الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر عبد الناصر (1956 – 1970)

مصر عبد الناصر (1956 – 1970)

القوات البحرية البريطانية تنزل عام 1956 / Photo HH
القوات البحرية البريطانية تنزل عام 1956 / Photo HH
رئيس الوزراء البريطاني أنتوني إيدن (1955-1957) وجمال غبد الناصر عام 1955
رئيس الوزراء البريطاني أنتوني إيدن (1955-1957) وجمال غبد الناصر عام 1955

كانت أولى القرارات الأكثر ثورية التي اتخذها جمال عبد الناصر (1918-1970) اعتماد قانون استصلاح الأراضي ومصادرة كافة عقارات الإقطاعيين وإعادة توزيع الأراضي على الفلاحين. وتم تجريد كبار الإقطاعيين، المصريين والأجانب، من ملكياتهم، وأدى التأميم إلى رحيل الكثير من الجاليات الأجنبية.

كانت الخطوة التاريخية الأخرى قبول العرض السوفييتي بإعادة تسليح وتدريب القوات المصرية. فقامت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بعرقلة قرض من البنك الدولي لبناء سد أسوان العالي. ورداً على ذلك، قام عبد الناصر بتأميم قناة السويس في 26 تموز/يوليو 1956. واكتمل انسحاب القوات البريطانية في 18 تموز/يوليو 1956.

قامت بريطانيا وفرنسا بتشويه سمعة عبد الناصر بتلقيبه بـ ‘هتلر العرب’. ثم اتفقتا سراً مع إسرائيل على ضرورة غزوها لسيناء في 29 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1956، مما يعطي ذريعة لهما (بريطانيا وفرنسا) بالتدخل عسكرياً. وخوفاً من خسارة مصر لصالح الاتحاد السوفييتي بشكل كامل، ضغطت واشنطن على بريطانيا وفرنسا وإسرائيل لوقف الأعمال العدائية، مهدّدة بعواقب اقتصادية.

برز جمال عبد الناصر كبطل قومي. فكان لجاذبيته الشخصية وأيديولوجيته حول القومية العربية أن جعلت له شعبية واسعة بين الجماهير المصرية والعربية. وأصبحت مصر رائدة في مناهضة الاستعمار ودعم نضالات التحرر في شمال أفريقيا والمنطقة العربية. وعلى أساس هذا النجاح، لعب الزعيم جمال عبد الناصر – مع رئيس وزراء الهند بانديت نهرو، ورئيس جمهورية يوغوسلافيا السابق، ورئيس جمهورية إندونيسيا سوكارنو – دوراً بارزاً في حركة تسمى بـ “عدم الانحياز“.

الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر (يمين) يتحدث مع رئيس الاتحاد السوفييتي نيكيتا كروشيف عام 1964 / Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير
الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر (يمين) يتحدث مع رئيس الاتحاد السوفييتي نيكيتا كروشيف عام 1964 / Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير

لاستياء أمريكا، تقرّبت مصر من الإتحاد السوفييتي. فقدمت موسكو مساعدات مالية وفنية لبناء السد العالي في أسوان وزودت مصر بالمعدات العسكرية والتدريب لمواجهة تعزيزات الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لجيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي.

في شباط/فبراير 1958، قررت حكومتا مصر وسوريا توحيد بلديهما وتشكيل الجمهورية العربية المتحدة (استمر الاتحاد حتى عام 1962).

بعد سلسلة من الحوادث المرتبطة ارتباطاً وثيقاً بجهود إسرائيل للسيطرة على إمدادات المياه من لبنان وسوريا، أمر عبد الناصر بانسحاب قوات الطوارئ العائدة للأمم المتحدة (UNEF)، والتي كانت تتمركز في شبه جزيرة سيناء في أعقاب أزمة السويس. ثم أرسل عبد الناصر قواته وفرض حصاراً على حركة السفن المتجهة إلى ميناء إيلات الإسرائيلي عبر مضيق تيران. عندئذ، شنت إسرائيل هجوماً واسع النطاق على مصر واحتلت شبه جزيرة سيناء بأكملها في غضون ستة أيام (ومن هنا جاء اسم حرب الأيام الستة أو حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967). خلال الحرب، احتلت إسرائيل أيضاً قطاع غزة (الذي كانت تديره مصر) والضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية (المضمومة إلى الأردن) ومرتفعات الجولان (السورية). تم إغلاق قناة السويس وبقيت مغلقة مدة ثماني سنوات. أذلت الهزيمة النكراء الحكومات العربية؛ وفي الواقع، تأثرعبد الناصر كثيراً بها حتى أنه أعلن عن استقالته من منصب الرئيس. فأجبره الدعم الجماهيري على البقاء في منصبه؛ ولكن على المدى الطويل، لم يعد بريق شخصيته قادراً على إخفاء سوء الإدارة الاقتصادية. ومع زيادة المعارضة السياسية، كان رد نظام عبد الناصر بالمزيد من القمع. وتم دمج جميع الأحزاب السياسية في الاتحاد الاشتراكي العربي، واعتقلت أجهزة أمن الدولة العديد من معارضي للنظام.

توفي عبد الناصر بأزمة قلبية في 28 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1970، تاركاً مصير مصر في أيدي نائبه أنور السادات (الذي كان من حركة الضباط الأحرار). نزل الملايين إلى الشوارع حداداً على عبد الناصر. ورغم الحالة المزرية التي كانت تعيشها البلاد، إلا أن عبد الناصر حقق، خلال فترة رئاسته، تقدماً اجتماعياً من خلال الإصلاحات السياسية والاقتصادية الجذرية. وأصبح التعليم العالي متاحاً للجميع، بغض النظر عن الطبقة الاجتماعية، وتحسنت مرافق الرعاية الصحية العامة بشكل كبير.

الناصرية

مقابلة مع عبد الناصر نُشرت على اسطوانات الفينيل
مقابلة مع عبد الناصر نُشرت على اسطوانات الفينيل

كان عبد الناصر أول مصري يقود البلاد منذ سقوط الفراعنة. فترك تقليد الفكر السياسي الذي لا يزال يحظى بشعبية بين المثقفين المصريين. ومن الصعب إيجاز الأيديولوجية الناصرية: فهي ثورية ووطنية وقومية عربية وعلمانية ومناهضة للإمبريالية ودكتاتورية واشتراكية؛ وقبل كل شيء، مرتبطة ارتباطاً وثيقاً بعبد الناصر نفسه. بعد وفاة عبد الناصر، تجزأت الناصرية إلى أنواع بعدد أنصارها المتخاصمين حول الإرث الحقيقي لزعيمهم. إلا أن عبد الناصر يبقى الزعيم العربي الوحيد الذي حملت عقيدة سياسية اسمه، والتي لا تزال مستمرة في حزب سياسي بعد الثورة المصرية الأخيرة.

Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Nasser’s Egypt (1956-1970)

Nasser’s Egypt (1956-1970)


British mariners land in 1956 / Photo HH

One of the first and most revolutionary decisions of Gamal Abdel Nasser (1918-1970) was the adoption of a land-reform law, seizing all feudal estates and redistributing lands to the farmers, the fellahin. Large landowners, Egyptian or foreign, were dispossessed, and the nationalizations led to the departure of much of the foreign community.

Another historic step was the acceptance of a Soviet offer for the rearmament and training of Egypt’s forces. The United States subsequently blocked a loan from the World Bank for the construction of the Aswan High Dam. In response, Nasser nationalized the Suez Canal on 26 July 1956. Withdrawal was completed on 18 July 1956.

Britain and France demonized Nasser as the ‘Arab Hitler’. Secretly, they agreed with Israel that it should invade the Sinai on 29 October 1956, providing the excuse for Britain and France to intervene militarily. Washington, fearing that Egypt would be lost to the Soviet Union permanently, pressured Britain, France, and Israel to cease hostilities by threatening them with economic consequences.

Nasser emerged as a champion. His charisma and his ideology of Arab nationalism made him immensely popular among the Egyptian and other Arab masses. Egypt became the frontrunner of anti-colonialism, supporting liberation struggles in northern Africa and the Arab region. On the basis of this success President Nasser – with India’s Pandit Nehru, former Yugoslavia’s Tito, and Indonesia’s Sukarno – came to play a prominent role in the so-called Non-Aligned Movement.

Much to America’s dismay, Egypt moved closer to the Soviet Union. Moscow provided financial and technical aid to construct the Aswan High Dam and delivered military hardware and training to counter the strengthening of Israel’s defence forces by the United States.

In February 1958 the governments of Egypt and Syria decided to merge their countries and form the United Arab Republic (the union would last until 1962).

After a series of incidents closely related to Israel’s efforts to control water supplies from Lebanon and Syria Nasser ordered the United Nations Emergency Force (UNEF), which was stationed in the Sinai Peninsula in the aftermath of the Suez Crisis, to be withdrawn. Nasser then sent in his forces and imposed a blockade on shipping to the Israeli port of Eilat through the Tiran Straits. Thereupon Israel launched a large-scale attack on Egypt and occupied the whole Sinai Peninsula within six days (hence the name Six Day War or June War of 1967). During that war Israel also occupied the Gaza Strip (administered by Egypt) and the West Bank, including East Jerusalem (annexed to Jordan) and the Golan Heights (Syrian territory). The Suez Canal was closed and would remain closed for the next eight years. Arab governments were humiliated by the devastating defeat; in fact, Nasser was so affected that he announced his resignation as president. Popular support forced him to continue in office, but in the long run, the glamour of his personality could no longer hide the economic mismanagement. As political dissent increased, Nasser’s regime responded with more repression. All political parties were merged into the Arab Socialist Union, and the state security services interned many opponents of the regime.

Nasser died of a heart attack on 28 September 1970, leaving the fate of Egypt in the hands of his vice-president, Anwar Sadat (who had belonged to the Free Officers Movement). Millions turned out in the streets to mourn Nasser’s death. Although the country was in dire straits, Nasser had, during his presidency, achieved social progress through radical political and economic reforms. Higher education was opened to everyone, regardless of social class, and public health-care facilities had improved immensely.

Nasserism

Nasser was the first native Egyptian since the fall of the pharaohs to lead the country. He left a tradition of political thought that is still popular among Egyptian intellectuals. The ideology of Nasserism is difficult to summarize: it is revolutionary, nationalistic and pan-Arabic, secular, anti-imperialistic, authoritarian, socialist, and, above all, strongly associated with the man himself. After Nasser’s death, Nasserism morphed into as many varieties as it has proponents, who can be found bickering about the true legacy of their charismatic president. He remains, however, the only Arab leader after whom a political ideology was named, that persists in a political party after the recent Egyptian revolution.

British Prime Minister Anthony Eden (1955-1957) and Gamal Abdel Nasser, in 1955

President Gamal Abdel Nasser (right) speaking in 1964 with the leader of the Soviet Union, Nikita Khrushchev / Photo HH
Interview with Nasser published on vinyl recording