الصفحة الرئيسية / إيران / الاقتصاد

الاقتصاد

المقدمة

تحظى إيران بثاني أكبر اقتصاد في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا بفضل الحجم الكبير لقطاع النفط والغاز في هذه الدولة. وبحسب البنك الدولي، فقد وصل الناتج الإجمالي المحلي في عام 2015 إلى 393.7 مليار دولار أمريكي، مقارنةً مع 425.33 و511.62 مليار دولار في عامي 2014 و2013 على التوالي. وتشير أرقام صندوق النقد الدولي إلى أن حصة الفرد من الناتج الإجمالي المحلي في عام 2015 بلغت 4908 دولار أمريكي، مقارنةً مع 6550 و7120 دولار في عامي 2014 و2013 على التوالي.

ومن المتوقع أن يشهد الاقتصاد الإيراني بين عامي 2016 و2018 نمواً بنسبة 4.5%. ويرى صندوق النقد الدولي أن نسبة التخضم التي ستواجهها إيران خلال عام 2017 ستنخفض لتصل إلى 7.2%، ما يعود الفضل فيه إلى رفع العقوبات الدولية عن طهران بعد حل أزمة الملف النووي الإيراني، فضلاً عن تحسن ثقة الأعمال والمستهلكين نتيجة الإصلاحات التي قام الرئيس حسن روحاني بتنفيذها. ومع ذلك، ما زال سوق العمل الإيراني يواجه اختلالاتٍ هيكلية نتيجة الفوارق الحادة المبنية على أساس الجنس والسن والموقع الجغرافي.

مع موارد طبيعية هائلة وذخيرة من الشباب المثقف، لإيران الإمكانية لأن تصبح قوة اقتصادية؛ غير أن اقتصادها يواجه مشاكل نظامية كبيرة، مثل الافتقار إلى الشفافية والتشريعات الحاسمة، والتشريعات المفرطة، والبيروقراطية المتضخمة. ومن بين المشاكل الأساسية: معدل التضخم المرتفع والبطالة والفساد. أتاح ارتفاع أسعار النفط لإيران زيادة عائدات صادراتها وجمع حوالي 70 مليار دولار في احتياطي النقد الأجنبي؛ ولكن مع تراجع أسعار النفط إلى أقل من 40 دولار للبرميل الواحد عام 2008، واجهت الحكومة الإيرانية مشاكل كبيرة في السنوات الماضية.

عام 2009، قُدرت الإيرادات الحكومية بـ 51 مليار دولار والنفقات بـ 103 مليار دولار. عام 2008، بلغ الدين العام 25% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. عام 1991، قدر الدين الخارجي الإيراني بـ 23 مليار دولار. تراجع هذا الدين إلى 7,8 مليار دولار عام 2001. ومع تزايد الاقتراض العالمي، ارتفع الدين. عام 2007، حدد وزير الاقتصاد الدين الخارجي الإيراني بـ 23,3 مليار دولار. قُدر الدين الخارجي لإيران عام 2009 بـ 13,4 مليار دولار و14,3 مليار دولار عام 2010.

بشكل عام، لا تقبل الحكومة الإيرانية بالمساعدات الخارجية. وقد مانعت تلقي المساعدات، باستثناء الإنسانية منها بعد الزلزال الذي ضرب مدينة “بم”، جنوب شرق إيران عام 2003.

البنية التحتية

يبلغ إجمالي طول الطرق في إيران 178,151 كم تقريباً (تقديرات 2007)، حيث تربط طهران بسائر أنحاء البلاد والدول المجاورة. ويبلغ طول السكك الحديدية في إيران 11,435 كم (تقديرات 2006). في إيران 316 مطار (تقديرات 2009)؛ 54 مطاراً رئيسياً، منها 8 مطارات دولية. أما نظام خطوط الأنابيب في إيران فينقل ;الغاز الطبيعي وغاز البترول المسال والنفط والمنتجات المكررة. وتقع الموانئ الرئيسية في إيران على الخليج الفارسي في العسلوية وبندر عباس وبندر الإمام الخميني.

تعرف طهران المترو منذ عام 1999. وكان الخط رقم 5 الذي يربط طهران بضاحية خرج، غرب المدينة، الخط الأول الذي تم إنجازه. بدأ الخط رقم 1، الذي يسير من الشمال إلى الجنوب، والخط رقم 2، من الشرق إلى الغرب، بالعمل عام 2000. أما الخطان 3 و 4 فلا يزالان قيد الإنشاء. وتعرض شركة مترو طهران على موقعها الإلكتروني أمثلة عن المزيج بين الفن التقليدي والحديث الذي يمكن رؤيته في محطات المترو.

اضغط للتكبير
اضغط للتكبير

الموقع في السوق العالمية

صنف البنك الدولي اقتصاد إيران على أنه اقتصاد ذو الدخل المتوسط المنخفض. تدهورت العلاقات الاقتصادية مع المنطقة والعالم بشكل كبير بعد ثورة عام 1979، مما أدى إلى حالة من العزلة الاقتصادية. أما قبل الثورة، كانت التجارة بين إيران والولايات المتحدة مزدهرة. عام 1978، كانت الولايات المتحدة أهم شريك تجاري لإيران. كانت إيران تستورد سلعاً أمريكية تقدر بحوالي 4 مليارات دولار، ما يعادل 21% من إجمالي الواردات الإيرانية. ومنذ الثورة، أدت العقوبات التجارية والاستثمارية التي فرضتها الولايات المتحدة إلى عرقلة العلاقات الاقتصادية.

لمواجهة سياسة العزلة التي تتبعها الولايات المتحدة، سعت إيران إلى التعاون الاقتصادي مع الدول الإسلامية الأخرى والإقليمية المجاورة؛ ومراكز السلطة البديلة، مثل الاتحاد الأوروبي وروسيا والصين والهند. أما أهم الشركاء التجاريين لإيران، فهم: الصين والهند واليابان وكوريا الجنوبية وتركيا. وبدأت المفاوضات بشأن إبرام اتفاقية تجارة وتعاون بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وإيران عام 2002، ولكنها عُلقت منذ شهر آب/أغسطس 2005 بعدما استئناف إيران نشاطاتها النووية وفرض الولايات المتحدة عقوبات جديدة عليها.

منذ نهاية الحرب مع العراق (عام 1988)، سعت إيران إلى تحسين العلاقات الإقليمية. تشدد إيران على الاعتماد على النفس بين الدول الإقليمية واستثناء القوى غير الإقليمية (مثل الولايات المتحدة). لهذه الغاية، انضمت إيران إلى منظمات إقليمية ودولية لا تتأثر بالهيمنة الغربية، مثل حركة عدم الانحياز ومنظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي ومنظمة الدول المصدرة للبترول (أوبك).

تقدمت إيران بطلب للانضمام إلى منظمة التجارة العالمية في أيلول/سبتمبر 1996، غير أن المنظمة لم توافق قبل عام 2005 على بدء المفاوضات مع إيران. ومنذ عام 2005، مُنحت إيران مركز المراقب في المنظمة، غير أن الولايات المتحدة غالباً ما رفضت قبول عضوية إيران الكاملة.

السياحة

ألحقت ثورة (1978-1979) والحرب العراقية الإيرانية (1980-1988) ضرراً كبيراً بالقطاع السياحي. وهبط عدد السياح من 695,000 عام 1977 إلى 62,373 عام 1982. غير أن هذا القطاع بدأ يستعيد عافيته ببطء في تسعينيات القرن العشرين.

عام 2004، اعترف مسؤولون في منظمة السياحة والتراث الثقافي الإيرانية (ICHTO) أن “حصة إيران من إيرادات السياحة العالمية هي 0,0001%”. وذلك نتيجة الثورة والحرب التي تلتها مع العراق. دعت الخطة الخمسية الرابعة للتنمية الاقتصادية (آذار/مارس 2005-2010) إلى رفع أعداد السياح إلى 2,5 مليون سائح سنوياً. عام 2004، زار حوالي 700,000 سائح إيران، وبلغت عائدات السياحة 500 مليون دولار. تواجه السياحة قيوداً كثيرة على صعيد البنى التحتية والمواصلات والقواعد التنظيمية وتدريب الموظفين ومتطلبات تأشيرة الدخول للأجانب، ولكن السياحة المحلية شهدت تقدماً ملحوظاً بين 2000 و 2010.

مختارات من المواقع الثقافية في إيران

القطاعات الاقتصادية

تعتبر صادرات النفط والغاز المكون الأول للاقتصاد الإيراني، وقد مثّلت 80% من واردات الصادرات في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين. تتحكم الدولة بقطاع النفط وتدير مصانع كبرى عديدة. يعمل معظم الإيرانيين في قطاع الخدمات (45% من القوى العاملة). كما يستقطب قطاعا الصناعة (31%) والزراعة (25%) قسماً كبيراً من القوى العاملة الإيرانية. وتنعكس هذه النسب في اقتصاد البلاد، إذ يستأثر قطاع الخدمات بـ 47,3% (تقديرات عام 2010) من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، يليه قطاع الصناعة (41,7%) والزراعة (11%). وفق الحكومة الإيرانية، عام 2011 بلغت نسبة البطالة 11,5%، غير أن مصادر أخرى تشير إلى أنها بلغت 30%.

النظام المصرفي

تم تأميم النظام المصرفي الإيراني عام 1979. ولم يُسمح للمصارف الخاصة بإعادة فتح أبوابها إلا في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين. ويراقب البنك المركزي الإيراني بصرامة المصارف العامة والخاصة. عام 2007، تم إدراج حوالي 364 شركة في بورصة طهران. وفي حين كان تداول الأسهم محدوداً بين العامين 1979 و 1986، إلا أن النشاط ارتفع بشكل كبير منذ عام 2002. أعاقت الثورة الإيرانية (1978-1979) والحرب التي نشبت بين إيران والعراق قطاع السياحة الذي بدأ يستعيد عافيته في التسعينيات.

الصناعة والزراعة

من أهم الصناعات الإيرانية: صناعة الثياب وتعدين الفوسفات والأسمدة والمنتجات الصيدلانية والنفطية المكررة والإسمنت والبوتاس والكيماويات غير العضوية والصناعات الخفيفة. عام 2007، بلغت نسبة نمو الإنتاج الصناعي 7,7%.

المنتجات الزراعية الرئيسية: القمح والأرز والحبوب الأخرى والشوندر السكري وقصب السكر والفاكهة والبندق والقطن والألبان والصوف. 12% فقط من الأراضي الإيرانية هي أراضٍ مزروعة، ولا تتخطى المساحات المروية ثلث هذه النسبة. وفي حين حققت إيران الاكتفاء الذاتي نسبياً في ستينيات القرن العشرين، إلا أنه، وبحلول عام 1979، كانت نسبة 65% تقريباً من المواد الغذائية مستوردة.

الثروة السمكية

تشرف إيران على بحر قزوين شمالاً وعلى الخليج الفارسي وخليج عمان جنوباً. في السنوات الأخيرة، تعرضت الموارد السمكية في بحر قزوين للخطر بفعل الصيد غير القانوني خارج الموسم ورمي الملوثات الصناعية والزراعية والإفراط في الصيد وغيرها من الظروف غير المؤاتية. بين 1990 و 2004 تراجع إنتاج بحر قزوين السنوي من الأسماك من 98,000 إلى 32,533 طن، منها 463 طن من سمك الحفش الذي ينتج الكافيار عالي الجودة. إيران هي البلد الأكثر إنتاجاً وتصديراً للكافيار في العالم. عام 2009، بلغ الإنتاج الإيراني من الكافيار 10,2 طناً صدّرت منه 7 أطنان عادت على البلاد بـ 22 مليون دولار.

يبلغ طول الساحل الإيراني المطل على الخليج الفارسي وخليج عمان 1786 كم. مياه هذين الخليجين غنية بالأسماك والموارد البحرية الأخرى. عام 2004، أنتج الساحل الجنوبي 299,000 طن من الأسماك، مسجلاً بذلك ارتفاعاً سنوياً بنسبة 12,6% منذ عام 1976. ويشكل ارتفاع نسبة التلوث التي تتسبب بها الصناعة النفطية والصناعات الأخرى تهديداً لصيد الأسماك في هذه المنطقة.

منذ الثورة، تم التركيز بشكل أكبر على إنتاج الأسماك من المياه الداخلية. وبين 1976 و 2004، ارتفع إنتاج الأسماك من المياه الداخلية بين القطاعين العام والخاص من 1110 إلى 110,175 طن.

الاقتصاد غير الرسمي

قطاعات كبيرة من الاقتصاد الإيراني عديمة الشفافية؛ حيث غالباً ما يصعب تحديد الملكية، كما أن الإحصائيات غير موثوقة. عام 2006، احتلت إيران المركز 105 من أصل 163 دولة بحسب مؤشر مدركات الفساد. عام 2007، احتلت المركز الأخير بين البلدان الـ 179 التي خضعت للإحصاء.

منذ عام 1979، سيطرت مجموعات “البنياد” (مؤسسات، صناديق خيرية شبه خاصة) على الاقتصاد غير النفطي في إيران. تتعاطى مجموعات البنياد في كل المجالات، من تنظيم رحلات الحج إلى الفستق، ومن المشروبات الغازية إلى صناعة السيارات. تسيطر البنياد على 20-30% تقريباً من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الإيراني، وهي معفاة من الضرائب وإشراف الدولة. وهذا ما يجعلها غير شفافة ويشوبها الفساد. كما أنها مرتبطة برجال سياسة أقوياء.

كصناديق خيرية، يفترض أن تقدم البنياد الخدمات الاجتماعية للفقراء والمحتاجين، ولكن نظراً إلى وجود أكثر من مئة مؤسسة منها وغياب الإشراف الحكومي عليها، فمن غير الواضح ماهية الجهات التي تتلقى مساعداتها. والقوة المالية والسياسية التي تتمتع بها مجموعات البنياد الكبرى يجعل من الصعب على الشركات الخاصة منافستها.

الطاقة

للحصول على نظرة عامة متعمقة على قطاع الطاقة في البحرين، أنقر الزر أدناه.

الاستيراد والتصدير

من القطاعات التي تلعب تقليدياً دوراً أساسياً في القوة الاقتصادية والسياسية التي تتمتع بها إيران نذكر البازار الذي يضم تجار استيراد وتصدير تقليديين. حوالي فترة الثورة الإسلامية التي نشبت عام 1979 كان حوالي ثلثا تجارة الجملة في إيران و 30% من وارداتها يمر عبر تجار البازار في طهران. وتجار البازار يتمتعون بتأثير سياسي كبير نظراً إلى دعمهم المالي والسياسي لرجال الدين. ويُقال إنّ البازار هو ممول الثورة.

عام 2007، قُدر دخل إيران من الصادرات بـ 76,5 مليار دولار، 85% منها من النفط والغاز الطبيعي. أما تكلفة الواردات عام 2007، فقُدرت بـ 61,3 مليار دولار، فبلغ الفائض التجاري 15,2 مليار دولار.

لكن تصدير إيران من النفط الخام والغاز الطبيعي، الشريان الحيوي، تضرر بشدة جراء العقوبات الدولية، مما اضطر ايران الى خفض الإنتاج. فرض الاتحاد الأوروبي حظراً على واردات وشراء ونقل النفط الخام الإيراني في تموز/يوليو 2012. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، منعت الشركات الأوروبية من تأمين شحنات النفط الإيرانية. ووسّعت الولايات المتحدة عقوباتها بعيدة المدى في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2011 فاستهدفت الشركات التي تدعم الصناعات البتروكيماوية للنفط الايراني ومنعت البنوك العالمية من القيام بحركات التحويلات المالية للنفط مع البنوك الإيرانية.

نتيجة لذلك، بلغ إنتاج النفط الخام الايراني أدنى مستوى له منذ عام 1988 في أيلول/سبتمبر 2012: من 4,32 مليون برميل في اليوم عام 2011 إلى 2,63 مليون برميل. في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012، أضاف الاتحاد الأوروبي فرض حظر على بناء ناقلات النفط لإيران وإيقاف حركة ناقلات النفط الإيراني وسفن البضائع وفرزها. وبالتالي، اضطرت إيران إلى الاعتماد على عدد صغير (متبقّ) من مشتري النفط الخام الإيراني، مثل الصين والهند، الذين تجاهلوا العقوبات الغربية. أنشأت الخسارة الناتجة في الدخل المزيد من المشاكل للنفط والغاز الإيراني إلى حد أنه بات يعاني من نقص الاستثمارات.

في حين تشترك إيران مع قطر بأكبر حقل غاز في العالم، إلا أن الإنتاج والتصدير أقل بكثير. ومنعت العقوبات الامريكية بعيدة المدى إيران من تطوير مشاريع تصدير، مثل خطوط أنابيب ومرافق غاز طبيعي مسال جديدة. فرض الاتحاد الأوروبي حظراً على تصدير المعدات والتكنولوجيا إلى إيران، بما في ذلك تكنولوجيا تكرير الغاز الطبيعي عام 2011. بلغ إنتاج إيران من الغاز الطبيعي 151,8 مليار م3 عام 2011.

وفق صندوق النقد الدولي، انخفض إجمالي حجم الصادرات من السلع إلى ما تقديره 35%، مقارنة بعام 2010. انخفض حجم الواردات من السلع إلى 8%. وشهدت إيران تراجعاً بنسبة 10,2٪ في إنتاجها من النفط في النصف الأول من عام 2012، مقارنة مع 2011.

عام 2011، بلغت القيمة الإجمالية لصادرات إيران 131,8 مليار دولار، مقارنة مع 108,6 مليار دولار عام 2010. وشركاء التصدير الرئيسيون، هي: الصين 21%؛ الهند 9,.3%؛ اليابان 8,9٪؛ تركيا 8,7٪؛ كوريا الجنوبية 7,9%؛ إيطاليا 5,2%. عام 2011، بلغت القيمة الإجمالية للواردات الإيرانية 76,1 مليار دولار، مقارنة ب 68,45 مليار دولار عام 2010. وكان شركاء الاستيراد الرئيسيون عام 2011: الإمارات العربية المتحدة 30,6٪؛ الصين 17,2٪؛ كوريا الجنوبية 8,4%، ألمانيا 4,8%؛ وتركيا 4,2%.

economy iran - import and export

Economy Iran - Oil production
إنتاج النفط, 1988-2012

Home / Iran / Economy

Economy

Economy Iran - Car manufacturing in Tehran, at the main plant of Iran Khodro Company (IKCO).
Car manufacturing in Tehran, at the main plant of Iran Khodro Company (IKCO), where brands like Roa, Peugeot, Samand are made / Photo HH

Contents

Infrastructure
Position in the World Market
Tourism
Economic Sectors
Banking
Industry and agriculture
Fishery
Informal Economy
Energy
Import and Export

Introduction

With its enormous natural resources and a young, educated population, Iran has the potential to become an economic power, but the country’s economy faces great systemic problems, such as a lack of transparency and crucial regulations, over-regulation, and a bloated bureaucracy. A high inflation rate, unemployment, and corruption are major problems. High oil prices permitted Iran to increase its export earnings and amass over USD 68 billion in foreign-exchange reserves, but, with oil prices going below USD 40 per barrel in 2013, the Iranian government has been confronted with enormous difficulties in recent years.

In 2009, estimated government revenues totalled USD 51 billion and expenditures USD 103 billion. In 2008 public debt amounted to 25 percent of GDP. In 1991 Iran’s external debt was estimated at USD 23 billion. The debt dropped to USD 7.8 billion in 2001. As international borrowing increased, however, so did the debt. In 2007 the economy minister put Iran’s foreign debt at USD 23.3 billion. Iran’s external debt in 2009 was estimated at USD 13.4 billion and in 2013 at USD 15 billion.

The Iranian government does not usually accept foreign aid. It has been reluctant to receive aid, with the exception of humanitarian aid after the devastating earthquake in Bam, in south-eastern Iran, in 2003.

Infrastructure

The country’s roads total about 178,151 kilometres (2007 estimate) and connect Tehran with all parts of the country and neighbouring countries. Iran’s railroads total 11,435 kilometres (2006 estimate), and the country has 316 airports (2009 estimate), including 54 major airports, of which eight international airports. Iran’s pipeline system carries natural gas, liquified petroleum gas, petroleum, and refined products. Iran’s main ports are on the Persian Gulf, at Asaluyeh, Bandar-Abbas, and Bandar-e Emam Khomeyni.

Tehran has had a metro system since 1999. Line 5, connecting Tehran to the suburb of Karaj, west of the city, was the first line to be completed. Line 1, running from north to south, and line 2 running from east to west, began operations in 2000. Lines 3 and 4 are still to be completed. On its website, the Tehran metro company features examples of a mix of traditional and modern art that can be found in the metro stations.

Click to enlarge

Position in the World Market

The World Bank has classified Iran as a lower-middle-income economy. Economic relations with the region and the world were severely compromised after the 1979 Revolution, leading to economic isolation. Before the 1979 Revolution, trade between Iran and the United States thrived. In 1978 the United States was Iran’s most important trading partner. Iran imported USD 4 billion worth of American goods, 21 percent of all Iranian imports. Since the 1979 Revolution, diverse US trade and investment sanctions have severely hampered economic relations.

Countering US isolation policy, Iran has been cultivating economic cooperation with other Muslim states, regional neighbours, and alternative centres of power such as the European Union, Russia, China, and India. Iran’s main trading partners are China, India, Japan, South Korea, and Turkey. Negotiations for a Trade and Cooperation Agreement (TCA) between the EU and Iran began in 2002 but have been on hold since August 2005, after Iran resumed its nuclear activities and new US sanctions were introduced.

Since the end of the war with Iraq (in 1988) Iran has sought to improve regional relations. Iran stresses self-reliance among regional states and the exclusion of extra-regional powers (i.e., the United States). To that end, Iran has joined regional and international organizations that are not susceptible to Western domination, such as the Non-Aligned Movement, the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC), and the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

Iran applied to join the World Trade Organization (WTO) in September 1996, but it was not until 2005 that WTO agreed to begin accession negotiations with Iran. Since 2005 Iran has held observer status, but the US has repeatedly blocked Iran’s admission as a full member.

Tourism

The tourism industry was severely disrupted by the 1978-1979 Revolution and the Iraq-Iran War (1980-1988). The number of tourists fell from 695,500 in 1977 to 62,373 in 1982. The tourism industry began to revive slowly in the 1990s.

In 2004 Iran Cultural Heritage and Tourism Organization (ICHTO) officials admitted that ‘Iran’s share in the world tourism revenues is a meagre 0.0001 percent’. This was the result, in large measure, of the Revolution and the subsequent war with Iraq.

The Fourth Five-Year Economic Development Plan (March 2005-2010) called for the number of foreign tourists to increase to 2.5 million annually. In 2004 some 700,000 foreign tourists visited Iran, and revenues from tourism stood at USD 500 million. The industry faces serious limitations in infrastructure, communications, regulatory norms, personnel training, and visa requirements for foreign nationals, but, during the decade 2000-2010, there was a significant increase in domestic tourism.

A selection of cultural sights in Iran

Economic Sectors

Iran’s economy is dominated by oil and gas exports, which account for more than 80 percent of export earnings in the early 2000s. The state controls the oil sector and administers several large industries. Most Iranians work in the service sector (45 percent of the workforce). Industry (31 percent) and agriculture (25 percent) also employ a significant part of Iran’s labour force. These figures are reflected in the country’s economy, with services generating 47.3 percent (2010 est.) of GDP, followed by industry at 41.7 percent and agriculture at 11 percent. According to the Iranian government, the official unemployment rate in 2011 was 11.5 percent, but other sources cite rates as high as 30 percent.

Banking

Iran’s banking system was nationalized in 1979. Private banks were not authorized to reopen until the early 2000s. The Bank-e Markazi, the Central Bank of Iran, strictly monitors all state and private banks. In 2007 approximately 364 companies were listed on the Tehran Stock Exchange. While the trading of shares was limited between 1979 and 1986, activity has increased sharply since 2002. The tourism industry was disrupted by the 1978-1979 Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War (1980-1988) but began to revive in the 1990s.

Industry and agriculture

In the industrial sector, the main products are clothing, mined phosphate, fertilizers, pharmaceuticals, refined petroleum products, cement, potash, inorganic chemicals, and light manufactures. In 2013 the growth rate of industrial production was 5.2 percent.

Iran’s main agricultural products are wheat, rice, other grains, sugar beets, sugar cane, fruits, nuts, cotton, dairy products, and wool. Only 12 percent of Iran’s land area is under cultivation, of which only a third is irrigated. While Iran had nearly reached self-sufficiency in the 1960s, by 1979 almost 65 percent of its food was imported.

Fishery

Iran has access to the Caspian Sea in the north and the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman in the south. In recent years, illegal and off-season fishing, discharge of industrial and agricultural pollutants, overfishing by other Caspian littoral states, and other unfavourable conditions have endangered Caspian fish resources. Between 1990 and 2004, Iran’s total annual Caspian Sea catch declined from 98,000 tons to 32,533 tons, including 463 tons of sturgeon, which yields high-quality caviar. Iran is the world’s largest producer and exporter of caviar. In 2009 Iran produced 10.2 tons of caviar and exported 7 tons, for export earnings of USD 22 million.

Iran has 1,786 kilometres of coastline on the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. These southern waters are rich in fish and other marine resources. In 2004 the catch off the southern coast totalled 299,000 tons. This represented an average annual increase of 12.6 percent since 1976. Increased pollution from the oil industry and other enterprises, however, poses a serious threat to this area’s fishing industry.

Since the Revolution, increased attention has been focused on producing fish from inland waters. Between 1976 and 2004, the combined take from inland waters by the state and private sectors increased from 1,100 tons to 110,175 tons.

Informal Economy

Large segments of the Iranian economy are opaque, ownership is often extremely difficult to ascertain, and statistics are often unreliable. In 2006 Iran ranked 105th of 163 countries on Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index. In 2007 it fell to last place among the 179 countries surveyed; in 2015 it ranked 130th of 183 countries.

Much of Iran’s non-petroleum economy has, since 1979, been dominated by bonyads (foundations, semi-private charitable trusts). Bonyads are involved in all kinds of business, from pilgrim-tour organizations to pistachio nuts, from soft drinks to car factories. Bonyads control an estimated 20-30 percent of Iran’s GDP, are exempt from taxes and state control, and are criticized for being opaque and corrupt. They are often closely linked to powerful politicians.

As charities, the bonyads are supposed to provide social services to the poor and the needy, but because there are more than a hundred of these organizations, and governmental control is often lacking, it is unclear to whom and how they offer assistance. The financial and political power of the large bonyads makes it extremely difficult for private companies to compete.

Energy

For an in-depth overview of Iran’s energy sector, click on the button below.

Import and Export

A traditionally influential sector of economic and political power in Iran is the bazaar, which comprises traditional import-export merchants. Around the time of the 1979 Islamic Revolution, an estimated two-thirds of Iran’s wholesale trade and 30 percent of its import business was transacted through Tehran’s bazaar merchants. The bazaaris wield considerable political influence through their financial and political support of clerics. It is often said that the bazaar financed the Revolution.

In 2007 Iran’s estimated income from exports was USD 94.2 billion, 85 percent of which came from petroleum and natural gas. The estimated cost of imports in 2007 was USD 63.8 billion, yielding a trade surplus of USD 30.4 billion.

However, Iran’s export of crude oil and natural gas, a crucial lifeline, has been severely hit by international sanctions, forcing Iran to cut back on production. The European Union imposed an import, purchase and transport ban on Iranian crude oil in July 2012. In addition, European companies were banned from insuring Iranian oil shipments. The United States expanded its longstanding sanctions in November 2011 to target companies that aid Iran’s oil and petrochemical industries and banned the world’s banks from completing oil transactions with Iranian banks.

As a result, production of Iranian crude oil reached its lowest level since 1988 in September 2012, with 2.63 million barrels a day, down from 4.32 million barrels a day in 2011. In October 2012, the EU added a ban on construction of oil tankers for Iran and the flagging and classification of Iranian oil tankers and cargo vessels. Iran has consequently been forced to rely on a (remaining) small number of buyers of Iranian crude oil, like China and India, who have bypassed Western sanctions. The resulting loss of income has created further problems for the Iranian oil and gas industry that has already been suffering from under investment.

While Iran shares the world’s largest gas field with Qatar, it has a much lower production and export. Longstanding US sanctions have prevented Iran from developing export projects such as new pipelines and LNG facilities. The European Union imposed a ban on the export of equipment and technology to Iran, including technology for the refining of natural gas in 2011. Iran’s production of natural gas amounted to 212.79 billion cubic meters in 2015.

According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the total volume of export of goods has declined with an estimated 35 percent, compared to 2010.

economy iran - import and export

Economy Iran - Oil production
Oil production, 1988-2012

The volume of imports of goods has declined with an estimated 8 percent. Iran has seen a 8.08 percent decline in its oil production in 2013, compared to 2011.

The total value of Iran’s exports in 2011 was 131.8 billion USD (est.), compared to 108.6 billion USD in 2010. Its main export partners were China 21 percent, India 9.3 percent, Japan 8.9 percent, Turkey 8.7 percent, South Korea 7.9 percent and Italy 5.2 percent. The total value of Iran’s imports in 2011 was 76.1 billion USD (est.), compared to 68.45 billion USD in 2010. Iran’s main import partners in 2011 were UAE 30.6 percent, China 17.2 percent, South Korea 8.4 percent, Germany 4.8 percent and Turkey 4.2 percent.