الصفحة الرئيسية / مصر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / النزاع حول جزر البحر لا يزال على صفيحٍ ساخن

النزاع حول جزر البحر لا يزال على صفيحٍ ساخن

lawyers-celebrate-for-not handing-the-islands-to-saudi-arabia
محامون يحتفلون بعد أن أبطلت المحكمة الإدارية العليا قرار الحكومة المصرية بتسليم الجزيرتين تيران وصنافير إلى المملكة العربية السعودية، القاهرة، مصر، 16 يناير 2017. Photo Amr Nabil

قبل أن يحاول الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي نقل ملكية الجزيرتين، تيران وصنافير، للمملكة العربية السعودية في أبريل 2016، فمن المستبعد أن قلةً قليلة في الشرق الأوسط قد خطر لها هذا الامر. ومع ذلك، تعود قصة هذه الجزر إلى عقود، فقد كانت هذه الجزر تحت السيادة المصرية لمئات السنين، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي لقربها الجغرافي من مصر، مما منحها القدرة على أن تبرز القوة العسكرية- وبخاصة البحرية- في المنطقة، وأن تتحكم في بعض الأحيان بطرق التجارة.

تقع تيران وصنافير عند مدخل مضيق تيران، الذي يربط البحر الأحمر بخليج العقبة. تتمتع كل من تيران، التي تبلغ مساحتها نحو 80 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وصنافير، شرق تيران والتي تبلغ مساحتها 33 كيلومتر مربع، بأهمية جغرافية وسياسية ذلك أن المضيق هو الطريق البحري الوحيد لإسرائيل من خليج العقبة إلى البحر الأحمر. في الواقع، كانت أول مرة تلتفت فيها أنظار العالم إلى هاتين الجزيرتين، بشكلٍ ثانوي سابقاً، عند تأسيس دولة إسرائيل عام 1948. وفي الحرب العالمية الثانية، كانت القوات المصرية المتمركزة على الجزر جزءاً من القوات المخصصة لحماية قناة السويس.

وفي 15 فبراير 1954، قدمت إسرائيل في الاجتماع رقم 659 لمجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة، شكوى ضد مصر لتدخلها في ملاحة السفن إلى ميناء ايلات الاسرائيلي على خليج العقبة. رد ممثل مصر الشكوى، قائلاً أن الجزر تشكل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من الأراضي المصرية، وتقع تحت الإدارة المصرية منذ عام 1906، عندما احتلتهما مصر في محاولةٍ لترسيم الحدود بين مصر والإمبراطورية العثمانية. ومضى بالقول إلى أنّ الاحتلال كان موضع منقاشاتٍ وتبادلٍ لوجهات النظر وحتى الرسائل بين الإمبراطورية العثمانية والحكومة الخديوية في مصر. وفي ذلك الوقت، اعترفت الإمبراطورية العثمانية، التي كانت تسيطر على مصر وإمارة الحجاز (التي أصبحت فيما بعد جزءاً من المملكة العربية السعودية)، بتيران وصنافير باعتبارهما جزءاً أساسياً من مصر.

خريطة لجزيرتي تيران وصنافير. أنقر للتكبير. © Fanack

ومع ذلك، وفقاً لوزارة الخارجية الاسرائيلية، لم تكن الجزيرتان تنتميان لمصر قبل مارس 1949، عندما استولت إسرائيل على المنطقة المحيطة بالقرية الساحلية، أم الرشراش، التي سُميت لاحقاً بإيلات، كجزء من عملية عوبدا. ونتيجةً لذلك، اكتسبت هذه الجزر غير المأهولة بالسكان أهميةً استراتيجية، وبدأت مصر بإقامة المنشآت العسكرية هناك في ديسمبر من عام 1949، حيث أنكر المسؤولون الحكوميون أي نيةٍ للتدخل بالملاحة السلمية. ومع ذلك، أثارت المنشآت العسكرية مخاوف لدى إسرائيل، ذلك أنّ السفن الاسرائيلية المسجلة كانت قد مُنعت آنذاك من العبور عبر قناة السويس، مما أدى إلى قطع البلاد عن جميع طرق التجارة التي تربطها بآسيا وشرق افريقيا. ولعدم تصعيد التوتر في المنطقة المحاصرة بالفعل، وقعّت مصر والمملكة العربية السعودية اتفاقاً وأبلغت محتواه عن طريق مذكرة إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في 28 يناير 1950.

تضمنت المذكرة: “بالقيام بهذا، أرادت مصر ببساطة ضمان حقها (إلى جانب أي حقٍ ممكن للمملكة العربية السعودية) فيما يتعلق بالجزر المذكورة، والتي وفقاً لموقعها الجغرافي لا تبعد أقل من 3 أميال بحرية قبالة الجانب المصري من سيناء وحوالي 4 أميال عن الجانب المقابل من المملكة العربية السعودية، كل هذا من أجل إحباط أي محاولة أو انتهاكٍ محتمل من حقوقها.”

بحلول عام 1956، كان جمال عبد الناصر قد جاء إلى السلطة، في أعقاب الإنقلاب العسكري الذي أطاح بالملك فاروق. ومن بين المشاريع الكبرى الأولى التي شرع عبد الناصر بها، كان تأميم قناة السويس، التي كانت تحت السيطرة البريطانية- الفرنسية منذ إكتمالها عام 1869، والتي كانت أوروبا تعتمد عليها اعتماداً كبيراً كطريق رئيسي للتجارة وذلك بشكلٍ رئيسي لاستيراد النفط من الشرق الأوسط. ورداً على تأميم عبد الناصر للقناة، غزت اسرائيل مصر في أكتوبر من ذلك العام، إذ كانت مدعومةً في وقتٍ لاحق من القوات البريطانية والفرنسية التي احتلت قناة السويس، بما في ذلك جزيرتي تيران وصنافير، فيما عُرف بـ”العدوان الثلاثي.” وتحت ضغوطاتٍ من الإتحاد السوفياتي، والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والأمم المتحدة، سحبت اسرائيل وبريطانيا وفرنسا قواتهم، وتم نشر قوات حفظ السلام التابعة للأمم المتحدة على الجزر لمعالجة مخاوف إسرائيل من حرية المرور عبر مضيق تيران.

جاءت المطالبة الرسمية الأولى للسيادة السعودية على الجزر في عام 1957، عندما تم تسليم رسالة خطية من وزير خارجية المملكة العربية السعودية بتاريخ 31 مارس 1957 إلى السفارة الأمريكية في جدة في أبريل. أكدّ البيان الرسمي، الذي تناول الوضع في خليج العقبة، السيادة السعودية على الجزر ووصف خليج العقبة باعتباره مغلقاً أما الملاحة الدولية، بما أنّ المياه عند مدخلها شكلّت “المياه الإقليمية السعودية.” لم يعترض الأمريكيون على ذلك.

وفي مايو 1967، أعلن عبد الناصر مضيق تيران مغلقاً أمام الملاحة الاسرائيلية، مما أدى إلى مواجهة شاملة بين البلدين، وإشراك الأردن وسوريا. وخلال أصبح ما يُعرف بـ”حرب الأيام الستة،” وجه عبد الناصر في خطابٍ علني نداءً إلى قوات حفظ السلام التابعة للأمم المتحدة للإنسحاب من شبه جزيرة سيناء ومن الجزيرتين، وتأكيد سيادة مصر دون منازع على مضيق تيران. ومع ذلك، انتصرت اسرائيل بالحرب واحتلت الجزر وشبه الجزيرة. ولكن، بعد مرور أكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان، تم التوسط لإتمام إتفاقية كامب ديفيد للسلام بين مصر واسرائيل عام 1979، وعدت القاهرة من خلالها باحترام حرية الملاحة في العقبة وإيلات. وفي عام 1982، وكجزءٍ من اتفاق السلام نفسه، أكملت إسرائيل انسحابها من شبه جزيرة سيناء وتيران، وتم نشر قوات أمنية وعسكرية أمريكية على الجزيرة لضمان حرية المرور البحري عبر المضيق.

لم تظهر قضية تيران وصنافير إلى الواجهة مرةً أخرى حتى عام 1990، عندما أصدر الرئيس المصري حسني مبارك، القرار الجمهوري رقم (27)، ورسّم حدود مصر البحرية في كلٍ من البحر الأحمر والبحر الأبيض المتوسط. المرسوم، الذي نُشر رسمياً في مقر الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك، والذي حدد 109 نقاط أساسية والإحداثيات التي يمكن من خلالها قياس المياه الإقليمية المصرية. ومع ذلك، بدلاً من اتباع قواعد القانون الدولي، والتي تشترط أعلى نقطة على الساحل، نص المرسوم على أدنى نقطة. وبالقيام بذلك، تخلت مصر، عن طيب خاطر، عن السيطرة على الجزيرتين للمملكة العربية السعودية.

وبعد عشرين عاماً، في عام 2010، قدمت المملكة العربية السعودية للأمم المتحدة خط الأساس المفترض، من جانبٍ واحد، للبحر الأحمر والخليج، والتي ضمت تيران وصنافير إلى مياهها الإقليمية، والتي منحتها مصر موافقتها في 25 مارس 2010.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بعد زيارة الملك سلمان إلى القاهرة في أبريل 2016 للقاء الرئيس السيسي، تم التوقيع على معاهدة لترسيم المياه الإقليمية لكل بلدٍ في البحر الأحمر، حيث اعتبرت الجماهير أن مصر تنقل سيادة تيران وصنافير للسعوديين. صدم إعلان الحكومة أن الجزر تنتمي إلى المملكة العربية السعودية كلاً من البرلمان والشعب، مما أدى إلى احتجاجاتٍ في الشوارع وغضبٍ شعبي. ألقي القبض على نحو 400 شخص وتم سجن العشرات.

ويوم 21 يونيو 2016، وفي تحولٍ غير متوقعٍ للأحداث، رفضت محكمة القضاء الإداري في مصر قرار الحكومة بتحويل الجزر إلى المملكة العربية السعودية. وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي يعارض فيها القضاء السيسي منذ توليه منصبه قبل عامين. إلا أن الحكومة المصرية لم تتراجع، وطلبت من المحكمة الإدارية العليا إلغاء الحكم الذي ألغى اتفاقية ترسيم الحدود لشهر أبريل 2016 بين الرياض والقاهرة.

ومع ذلك، تقدمت مجموعة من المحامين الحقوقين المصريين بقيادة خالد علي، وهو أيضاً مرشحٌ سابقٌ للرئاسة، بدعوى قضائية أمام مجلس الدولة، بحجة أن الرئيس السيسي، ورئيس الوزراء شريف إسماعيل، ورئيس البرلمان علي عبد العال، تنازلوا دون وجه حق عن السيادة المصرية على الجزر. احتجت المجموعة على شرعية الاتفاق بالإشارة إلى المادة رقم (151) من الدستور المصري التي تنص على أن كل الأمور المتعلقة بترسيم حدود مصر يجب أن يعاد النظر فيها من قبل برلمان الدولة، وهي الخطوة التي يبدو أنّ السيسي تجاوزها قبل أن يُسلم الجزر للسعوديين.

وفي 16 يناير 2017، أصدرت المحكمة حكمها النهائي، ورفضت الطعن المقدم من الحكومة، مما أثار الهتافات في قاعة المحكمة بالقاهرة. وحالما أعلن القاضي فشل الحكومة في توفير ما يكفي من الأدلة لإثبات أن الجزر سعودية، عمت الاحتفالات. وقال علي أيوب، أحد المحامين الذين شاركوا في رفع الدعوى لصحيفة الجارديان، “الحكم نهائي ولا يمكن أن يخضع للاستئناف؛ [حتى] البرلمان لا يملك الحق في مناقشة هذا الاتفاق، لأنه أصبح لاغياً وباطلاً بموجب حكمٍ قضائي.”

أصبح الجدل حول الجزيرة مصدراً آخر للتوتر بين مصر والمملكة العربية السعودية، ذلك أن العلاقات بين البلدين تدهورت في السنوات الأخيرة. ومن المتوقع أن تبحث الحكومة المصرية الآن عن وسيلةٍ أخرى لنقل الجزر إلى للمملكة العربية السعودية.

Home / Egypt / Past to Present / Disputed Islands Still Hot Topic

Disputed Islands Still Hot Topic

lawyers-celebrate-for-not handing-the-islands-to-saudi-arabia
Lawyers celebrate after the Supreme Administrative Court ruled against the Egyptian government’s decision to hand over the two islands of Tiran and Sanafir to Saudi Arabia, in Cairo, Egypt, 16 January 2017. Photo Amr Nabil

Until Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi attempted to transfer the islands of Tiran and Sanafir to Saudi Arabia in April 2016, it is unlikely that few in the Middle East even thought about them. However, the story of these islands goes back decades. The islands have been under Egyptian sovereignty for hundreds of years, mainly for their geographic proximity to Egypt, giving it the ability to project military – mainly naval – power in the area and at times control trade routes.

Tiran and Sanafir are located at the entrance to the Strait of Tiran, which connects the Red Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba. Tiran, with an area of about 80 square kilometres, and Sanafir, east of Tiran and with an area of 33 square kilometres, are geopolitically important since the strait is Israel’s only sea route from the Gulf of Aqaba to the Red Sea. In fact, the first time the world’s attention was drawn to these two, previously insignificant, islands came with the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948. In World War II, Egyptian forces stationed on the islands were part of the forces allocated to protect the Suez Canal.

On 15 February 1954, at the United Nations Security Council’s 659th meeting, Israel submitted a complaint against Egypt for interfering with shipping travelling to the Israeli port of Eilat on the Gulf of Aqaba. The Egyptian representative countered the complaint, saying that the islands form an integral part of Egyptian territory and have been under Egypt’s administration since 1906, when Egypt occupied them in attempt to delimit the frontiers between Egypt and the Ottoman Empire.

Map of Tiran and Sanafir islands. Click to enlarge. © Fanack

He proceeded to say that the occupation had been the subject of discussions, exchange of views and even letters between the Ottoman Empire and the Khedivial government of Egypt. At the time, the Ottoman Empire, which controlled Egypt and the principality of Hijaz (later part of Saudi Arabia), recognized Tiran and Sanafir as essential parts of Egypt.

However, according to the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the islands did not belong to Egypt before March 1949, when Israel took control of the area around the coastal village of Umm al-Rashrash, later renamed Eilat, as part of Operation Uvda. Consequently, the uninhabited islands gained strategic significance and Egypt started erecting military installations there in December 1949, with government officials denying any intention to interfere with peaceful navigation. Yet the military installations raised alarms in Israel as Israeli-registered ships had already been denied passage through the Suez Canal, cutting the country off from all the trade routes that linked it with Asia and East Africa. In order not to escalate tensions in an already embattled region, Egypt and Saudi Arabia signed an accord and communicated its contents via an aide-memoire to the United States (US) on 28 January 1950.

The aide-memoire read: ‘[I]n doing this Egypt wanted simply to confirm its right (as well as every possible right of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) in regard to the mentioned islands which by their geographical position are at least 3 marine miles off the Egyptian side of Sinai and 4 miles approximately off the opposite side of Saudi Arabia, all this in order to forestall any attempt on or possible violation of its rights.’

By 1956, Gamal Abdel Nasser had come to power in Egypt, following a military coup that deposed King Farouk. Among the first major projects on which Nasser embarked was the nationalization of the Suez Canal, which had been under British-French control since its completion in 1869 and on which Europe was heavily dependent as a cheap trade route mainly for oil from the Middle East. In response to Nasser’s nationalization, Israel invaded Egypt in October of that year and was later backed by British and French troops who occupied the canal zone, including the islands of Tiran and Sanafir, in what was known as the ‘tripartite aggression’. Under Soviet, US and United Nations pressure, Israel, Britain and France withdrew their troops and UN peacekeeping troops were deployed on the islands to address Israel’s concerns over free passage through the Strait of Tiran.

The first official claim of Saudi sovereignty over the islands came in 1957, when a letter from Saudi Arabia’s foreign minister dated 31 March 1957 was delivered to the US embassy in Jeddah in April 1957. The official statement, which addressed the status of the Gulf of Aqaba, asserted Saudi sovereignty over the islands and described the Gulf of Aqaba as closed to international navigation, since the waters at its entrance constituted ‘Saudi Arabian territorial waters’. The Americans did not object to that.

In May 1967, Nasser declared the Strait of Tiran closed to Israeli shipping, resulting in a full-fledged confrontation between the two countries and the involvement of Jordan and Syria. During what came to be known as the ‘Six Day War’, Nasser gave a public speech appealing to the UN peacekeeping troops to withdraw from the Sinai Peninsula and from both islands, and asserting Egypt’s unchallenged sovereignty over the Strait of Tiran.

Nevertheless, Israel won the war and occupied the islands and peninsula. It was not until more than a decade later, in the 1979 Camp David peace deal brokered between Egypt and Israel, that Cairo promised to respect freedom of shipping in Aqaba and Eilat. In 1982, and as part of the same peace agreement, Israel completed its withdrawal from the Sinai Peninsula and Tiran, and US military and security forces were deployed on the island to ensure free maritime passage through the strait.

The issue of Tiran and Sanafir did not come up again until the 1990, when Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak issued Presidential Decree Number 27, establishing Egypt’s maritime boundaries both in the Red Sea and the Mediterranean. The decree, which was officially posted at the UN headquarters in New York, laid out the 109 grids as coordinates by which Egypt’s territorial waters could be measured. However, instead of following the norms of international law and stipulating the highest point on the coastline, the decree stipulated the lowest point. In doing so, Egypt willingly relinquished control of the two islands to Saudi Arabia.

Twenty years later, in 2010, Saudi Arabia submitted to the UN its unilaterally presumed baseline on both the Red Sea and the Gulf, which included Tiran and Sanafir within its territorial waters, to which Egypt granted its consent on 25 March 2010.

Additionally, upon King Salman’s visit to Cairo in April 2016 to meet President al-Sisi, a treaty was signed to demarcate each country’s territorial waters in the Red Sea. This was viewed by the public as Egypt transferring sovereignty of Tiran and Sanafir to the Saudis. The announcement by the government that the islands belonged to Saudi Arabia shocked both the parliament and the people, resulting in street protests and public outrage. Some 400 people were arrested and dozens were imprisoned.

On 21 June 2016, in an unexpected turn of events, Egypt’s Administrative Court rejected the government’s decision to transfer the islands to Saudi Arabia. It was the first time the judiciary had opposed al-Sisi since he had taken office two years earlier. The Egyptian government did not back down and asked the High Administrative Court to overturn the ruling that annulled the April 2016 demarcation agreement between Riyadh and Cairo.

However, a group of Egyptian rights lawyers led by Khalid Ali, also a former presidential candidate, filed a lawsuit at the State Council, arguing that President al-Sisi, Prime Minister Sherif Ismail and Parliamentary Speaker Ali Abdel  Aal wrongfully relinquished Egyptian’s sovereignty over the Islands. The group argued the legality of the agreement by referring to article 151 of the Egyptian constitution, which states that all matters regarding the drawing of Egypt’s borders must be reviewed by the state’s parliament, a step al-Sisi had apparently bypassed before handing the islands to the Saudis.

On 16 January 2017, the court issued its final ruling, rejecting the government’s appeal and prompting cheers in the Cairo courtroom. As soon as the judge announced the government’s failure to provide enough evidence to show that the islands were Saudi, celebrations erupted. Ali Ayoub, one of the lawyers who co-filed the suit, told the Guardian newspaper, “The ruling is final and cannot be subject to appeal; [even] the parliament doesn’t have the right to discuss this agreement, because it’s been made null and void by a court ruling.”

The island controversy became another source of tension between Egypt and Saudi Arabia, whose relations have deteriorated in recent years. It is expected that the Egyptian government will now look for another way to transfer the islands to Saudi Arabia.