الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين / السكان

السكان

البحرين السكان
السوق في المنامة, Photo HH.

المحتويات

التركيبة العرقية والدينية
السنة
الشيعة
التمييز
اليهود والأفارقة
الأجانب وغير المواطنين
التسلسل الهرمي والتمييز
العلاقات بين المجموعات

المقدمة



وفقاً للجهاز المركزي للمعلومات, يبلغ عدد سكان البحرين 1,314,562 نسمة  عام 2014, منهم 630,744 بحرينيّ.عام 2015, قدّر كتاب حقائق العالم لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية الأمريكية عدد السكان ب1,346,613. ووفق الأرقام الرسمية، انخفضت نسبة البحرينيين في مجموع السكان من 56% عام 2004 إلى 48% عام 2014. يشكل ارتفاع عدد السكان غير المواطنين واستمرار تدفق العمال المهاجرين إلى البلاد مواضيع حساسة من الناحية السياسية في بلد يعاني من معدلات بطالة مرتفعة.

التركيبة العرقية والدينية

البحرين بلد صغير، حيث تشكل معظم أسماء العائلات الأصلية جزء من الذاكرة الجماعية للمجتمع. يستطيع البحرينيون عادة تحديد الأصول الوطنية والتاريخية للعائلة والدين والوضع الاجتماعي من الاسم وحده. تستخدم العائلة الحاكمة هذه المعلومات لاستمالة المنافسين المطالبين بالسلطة وتوزيع الامتيازات والوظائف بين الجماعات الموالية وقمع واستبعاد غير الموالين أو المعاندين.

السنّة


إحدى أهم الانقسامات في البحرين هي تلك التي بين المذاهب الإسلامية، حيث يتمتع السنّة عموماً بمزيد من الثروة والسلطة بالمقارنة مع الشيعة. وعلى قمة الهرم، حيث تتركز معظم ثروة البلاد والسلطة، تأتي الأسرة الحاكمة: آل خليفة، احفاد الشيخ عيسى بن علي الذي حكم البلاد من 1869 إلى 1923. حكم بنو عيسى البحرين منذ بداية القرن العشرين. ولمركزهم القيادي أساس تجاري وسياسي على حد سواء. في بداية القرن الثامن عشر، بدأ آل خليفة بمصادرة الكثير من الأراضي الزراعية وغيرها من الممتلكات العائدة لسكان الأرخبيل الأصليين، من الشيعة في الغالب. وأعيد توزيع الأراضي الزراعية كممتلكات خاصة بين أفراد الأسرة البارزين وبعض العشائر السنيّة المتحالفة معهم. وبعد إنشاء دولة بيروقراطية حديثة تقوم على عائدات النفط، جمع ملاك الأراضي من آل خليفة ثروات عن طريق التطوير التجاري لهذه الممتلكات. وبينما كانت بيروقراطية الدولة تنمو، استخدم البعض مناصبهم الإدارية لمكاسب شخصية.

يتبع آل خليفة المذهب المالكي من الشريعة الإسلامية السنية. ويعود أصلهم عبر بني عتبة (حكام الكويت اليوم) إلى قبيلة العنزة من وسط الجزيرة العربية. لا تنتمي جميع القبائل العربية الموالية إلى بني عتبة/العتوب، ولكنهم أتوا إلى البحرين حوالي نفس فترة غزو العتوب. تاريخياً، اعتمد آل خليفة على القوة القتالية لهذه القبائل، وتزاوجوا معهم. وكما هو الحال في جميع دول الخليج، انحدرت مكانة هذه القبائل بالنسبة للأسرة الحاكمة منذ ظهور النفط والدولة البيروقراطية الحديثة. بعد وصول عائدات النفط وظهور قوات أمن محترفة، زاد زواج الأقارب بين أفراد الأسرة الحاكمة. يعمل أفراد القبائل الموالية لآل خليفة اليوم في بيروقراطية الدولة والقوات المسلحة.

اليوم، أصبح حلفاء العائلة الحاكمة في المناطق الحضرية التقليدية أقوى بكثير من حلفائهم من العشائر السنيّة. فهم يشكلون جوهر حكم الأقلية من التجار الذين يوفرون الدعم المالي والمشورة الهامة لمشاريع النظام الصناعية والتجارية. كما أنهم يعملون كمصرفيين وفي صرافة العملات. تتكون هذه المجموعة من عنصرين: الهولة أو “العرب الفرس” الأكثر عدداً وتأثيراً، وهم أحفاد التجار السنّة الذين عاشوا على جانبي الخليج (يتبعون المذهب الشافعي). مكّنت العلاقات التجارية والسياسية مع حكام آل خليفة والإدارة البريطانية الاستعمارية والشركات الغربية بعض أفراد الهولة من تأسيس شركات تجارية مزدهرة متعددة الجنسيات. أشهرها “مجموعة كانو”، إحدى كبرى الشركات المملوكة للعائلات في منطقة الخليج. يحتل أفراد من عائلات الهولة، مثل الشيراوي وفخرو، عدداً من المراتب العليا في البيروقراطية المركزية والمناصب الوزارية.

يتكون العنصر الثاني من حكم الأقلية من التجار من العائلات النجدية، مثل القصيبي والزياني. استقرت هذه العائلات في البحرين تقريباً في نفس الفترة التي استقر فيها آل خليفة، ولكنها تعتبر من العائلات الحضرية غير القبلية، على عكس العائلة الحاكمة. ويتبعون المذهب الحنبلي من الشريعة الإسلامية. أدى هذا الانتماء المذهبي إلى صراعات خطيرة بين بعض العائلات النجدية وآل خليفة. ولا يزال العديد من السكان النجديين في البحرين يحتفظون ببعض الولاء للمملكة العربية السعودية؛ ويحمل البعض منهم جوازات سفر مزدوجة. ورغم هذه الخلافات التاريخية، يعتبرون بشكل عام حلفاء لآل خليفة. ومثل عائلات الهولة، أسست العائلات النجدية شركات عالمية مزدهرة مبنية على علاقات القربى في جميع أنحاء منطقة الخليج. وينشطون في القطاع المصرفي المحلي، ويشغلون مناصب حكومية عليا. ولكن خلافاً لعائلات الهولة، هناك أعداد كبيرة من النجديين في قوى الأمن والشرطة. وكقاعدة عامة، تنتمي عائلات الهولة والنجدية إلى الطبقات العليا أو الوسطى، في حين أن أعضاءها البارزين هم المنافسون الأصليون الوحيدون الباقون لسلطة شيوخ آل خليفة السياسية والتجارية.

الشيعة



غالبية سكان البحرين من الشيعة. الانتماء الطائفي موضوع حساس: جرى آخر إحصاء تم فيه تسجيل الانتماء الطائفي عام 1941. في ذلك العام، كان الشيعة يشكلون أغلبية ضئيلة (51,5%) من سكان البحرين. ومن المحتمل أنهم لا يزالون يشكلون أغلبية سكان البلاد رغم قيام الحكومة بتجنيس الكثير من السنّة العرب (ولكن ليس الشيعة).

يمكن تقسيم الشيعة في البلاد إلى مجموعات فرعية عدة. فعلياً، ينتمي كل الشيعة البحرينيين إلى فرع “الاثني عشرية” الرئيسي من الإسلام الشيعي (الفرع المهيمن للشيعة في منطقة الخليج)، رغم بقاء جيوب من الشيعة الإسماعيليين الأصليين. ينقسم الشيعة الاثنا عشريون بدورهم إلى مجموعتين فرعيتين: الأصولية والإخبارية. والأكثر عدداً هم أتباع المدرسة الأصولية من الفقه الإسلامي الشيعي، الذين يمتثلون لتوجيهات واحد من آيات الله العظمى (مرجع التقليد) إلى جانب اعتمادهم على القرآن الكريم والحديث الشريف. بينما ينتمي عدد أقل بكثير إلى المدرسة الإخبارية التي تعتمد على القرآن الكريم والحديث الشريف والإجماع فقط، وترفض اعتماد الأصولية على مرجع.

معظم شيعة البحرين، والعديد من شيعة المنطقة الساحلية بين الكويت والإمارات العربية المتحدة، هم بحارنة، أي الشيعة العرب المنحدرين من سكان البحرين الأصليين. لذلك يفضّل أهل السنّة استخدام مصطلح بحريني عند الحديث عن سكان البحرين، مع أن مصطلح “بحارنة” يمكن أن يشير من الناحية التاريخية إلى جميع سكان منطقة البحرين. تاريخياً، كان معظم البحارنة من المزارعين، ولكن بعضهم كانوا يعيشون في البلدات والمدن وأصبحوا أثرياء عن طريق التجارة والاستثمار أو المهن الكتابية. واليوم، يشكّل البحارنة نواة الطبقة الوسطى الدنيا في المناطق الحضرية. ولهم أحياؤهم التاريخية الخاصة في البلدات والمدن، ولكن بعضهم يعيشون في أحياء مختلطة إلى جانب السنّة من ذات الطبقات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. تشترك المجموعتان بوعي وطني، وأحياناً طبقي، وغالباً ما يشكلون جبهة موحدة ضد المهاجرين. في بعض الأحيان، ولا سيما في خمسينات وستينات القرن العشرين، عملوا معاً، رغم اختلافاتهم الطائفية، احتجاجاً على ظروفهم الاقتصادية المشتركة. إلا أن الزواج المختلط بين الطوائف لا يزال غير مألوف.


تضم مجموعة ثالثة من الشيعة تجاراً من الإحساء، في المملكة العربية السعودية في الوقت الحاضر. يتحدث الحسويون لوناً خاصاً من لهجة البحارنة العربية.

تتألف مجموعة رابعة من أصحاب المحلات وصغار التجار الفارسيين الذين هاجروا إلى البحرين وحافظوا على جذورهم ولغتهم الفارسية (مع أن معظمهم يتقنون لغتين). وهذا ما يميزهم عن الهُوِلة، الذين لديهم أصول فارسية ولكنهم من العرب السنّة. كثيراً ما ينظر السنّة إلى الفرس البحرينيين كطابور خامس، والذين يعتقد أنهم يتقبلون سياسيات الانفتاح السياسي وحبك المؤامرات من طهران. وهم المجتمع الوطني الأكثر انعزالاً في البلاد، ويتركزون في أحياء الحورة والعجم في المنامة (“العجم” تعني الفرس أو غير العرب).

التمييز


عندما اعتلى أمير البحرين الجديد العرش عام 1999، أطلق برنامجاً طموحاً للإصلاح السياسي. توقع البحارنة انخفاض التمييز ضد طائفتهم، ولكن سرعان ما تبددت هذه الآمال. ففي السنوات التالية، خرج أفراد من الطبقات الاجتماعية الدنيا إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج على عدم المساواة الاجتماعي والتمييز الطائفي وقمع الشرطة. وفي بعض الأحيان، كانت الاحتجاجات تتحول إلى عنف؛ ففي كانون الثاني/ديسمبر عام 1997، توفي أحد المتظاهرين، من المحتمل بسبب استنشاقه للغاز المسيل الدموع. وفي نيسان/أبريل عام 2008، قتل شرطي في قرية كرزكان. وانطلقت اضطرابات واسعة النطاق عام 2011.

أكّد منتقدو النظام أن التمييز في البحرين أصبح أكثر مؤسساتية. حيث دائماً ما ينتظر الشيعة البحرينيون فترة أطول للحصول على الإسكان المدعوم من قبل الحكومة بالمقارنة مع المواطنين السنّة. وغالباً ما تكون المناصب العليا في الحكومة والمناصب الإدارية في الخدمات المدنية محجوزة حصرياً للمواطنين السنّة. تسيطر الأقلية السنية على كل من الدفاع الوطني والشرطة وقوات الأمن. بينما يعتقد بأن الحكومة تقوم بانتظام بتجنيس أجانب من السنّة من دول مثل المملكة العربية السعودية واليمن والعراق لتعزيز صفوف هذه المؤسسات الأمنية؛ وغالباً ما يتم رفض طلبات الشيعة المقدمة لوظائف الأمن. في القطاع الخاص، يميل الشيعة إلى احتلال الوظائف ذات الأجور المنخفضة والتي لا تتطلب المهارة. وهم يشكلون الأغلبية الساحقة من طلبة الجامعات، والأقلية من أعضاء هيئة التدريس.

هناك سببان رئيسيان لظهور التمييز الرسمي ضد شيعة البحرين. الأول وقعت إصلاحات الملك السياسية الأولية، والتي يفترض بأنها مكّنت الشيعة المحليين، ضحية حركة ارتجاعية. حيث لم تتمكن المعارضة الشيعية في المجلس الوطني الذي أعيد إقامته من تقديم أية مساهمة حقيقية لمجتمع أكثر مساواة وعدلاً. وبقي المجلس مؤسسة شكليّة. وبدا وكأن المجلس كان له تأثير معاكس: حاول بعض أعضاء النخبة الحاكمة، الذين كانوا يخشون معارضة مشتركة من الطبقات العمالية والوسطى من الشيعة والسنة، التحريض على الكراهية بين الطوائف على مبدأ فرّق تسد. كما كان هناك بعد دولي للحركة الارتجاعية للتمييز ضد الشيعة في البحرين. فقد أزاحت الإطاحة بكل من حركة طالبان في أفغانستان، ونظام السنّة المهيمن في العراق، أعداء إيران الرئيسيين ومنافسيها الرئيسيين على السلطة في منطقة الخليج. وهذا ما أدى إلى تزايد القلق في أوساط النخبة الحاكمة في البحرين من الطموحات السياسية للرعايا الشيعة واحتمال التدخل الإيراني في السياسة الداخلية. وزادت اضطرابات عام 2011 من هذه المخاوف.

اليهود والأفارقة


كان هناك جالية يهودية صغيرة في البحرين منذ زمن النبي محمد على الأقل؛ كما شهدت أوائل القرن العشرين تدفق يهود العراق. كان العديد من اليهود يقيمون في البلاد في فصل الصيف، فقط خلال موسم صيد اللؤلؤ. وهاجر العديد من اليهود إلى إسرائيل بعد قيامها عام 1948، وتبعهم آخرون بعد حرب عام 1967. طُردوا من البحرين عن طريق المظاهرات المحلية المعادية لليهود وسياسة الحكومة العنصرية ونهب منازل اليهود. والكنيس اليهودي الوحيد في البلاد غير مستخدم حالياً.

ينحدر الكثير من البحرينيين من العبيد الأفارقة الذين عادة ما جاؤوا من إقليم زنجبار العماني. تبنى العبيد السابقون وأولادهم أسماء قبائل مالكيهم، ويحتلون مكانة اجتماعية واقتصادية متدنية. أخذت الموسيقى والرقص البحريني (والخليجي) شكلها من التقاليد التي جلبها العبيد من أفريقيا.

الأجانب وغير المواطنين


السلطات البريطانية الاستعمارية أول من ميّز رسمياً بين المواطنين البحرينيين و”الأجانب”. حيث كان على كل “أجنبي” مقيم في البحرين أن يسجل في الوكالة البريطانية في المنامة، وكان بالتالي يخضع للسلطان القضائي البريطاني. اعتبرت “سياسة الحماية” البريطانية هذه طريقة تفضيل للتجار الأجانب، ولا سيما الهنود، على السكان المحليين. وهذا ما أدى إلى امتعاض جالية البانيا (التجار الهنود، كان البحرينيون يدعونهم بالبانيان)، الأمر الذي استمر حتى يومنا هذا.

صدر قانون الجنسية في البحرين لأول مرة عام 1937. وبموجبه، تم اعتبار جميع الأشخاص المقيمين في البحرين وغير المسجلين لدى الوكالة البريطانية على أنهم “مواطنين”. تم تجنيس عدد قليل جداً من “الهنود” المقيمين.

قبل الطفرة النفطية في سبعينات القرن العشرين، جاء معظم الأجانب الذين يعيشون في البحرين (نحو 30%) من سلطنة عمان. ومن ثم الهنود والباكستانيون (حوالي 25%)، يليهم الإيرانيون (14%) والبريطانيون (8%). ارتفع عدد غير المواطنين بشكل كبير منذ منتصف سبعينات القرن العشرين. ووفق تعداد رسمي، كانوا يشكلون نسبة 17,5% من السكان عام 1971، و 32% عام 1981، 37,6% عام 2001، و 53% عام 2010. كما تغيرت تركيبة السكان الأجانب. فقد غادر تقريباً جميع العمال العمانيين البحرين عندما بدأت صناعة النفط العماني بالتطور في سبعينات القرن العشرين. وقد تم ملء فراغ هذه الهجرة بالأكثر عن طريق الأعداد الكبيرة للمهاجرين من شبه القارة الآسيوية (الهند وباكستان وبنغلاديش وسريلانكا)؛ ومنذ ثمانينات القرن العشرين من دول شرق آسيا، مثل كوريا وتايلاند والفلبين وإندونيسيا. في تعداد عام 2010، تم إدراج 65% من الأجانب المقيمين في البحرين كآسيويين. وشملت ثاني أكبر مجموعة “العرب الآخرين”. وجاء أقل من 1% من دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الأخرى.

التسلسل الهرمي والتمييز


هناك تسلسل هرمي دقيق للسكان الأجانب في البحرين. يحتل عرب دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والغربيون أصحاب العلاقات الجيدة (الوساطة) قمة الهرم. ويشمل هؤلاء رجال الأعمال أو المسؤولون الإداريون أو كبار الاستشاريين في الشركات الكبرى. ثم يأتي المدراء والاستشاريون والفنيون ورجال الأعمال الصغار الذين ليس لديهم وساطة، بغض النظر عن جنسياتهم. وهؤلاء يعيشون في ضواحي المنامة، ويختلطون مع بعض في النوادي الليلية أو الرياضية على النمط الغربي وحانات الفنادق الفاخرة، والتي تقدم المشروبات الكحولية. ويحتل الآسيويون العاملون في الوظائف الإدارية والخدمات المركز الأوسط. ومن بين هؤلاء، يعامل العرب (من غير دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي) بشكل أفضل من الآسيويين الشرقيين والجنوبيين عموماً. ويحتل العمال غير المهرة أو نصف المهرة من آسيا أسفل الهرم، حيث يعيشون في مساكن ضيقة ويتعرضون لتمييز كبير. فهم في بعض النواحي أقل رفاهية من بائعات الهوى من أوروبا الشرقية وآسيا، اللواتي يعملن في حانات فنادق المنامة، من حيث الحالة المادية على الأقل. ويختلف الوضع المزري بالأكثر للخادمات الآسيويات في الخليج بشكل كبير عن المعايير الإنسانية لأرباب عملهن. وفي الجزء السفلي جداً من المجتمع البحريني، هناك البنغاليون الذين يقدمون أعمالاً وقتية لا تحتاج لمهارة في الشوارع.

يواجه العمال الأجانب والخادمات تمييزاً كبيراً، بل حتى اعتداءات منتظمة. يمنح القانون البحريني الجنسية للعرب الأجانب المقيمين في البحرين لمدة 15 سنة وغير العرب لمدة 25 سنة، إلّا أنه تم رفض العديد من طلبات الجنسية المقدمة من قبل المغتربين من غير العرب. يشتكي المهاجرون من العرب الشيعة من تمييز مماثل في حقهم. فبدون المواطنة، يحظر عليهم إحضار الزوجة أو أحد أفراد العائلة. والزواج من المواطنين البحرينيين نادر جداً، كما أنه لا يمنحهم الجنسية تلقائياً. ويبقى أطفال الأمهات البحرينيات والآباء الأجانب أجانباً. علاوة على ذلك، عندما يبلغ المهاجرون سن الستين، لا يتم تجديد إقامتهم. وتكون النتيجة الترحيل القسري إلى أوطانهم، مهما بلغت فترة عملهم في البحرين.

في السنوات الأخيرة، دعت وزارة العمل إلى تشريع يتيح حتى إمكانية سحب جنسية غير العرب المهاجرين. قال وزير العمل السابق، مجيد العلوي، إنه ينبغي السماح للعمال الأجانب بالعمل في البحرين لمدة أقصاها ست سنوات. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير عام 2008، حاول الاعتماد على الاستياء الوطني الواسع النطاق من العمال الأجانب بالقول علناً إنهم يمثلون “خطراً أسوأ من قنبلة ذرية أو هجوم إسرائيلي”. اذا كانت أعلى سلطة في وزارة العمل تقارن العمال الأجانب بصراع نووي، فليس من المستغرب أن يقع المهاجرون في البحرين غالباً ضحايا العمل القسري غير المأجور والابتزاز والاعتداء الجسدي والنفسي والاحتيال. وبينما يقع العمال الأجانب، من حيث المبدأ على الأقل، تحت قانون العمل في البلاد، لا يشمل هذا القانون حوالي 700,000 خادمة في البلاد، واللواتي يقعن ضحايا للعنف والاعتداء الجنسي بشكل روتيني من قبل أرباب عملهن، وفق منظمات حقوق الإنسان. ويواجه الذين يتجرؤون على مقاضاة أرباب عملهم بإجراءات قانونية طويلة لا يتقاضون خلالها أي دخل، وغالباً ما تنتهي فقط  بالحصول على تعويض مالي هزيل والترحيل القسري.

من النادر حصول الأجانب على جواز سفر بحريني، حتى المولدين والعاملين في البحرين. باستثناء السنّة الذين يخدمون في الشرطة والجيش، حيث حصل العديد منهم على الجنسية في السنوات الأخيرة. لا ينص القانون البحريني على منح حق اللجوء للأشخاص الذين تتوفر فيهم معايير اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها لعام 1967 حول وضع اللاجئين. وعملياً، تعاونت الحكومة البحرينية مع المفوضية العليا للاجئين والمنظمات الانسانية الأخرى في مساعدة طالبي اللجوء وحمتهم من الترحيل.

العلاقات بين المجموعات


التركيبة الاجتماعية في البحرين واحدة من أكثر التركيبات تعقيداً في العالم العربي. فالتأطير التقليدي للصراع الاجتماعي كقضية سنّة وشيعة، والتي تتضمن عنصراً من الحقيقة، مبسّط للغاية. تاريخياً، كان الصراع في المقام الأول، حتى على طول الخطوط الطائفية، حول حقوق اقتصادية وسياسية تمنحها الحكومة للسنّة بسخاء أكثر مما للشيعة. وتم استغلال الخلافات الطائفية وإبرازها من قبل الفئة الارستقراطية السنّية الحاكمة لأغراض سياسية، إلا أن التحالفات التجارية والاجتماعية والسياسية في البحرين لم تتشكل أبداً على أسس طائفية بحتة. علاوة على ذلك، كلا الطائفتين السنية والشيعية منقسمتان إلى جنسيات عديدة وتشعبات فرعية وطبقات اجتماعية ومجموعات فرعية ثقافية ولغوية وعرقية.

النموذج الاجتماعي الهرمي هو أفضل طريقة لشرح البنية الاجتماعية للبحرين بدلاً من مجرد تأطيرها كصراع بين السنة والشيعة (أو بين العرب والأجانب، أو التقليديين والمعاصرين، أو الحضريين والقبليين). فمن خلال تحديد مراكز المجموعات الرئيسية في المجتمع البحريني على مختلف المستويات التسلسلية لهذا الهرم، يمكن أن تصبح الديناميكيات المحددة وبنية المجتمع البحريني أكثر سهولة للفهم. إلا أن المراكز داخل التسلسل الهرمي الاجتماعي البحريني ليست ثابتة على الإطلاق. فقد تغيرت على مرّ التاريخ، وأصبح التنقل الاجتماعي – صعوداً أو هبوطاً – ممكناً للأفراد أو عشائر بأكملها. ولكن التنقل الاجتماعي لم يكن غير محدود على الإطلاق: حيث تحدد أصول المرء بشكل كبير المستوى العالي الذي يمكنه الوصول إليه – أو إلى أي حد يمكنه الهبوط – في المجتمع البحريني.

Home / Bahrain / Population

Population

Population Bahrain - The Manama Souq
The Manama Souq. Photo HH.

Contents

Ethnic and Religious Groups
Sunnis
Shiites
Discrimination
Jews and Africans
Foreigners and Non-Nationals
Hierarchy and Discrimination
Relations Between Groups

Introduction



According to Bahrain’s Central Informatics Organisation (CIO) the population stood at 1,314,562 of whom 630,744 were Bahraini. In 2015 the CIA World Factbook put Bahrain’s population at 1,346,613. According to official figures, the proportion of Bahrainis in the total population decreased from 56 percent in 2004 to 48 percent in 2014. The high number of non-nationals and the continuing influx of migrant workers in the country are politically sensitive subjects in a country with high unemployment.

Bahrain’s population is young. In 2014, 41.5 per cent of the national population was under 19 years of age.

Most of Bahrain’s population (89 percent) live in urban areas: according to the CIO, Manama had a population of 516,717.


Ethnic and Religious Groups


Bahrain is a small country, where most indigenous family names are part of the collective memory of society. Bahrainis can usually identify a family’s historical national origins, religion, and social status from the name alone. The ruling family has used this knowledge to co-opt rival claimants to power, distribute favours and jobs among loyal groups, and repress and exclude the disloyal or unruly.

Sunnis

One of the most important divisions in Bahrain is between Islamic groups, with Sunnis generally enjoying more wealth and power than Shiites. At the top of the pyramid, where most of the nation’s wealth and power is concentrated, stands the ruling family: the Al Khalifa, descendants of Sheikh Isa bin Ali, who ruled from 1869 to 1923. These Banu Isa (‘offspring of Isa’) have ruled Bahrain since the early 20th century. Their leading position has both a political and a commercial basis. In the late 18th century the Al Khalifa began to confiscate much of the agricultural land and other property belonging to the archipelago’s original, mostly Shiite, inhabitants. The agricultural lands were redistributed as private estates among prominent family members and some allied Sunni tribes. After the creation of a modern bureaucratic state based on oil revenues, the Al Khalifa landholders amassed fortunes through the commercial development of these estates. As the state bureaucracy grew, some used their positions in the administration for personal gain.

The Al Khalifa adhere to the Maliki school of Sunni Islamic law. They trace their origins, through the Bani Utba or Utub (who today rule Kuwait), to the Anizza tribe of central Arabia. Not all loyal tribal Arab groups are Bani Utba/Utub, but they all came to Bahrain around the time of the Utub invasion. Historically, the Al Khalifa relied on the fighting power of these tribes and intermarried with them. As in all Gulf monarchies, however, the status of the tribes has declined vis-à-vis the ruling family since the rise of oil and a modern bureaucratic state. Following the arrival of oil revenues and the emergence of professional security forces, ruling-family endogamy has increased. Members of tribes loyal to the Al Khalifa are today employed in the state bureaucracy and in the armed forces

Today, the ruling family’s traditional urban allies are much more powerful than their Sunni tribal allies. They form the core of the commercial oligarchy, which provides important financial support and advice for the regime’s industrial and commercial projects. They also function as bankers and money-changers. This group consists of two components. The more numerous and influential are the Huwala, or ‘Persian Arabs’, who are descendants of merchants who lived on both sides of the Gulf and are Sunni (following the Shafiite school of law). Their commercial and political ties with the Al Khalifa rulers, the British colonial administration, and Western companies enabled some Huwala families to establish prosperous multinational trading businesses. Most famous among these is the Kanoo Group, now one of the largest family-owned businesses in the Gulf. Members of Huwala families, such as the Shirawis and the Fakhroos, are found in the top echelons of the central bureaucracy and in ministerial posts.

The second component of the commercial oligarchy consists of the Najdi families, such as the Al Gosaibi and the Al Zayani. These families settled in Bahrain around the same time as the Al Khalifa, but, unlike the ruling family, they are considered non-tribal and urban. They largely follow the Hanbali school of Islamic law. This doctrinal affiliation has led to serious conflicts between certain Najdi families and the Al Khalifa. Many Najdi inhabitants of Bahrain retain some loyalty to Saudi Arabia; some have dual passports. This historical friction notwithstanding, they are generally viewed as allies of the Al Khalifa. Like the Huwala, Najdis have created flourishing international businesses based on kinship ties throughout the Gulf region. They are active in the local banking sector and hold senior government positions. Unlike the Huwala, however, the Najdis are also found in substantial numbers in the country’s security and police forces. As a rule, Huwala and Najdi families belong to the upper or middle classes, while their most prominent members are the only remaining indigenous rivals to the political and commercial power of the leading Al Khalifa sheikhs.

Shiites

The majority of Bahrain’s population is Shiite. Sectarian affiliation is a sensitive topic: the last census in which religious affiliation was recorded took place in 1941. In that year Shiites formed a bare majority (51.5 percent) of Bahrain’s inhabitants. They probably still constitute the majority of the national population, despite the government’s practice of naturalizing many Sunni (but not Shiite) Arabs.

Bahrain’s Shiites can be divided into several subgroups. Virtually all Bahraini Shiites belong to the main Twelver branch of Shiite Islam (the predominant branch of Shiism in the Gulf), although pockets of Bahrain’s original Ismaili Shiites have survived. The Twelver Shiites can, in turn, be divided into two subgroups, Usuli and Akhbari. Adherents to the Usuli school of Shiite Islamic jurisprudence, who, besides relying on the Koran and Hadith, turn for guidance to one of the grand ayatollahs (their marja al-taqlid, or source of emulation) are most numerous. Far fewer belong to the Akhbari school, which relies solely on the Koran, Hadith, and consensus and rejects the Usuli reliance on a marja.

Most of the Shiites of Bahrain and many Shiites in the coastal region between Kuwait and the UAE are Baharna, that is, Arab Shiites descended from the original inhabitants of Bahrain. Sunnis thus prefer to use the term Bahraini when speaking of the inhabitants of Bahrain, although historically the term Baharna might refer to all inhabitants of the region of Bahrain. Historically, most Baharna were farmers, but some lived in the towns and cities and became affluent through trade, investment, or clerical occupations.

Today, Baharna form the core of the urban lower middle class. They have their own historical quarters in the towns and cities but some live in mixed districts, side by side with Sunnis from the same socio-economic classes. The two groups share a certain national, and sometimes class, consciousness and have often presented a unified front against immigrants. At times, notably in the 1950s and 1960s, they have worked together, despite their sectarian differences, to protest their shared economic circumstances. Inter-sectarian marriages are, however, still uncommon.

A third group of Shiites comprises traders from al-Ahsa or al-Hasa, in present-day Saudi Arabia. The Hasawis speak their own variant of the Baharna Arabic dialect.

A final group consists of the Persian shopkeepers and small traders who migrated to Bahrain but have maintained their Persian roots and language (although most are bilingual). This sets them apart from the Huwala, who also have roots in Persia but are Sunni Arabs. The Bahraini Persians are often viewed by Sunnis as a fifth column, presumably receptive to political overtures and intrigues from Tehran. They are the country’s most segregated national community, concentrated in Manama’s al-Hurra and al-Ajam districts (Ajam means Persian or non-Arab).

Discrimination


When Bahrain’s new emir ascended the throne in 1999 he launched an ambitious program of political reform. There was some expectation among the Baharna that discrimination against their community would lessen, but these hopes were soon dashed. In the following years, members of Bahrain’s social underclass frequently turned to the streets to protest social inequality, sectarian discrimination, and police repression. Sometimes the protests turned violent: in December 1997 one protester died, presumably from tear-gas inhalation. In April 2008, a policeman was killed in Karzakan. Widespread unrest emerged in 2011.

Regime critics contend that discrimination in Bahrain has become more institutionalised. Bahraini Shiites invariably have to wait much longer for government-subsidised housing than do their Sunni co-nationals. Top-level posts in government and the managerial ranks of the civil service are reserved almost exclusively for Sunni nationals. The national defence, police, and security forces are all dominated by the Sunni minority. While the government is believed to regularly naturalise Sunni foreigners from countries such as Saudi Arabia, Yemen, and Iraq, in order to strengthen the ranks of these security institutions, Shiite applications for security jobs are often rejected. In the private sector, Shiites tend to occupy the lower-paid, unskilled jobs. They form the overwhelming majority of the student population of universities but a minority of the faculty departments.


There are two primary reasons for the rise of official discrimination against Bahrain’s Shiites. First, the King’s initial political reforms, which might have empowered local Shiites, fell victim to a backlash. The Shiite opposition in the reinstated Parliament was unable to deliver any substantial contribution to a more equal and just society. The Parliament remained a rubber-stamp institution. The reinstatement of Parliament seems even to have had an opposite effect: some members of the ruling elite who feared joint opposition from the Sunni and Shiite working and middle classes tried to incite inter-confessional resentment in order to divide and rule. There was also an international dimension to the backlash of discrimination against Shiites in Bahrain. The overthrow of the Taliban in Afghanistan and of the Sunni-dominated regime in Iraq removed Iran’s major enemies and its major rival for power in the Gulf. This led to a growing concern among the ruling elite of Bahrain over both the political aspirations of their own Shiite subjects and the possibility of Iranian involvement in domestic politics. The unrest in 2011 heightened these fears.

Jews and Africans


There has been a small Jewish community in Bahrain since at least the time of Muhammad, and the early 20th century saw an influx of Iraqi Jews. Many Jews resided in the country only in summer, during the pearl-fishing season. Many migrated to Israel after its creation in 1948, and others followed, after the June War of 1967. Bahrain is the only country of the Persian Gulf States to have a synagogue. The Jewish community currently numbers a few dozen people.

Many Bahrainis are descendants of slaves from Africa, who typically arrived from Oman’s territory in Zanzibar. Former slaves and their descendants adopted the tribal names of their owners, and they occupy a lower socio-economic position. Bahraini (and khaliji) music and dance has been shaped by traditions brought by slaves from Africa.

Foreigners and Non-Nationals


The British colonial authorities were the first to make an official distinction between Bahraini nationals and ‘foreigners’. Any ‘foreigner’ resident in Bahrain was required to register at the British Agency in Manama and was thereby subject to British jurisdiction. Bahrainis saw this British ‘protection policy’ as a way of favouring foreign, especially Indian, traders over local ones. This led to resentment against the Bania community (Indian traders, called Banyan in Bahrain), which persists today.

Bahrain’s first nationality law was promulgated in 1937. Under it, all persons resident in Bahrain who had not registered at the British Agency were considered ‘nationals’. Only a very few resident ‘Indians’ were naturalised.

Before the oil boom of the 1970s, the plurality of foreigners living in Bahrain (about 30 percent) came from Oman. Second came Indians and Pakistanis (about 25 percent), followed by Iranians (14 percent) and British (8 percent). Since the mid-1970s the number of non-nationals has risen considerably. According to the official censuses, they constituted 17.5 percent of the population in 1971, 32 percent in 1981, 37.6 percent in 2001, and 53 percent in 2010. The composition of the foreign population has also changed. Almost all Omani workers left Bahrain when Oman’s own oil industry was being developed in the 1970s. This exodus has been more than balanced by large numbers of migrants from the Asian subcontinent (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka) and, since the 1980s, East Asian countries, such as Korea, Thailand, the Philippines, and Indonesia. In the 2010 census, 65 percent of Bahrain’s foreign residents were listed as Asians. The second largest group comprised ‘other Arabs’. Less than 1 percent came from other Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries.

Hierarchy and Discrimination


A strict hierarchy exists in Bahrain’s foreign population. GCC Arabs and Westerners with good connections (wasta) are at the top. These include businessmen and executive officers or senior consultants of big companies. Then come the non-wasta managers, consultants, technicians, and small businessmen, regardless of nationality. They live in the suburbs of Manama and intermingle in the Western-style sport- or nightclubs and luxury-hotel bars, which all serve alcohol.

In the middle position are Asians working in clerical and service jobs. Among these, (non-GCC) Arabs are generally treated better than South and East Asians. Further down the hierarchy are the unskilled or semi-skilled workers from Asia, living in cramped housing and facing serious discrimination. In certain respects they are less well off than the Eastern European and Asian sex workers at Manama’s hotel bars, at least as to their material well-being. The much deplored position of Asian housemaids in the Gulf varies greatly with the humanitarian standards of their personal employers. At the very bottom of Bahraini society are the Bangladeshis who offer unskilled incidental labour on the streets.

Foreign workers and housemaids face serious discrimination and even regular abuse. Bahraini law allows citizenship to Arab foreigners who have resided in the country for fifteen years and non-Arabs who have lived in Bahrain for twenty-five years, but many non-Arab expatriates’ applications for citizenship have been rejected.

Shiite Arab migrants complain of similar discrimination. Without citizenship, they are prohibited from bringing over their wife or other family members. Marriage to Bahraini nationals is extremely rare and does not automatically confer citizenship. Children of Bahraini mothers and foreign fathers remain foreigners. Moreover, when migrants turn 60 their residency permits are no longer renewed. The result is forced repatriation, no matter how long one has worked in Bahrain.

In recent years, the Ministry of Labour has called for legislation to remove even the possibility of naturalisation for non-Arab migrants. A former Minister of Labour, Majeed al-Alawi, stated that foreign workers should be allowed to work in Bahrain for a maximum of six years. In January 2008 he tried to build on widespread national resentment against foreign workers by stating publicly that they represented ‘a danger worse than the atomic bomb or an Israeli attack’.

If the highest authority in the Labour Ministry compares foreign workers to nuclear conflict, it should come as no surprise that migrants in Bahrain often fall victim to forced, unpaid labour, extortion, physical and psychological abuse, and fraud. While foreign workers fall, at least in principle, under the country’s labour law, this law does not cover the activities of the approximately 700,000 housemaids in the country, who, as human-rights groups routinely attest, have been the victims of violence and sexual abuse by their employers. Those who dare to sue their employers face a long judicial process, during which they receive no income and which often results in only meagre financial compensation and forced repatriation.

It is rare for foreigners to obtain a Bahraini passport, even when born and working in Bahrain. Excepted are Sunnis serving in the police and military, many of whom have been granted citizenship in recent years. Bahraini law does not provide for the granting of asylum or refugee status to persons meeting the criteria of the 1951 UN Convention and its 1967 Protocol on the Status of Refugees.

The Bahraini government has, in practice, cooperated with the UNHCR and other humanitarian organisations in assisting asylum seekers and has protected them against deportation.

Relations Between Groups


The social structure of Bahrain is one of the most intricate in the Arab world. The conventional framing of social conflict as a Sunni-Shiite issue, while containing an element of truth, is too simplistic. Conflict, even along sectarian lines, has historically been primarily about economic and political rights, which the government grants more generously to Sunnis than to Shiites. Sectarian differences have been exploited and accentuated by the ruling Sunni aristocracy for political means, but social, commercial, and political coalitions in Bahrain have almost never been formed along purely sectarian lines. Moreover, both the Sunni and Shiite communities are divided among many nationalities, subsects, social classes, and cultural, linguistic, and ethnic subgroups.

The social-pyramid model is a better way to describe the social structure of Bahrain than framing it simply as a Sunni-Shiite (or Arab-foreign, traditional-modern, or tribal-urban) conflict. By identifying the positions of the main groups of Bahraini society in the various hierarchical levels of this pyramid, the specific dynamics and structure of Bahraini society can be more easily understood. Positions within the Bahraini social hierarchy are, however, never static. They have changed throughout history, and social mobility – upward or downward – has been possible for individuals or entire clans. But social mobility has never been unlimited: one’s origins strongly determine how high one can rise – or how far one can fall – in Bahraini society.