الصفحة الرئيسية / الشؤون الدولية / 1840، العام الذي فشلت فيه مصر في أن تصبح قوةً إقليمية

1840، العام الذي فشلت فيه مصر في أن تصبح قوةً إقليمية

International affairs-Muhammed Ali
مفاوضات بين نائب والي مصر محمد علي والبريطانيين. Photo Mary Evans Picture library Ltd

في سبتمبر 1840، كتب اللورد جون رسل، وهو سياسي بريطاني تولى منصب رئيس الوزراء مرتين، رسالةً إلى زميله، اللورد هولاند. وكأن كلماته كتبت الأسبوع الماضي، ذلك أنها تصف واقع حال الأزمة السورية اليوم، إذ قال “يبدو أن الأمور في الشرق تتجه نحو أزمة وأنا على ثقة أن جميع الأطراف سترى أنه لا ينبغي السماح للباشا الكبير بإشعال النيران في العالم، أياً كان ما سيفعله في سوريا أو حتى في بلاد ما بين النهرين.”

“الباشا الكبير” الذي كان يُشير إليه هو محمد علي، حاكم مصر، الذي دخل في صراعٍ مفتوح مع القوى الأوروبية، باستثناء فرنسا التي وقفت إلى جانبه، أو كما كان يعتقد. فقد كان من شأن هذا الصراع، الذي بلغ أوجه في صيف عام 1840، أن يُقلّص بشدة من سلطات مصر، ويوطد مكانة بريطانيا في المنطقة، كما أن لنتائجة انعكاساتٍ لا يزال يشعر بها المرء حتى يومنا هذا.

بدأ الأمر برمته في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر، عندما بدأ انحدار الحكومة العثمانية، التي كانت آنذاك لا تزال وسيط السلطة الرئيسي في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ترك هذا فراغاً أمام القادة العسكريين والسياسيين الطموحين للتدخل وسد الفراغ. كان أحد هؤلاء، محمد علي، الذي كان قائداً عسكرياً عثمانياً من أصولٍ ألبانية، والذي أرسل، في عام 1801، إلى مصر، وبعدها إلى سنجقٍ شبه مستقل من الإمبراطورية العثمانية احتله نابليون بونبارت، للإطاحة بالفرنسيين.

إلا أن محمد علي كان مصراً على إتباع نهجه الخاص. ومن خلال بناء تحالفاتٍ مع القادة المحليين وملاحقته لخصومه السياسيين والعسكريين بلا رحمة، تمكن على نحوٍ تدريجي من السيطرة على مصر وتعزيز سلطته.

international affairs-Muhammad Ali
محمد علي الكبير. Photo Flickr

وخلال العقود الأولى من القرن التاسع عشر، قام بتحديث الدولة المصرية، كما مركز الاقتصاد وصادر مساحاتٍ كبيرة من الأراضي الزراعية. وهكذا تمكنت الدولة من تنظيم المحاصيل التي تتم زراعتها، وخاصة القطن، الذي كان محط آمالٍ بعائداتٍ نقدية ضخمة. استخدمت الإيرادات التي تم توليدها لبناء جيش قوي وبيروقراطية وطنية. فقد تم إرسال مهندسين مصريين إلى الخارج لمعرفة كيفية إنشاء وتشغيل المصانع الحديثة وفقاً للنموذج الأوروبي، وبالتالي، أنتجت الصناعة المصرية الناشئة الأدوات والآلات والأسلحة، إذ كان الجيش المصري من أكبر المستفيدين منها.

لم تتمكن الحكومة العثمانية في القسطنطينية من وقف صعود محمد علي، الذي اعتبر أن الإمبراطورية العثمانية محكوم عليها بالفشل وعزم على إنشاء مملكة وراثية مستقلة لتكون الخلف الطبيعي للعثمانيين. ومع ذلك، كان أيضاً رجل يتمتع بالحذر ولم يرغب في معاداة القوى الأوروبية، كما أراد تجنب انهيار الإمبراطورية العثمانية.

فقد أيدّ بدايةً السلطان العثماني، حيث قام بحملاتٍ عسكرية في شبه الجزيرة العربية بالنيابة عنه. وفي عام 1827، ساعد في سحق التمرد اليوناني إلا أنه عانى من خسائر بحرية ضخمة ضد أسطول حلفاء من السفن البريطانية والفرنسية والروسية التي جاءت لمساندة اليونان.

طلب من السلطان منحه سوريا (وهي لبنان وسوريا وأجزاء من فلسطين اليوم) تعويضاً عن خسائره. فقد كانت سوريا ذات جاذبية، حيث كانت بمثابة حاجزٍ طبيعي بين الأراضي التي تسيطر عليها مصر والإمبراطورية العثمانية. كما شكلت أيضاً طرقاً تجاريةً هامة وسوقاً داخلية للبضائع المصرية.

رفض السلطان طلب محمد علي، إلا أنه لم يكن بالشخص الذي يقبل الرفض، وعليه، غزا محمد علي سوريا في أكتوبر 1831. ومن هناك، سار الجيش المصري إلى الأناضول وهزم الجيش العثماني في ديسمبر 1832 في معركة قونية. وبموجب معاهدة سلامٍ لاحقة، بوساطة من القوى الأوروبية القلقة، أصبحت سوريا الآن تحت الحكم المصري.

وبعد بضع سنوات، حاول العثمانيون استعادة سوريا، إلا أنهم عانوا مرةً أخرى من هزيمةٍ عسكرية مدمرة في معركة نصيبين. استمرت الأعمال القتالية، وفي يونيو 1840، انشقت البحرية العثمانية بأكملها مع مصر. فقد أصبح محمد علي يسيطر الآن على أجزاء كبيرة من مصر والسودان وشبه الجزيرة العربية وفلسطين وسوريا ولبنان، ويبدو أن مصر كانت متجهة إلى تولي زمام السلطة الإقليمية.

وإزاء القلق من تأثير إنهيار العثمانيين على أوروبا، تبلورت اللحظة التي قررت فيها القوى الأوروبية التدخل. واعتبر اللورد بالمرستون، الذي كان مسؤولاً عن السياسة الخارجية البريطانية، محمد علي “طاغيةً عظيم ومعتدي تسبب بشقاء شعبٍ كما لم يسبق من قبل.” والأهم من ذلك، حرصت بريطانيا على عدم وجود سلطةٍ إقليمية جديدة تستولي على الأراضي والطرق البحرية التي تقع بينها وبين مستعمراتها في الشرق الأقصى، سيما الهند.

وفي 15 يوليو 1840، وقعت بريطانيا العظمى والنمسا وبروسيا وروسيا على معاهدة لندن. منح ذلك محمد علي وذريته سيطرةً دائمةً على مصر إذا ما سُحب قواته من جميع المناطق المحتلة في سوريا وعدن والمدن المقدسة في الحجاز وجزيرة كريت واتفق على عدم الإنشقاق عن الإمبراطورية العثمانية. كما كان عليه أيضاً إعادة الأسطول العثماني المنشق.

وبدعمٍ من فرنسا، رفض محمد علي الامتثال لمطالب المعاهدة. ولعدة أسابيع في صيف عام 1840، كانت هناك مخاوف من اندلاع حربٍ بين بريطانيا وفرنسا حول هذه المسألة. لكن الملك الفرنسي، الذي كان معارضاً قوياً للحرب، تدخل، وفي خريف ذلك العام، وجد علي نفسه بمواجهة القوى الأوروبية بمفرده في حملةٍ عسكرية قصيرة اتسمت بالوحشية مما تركه مهزوماً أشد هزيمة.

وفي نوفمبر 1840، أجبر على القبول بشروط المعاهدة. فقد تحطمت أحلامه ببناء إمبراطورية لتكون خلفاً للإمبراطورية العثمانية. ويمكن للمرء أن يتصور ما سيكون عليه حال الشرق الأوسط وشبه الجزيرة العربية إذا ما نجح محمد علي، بكل ما يتمتع به من دهاءٍ وفطنةٍ وبصيرة، بالضرب بيدٍ من حديد كما كان عليه حاله في بداية ذلك العام.

Home / International Affairs / 1840, the Year Egypt Failed to Become a Regional Power

1840, the Year Egypt Failed to Become a Regional Power

International affairs-Muhammed Ali
Negotiations between the Egyptian Viceroy Muhammad Ali and the British. Photo Mary Evans Picture library Ltd

In September 1840, Lord John Russell, a British politician and twice prime minister, wrote a letter to his colleague, Lord Holland. His words could have been written last week, since they deal with a crisis in Syria.

“Affairs in the East seem to be moving to a crisis and I trust all parties will see that the old Pacha ought not to be allowed to set the world on fire, whatever he may do in Syria or even in Mesopotamia.”

The ‘old Pacha’ he was referring to was Muhammad Ali, the ruler of Egypt, who had come into open conflict with the European powers, with the exception of France which had sided with him, so he believed. This conflict, which came to a head in the summer and autumn of 1840, would severely curtail Egypt’s power, cement Britain’s position in the region and have repercussions that are felt even today.

It all started in the early 19th century, when the Ottoman government, until then the main power broker in the Mediterranean, was in decline. This left a vacuum for ambitious military and political leaders to step in and fill. One of these was Muhammad Ali, also known as Mehmet Ali. He was an Ottoman commander of Albanian descent, who, in 1801, was dispatched to Egypt, then a semiautonomous province of the Ottoman Empire and occupied by Napoleon Bonaparte, to oust the French.

But Muhammad Ali was determined to follow his own path. By building alliances with local leaders and ruthlessly going after his political and military opponents, he was gradually able to take control of Egypt and consolidate his power.

international affairs-Muhammad Ali
Muhammad Ali. Photo flickr

During the first decades of the 19th century, he set about modernizing the Egyptian state. He centralized the economy and expropriated large tracts of agricultural land. The state was thus able to regulate the crops that were grown, especially cotton, which promised high cash returns. The revenues this generated were used to build a strong military and a national bureaucracy. Egyptian engineers were sent abroad to learn how to establish and run modern factories according to the European model. The nascent Egyptian industry that emerged produced tools, machines and weapons, of which the Egyptian military was one of the largest recipients.

The Ottoman government in Constantinople was not able to stop Muhammad Ali’s ascent. He considered the Ottoman Empire to be doomed and was determined to establish a independent hereditary kingdom that would be the natural successor of the Ottomans. However, he was also a cautious man who did not want to antagonize the European powers and wanted to avoid the collapse of the Ottoman Empire.

He initially supported the Ottoman sultan, conducting military campaigns on the Arabian Peninsula on his behalf. In 1827, he helped to crush a Greek rebellion but suffered heavy naval losses against an allied fleet of British, French and Russian vessels that had come to Greece’s aid.

He asked the sultan to give him Syria (present-day Lebanon, Syria and parts of Palestine) as compensation for these losses. Syria was an attractive asset, acting as a natural buffer between the territory controlled by Egypt and the Ottoman Empire. It also offered trade routes and an internal market for Egyptian goods.

The sultan refused Muhammad Ali’s request. Not one to take no for an answer, Ali invaded Syria in October 1831. From there, the Egyptian army marched into Anatolia and defeated the Ottoman army in December 1832 at the Battle of Konya. A subsequent peace treaty, brokered by the alarmed European powers, accepted that Syria was now under Egyptian rule.

A few years later, the Ottomans tried to retake Syria but once again suffered a devastating military defeat at the Battle of Nezib. Hostilities continued and, in June 1840, the entire Ottoman navy defected to Egypt. Muhammad Ali now controlled large parts of present-day Egypt, Sudan, the Arabian Peninsula, Palestine, Syria and Lebanon, and it looked like Egypt was destined to take over the reins of regional power.

Concerned about the impact an Ottoman collapse would have on Europe, this was the moment the European powers decided to intervene. Lord Palmerston, who was in charge of British foreign policy, considered Muhammad Ali “as great a tyrant and aggressor as ever made a people wretched”. More importantly, Britain was anxious not to have a new regional power take over the territories and naval routes that lay between it and its colonies in the Far East, notably India.

On 15 July 1840, Great Britain, Austria, Prussia and Russia signed the London Convention. This granted Muhammad Ali and his descendants permanent control over Egypt if he withdrew his forces from all occupied areas in Syria, Adan, the holy cities in Hijaz and the island of Crete and agreed not secede from the Ottoman Empire. He also had to return the Ottoman fleet that had defected.

Backed by France, Muhammad Ali refused to comply with the demands of the convention. For several weeks in the summer of 1840, there were fears that Britain and France might even go to war with each other over the matter. But the French king, who was a staunch opponent of war, intervened and that autumn, Ali found himself facing the European powers on his own in a short but brutal military campaign that left him soundly defeated.

In November 1840, he was forced to accept the terms of the convention. His dreams of building an empire that would be a worthy successor to the Ottoman Empire had been shattered. One can only imagine what the Middle East and the Arabian Peninsula would have looked like if Muhammad Ali, with all his cunning, shrewdness and insight, had succeeded in playing the strong hand he had held at the start of that year.