الصفحة الرئيسية / قانون الأسرة و الأقليات / العنف الأسري في شمال افريقيا: بصيص أملٍ في ظل القوانين الجديدة؟

العنف الأسري في شمال افريقيا: بصيص أملٍ في ظل القوانين الجديدة؟

Tunisians-protest-against-domestic-violence
متظاهرون تونسيون يحملون شعارات خلال مظاهرة للاحتجاج على العنف ضد المرأة في تونس، دعما لإمرأة اغتصبها رجلان من الشرطة. Photo Polaris

عموماً، يتم تجنّب العنف الأسري بالقوانين والسياسيات التي تروّج للمساواة بين الجنسين في شمال افريقيا، ويرجع ذلك بشكلٍ أساسي لكفهم البصر عما يحصل خلف الأبواب الموصدة. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن إحراز تقدمٍ يُذكر ما لم يصبح الخاص عامّاً، في نهاية المطاف.

في الواقع، وعلى الرغم من أنّ البعد القانوني لا يشكل سوى عنصراً واحداً من الكوكبة الأوسع للعلاقات والمؤسسات الجنسانية، إلا أنه يُشكل عنصراً مصيرياً ورديفاً في شمال افريقيا. فقد شهدت المنطقة تحولاتٍ إجتماعية واقتصادية وسياسية عميقة في العقود الأربع الماضية، كما تبرز الحاجة إلى إعادة فتح باب النقاش بشأن العنف الأسري في ضوء هذا الواقع الجديد.

فالوضع القانوني للعنف المنزلي في شمال افريقيا يظهر جلياً عند إلقاء نظرةٍ سريعةٍ عليه. ففي المغرب على سبيل المثال، تُجرم المادة (490) من قانون العقوبات ممارسة المرأة للجنس خارج إطار الزواج، وتتراوح العقوبة بالسجن من شهر إلى عام. بيد أنه نادراً ما تُنقل هذه القضايا إلى أروقة المحاكم، لأن الإدانة تعتمد إما على شهادة شهود العيان أو إعتراف أحد الجناة. كما أنّ حمل المرأة غير المتزوجة دليلٌ على إقامتها علاقة جنسية وقد يؤدي هذا إلى الملاحقة الجنائية، إلا أنّ مسؤولية شريكها الذكر غير معترف بها بموجب القانون. وعلى الرغم من أنّ جرائم الشرف نادرة الحدوث جداً في المغرب، إلا أن الصحف تورد في بعض الأحيان تقارير عن ملاحقاتٍ قضائية بحق النساء الحوامل اللواتي لا يستطعنّ تحديد هوية والد الطفل. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا توجد قوانين تحظر على وجه التحديد العنف الأسري، على الرغم من وجود نواهي عامة ضد الإعتداء ترد في قانون العقوبات، القابلة للتطبيق نظرياً على هذه الحالات. وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، تعتبر الإساءة الجسدية سبباً موجباً للطلاق، إلا أنه ينبغي على الزوجة دعم إدعائها بشهود (أنظر المادة (100) من المدوّنة أو قانون الأسرة المغربي). وفي حال لم تتمكن الزوجة من إثبات قضيتها، تُعيد السلطات الزوجة إلى منزل المعتدي عليها، مما قد يتركها في وضعٍ أسوء مما كانت عليه قبل تقديم الشكوى. ونتيجةً لذلك، عددٌ قليلٌ من النساء يُبلغنّ عن تعرضهنّ للعنف المنزلي.

كما يُعتبر الاعتداء الجنسي والاغتصاب جريمة جنائية، بالرغم من أنّ اغتصاب الزوجة ليس كذلك، إذ تصل العقوبة القصوى لكل جريمة السجن لخمس سنوات. وبالنظر للمفاهيم المجتمعية السائدة المتعلقة بشرف الأفراد والأسرة، نادراً ما يظهر ضحايا العنف الجنسي على الملأ خوفاً من جلب العار لأسرهم. فقد ألغي القانون رقم 475 الذي يسمح للمغتصب بالزواج من ضحيته، إلا أن الإبلاغ عن الاغتصاب لا يزال محرماً.

فضحايا العنف الأسري من النساء لا يتمتعنّ بحماية مناسبة من القانون أو المجتمع. وغالباً ما تواجه النساء صعوبة في تقديم أدلةٍ على العنف الأسري، إذ يفتقرنّ عادةً إلى وجود شهود، كما لا تأخذ السلطات بكلمتهنّ بعين الإعتبار.

يشكّل العنف الأسري أغلبية- أي ما متوسطه 74%– من العنف المُرتكب ضد المرأة في المغرب، وذلك وفقاً لتقريرٍ عن العنف الجنساني في الفترة ما بين سبتمبر 2005 وأكتوبر 2006 والذي نشرته جمعية أناروز، وهي شبكة وطنية لدعم النساء من ضحايا العنف. ومن الأشكال الأخرى للعنف والتي شملها التقرير، العنف المؤسسي (8,8%)، والعنف خارج إطار الزواج (6,8%)، الذي يشمل الإيذاء البدني واللفظي والاعتداء والقتل (14,4%). .

وفي الجزائر، يُشكل العنف الأسري مشكلةً قانونية واجتماعية. فقد قدمت حوالي 7,400 إمرأة شكاوى بتعرضهنّ للعنف المنزلي عام 2009، أي أكثر بـ1,555 شكوى عن عام 2004، وذلك وفقاً لوكالة إنفاذ القانون التي تعالج مثل هذه الحالات. ووفقاً لـ Belala ، “العنف ضد المرأة مشكلة منتشرة في الجزائر. وهو يمس جميع الطبقات الاجتماعية وجميع المناطق، ما عدا في أقصى الجنوب حيث ينفي الطوارق الرجال الذين يغتصبون النساء.”

فقد كانت منظمة SOS Woman، وهي منظمة جزائرية غير حكومية أنشئت قبل حوالي 15 عاماً، أول من شجب العنف الأسري ضد المرأة علناً. ووفقاً للمنظمة غير الحكومية، على الرغم من تزايد العنف الأسري ضد المرأة في الجزائر، إلا أنّ الضحايا لا يزلنّ يخشينّ الفضيحة وبالتالي يتجنبنّ التوجه إلى الشرطة أو المحكمة. وحسبما ذكر متحدثٌ باسم المنظمة “تتحدث الضحايا إلينا على الهاتف دون ذكر أسمائهن. تصلنا مئات المكالمات من النساء اللواتي يُجبرن على الجماع من الدبر أو يُجبرن على القيام بأمور لا ترضيهنّ أخلاقياً.”

ولا يزال القانون الجزائري يسمح للمغتصب بالإفلات من الملاحقة القضائية بالزواج من ضحيته، على الرغم من أن قانوناً جديداً صدر في عام 2016 يعُرّف التحرش الجنسي والعنف ضد المرأة بالجريمة. وبناءً على ذلك، إذا ما منع العنف الأسري المرأة من العمل لأكثر من 15 يوماً، يواجه الجاني عقوبة السجن لفترة تترواح ما بين عامين وخمسة أعوام. وإذا ما تعرضت المرأة للتشويه، أو إذا ما تسبب العنف بفقدان البصر أو أحد الأطراف، أو أي نوعٍ من الأضرار الدائمة، يمكن أن يواجه الجاني عقوبة السجن من 10 إلى 20 عاماً.

وفي تونس، خلصت دراسة استقصائية أجراها عام 2012 المكتب الوطني للأسرة والسكان، إلى أن واحدة من كل خمس نساء هنّ من ضحايا العنف الأسري. ويشمل هذا العنف الجنسي، والضرب بقصد الإيذاء، وغيرها من العنف الجسدي والنفسي، مثل التهديد والتخويف داخل حدود الزواج. فعلى سبيل المثال، شملت الدراسة حالة سيدة تبلغ من العمر 49 عاماً وهي أم لستة أطفال ومتزوجة منذ 30 عاماً، تعرضت لعنف بدني ونفسي وجنسي خلال فترة الزواج. رفعت المرأة قضية ضد زوجها في عام 1979، ومع ذلك، اضطرت إلى سحبها عندما ألقيّ القبض عليه واحتجز لمدة أسبوع لأنها تعتمد عليه مالياً. وفي عام 1998، ضربها زوجها عندما رفضت ترك وظيفتها. وفي نهاية المطاف، تركت الزوجة منزل العائلة وقدمت شهادة طبية بإصاباتها للقاضي، إلا أن الزوج قدم طلباً للطلاق بحجة النشوز، وهي خطوة لم تتمكن من اتخاذها لأن موافقته كانت لازمة للطلاق.

الجمعية التونسية الوحيدة التي تُدير مأوىً للنساء اللواتي يتعرضنّ للإساءة هي الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات (ATFD). ووفقاً لتقريرٍ عن النساء ضحايا العنف الأسري، والذي نشرته الجمعية عام 2001، فإن معظم النساء اللواتي يلتمسنّ المأوى في الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات، تعرضنّ للضرب إما من الزوج/ الشريك أو من أحد الذكور من أفراد الأسر الممتدة. إن الأسباب الرئيسية لعدم إبلاغ المرأة عن العنف هي التبعية الاقتصادية وعدم الاعتزاز بالنفس. أما بالنسبة للموقف الرسمي بشأن العنف الأسري، فإن الدولة التونسية تفضل ترك الأمر للعائلة الممتدة للتعامل مع الأمر.

وعلى الرغم من أنّ تونس تمتلك بعضاً من أكثر القوانين تقدماً في مجال حقوق المرأة في المنطقة، كما أن الدستور الجديد الذي أقر في عام 2014 يضمن ظاهرياً المساواة الكاملة بين الجنسين، فإن الاضطرابات المستمرة في أعقاب ثورة عام 2011 تعني أن البلاد تحرز مرتبة متخلفة عندما يتعلق الأمر بسلامة المرأة.

وعلى الصعيد القانوني، تعالج المادة (218) من قانون العقوبات التونسي العنف الأسري. فقد أدخل تعديلٌ على هذه المادة في عام 1993، مما رفع من شدة العقوبة على الاعتداء الذي يرتكبه أحد الزوجين ضد الآخر أو اعتداء أحد الوالدين على الطفل. وبموجب المادة نفسها، فإن عقوبة العنف الأسري هي السجن لمدة سنتين وبغرامة قدرها ألفيّ دينار. ويمكن رفع هذا الحكم إلى السجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات وغرامة قدرها 3 آلاف دينار، إذا كان العنف مع سبق الإصرار. وفي الحالات التي تقرر فيها الضحية سحب الدعوى، تنص المادة على وقف الإجراءات أو المحاكمة أو إنفاذ العقوبة.

باختصار، في حين أن الاغتصاب أو العنف الجنسي في إطار الزواج يتم تجريمه في النظام القانوني المغربي، فإن القانون التونسي لا يحظره صراحةً. العنف الأسري محظورٌ في المغرب وفقاً للمبادىء التوجيهية التي قدمها المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة المعني بالعنف ضد المرأة في الدورة الثانية والخمسين للجنة حقوق الإنسان التابعة للأمم المتحدة (U.N. doc. E/CN/.4/1996/53, Add.2). غير أنه تجدر الإشارة إلى أن المنظمات غير الحكومية النسائية، تسعى، في بلدان شمال أفريقيا الثلاث المذكورة أعلاه، إلى زيادة الوعي بمسألة العنف الأسري من خلال الحملات وإسداء العون. ولا تزال هناك حاجة ماسة إلى الإرادة السياسية، والتدريب الكافي للشرطة والقضاة، وإنفاذ القانون ومعاقبة مرتكبي العنف الأسري.

كما ذكر تقريرٌ لمنظمة العفو الدولية حول مصر، وجود العنف الجسدي والنفسي الوحشي ضد النساء، إذ كان الضرب والجلد والحرق والعزلة القسرية من بين الانتهاكات التي أبلغت عنها النساء اللاتي أجريت معهن مقابلات. كما أجرت وزارة الصحة المصرية استقصاءها الخاص بشأن العنف الأسري، حيث أفادت نصف النساء اللواتي تمت مقابلتهنّ بأنهنّ تعرضنّ لشكلٍ ما من أشكال العنف الأسري. وتلقي حركات حقوق المرأة باللائمة على التحيزات المتأصلة والقوانين التمييزية للعنف الأسري الجنساني. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن ازدراء الشرطة والنظام القضائي المتحيز، يُثني النساء عن الإبلاغ عن حوادث العنف.

وفي ليبيا، تُفضي الحرب الأهلية الجارية إلى العنف ضد المرأة. ومن المعروف أن النساء يدفعن ثمناً باهظاً جداً في المجالين الخاص والعام في أوقات الحرب، إذ يشكل العنف الأسري جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الحياة اليومية لليبيين المحاصرين في الصراع.

Home / Family Law and Minorities / Domestic Violence in North Africa: Do New Laws Offer a Glimmer of Hope?

Domestic Violence in North Africa: Do New Laws Offer a Glimmer of Hope?

Tunisians-protest-against-domestic-violence
Tunisian protesters hold slogans during a demonstration to protest the violence against women in Tunis in support of a woman who was raped by two policemen. Photo Polaris

Domestic violence is generally eschewed by laws and policies promoting gender equality in North Africa, mainly because these are blind to what occurs in the private sphere. Yet little progress can be made if the private is not ultimately rendered public.

Indeed, although the legal dimension constitutes only one element of the broader constellation of gender relations and institutions, it is a crucial and understudied one in North Africa. The region has witnessed deep social, economic and political transformations in the last four decades, and there is a need to reopen the debate on domestic violence in light of this new reality.

A look at the legal status of domestic violence in North Africa is telling. In Morocco, for example, Article 490 of the Penal Code criminalizes extramarital sex for women and sanctions jail time from one month to one year. However, these cases are rarely taken to court, since a conviction depends on either eyewitness testimony or a confession by one of the perpetrators. An unmarried woman’s pregnancy is proof of sexual relations and may lead to criminal prosecution, but her male partner’s culpability is not established by law. Although honour killings are extremely rare in Morocco, newspapers sometimes report the prosecutions of pregnant women who cannot identify the father of their child. Further, no laws specifically prohibit domestic violence, though general prohibitions against assault found within the Penal Code are theoretically applicable to such situations. Physical abuse is grounds for divorce, but the wife must be able to call on witnesses to support her claims (see Article 100 of the Moudawana or Family Code). If she is unable to prove her case, the authorities will return a woman to her abuser’s home, potentially leaving her in a worse situation than before she filed the complaint. Consequently, few women report domestic abuse.

Sexual assault and rape are both criminal offences, although spousal rape is not. The maximum sentence for each crime is five years in prison. Given the prevailing societal concepts of personal and family honour, victims of sexual violence rarely come forward for fear of shaming their families. Law 475, which allowed a rapist to marry his victim, was repealed but reporting rape is still taboo.

Female victims of domestic violence are not well protected by the law or society. Women often have difficulty providing evidence of domestic violence, as they usually lack witnesses and their word is not given much weight by the authorities.

Domestic violence accounts for the majority – an average of 74 per cent – of violence committed against women in Morocco, according to a report on gender-based violence between September 2005 and October 2006 published by Anaruz, a national support network for women victims of violence. Other forms of violence covered by the report are institutional violence (8.8 per cent), violence outside marriage (6.8 per cent) and social violence, which includes physical and verbal abuse, assault and murder (14.4 per cent).

In Algeria, domestic violence is both a legal and a social problem. Around 7,400 women filed domestic violence complaints in 2009, 1,555 more than in 2004, according to the law enforcement agency that handles such cases. According to Belala, an Algerian researcher and blogger, “Violence against women is a pervasive problem in Algeria. It touches all social classes and all regions, except in the extreme south where the Tuaregs banish men who rape women.”

SOS Woman, an Algerian NGO set up around 15 years ago, was the first to publicly denounce domestic violence against women. According to the NGO, although domestic violence is increasing in Algeria, victims still fear scandal and so avoid taking cases to the police or court. “Victims talk to us anonymously on the phone. We get hundreds of calls from women who complain of being sodomized or forced to do things they are not morally comfortable with,” a spokesperson for the organization said.

Algerian law still allows a rapist to escape prosecution by marrying his victim, although a new law passed in 2016 defines sexual harassment and violence against women as a crime. Accordingly, if a domestic attack prevents a woman from working for more than 15 days, the perpetrator faces two to five years in jail. If a woman is mutilated, or the violence causes loss of eyesight or a limb, or any sort of permanent damage, the perpetrator could face from ten to 20 years in prison.

In Tunisia, a 2012 survey conducted by the National Office of Family and Population, found that one in five women are victims of domestic violence. This includes sexual violence, battery and other physical and psychological violence, such as threats and intimidation within the confines of marriage. For example, the survey included the case of a 49-year-old mother of six who had been married for 30 years and was subjected to physical, psychological and sexual violence over the course of the marriage. The woman filed a case against her husband in 1979. However, she had to withdraw it when he was arrested and held in custody for a week because she was dependent on him financially.. In 1998, her husband beat her when she refused to leave her job. The woman eventually left the family home and presented a medical certificate of her injuries to a judge. However, her husband filed for divorce on the grounds of spousal desertion, a step she was unable to take herself because his consent was needed for the divorce to take place.

The only Tunisian association to run a shelter for abused women is the Tunisian Association of Democratic Women (ATFD). According to a report on women victims of domestic violence, which the association published in 2001, most women who seek shelter in AFTD are beaten either by their husbands/partners or by a male member of their extended family. The main reasons that women do not report the violence is economic dependency and lack of self-esteem. As for the official stance on domestic violence, the Tunisian state prefers to leave it to the extended family to deal with.

Although Tunisia has some of the most progressive laws on women’s rights in the region, and a new constitution passed in 2014 ostensibly guarantees full gender equality, the ongoing upheaval following the 2011 revolution means that the country scores poorly when it comes to women’s safety.

On the legal front, domestic violence is dealt with in Article 218 of the Tunisian Penal Code. An amendment to this article was made in 1993, increasing the severity of the penalty for an assault committed by one spouse against another or assault by a parent of a child. Under the same article, the penalty for domestic violence is imprisonment for two years and a fine of 2,000 dinars. This can be increased to three years’ imprisonment and a fine of 3,000 dinars if the violence is premeditated. In situations where the victim decides to withdraw the case, the article stipulates that the proceedings, trial or enforcement of the penalty shall be discontinued.

In sum, while rape or sexual violence within marriage is in the course of being criminalized in the Moroccan legal system, Tunisian law does not explicitly prohibit it. Domestic violence is prohibited in Morocco, in accordance with the guidelines submitted by the United Nations Special Rapporteur on violence against women to the 52nd session of the United Nations Commission on Human Rights (U.N. doc. E/CN/.4/1996/53, Add.2). It must be noted, however, that in the three North African countries covered above, women’s NGOs endeavour to raise awareness about the issue of domestic violence through campaigns and assistance. Political will, adequate training for the police and judges, law enforcement and the punishment of domestic violence are still much needed.

A 2015 Amnesty International report on Egypt cited brutal physical and psychological violence against women. Beating, whipping, burning and forced seclusion were among the abuses reported by the women interviewed. The Egyptian Ministry of Health conducted its own survey on domestic violence, and half of the women interviewed reported that they had experienced some form of domestic violence. Women’s rights movements blame ingrained prejudices and discriminatory laws for gender-based domestic violence. Police contempt and a biased justice system discourage women from reporting incidents of violence.

In Libya, the ongoing civil war is conducive to violence against women. Women are known to pay a particularly high price in both the private and public sphere in times of war. Domestic violence is part and parcel of the everyday life of Libyans caught in the conflict.