الصفحة الرئيسية / الجزائر / الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا

الجزائرالجغرافية - Police guarding the borders in the Sahara desert
حرس الحدود في الصحراء الكبرى

المحتويات

    Loading index...

حدود الدولة

منذ انقسام السودان عام 2011، أصبحت الجزائر أكبر دولة إفريقية. يحدها المغرب (1559 كم) وتونس (965 كم) وليبيا (982 كم) والنيجر (956 كم) ومالي (1376 كم) وموريتانيا (463 كم) والصحراء الغربية التي تحتلها المغرب (42 كم). وفي معظم الحالات، تم ترسيم الحدود من قبل القوى الاستعمارية الأوروبية، وخصوصاً فرنسا. وتسبب ذلك بمشاكل جمة في مرحلة ما بعد الاستعمار عندما طالبت المغرب بضم أجزاء كبيرة من جنوب غرب الجزائر، مما أدى إلى اندلاع “حرب الرمال” عام 1963. تم حل المشاكل الحدودية بين الجزائر وليبيا بسهولة أكبر. وهناك صعوبة في حراسة الحدود الجنوبية للبلاد الواقعة في الصحراء الكبرى، نظراً إلى عمليات التهريب والهجرة غير الشرعية.

الجغرافيا والمناخ

تتألف الجزائر من ثلاث مناطق جغرافية أساسية، ولكل منها مناخها الخاص. في الشمال، يهيمن مناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط على السهول الساحلية الخصبة التي تمتد حتى جبال الأطلس. وفي الجهة الأخرى من جبال الأطلس، تشكّل الهضاب العليا منطقة مناخية شبه قاحلة. ويتألف الجزء الأكبر من مساحة البلاد (حوالي 80% من مساحتها) من الصحراء الكبرى.

لساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط في الشمال طبيعة صخرية، يتخلله بعض الشواطئ الرملية. يتشكل العديد من الخلجان حيث تتلاقى الجبال بالبحر. اجتذبت هذه الخلجان قديماً الكثير من جيوش المحتلين، مثل قرطاجة وروما، والأتراك فيما بعد، نظراً إلى إمكانية الاستفادة منها كموانئ طبيعية للتجار والأساطيل الحربية. وسرعان ما اكتشف غيرهم من الغزاة أهمية السهول الساحلية للإنتاج الزراعي. فبالنسبة إلى الرومان، جعلت زراعة القمح في هذه المناطق الخصبة من الجزائر مصدر خبز الإمبراطورية. في عهد الاستعمار الفرنسي، أصبحت البلاد منتجاً أساسياً للنبيذ والفاكهة، كالبرتقال.

كونها موطناً لمعظم الجزائريين، تضم السهول الساحلية المدن الكبرى والمراكز الصناعية الرئيسية التي أنشأتها الجزائر بعد الاستقلال. يُعتبر المناخ في الشمال متوسطياً بامتياز: الصيف حار بشكل عام، والشتاء معتدل ولكنه قد يكون كثير الأمطار. دفع ذلك بالسلطات إلى القيام باستثمارات هامة في إدارة الموارد المائية. لطالما عانت المدن الشمالية من شح مياه الشرب في الصيف. ولكن بفضل البحيرات الاصطناعية وتحسين أنابيب المياه وبناء محطات التحلية، تحسن الوضع مؤخراً. وفي الشتاء، غالباً ما تتسبب الأمطار الغزيرة بمشاكل في المناطق الحضرية حيث البنى التحتية مهملة.جبال الأطلس ليست بعيدة عن السهول الساحلية، وتبدو الصخور غائصة في المياه في بعض الأماكن. تشكل السلسلة الجبلية الممتدة من الشرق إلى الغرب حاجزاً طبيعياً بين السهول الساحلية والمناطق الداخلية. على مر التاريخ، عزلت جبال الأطلس الجماعات الريفية في الوديان الجبلية والمناطق الصحراوية والسهلية البعيدة عن باقي مناطق البلاد. تتكلل قمم هذه الجبال التي يناهز ارتفاعها 2000 م – مثل جبل جرجرة في منطقة القبائل – بالثلوج الكثيفة في فصل الشتاء.

في المقابل، تتلقى الهضاب العليا الممتدة جنوبي جبال الأطلس كمية أقل من الأمطار. قد يكون فصل الشتاء في هذه المنطقة بارداً، ولكن صيفها حار. وتتألف الهضاب من أراضٍ عشبية وغابات صغيرة شكلت تقليدياً مراعٍ لقطعان الخراف والماعز. في الماضي، كان يتم استعمال الأعشاب الطويلة أيضاً في صناعة السلال. نظراً إلى هذه الإمكانيات الاقتصادية المحدودة، انتقل عدد كبير من سكان الهضاب إلى المدن، التي توسعت بشكل كبير نظراً إلى هذه الهجرة. وتُجمع الموارد المائية في منطقة الهضاب في خزانات طبيعية. تعتبر هذه الشطوط مستنقعات (مالحة غالباً) في المناطق المنخفضة. وإلى الجنوب أكثر، تحد الهضابَ العليا جبالُ الأطلس الصغير (أو الصحراوي)، وهي أقل ارتفاعاً من سلسلة الأطلس الشمالية.

تغطي الصحراء أربعة أخماس مساحة الجزائر. وهي حارة جداً صيفاً، وقد تتخطى 50 درجة مئوية. في الشتاء، تكون درجات الحرارة معتدلة خلال النهار، غير أنها تنخفض بشكل كبير، لأن كمّاً هائلاً من الحرارة الصادرة عن أشعة شمس خلال النهار يتبدد عبر السماء الخالية من الغيوم خلال الليل. قد لا تتساقط الأمطار لسنوات عديدة في أكثر مناطق الصحراء قحلاً، غير أن أمطاراً غير متوقعة تهطل بغزارة، وقد يكون لها نتائج كارثية. فعلى سبيل المثال، شهدت مدينة غرادية الصحراوية فيضانات هائلة في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 2008.

قد تبدو الصحراء قاسية وموحشة للوهلة الأولى، غير أنها تحتوي على الكثير من الكنوز. في الصحراء ثروات باطنية من نفط وغاز طبيعي رسمت مسار تاريخ الجزائر منذ الاستقلال. كما تحوي الصحراء في جوفها معادن ثمينة. ويتميز سطحها بصفات هامة عديدة. ليست الصحراء الجزائرية كتلة متجانسة من الرمال، ففيها سلاسل جبلية وكثبان رملية وهضاب صخرية وواحات تنمو فيها آلاف أشجار النخيل. وفرت المصادر المائية الجوفية الاستقرار الدائم لمجتمعات عديدة في الواحات. فعلى سبيل المثال، تشتهر مدينتا الوادي (مدينة الألف قبة وقبة) وبسكرة في الشمال الشرقي للجزائر بإنتاج التمور. وفي الغرب، شكلت سلسلة الواحات في منطقة توات مراكز تجمع للتجارة عبر الصحراء لآلاف السنين. وتاريخياً، كانت المنطقة الوسطى لوادي المزاب، ومدينتها الرئيسية غرادية، موطن الإباضية، أقلية دينية نجحت في التجارة.

منذ ملايين السنين، شكّلت الصحراء جزءً من البحر. وبعد انحسار مياه البحر، شكّلت عوامل التآكل بفعل الرياح والمياه – تميز مناخ الصحراء منذ آلاف السنين بأمطار غزيرة – الصخور والجبال الخلابة، أشهرها في مناطق هقار وطاسيلي ناجر، ولذلك تعتبر مقصداً سياحياً بالغ الأهمية في الجزائر. تم اكتشاف منحوتات صخرية عمرها 7000 سنة في طاسيلي ناجر. وأنواع الحيوانات التي تعيش هناك دليل على اختلاف المناخ المهيمن في هذه المنطقة في ذلك الحين تحتوي طاسيلي ناجر على مياه جوفية وافرة ضمن الصخور الرملية المتوفرة في هذه المنطقة.

هناك ميزة جيولوجية أثّرت على البلاد بشكل كبير من وقت لآخر: موقع في شمال البلاد في المنطقة التي تتلاقى فيها الصفيحتان التكتونيتان الإفريقية والأوروبية، مما ينشأ عنه خطر وقوع الزلازل. وتقع أكثر مناطق الكثافة السكانية في السهول الساحلية عند أطراف هذه المنطقة. وهناك بعض المواقع كثيرة التعرض للزلازل، مثل المدينة التي كانت تُعرف بأورليانفيل في فترة الاستعمار. بعد أن دمرها زلزال عام 1954، أُعيد بناؤها بعد حرب الاستقلال وأُطلق عليها اسم “الأصنام”، غير أنها لاقت ذات المصير عام 1980 في زلزال أزهق آلاف الأرواح. بعد هذه الكارثة، أُعيد بناؤها مجدداً وسُمّيت بالشلف. عام 2003، ضرب زلزال هائل منطقة بومرداس القريبة من العاصمة، حيث دُمرت مبانٍ كثيرة وقُتل الآلاف.

الجزائرالجغرافية

التنوع الحيوي والبيئة الطبيعية

لكل منطقة مناخية نباتها وحيواناتها. في الشمال، تشبه أنواع النباتات والحيوانات تلك التي تتميز بها البلدان الأخرى المحاذية للبحر الأبيض المتوسط. ولأن هذه المنطقة هي الأكثر ثقافة وحضرية وصناعة في البلاد، تواجه بيئتها مخاطر. فأنواع عديدة من حيواناتها تختبئ في المناطق الجبلية المجاورة، حيث تكثر أشجار السنديان والصنوبر وأرز الأطلس. وتعيش في هذه المناطق الخنازير البرية، وقد تتواجد بعض الدببة ومجموعات القردة.
في جنوب قمم الأطلس، يتسبب شح الأمطار بقلة أنواع النباتات والحيوانات. ولكن حتى الصحراء تزخر بالحياة، إذ تنمو فيها أنواع من النباتات وتعيش أنواع من الحيوانات تأقلمت مع قسوتها وندرة الموارد المائية فيها. ومن بين هذه الأنواع: العظايا والأفاعي وبعض الحشرات؛ والقليل من الثدييات، مثل الظباء وبنات آوى وجرذ الصحراء والثعالب. في منطقة طاسيلي ناجر، في أقصى الجنوب الشرقي، تتوفر أشجار السرو الصحراوي النادر (والمهدد بالانقراض) وأشجار ميرتل.
لطالما كان البحر الأبيض المتوسط غنياً بالأسماك، والذي وفّر مصدر غذاء للجماعات التي سكنت المناطق الساحلية، غير أن بعض أنواع الأسماك باتت نادرة نظراً إلى الاستغلال المفرط والتلوث. وسيتم إدخال المرجان والاسفنجيات في التطبيقات الصناعية.

الموارد الطبيعية

الهيدروكربونات هي المورد الطبيعي الرئيسي في الجزائر – النفط، والأهم، الغاز الطبيعي: الجزائر منتج رئيسي للغاز في السوق العالمية. احتياطات النفط 1% من الاحتياط العالمي المؤكد. وفي الوقت الراهن، تحتل الجزائر المركز 11 بين البلدان المصدرة للنفط في العالم. ولمعالجة النفط الخام، طورت البلاد قدرة كبيرة على تكرير النفط وإنتاج البتروكيمياويات. تستهلك السوق المحلية المتنامية في الوقت الراهن معظم منتجات النفط، مما يقلل من أهمية الصناعة النفطية كمصدر للإيرادات الخارجية.
مع 2,2% من احتياطات الغاز المؤكدة، تحتل الجزائر مرتبة أقل من الدول الرئيسية المنتجة للغاز، مثل روسيا وإيران وقطر. لكن إنتاج الجزائر من الغاز هو 2,4% من الإنتاج العالمي. إلا أن الاستهلاك المحلي للفرد الواحد أقل مما هو عليه في البلدان الأخرى المنتجة للغاز، الأمر الذي يترك حصة كبيرة نسبياً للتصدير.
تقع حقول نفط وغاز رئيسية في الجزء الشمالي من الصحراء. بدأ إنتاج النفط عام 1956 في منطقة حاسي مسعود الصحراوية. وبعد بضع سنوات، تم اكتشاف كميات كبيرة من الغاز الطبيعي قرب حاسي الرمل، كما أظهر التنقيب في مناطق أبعد جنوباً وجود احتياطات كبيرة أخرى من احتياطات النفط والغاز في منطقتي عين صالح وعين أمناس.
هناك أيضاً احتياطات وافرة من خام الحديد (أساس صناعة الفولاذ في الجزائر)، والمعادن الثمينة مثل الذهب، والألماس. معظم هذه المعادن النادرة تتواجد في الصحراء النائية، الأمر الذي يجعل تكاليف التنقيب والبنية التحتية الضرورية لاستغلال هذه الموارد باهظة اقتصادياً. ولتعزيز استخراج هذه الموارد، منحت الحكومة شركات تعدين من كندا والصين وأستراليا عقوداً استثمارية بشروط مغرية. أقامت شركات حكومية جزائرية مشاريع مشتركة مع هذه الشركات الأجنبية من أجل زيادة الإنتاج والحصول على أكثر التقنيات تطوراً والمستخدمة في استغلال المعادن الثمينة، مما أدى إلى تزايد إنتاج الذهب بشكل خاص.
المياه نادرة في الصحراء والشمال حيث الكثافة السكانية. وتقوم الحكومة بمحاولات لتحسين الوضع من خلال تشييد أو إعادة بناء السدود لتشكيل أحواض مائية. والخيار البديل والأعلى تكلفة هو إنتاج المياه الصالحة للشرب من خلال تحلية ماء البحر. خلال العقد الأخير، تم الاستثمار بشكل كبير في تطوير محطات تحلية المياه. وتم التخطيط لحوالي 15 منشأة، تم إُنجاز نصفها تقريباً. وعلى الرغم من ارتفاع التكاليف والصعوبات التقنية، فإن هذا البرنامج، الذي تشارك فيه شركات بناء أجنبية مختصة، ذو أهمية إستراتيجية كي تتابعه الدولة.
في الصحراء يتوجب إيجاد حلول أخرى غير مستدامة. تم تزويد مدينة تمنراست الصحراوية الممتدة بالماء الصالح للشرب من واحات أخرى شمالي المدينة بواسطة خط أنابيب طويل.

الطاقة الشمسية

الطاقة الشمسية المولّدة في المناطق الصحراوية مورد مستقبلي هام. تشارك الجزائر في برنامج DESERTEC الدولي الهادف إلى توفير الطاقة الشمسية من شمال إفريقيا إلى بلدان أوروبية. قد يتيح البرنامج لكل الأطراف المشاركة فيه تخفيض اعتمادها الكبير على تجارة واستعمال النفط والغاز، وهي مواد ملوثة وتساهم في الاحتباس الحراري العالمي. مع بدء الأزمة المالية والاقتصادية في أوروبا والاضطراب السياسي في شمال إفريقيا منذ عام 2011، تردد الكثير من المستثمرين في الوفاء بالتزاماتهم، مما جعل جدوى DESERTEC موضع شك على المدى القريب، إلا أن فوائده البعيدة المدى لا تزال واضحة.

خصوبة التربة

تقع غالبية الأراضي الخصبة في السهول الساحلية، في المناطق الزراعية التقليدية، مثل سهل متيجة حول العاصمة الجزائر. في فترة الاستعمار الفرنسي، أصبحت المنطقة مورداً هاماً للقمح والفواكه، مثل البرتقال والتين. أما بعد الاستقلال، أدى دمار الحرب وتركيز الحكومة على تعزيز الصناعة إلى إهمال الإمكانات الزراعية للمنطقة. ويعتبر جبل الأطلس موطن أشجار البندق وأنواع أخرى من الأشجار المثمرة. لا يزال العنب، الذي كان أحد المحاصيل الرئيسية في فترة الاستعمار، يزرع خاصة في منطقة معسكر في الشمال الغربي. يُقدّم النبيذ الجزائري في بعض أرقى المطاعم في أكبر المدن، ويتم تصدير كميات محدودة منه.

في منطقة الصحراء تزرع واحات كثيرة. ففي الصحراء احتياطات كبيرة من المياه الجوفية التي تروي شجر النخيل وبعض المحاصيل الأخرى. وأشهر المنتجات هي تمور طولقة وبسكرة. وتأتي صادرات منتجات التمور في المرتبة الثانية بعد النفط والغاز. كما تمكّن سكان الواحات من زراعة الخضار التي تحتاج إلى كميات أكبر من المياه، من خلال حفر الآبار وإنشاء أنظمة ري وشبكة من الجدران المنخفضة لعزل الرمال.

الجزائرالجغرافية

المحميات الطبيعية

جعل الضغط السكاني والتركيز على الصناعة من الصعب الحفاظ على مناطق واسعة من الطبيعة العذراء في شمال الجزائر، باستثناء بعض أجزاء جبال الأطلس. في المقابل، تم إنشاء بعض المحميات الطبيعية الكبيرة في الصحراء من أجل توفير الحماية للأنظمة البيئية السريعة الزوال. لهذه الحدائق الوطنية الطبيعية قيمة اقتصادية أيضاً من ناحية اجتذابها السياح. لذا قامت الحكومة بتطوير هذه الحدائق الوطنية بشكل فعال. وأهمها جبال هقار بالقرب من تمنراست ومنطقة طاسيلي ناجر بالقرب من مدينة جانت الجنوبية الشرقية.

المشاكل البيئية

تتعرض البيئة لتهديدات من كل النواحي. ترك التصنيع والنمو السكاني وحرب الاستقلال والحرب الأهلية في التسعينيات آثارها على الطبيعة والنظام البيئي. وأدت محاولات الزراعة في البادية إلى انحلال التربة، كما أدى التصحر إلى تغير الأنظمة البيئية. بذلت الحكومة جهداً كبيراً في السبعينيات بشكل خاص لإقامة “حاجز أخضر” من الأشجار على حدود الصحراء الكبرى لإبطاء توسعها نحو الشمال. حقق هذا البرنامج الذي أشرف عليه الجيش نجاحاً جزئياً فقط؛ فلم يكن تنوع الأشجار المزروعة كافياً لإنشاء نظام بيئي حقيقي، كما أن قطعان الماعز والأغنام قضت عليها.

على مر السنوات، زاد الوعي بالتصحر وبالتأثير البيئي للأنشطة الاقتصادية. ومع أن التنمية الاقتصادية احتلت الأولوية دائماً في جدول الأعمال، باتت الدولة تتخذ إجراءات أكثر صرامة فيما يتعلق بالمسائل البيئية؛ وأكثرها نجاحاً تخصيص محميات وطنية خاصة في الجنوب. فقيمة محميات الهقار وطاسيلي ناجر كبيرة من حيث الحفاظ على الأنظمة البيئية الصحراوية الهشة. وكانت مشاركة المجتمعات المحلية هامة في هذا النجاح، وهي المستفيدة من الفرص الاقتصادية الجديدة التي تقدمها الصحراء بعد أن أصبحت المحميات مقاصد سياحية رئيسية.

Home / Algeria / Geography

Geography

Geography Algeria - Police guarding borders Sahara desert
Police guarding the borders in the Sahara desert

Contents

    Loading index...

State Borders

Since the division of Sudan in 2011, Algeria is the largest country of Africa. It shares borders with Morocco (1,559 kilometres), Tunisia (965), Libya (982), Niger (956), Mali (1,376), Mauretania (463) and the Moroccan-occupied Western Sahara (42 kilometres). In most cases, the borders were delineated by the European colonial powers, especially France. This caused problems in the postcolonial era, when Morocco claimed large parts of south-western Algeria, leading to the brief ‘War of the Sands’ in 1963. Border issues between Algeria and Libya were more easily resolved. The southern borders, drawn in the Sahara desert, are not easily guarded, providing opportunities for smuggling and illegal migration.

Geography and Climate

Algeria consists of three main geographical zones, each with its own climate. In the north, the Mediterranean Sea dominates the fertile coastal plains that extend up to the Atlas Mountains. On the other side of the Atlas, the High Plains (Hauts Plateaux) form a semi-arid zone. The largest part (about 80 percent) of the country consists of the Sahara desert.

The Mediterranean coast in the north is rocky, with scattered sand beaches. Many bays are formed where the mountains reach the sea. Conquering armies, such as those of Carthage and Rome in ancient times and the Turks much later, were attracted by the bays, because they could serve as natural harbours for their merchant and war fleets. Other invaders soon discovered the enormous agricultural potential of the coastal plains. For the Romans, the cultivation of grain in these fertile areas made Algeria the breadbasket of the empire. During French rule, the country became a major supplier of wine and of fruits such as oranges.

As the home of most Algerians up to the present, the coastal plains include the big cities and the major industrial centres that were created by independent Algeria. The climate in the north is typically Mediterranean: summers are generally hot, and winters are moderate but can be very rainy. This has obliged the country to make substantial investments in water management. The northern cities have long suffered from shortages of drinking water during the summer. Through the use of artificial lakes, the improvement of water pipelines, and the construction of desalination plants, the situation has improved recently. In winter, the abundance of rain often causes problems in urban areas, where infrastructure has been neglected.

The Atlas Mountains are never far from the coastal plains, and the rocks seem, in some places, to plunge right into sea. Stretching from east to west, the mountain range forms a natural barrier between the coastal plains and the interior. Throughout history, the Atlas has allowed rural communities in mountain valleys and in remote desert and plain regions to live isolated from the rest of the country. With summits – such as that of the famous Jurjura Mountain in the Kabylia region –over 2,000 metres, the Atlas range can accumulate deep snow in winter.

In contrast, the High Plains that extend south of the Atlas get far less rain. Winters can be cold, and summers are hot. The plains consist of grasslands and small bushes that traditionally provided pasturage for sheep and goats. In earlier times, the long grass was also used in basket-making. Given these limited economic possibilities, many inhabitants of the plains have moved to the cities and towns, which have grown considerably as a result of this migration. The water supplies in the plains area are concentrated in natural reservoirs. These chotts are marshes (often salty) in low-lying areas. Futher south, the High Plains are delimited by the Anti-(or Saharan) Atlas, which are not as high as the more northern Atlas range.

Four-fifths of the country lies in the Sahara desert. The Sahara is very hot in summer, with temperatures that can reach more than 50˚C. In winter, daytime temperatures are comfortable, but night can be freezing cold, because much of the heat originating from solar radiation during the day can escape the surface through the cloudless night-time sky. The driest parts of the Sahara can remain rainless for years, but unpredictable rains sometimes fall in torrents that can have a devastating impact. The desert city of Ghardaïa, for example, experienced large floods in October 2008.

The desert may appear harsh and unwelcoming at first sight, but it contains many treasures. There are the underground riches of oil and natural gas that have shaped the course of Algerian history since independence. In addition, precious metals are found in the remote corners of the desert. The surface of the desert has several remarkable features. Far from being a uniform mass of sand, the Algerian Sahara offers a varied landscape of mountain ranges, sand dunes, rocky plateaus, and oases filled with thousands of palm trees. Underground water resources made possible permanent settlement of communities in oasis towns. El Oued (called the town of a thousand domes) and Biskra, in north-eastern Algeria, are major date-producing regions. In the west, the string of oasis towns in the Touat region have been important staging posts for the trans-Saharan trade for hundreds of years. The central area of the Mzab valley, with its main town, Ghardaïa, has historically been home to the Ibadi religious minority, constituting a successful trading community.

Millions of years ago the Sahara was part of a sea. Once the water receded, the processes of erosion by wind and water – a few thousand years ago, it had a climate characterized by abundant rainfall – created the most remarkably-shaped rocks and mountains, especially notable in the Hoggar and Tassili n’Ajjer regions, which are, for that reason, major tourist destinations for travellers to Algeria. Rock carvings dating back about 7,000 years have been discovered in the Tassili n’Ajjer. The variety of animals shown in these pictures is a good indication of the very different climate prevailing then. The Tassili n’Ajjer (‘plain of rivers’) still contains much groundwater, held in the sandstone that predominates there.

A geological feature that has occasionally affected the country severely is the location of northern Algeria in the zone where the African and European tectonic plates meet, resulting in a high risk of earthquakes. The most populated areas in the coastal plains lie on the edge of this zone. Some places are extremely prone to disaster, such as the city that was known as Orleansville in colonial times. After it was destroyed by an earthquake in 1954, it was rebuilt after the war of independence and renamed al-Asnam but suffered the same fate in 1980, leaving thousands dead. After that disaster it was rebuilt and renamed Chlef. In 2003 a major earthquake hit the region of Boumerdès, close to the capital, where a thousand people lost their lives and buildings were destroyed.

Geography Algeria - Climate Charts

Biodiversity and Natural Environment

Each climate zone has its own plant and animal life. In the north, the species resemble those of other countries bordering the Mediterranean. Because this region also includes the most cultivated, urbanized, and industrialized parts of the country, its environment is under pressure. Many species survive in refuges in the nearby mountainous regions, where oaks, pines, and the Atlas cedar abound. Wild boar and the occasional bear survive here, as do the often more visible groups of monkeys.
South of the higher Atlas peaks, the lower rainfall makes for far less vegetation and animal life. But even the desert is far from lifeless, as it contains many plants and animals that have adapted to the harsh environment, making efficient use of the scarce water resources. Among these species are lizards and snakes and some insects, but also a few mammals, such as antelopes, jackals, desert rats, and foxes. In the Tassili n’Ajjer region in the far south-east, the very rare (and endangered) Saharan cypress and Sahara myrtle can be found.
The Mediterranean Sea has always held abundant fish, which provided a living for many coastal communities, but some species are becoming rare on account of overexploitation and pollution. Corals and sponges are used in industrial applications.

Natural Resources

Algeria’s main natural resources are its hydrocarbons – oil and, above all, natural gas, of which the country is a major producer in the global market. Oil reserves are about 1 percent of proven global reserves. Currently Algeria is the twelfth largest exporter of petroleum in the world. In order to process the crude oil, the country has built a significant oil-refining and petrochemical capacity. Most oil products now go to the growing domestic market, making the oil industry a less important source of external revenue.
With 2.2 percent of the world’s proven natural gas reserves, Algeria is less important than major producers such as Russia, Iran, and Qatar. Algeria accounts for 2.4 percent of global gas production. Domestic consumption per capita is, however, lower than in other gas-producing countries, leaving a relatively large share for export.
Major oil and gas fields lie in the northern Sahara. The production of oil began in 1956 in the desert region of Hassi Messaoud. Some years later, large deposits of natural gas were found near Hassi R’Mel. Exploration of Saharan areas further south revealed other important hydrocarbon reserves in the regions of In Salah and In Amenas.
The country also has substantial reserves of iron ore (which has formed the basis of the Algerian steel industry), and precious metals such as gold, and diamonds. Most of these rare minerals are found in the remote Sahara, often making the costs of exploration and the infrastructure needed for exploiting these resources economically prohibitive. In order to promote extraction of these resources, the government has offered mining companies from Canada, China, and Australia favourable terms for investment in the country. Algerian state enterprises have formed joint ventures with these foreign firms in order to expand production and gain access to state-of-the-art technology for exploiting precious metals. This has resulted particularly in an increase in the production of gold.
Water is scarce, both in the desert and in the heavily populated north. The government is trying to improve the situation by building or reconstructing dams to create water reserves. An alternative though more expensive option is to produce drinking water from seawater by desalination. Over the last decade, large investments have been made in the development of desalination plants. Some fifteen installations have been planned, about half of which have been completed. Despite the costs involved and the technical difficulties, this programme, involving specialized foreign construction firms, is of sufficient strategic importance that the state is continuing them.
In the Sahara, other solutions have to be found that are not always sustainable. Drinking water for the expanding desert city of Tamanrasset has to be supplied by a long pipeline from other oases to its north.

Solar energy

An important future resource is solar energy generated in the desert regions. Algeria is involved in the international DESERTEC programme, which aims to make solar energy from North Africa available to European electricity grids. The programme may allow all the parties involved to reduce their great dependence on the trade and use of hydrocarbons, which are pollutants and contribute to global warming. With the onset of the financial and economic crisis in Europe and, from 2011, political turmoil in North Africa, many investors have hesitated to honour their commitments. This casts doubt on the short-term feasibility of DESERTEC, although the longer-term advantages still seem clear.

Land Fertility

Most of Algeria’s fertile land is found in the coastal plains, in the traditional agricultural areas such as the Mitidja Plain around the capital Algiers. During the French colonial era, this region became an important source of grains and fruits such as oranges and figs. After independence, the devastation of the war and the government’s orientation towards the buildup of industry led to a neglect of the region’s agricultural potential. The Atlas Mountains are home to nut and fruit trees as well. Wine grapes, one of the main products in colonial times, are still being grown, particularly in the region of Mascara, in the north-west. Algerian wine can be found in some major restaurants in the big cities and is also being exported in limited quantities.

In the Saharan region, many oases have also long been cultivated. The desert contains significant groundwater reserves that permit palm trees and some other crops to grow. The most famous products are the dates from the regions of Tolga and Biskra; they are the most important export product after oil and gas. The inhabitants of the oases have also been able to cultivate vegetables that need more water by drilling wells, building irrigations systems, and creating a network of low walls to keep the sands out.

Geography Algeria - Fanack Chronicle
Agriculture in Algeria

Nature Reserves

Population pressure and the emphasis on industrialization have made it difficult to maintain large areas of unspoiled nature in northern Algeria, with the exception of parts of the Atlas mountains. In contrast, the Sahara has seen the creation of some large nature reserves in order to protect fragile ecosystems. These natural parks also have economic value through their appeal to tourists. For these reasons, the government has been actively developing the reserves. The major parks are the Hoggar Mountains near Tamanrasset, and the Tassili n’Ajjer area near the south-eastern city of Djanet.<br

Environmental Issues


The environment is under threat from many directions. Industrialization, population growth, the war of independence, and the civil war of the 1990s have left their traces in the landscape and the ecosystem. Attempts to bring steppe areas under cultivation have resulted in the depletion of the soils, and ecosystems are being changed by desertification. In the 1970s especially, the government put much effort into creating a ‘green barrier’ of trees at the borders of the Sahara in order to slow down the desert’s northward expansion. This programme, managed by the army, has been only partly successful. The variety of tree species planted was insufficient, which prevented the creation of a true ecosystem, and those that were planted were often were eaten by sheep and goats.

Over the years, however, the awareness of desertification and the environmental impact of economic activities has grown. Although economic development has always dominated the agenda, the state now acts more forcefully on environmental issues. Most successful has been the designation of national parks, mainly in the south. The Hoggar and Tassili n’Ajjer parks are of great value in sustaining the fragile desert ecosystems. Important to this success has been the involvement of the local communities, for whom the desert also brings new economic opportunities, as the parks have become main tourist destinations.