, on the other hand, felt threatened by the whole world from the onset of the war. It viewed the outside powers as allies of the Iraqi regime and began to see the ‘Imposed War’ as a conspiracy of the world against the Islamic Republic and Islam itself.

The United Nations, which was actively involved in the conflict almost from the start, was heavily criticized by the Iranian regime, too. As the war proceeded and Iran felt cornered by the international community, its bellicose rhetoric grew even more militant, stressing the need not only for defending the Islamic Revolution at home but also for exporting it to the outside world. As the war continued, Iran thus became more and more isolated.

US navy aircraft carrier in the Strait of Hormuz
US navy aircraft carrier in the Strait of Hormuz

Soldiers in trenches during the Iraq-Iran War
Soldiers in trenches during the Iraq-Iran War

the Iran-Contra affair

Ronald Reagan, US President 1981-1989
Ronald Reagan, US President 1981-1989
Oliver North, staff member of the US National Security Council, involved in the Iran-Contra affair
Oliver North, staff member of the US National Security Council, involved in the Iran-Contra affair

The best-known scandal arising from the Iraq-Iran war, the Iran-Contra affair (Irangate), came to light in November 1986. The clandestine action – which was not sanctioned by the US Congress – began in 1985, when President Ronald Reagan’s administration secretly supplied weapons to Iran, hoping to secure the release of American hostages held in Lebanon by Hezbollah fighters loyal to Ayatollah Khomeini. Proceeds from the weapons sales aided the Nicaraguan Contras, who were conducting a guerrilla war against the Sandinista government.