الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر السادات (1970 – 1981)

مصر السادات (1970 – 1981)

الرئيس أنور السادات
الرئيس أنور السادات

غيّر أنور السادات (1918-1981) الاتجاه بشكل جذري. فقد تخلى عن سياسة النمط السوفييتي للتخطيط الاقتصادي المركزي وأدخل آليات السوق الحرة تحت شعار الانفتاح. ففتح الباب للاستثمار الأجنبي، وأُرسل آلاف المستشارين الاقتصاديين السوفييت إلى بلادهم.

كان طموح السادات إعادة تأمين مصر بعد الهزيمة النكراء في حرب 1967. وبعد سياسة الانفتاح غير المثمرة على الولايات المتحدة، الداعمة الرئيسية لإسرائيل، استعدّ السادات، بالتعاون مع سوريا، لهجوم مفاجئ على إسرائيل. فشنّت مصر هجوماً في 6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1973، فعبرت قناة السويس وقهرت القوات الإسرائيلية. وبعد وقت قصير، خسرت مصر الكثير من الأراضي التي كانت سيطرت عليها في بداية الحرب في هجوم إسرائيلي مضاد. ثم ما لبثت أن أدركت كل من إسرائيل ومصر أن وقف إطلاق النار هو الخيار الأفضل. وكان للسادات الفضل في محاربة إسرائيل في الوقت الذي كانت تعتقد فيه معظم القوى العالمية أنها مهمة مستحيلة، خاصة بعد الهزيمة الكارثية التي لحقت بالعرب عام 1967. صرّح السادات لاحقاً أنه لم يكن يعتزم شن حرب واسعة ضد إسرائيل أو استعادة جميع الأراضي التي فقدتها مصر في شبه جزيرة سيناء. وقال إنه أراد دفع الولايات المتحدة، المنشغلة بالحرب الباردة ضد الاتحاد السوفييتي في ذلك الوقت، لفتح محادثات سلام بين الجانبين من أجل استعادة الأراضي العربية التي احتلتها إسرائيل عام 1967.

 

اتفاقات كامب ديفيد

الرئيس أنور السادات والرئيس الأمريكي جيمي كارتر ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي مناحيم بيغن يتصافحان أمام البيت الأبيض عام 1979 اضغط للتكبير
الرئيس أنور السادات والرئيس الأمريكي جيمي كارتر ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي مناحيم بيغن يتصافحان أمام البيت الأبيض عام 1979 اضغط للتكبير

في السنوات التالية، أقام السادات علاقات ودية مع الولايات المتحدة، وبدأت المفاوضات مع إسرائيل. عام 1977، سافر إلى القدس، وكان أول زعيم عربي يزور إسرائيل، حيث ألقى كلمة في الكنيست الإسرائيلي. عام 1978، تم التوقيع على اتفاقية كامب ديفيد من قبل السادات ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي مناحيم بيغن (1913-1992). واعترفت مصر بحق إسرائيل في الوجود، ووافقت إسرائيل على انسحاب كامل من سيناء. ورغم بعض الترتيبات المتعلقة بمستقبل الفلسطينيين، وصفت الدول العربية الصفقة التي عقدها السادات مع إسرائيل بالخيانة للقضية العربية كما وصفته بالرئيس الخائن. وتم تعليق عضوية مصر في جامعة الدول العربية التي تم نقل مقرها من القاهرة إلى تونس. في البداية، حاول السادات كسب المصريين من خلال السماح لهم بالمزيد من الحريات. فأصدر عفواً شاملاً عن السجناء السياسيين، بما في ذلك قادة الإخوان المسلمين الذين سُجنوا من قبل سلفه عبد الناصر. كما خفف الرقابة على الصحافة، وسمح بإنشاء الأحزاب السياسية عام 1977.

بدت سياسات السادات الاقتصادية أنها تأتي بثمارها. استثمرت حكومات دول الخليج العربية بكثافة، بعد تدفق الأموال من ارتفاع أسعار النفط؛ ولكن الثروة الجديدة لم يتم توزعها بالتساوي. ففي حين استفاد الأغنياء والطبقة الوسطى، بقي الفقراء فقراء، وتميزت السنوات الأخيرة للسادات بتهم الفساد ضد طبقة رجال الأعمال الجديدة التي استفادت من سياسة الانفتاح.

اغتيال الرئيس أنور السادات

اغتيال الرئيس أنور السادات خلال استعراض عسكري في القاهرة في 6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1981
اغتيال الرئيس أنور السادات خلال استعراض عسكري في القاهرة في 6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1981
خالد إسلامبولي قائد المجموعة العسكرية التي اغتالت السادات
خالد إسلامبولي قائد المجموعة العسكرية التي اغتالت السادات

 

مع نمو الشقاق الاجتماعي، واجه السادات المعارضة اليسارية بالسماح بالمزيد من الحريات للجماعات الإسلامية السياسية، ولكن عندما حوّل الإسلاميون انتقاداتهم للسادات وسياساته الاقتصادية والفساد واتفاقية السلام مع إسرائيل، حاول كبح جماحهم مرة أخرى عندما أمر بتضييق الخناق عليهم في أيلول/سبتمبر 1981. وأُلقِيَ القبض على الآلاف من الأصوليين المسلمين وغيرهم من المعارضين السياسيين. اغتيل السادات في القاهرة في 6 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1981 خلال استعراض عسكري من قبل عدد من الضباط والجنود المرتبطين بالجماعة الإسلامية.

Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Sadat’s Egypt (1970-1981)

Sadat’s Egypt (1970-1981)


Anwar Sadat (1918-1981) changed course radically. He abandoned the Soviet-style policy of centralized economic planning and introduced free-market mechanisms under the slogan Infitah (opening). Foreign investment was welcomed, and thousands of economic advisors from the Soviet Union were sent home.

Sadat’s ambition was to reassert Egypt after its demoralizing defeat in the 1967 War. After fruitless political overtures to the United States, Israel’s main supporter, he prepared, in cooperation with Syria, for a surprise attack on Israel. So on 6 October 1973 Egypt launched an offensive, crossing the Suez Canal and overwhelming the Israeli forces. Shortly afterwards, however, in an Israeli counteroffensive, Egypt lost most of the territory that it had won at the outset of the war. Both Israel and Egypt soon saw a ceasefire as the best option. Sadat is remembered for going to war with Israel at a time when most world powers thought this an impossible mission, after the disastrous defeat the Arabs suffered in 1967. Sadat later said he did not plan to launch a wide war against Israel or to restore all territories Egypt lost in the Sinai Peninsula. He said he wanted to push the United States, occupied with the Cold War against the Soviet Union at that time, to open peace talks between the two sides in order to reclaim Arab lands Israel had occupied in 1967.

Camp David Accord

In the following years Sadat established friendly relations with the United States and began negotiations with Israel. In 1977, he travelled to Jerusalem, the first Arab leader to visit Israel, and addressed the Israeli Parliament, the Knesset. In 1978, the Camp David Accord was signed by Sadat and the Israeli Prime Mnister, Menachem Begin (1913-1992). Egypt recognized Israel’s right to exist, and Israel agreed to a complete withdrawal from the Sinai. Although some arrangements were made concerning the future of the Palestinians, Egypt’s Arab neighbours considered Sadat’s unilateral deal with Israel treason to the Arab cause and the President thus a traitor. Egypt was thrown out of the Arab League (League of Arab States). Its headquarters was moved from Cairo to Tunis. Sadat initially tried to win over the population by allowing them more freedom. An extensive amnesty was granted to political prisoners, including leaders of the Muslim Brotherhood who had been imprisoned by his predecessor, Nasser. Press censorship was relaxed, and the establishment of political parties was allowed in 1977.

Sadat’s economic policies seemed to be paying off. Gulf Arab governments, flush with money from high oil prices, invested heavily, but the new wealth was not distributed evenly. While the rich and a new middle class benefited, the poor remained poor, and Sadat’s last years in office were marked by charges of corruption against the new business class that benefited from the Infitah policy.

President Anwar al-Sadat

President Anwar al-Sadat, US President Jimmy Carter and Prime Minister Menachem Begin of Israel shake hands in front of the White House in Washington, 1979.

The assassination of President Anwar al-Sadat


Assassination of President Anwar al-Sadat during a parade in Cairo, on 6 October 1981

Khaled Islambuli, leader of the military group that assassinated Sadat
As social discord grew, Sadat countered leftist opposition by allowing more freedom to the political Islamic groups, but when the Islamists turned their criticism to Sadat and his economic policies, corruption, and the peace accord with Israel, he tried to rein them in again by ordering a clamp-down in September 1981. Thousands of Muslim fundamentalists and other political opponents were arrested. Sadat was assassinated in Cairo on 6 October 1981, during a military parade, by a number of officers and soldiers linked to al-Jamaa al-Islamiya (the Islamic Group).