الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الأزمة والإصلاح في عهد بن جديد

الأزمة والإصلاح في عهد بن جديد

الجزائر أمن شرطة
قوات الأمن الوطني و الشرطة الجزائرية

كان الجنرال الشاذلي بن جديد غير معروف نسبياً كسابقه؛ وقد حاول إحداث نوع جديد من التوازن كرئيس للدولة. كان يتوجب تحرير قسم أكبر من دخل الدولة لتلبية طلبات المستهلكين، وهذا يعني خفض وإعادة هيكلة قطاع الصناعة في الدولة. ومن الناحية السياسية، كان جدول أعمال بن جديد الانتصار على الخصوم والتيارات الإيديولوجية المختلفة. كما جدّد التشديد على العنصر الإسلامي في مفهوم القومية الجزائرية، والذي يمكن استخدامه كأداة في مواجهة التيارات اليسارية في جهاز الدولة والمجتمع. لم ينتج عن ذلك سوى زيادة حدة التوترات: اشتباكات بين مجموعات مختلفة من طلاب الجامعة. عام 1980، خرجت مظاهرات تنادي بالاعتراف بالهوية والثقافة البربرية في منطقة القبائل. فقامت السلطات بقمع الاحتجاجات، غير أنها لم تقدم أية سياسات جديدة للتخفيف من حالة التوتر. وكمحاولة لتعزيز مصداقيتها الإسلامية واستيعاب أية معارضة محتملة من هذه الزاوية، أدخلت الحكومة قانون أسرة متحفظاً. كان هذا القانون الذي ينظّم الأحوال الشخصية للرجل والمرأة يعتمد على الشريعة الإسلامية، وينص على العديد من عدم المساواة تطال المرأة، بما في ذلك تلك المتعلقة بالزواج، حيث يُفرض على المرأة أن يرافقها محرم ذكر، هذا بالإضافة إلى قوانين الميراث (التي تم تعديلها عام 2005). أدى ذلك إلى احتجاجات كبيرة من قبل حركات نسائية شملت نساء مقاتلات من حركة الاستقلال. ونظراً إلى أن هذه الاحتجاجات لم تشمل سوى مجموعات ناشطة محددة كانت على ما يبدو غير قادرة على حشد فئات كبيرة من المجتمع، اختارت السلطات تجاهل هذه الأصوات في معظمها.

بهذه الطريقة، تم إخفاء إشارات اختلال التوازن السياسي والاقتصادي عوضاً عن معالجتها بإصلاحات منهجية. وعوضاً عن أن يكون محرك بناء الوطن، كان حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني مجرد مؤسسة يتنافس فيها اليساريون والإسلاميون والليبراليون.

اتضح خلال سنوات قليلة أن هذا الوضع لم يؤد إلى الاستقرار. ونظراً إلى أن القيادة لم تتمكن من تأجيل مسار الأحداث إلا عن طريق اللجوء إلى إيرادات قطاع النفط، أدى هبوط أسعار النفط الشديد في منتصف الثمانينيات إلى الوقوع في أزمة. وعوضاً عن اعتبار الجزائر قوة اقتصادية جديدة، كانت عبارة عن بلد يعاني من أزمة ديون دولية. في المقابل، كانت تدابير التقشف مجازفة سياسية.

في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1988، اندلعت أعمال شغب واسعة النطاق في مدينة الجزائر ومدن رئيسية أخرى. ونزل المتظاهرون، ومعظمهم من الشباب، إلى الشوارع وقاموا بهدم المباني العامة وغيرها من رموز الدولة. فتدخل الجيش وأعاد فرض النظام، بعد أن لقي المئات مصرعهم. وانتهز الرئيس بن جديد الفرصة لتحييد معارضيه السياسيين في حزب جبهة التحرير الوطني وأعلن عن إصلاحات واسعة النطاق. وفي شباط/ فبراير عام 1989، تم إقرار دستور جديد وضع حجر الأساس لنظام التعددية الحزبية وحماية الحريات المدنية. كما تم استبعاد كل إشارة إلى الاشتراكية. ومن خلال هذه الخطوة السياسية التي كانت مفاجِئة بالنسبة إلى أطراف عديدة، أمل الرئيس بن جديد تمهيد الطريق للتحرر الاقتصادي. كان من شأن ذلك أن يتيح له معالجة الدين الخارجي وتعزيز مصداقية الدولة على الصعيدين الخارجي والداخلي. وبالأحرى، كان الغرض من هذه الممارسات الديمقراطية تكريس مبدأ “فرق تسد”. وما كان ينقص هو قاعدة دعم واضحة ومنصة سياسية للقيادة بحد ذاتها.

تجلى ذلك في الانتخابات الحرة الأولى للمجالس البلدية والإقليمية عام 1990. تلقى حزب الدولة، جبهة التحرير الوطني، ضربة موجعة من حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ. وقد كان ذلك لافتاً للنظر، لأن الجماعة الإسلامية تأسست قبلها بعام واحد، وتشكلت من شبكة من المجموعات المحلية والتيارات الإسلامية المختلفة التي تحالفت لدعم القيادة الثنائية لعباسي مدني، أستاذ جامعي، وعلي بلحاج، إمام متطرف. ونجحت هذه المنظمة الشعبية في حشد مجموعات اجتماعية مختلفة كانت تفتقر كلها إلى القدرة على النفاذ إلى أجهزة الدولة. وانضم أئمة مساجد غير رسمية إلى مهندسين وغيرهم من ذوي الشهادات الجامعية الذين لم يتمكنوا من إيجاد عمل وتجار صغار ليس لهم روابط سياسية أساسية مع مجموعات ناخبين استهوتهم فكرة النظام الإسلامي أو بكل بساطة الرغبة في إنهاء النظام القائم.

الحزائر الجنرال الشاذلي بن جديد
الجنرال الشاذلي بن جديد
الجزائر احتجاجات
جانب من الاحتجاجات
الجزائر اعمال عنف ضحايا
جانب من صور ضحايا اعمال العنف في الجزائر

على الرغم من اعتقال قادة هذا الحزب بعد الاحتجاجات التي تلت فصل الصيف، حقق حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ نصراً جديداً في الجولة الأولى من الانتخابات البرلمانية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1991، إذ حصل على نسبة 47% من الأصوات وأغلبية المقاعد، وذلك بفضل النظام الانتخابي؛ وكانت هذه إشارة للجيش للتدخل. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير عام 1992، ألغت القوات المسلحة الانتخابات وأجبرت الرئيس بن جديد على المغادرة، لأنه كان على ما يبدو ينوي عقد صفقة مع الإسلاميين. وبالتالي، اتخذت القوات المسلحة إجراءات سريعة ضد حزب الجبهة الإسلامية للإنقاذ، فتم حظره واعتقال المئات من أعضائه في مخيمات في الصحراء الكبرى.

علي بلحاج وعباسي مدني
علي بلحاج وعباسي مدني
الجزائر انتخابات
نتائج انتخابات 1991 في الجزائر

Home / Algeria / Past to Present / Crisis and reform under Bendjedid

Crisis and reform under Bendjedid


Relatively unknown and ideologically less outspoken than his predecessor, Colonel Chadli Bendjedid attempted to strike a new balance as head of state. More state income had to be freed up to meet consumers’ demands, which meant a scaling down and restructuring of the state industrial sector. In political terms, Bendjedid’s agenda was to play off various opponents and ideological currents. He renewed the emphasis on the Islamic element of Algerian nationalism, which could be used as a tool against leftist tendencies in the state apparatus and in society. This only increased tensions, reflected in clashes amongst various groups of university students. In 1980, demonstrations for the recognition of Berber identity and culture broke out in Kabylia. The authorities put down the protests but offered no new policies to resolve the tensions. In its attempts to strengthen its Islamic credentials and accommodate potential opposition from this corner, the government introduced a conservative Family Law. This law governing the personal status of men and women relied on Islamic law (Sharia) and codified several inequalities affecting women, including one relating to marriage, requiring that the woman be accompanied by a male guardian, and rules of inheritance (the latter were amended in 2005). This led to strong protests by the women’s movement, which included prominent women guerrillas from the independence movement. But as long as these protests involved only specific activist groups that did not appear capable of mobilizing large segments of society, the authorities chose, in most cases, to ignore these voices.

In this way, the symptoms of political and economic imbalance were covered up instead of being cured by systemic reform. The National Liberation Front (Front de Libération Nationale, FLN), instead of being an engine of nation building, was now an institution in which competing leftist, Islamic, and liberal tendencies held each other in a stalemate.

It became clear in just a few years that this situation was not producing stability. Because the leadership could only delay the course of events by resorting to revenues from the oil sector, the plunge in oil prices in the mid-1980s brought the crisis into the open. Instead of a new economic power, Algeria was a country mired in international debt. Austerity measures were, however, politically risky, as the nation’s leaders learned to their chagrin.

In October 1988 large-scale riots broke out in Algiers and other major cities. Demonstrators, mostly young, took to the streets, destroying public buildings and other symbols of the state. The army intervened and restored order, at the cost of hundreds of lives. President Bendjedid seized the occasion to sideline his political opponents in the FLN and announced far-reaching reforms. In February 1989 a new Constitution was promulgated that laid the basis for a multiparty system and the safeguarding of civil liberties. All references to socialism were discarded. Through this political move, which took many by surprise, Bendjedid hoped to prepare the ground for economic liberalization. This would allow him to deal with the external debt and strengthen the credentials of the state, externally as well as amongst the Algerian population. More immediately, democratic practices were meant to serve a divide-and-rule purpose. What was lacking, though, was a clear base of support and political platform for the leadership itself.

This became clear in the first free elections, for municipal and provincial councils, in 1990. The state party, FLN, was trounced by the Islamic Salvation Front (Front Islamique du Salut, FIS). This was remarkable, because the Islamist group had just been founded the previous year, forged from a network of local groups and various Islamist tendencies that rallied behind the dual leadership of Abbassi Madani, a university teacher, and Ali Benhadj, a radical imam. A populist organization, it succeeded in rallying different social groups that had in common lack of access to the state system. Imams from unofficial mosques joined engineers and others with university degrees who could not get a job, small traders without the requisite political connections, and masses of voters attracted by the idea of an Islamic order or simply the desire to end the existing one.

Although its leaders had been imprisoned following riots the preceding summer, the FIS repeated its success in the first round of parliamentary elections in December 1991, in which it obtained 47 percent of the vote and, thanks to the electoral system, probably an overwhelming majority of seats: this was the signal for the army to step in. In January 1992, the military cancelled the elections and forced President Bendjedid to leave, because he had apparently been willing to strike a deal with the Islamists. The military took swift action against the FIS, which was banned, and imprisoned hundreds of party members in camps in the Sahara.

President Chadli Bendjedid (1979-1992)
President Chadli Bendjedid (1979-1992)

Riots in Kabylia, early 1990s
Riots in Kabylia, early 1990s

Wall showing portraits of Kabylian victims
Wall showing portraits of Kabylian victims
Ali Benhadj and Abbassi Madani
Ali Benhadj and Abbassi Madani