الصفحة الرئيسية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الحكم

الحكم

الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحكومة
الآباء المؤسسون لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والثالث من اليسار أول رئيس للبلاد الشيخ زايد بن شلطان آل نهيان / Photo HH

المحتويات

السلطة التنفيذية
السلطة التشريعية
السلطة القضائية
الأحزاب السياسية
البيروقراطية
الفساد
الإصلاحات المؤسساتية
الإصلاح السياسي والربيع العربي

المقدمة

تعتمد الإمارات العربية المتحدة في نظام حكمها على نظام اتحادي مكوّن من سبع إمارات وتهيمن عليه إمارة أبوظبي. وتقوم الحكومات المحلية في كل إمارة على سلالات أبوية تقليدية، حيث يحكمها شيوخ متحدّرون من سلالات كانت على رأس اتحادات القبائل. ولكل إمارة حكومتها المحلية الخاصة، وتختلف تعقيدات هذه الحكومات وفق حجم الإمارة وعدد سكانها.

ويجمع النظام الاتحادي للإمارات العربية المتحدة بين عناصر القيادة والحكومة التقليدية والحديثة، وكانت مهمته إعطاء البلاد هوية وطنية واستقراراً سياسياً متميزين. وتتمتع كل إمارة بصوتٍ في الإدارة المدنية للبلاد، وفي المجلس الأعلى ومجلس الوزراء، رغم بروز مكانة ونفوذ إمارتي أبوظبي ودبي. وعادة ما يتم اتخاذ القرارات الحاسمة، مثل الموافقة على الموازنة الاتحادية واختيار رئيس البلاد ورئيس الوزراء بالإجماع.

وتتمتع كل إمارة باستقلالية وسلطة واسعة في إدارة اقتصادها وأنظمتها الاجتماعية. والحكومات هي في يد العائلات المالكة وحلفائهم المحليين من التجار ورجال الأعمال الأغنياء والنافذين. وفي كل من الحكومة الاتحادية والحكومات المحلية، لا وجود للهيئات السياسية التمثيلية. ويمكن للناس العاديين التواصل مباشرة مع الزعماء المحليين بشأن مشاكلهم في منتدى استشاري تقليدي يُعقد بانتظام، ويُعرف بالمجلس.

السلطة التنفيذية

تقع السلطة التنفيذية في يد المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد والرئيس ونائب الرئيس ورئيس الوزراء ومجلس الوزراء.

ويعتبر المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد السلطة الدستورية الأعلى في البلاد والهيئة العليا لوضع السياسات. ويضم المجلس في حكام الإمارات السبع. ويقوم المجلس بانتخاب الرئيس ونائب الرئيس من بين أعضائه. كما يتمتع المجلس بسلطات تنفيذية وتشريعية، فهو الذي يرسم السياسات العامة، ويصادق على القوانين والمراسيم الاتحادية، ويوافق على تعيين واستقالة رئيس الوزراء من قبل الرئيس؛ كما يقيله من منصبه بناء على توصية من الرئيس. ويجتمع المجلس أربع مرات في السنة. ولحاكمَي دبي وأبوظبي سلطة حق النقض الفيتو. وفي حال تعذّر على حاكم ما حضور اجتماع، يجوز لولي العهد أن ينوب عنه. ولا يكون لأولياء العهد ونواب الحكام الذين يحضرون اجتماع المجلس بحضور حكامهم أيّ دور رسمي في الجلسة على الإطلاق.

ويأتي على رأس الدولة الرئيس، وتكون فترة ولايته خمس سنوات. ويقوم المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد بانتخاب رئيس البلاد أو يعيد انتخاب الرئيس الحالي. ويشغل حالياً منصب رئيس الإمارات الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان وهو في نفس الوقت حاكم إمارة أبوظبي. وفي 4 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004، خلف خليفة والده الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان – أول رئيس للإمارات العربية المتحدة، والذي غالباً ما يشار إليه على أنه “أبو الأمة”. وفي عام 2009، تم تجديد ولاية الشيخ خليفة لخمسة سنوات أخرى. وهو معروف بموالاته للغرب.

وتمتد ولاية نائب الرئيس لمدة خمس سنوات أيضاً. ويقوم الرئيس باختياره، مع العلم بأنه بحاجةٍ إلى المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد. ويشغل هذا المنصب حالياً الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، حاكم إمارة دبي ورئيس الوزراء. ويترأس رئيس الوزراء، الذي يعيّنه الرئيس، مجلس الوزراء، أو الحكومة.

الحكومات المحلية

يحدّد الدستور العلاقة بين الحكومة الاتحادية والحكومات المحلية، ويسمح ببعض المرونة في توزيع السلطة. ولا تزال الحكومة التقليدية تلعب دوراً هاماً في حكومة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث يؤدي المجلس دوره في ضمان وصول الشعب إلى الحكام. ويستمع الحاكم خلال انعقاد المجلس الوطني إلى شكاوى الشعب وينظر في الخلافات، ويوزّع الهبات. ونظرياً، يمكن لكل مواطن يعيش تحت ولاية الحاكم المشاركة في المجلس.

وعلى العموم، تُسند زعامة الإمارة إلى القبيلة الأبرز سياسياً فيها، ثم يختار كبار رجال القبيلة الحاكمة من صفوفهم الزعيم الأعلى للإمارة، أي الأمير. وغالباً ما يقع الاختيار على ابن الأمير السابق، لكن ذلك لا يحدث بصفةٍ دائمة. وفي الوقت ذاته، تحظى كل قبيلة بزعيمها أو شيخها الخاص، وبدرجة معينة من التعددية السياسية الضرورية لترسيخ مكانة الأسرة الحاكمة، كما يظهر من مؤسسة المجلس.

Rulers of the 7 Emirates

السلطة التشريعية

ليس هناك انتخابات أو أحزاب سياسية أو مؤسسات تمثيلية ديمقراطية فعلية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويتم اختيار رئيس البلاد وهيئاتها الحكومية من خلال مشاورات بين الزعماء التقليديين أو المعينين من قبلهم ضمن إطار الدستور. وفي السابق، كانت التشريعات على شكل مراسيم صادرة عن المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد.

المجلس الوطني الاتحادي

تم إدخال تغيير طفيف على الحكومة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006، على شكل انتخابات محدودة غير مباشرة للمجلس الوطني الاتحادي، وهو هيئة استشارية ظهرت عام 1972. وتشمل مهام المجلس الوطني الاتحادي مناقشة التعديلات الدستورية ومشاريع القوانين القابلة للموافقة أو التعديل أو الرفض (علماً أنه لا يحق للمجلس التقدّم بمشاريع قوانين)؛ ومراجعة مشروع الموازنة السنوية للاتحاد؛ ومناقشة المعاهدات والاتفاقيات الدولية. ويتألف المجلس من 40 عضواً: 8 من كل من أبوظبي ودبي، 6 من كل من الشارقة ورأس الخيمة، 4 من لكل من عجمان وأم القيوين والفجيرة. وحتى عام 2006، كان حكام الإمارات السبع يعيّنون كامل أعضاء المجلس لولاية سنتين. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يتم تعيين نصف أعضاء المجلس عن طريق هيئة انتخابية مؤلفة من 6689 عضواً يختارهم الحكام السبعة الذين يقومون أيضاً بترشيح النصف الآخر. وفي عام 2008، أصدر المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد تعديلاً دستورياً لتمديد عضوية المجلس الوطني الاتحادي إلى 4 سنوات.

وفي أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2011، تم إقرار إجراء انتخابات غير مباشرة للمجلس الوطني الاتحادي، وذلك في أعقاب اندلاع ثورات “الربيع العربي“؛ حيث تم السماح لـ 129,274 مواطن إماراتي – ثلثي السكان البالغين، أو 20 ضعف الأعداد المشاركة في عام 2006 – بالمشاركة في اختيار 20 مرشحاً من أصل 40 لعضوية المجلس الوطني الاتحادي. وتقوم اللجنة الوطنية للانتخابات التي تأسست عام 2011 باختيار الأشخاص الذين يسمح لهم بالمشاركة في عملية الاختيار. ومنذ ذلك الحين، شهد المجلس مشاركة 7 سيدات فيه، ستة بتعيين من الحكام وواحدة بالانتخاب.

ومنذ عام 1972، أكمل المجلس الوطني الاتحادي 14 جلسة تشريعية. ووفق الدستور، يتعيّن إيداع مشاريع القوانين الاتحادية لدى المجلس لمراجعتها وتقديم التوصيات بشأنها. وتبنّت الحكومة على مرّ السنوات أغلبية توصيات المجلس وتعديلاته، كما تم تعديل مشاريع قوانين أصلية صادرة عن مجلس الوزراء لتتلاءم مع احتياجات المواطنين الذين يفترض أنه يمثّلهم.

[/three_fifth]

السلطة القضائية

يعتمد قانون دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على نظام مزدوج يشمل المحاكم الشرعية والمدنية، علماً بأن الإمارات لم تقبل بالسلطة القضائية الإلزامية لمحكمة العدل الدولية. ويختلف تطبيق مجموعة القوانين هذه من إمارة إلى أخرى. فبعضها يميل بشكلٍ أكبر إلى الليبرالية والانفتاح كما هو الحال في إمارة دبي. في حين تتسم هذه القوانين بكونها أكثر محافظة وتحفظاً، كما عليه الحال في الشارقة. وعلى النظام القضائي أن يتطور ليلحق بالتطوّر السريع للأنظمة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والثقافية، كون التشريعات الملحة تأتي على شكل مراسيم يصدرها الحاكم أو الرئيس.

وتتضمن السلطة القضائية، التي يضمن استقلاليتها الدستور كلاً من: 1) المحكمة العليا – وهي أعلى هيئة قضائية ويعيّن الرئيسُ قضاتها؛ 2) المحاكم الابتدائية.

وفي النظام القضائي المزدوج للإمارات العربية المتحدة، تعالج المحاكم الشرعية القضايا الجنائية والأحوال الشخصية، في حين تعالج المحاكم المدنية قضايا القانون المدني. ويُحاكم غير المسلمين على الجنح الجنائية في المحاكم الشرعية، إلا أن عقوبة غير المسلم تكون مدنية في أغلبية الأحيان وفقاً لتقرير القاضي، بدلاً من العقوبات الشرعية.

ويؤخذ على الإمارات العربية المتحدة رفضها إلغاء عقوبة الإعدام أو منح العمال المهاجرين حقوقاً أساسية (خاصة حق التنظيم)، أو تطبيع وضع عديمي الجنسية لتمكينهم من الحصول على المساواة الكاملة والمساعدات في مجالات العمل غير المشروط والرعاية الصحية والمساعدات الحكومية الأخرى. وفي عام 2009، أصدرت محاكم في الشارقة ودبي 13 حكماً بالإعدام، لم يتم تنفيذ أي حكم منها.

الأحزاب السياسية

تتسم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بنظام سياسي مغلق، فلا انتخابات ولا أحزاب سياسية. ويقوم رئيس الدولة بتعيين رئيسَ الوزراء والوزراء الذين يديرون الشؤون اليومية للبلاد. ويتم تعيين نصف أعضاء المجلس الوطني الاتحادي الأربعين وانتخاب النصف الآخر من خلال هيئة انتخابية يختار حكام الإمارات السبعة أعضاءها كل أربع سنوات، علماً بأن المجلس يحظى بصلاحية استشارية فقط.

ويعتبر تأسيس الأحزاب السياسية محظوراً في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما أن حقوق الاجتماع والتنظيم محدودة. كما أن المنظمات غير الحكومية المستقلة محظورة، ويتعيّن على جميع المنظمات التسجيل لدى الحكومة، وهي عرضة للإغلاق من قبل الحكومة. وتعتبر النقابات التجارية غير قانونية. وفي عام 2002، أنشأت شرطة دبي دائرة لحقوق الإنسان مهمتها مراقبة ظروف المساجين وإعادة تأهيلهم وتنفيذ برامج لضحايا الجريمة، في حين تبقى مجموعات حقوق الإنسان المستقلة محظورة في البلاد.

البيروقراطية

يعتبر القطاع العام قطاع التوظيف الأكبر في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ويشغل الإماراتيون معظم المناصب فيه. وتشكل الحاجة إلى معالجة طلبات ملايين الزوار، وتراخيص الإقامة والعمل، إضافة إلى الخدمات اليومية الأخرى (مثل المرافق، والهاتف، والإنترنت، وتسجيل السيارات) تحدياً للنظام. ولا تزال الكثير من هذه الخدمات تستلزم أعمالاً ورقية معقدة وأختام وانتظار في صفوف طويلة ومراجعة المكاتب الحكومية وشبه الحكومية عدة مرات. إلا أنه تم إدخال الكثير من التحسن، على شكل تسهيلات على الانترنت مباشرة وإعادة تنظيم بعض الخدمات لزيادة سرعتها وفعاليتها، كما هو الحال في خدمة تسجيل السيارات.

وما يزيد البيروقراطية تعقيداً الاحتكارات والميل نحو مركزية بعض الخدمات الرئيسية، والتي تستثني المنافسين من القطاع الخاص وتقلل من فعالية الخدمات ونوعيتها. ومثال تقليدي على ذلك شركة “اتصالات” شبه الحكومية التي كانت، حتى عام 2007، المزوّد الوحيد للهاتف والإنترنت والتلفزيون في البلاد، والتي تعتبر غير فعالة على نطاق واسع. وتحسّن الوضع بعض الشيء بعد إنشاء شركة “du” شبه الحكومية لكسر احتكار “اتصالات”، وذلك بإدخال تنافس وخيارات أكثر للمواطنين. ولأن الوظائف الحكومية مفتوحة بالغالب للإماراتيين، فإن المواطنين يفضلون العمل في هذا القطاع. وتشمل الأسباب الأخرى: الرواتب المرتفعة؛ والفوائد الممتازة (بما فيها التقاعد)؛ وقصر ومرونة ساعات العمل؛ وبيئة العمل المريحة. وكنتيجة لذلك، أصبحت قطاعات الدولة (مثل الشرطة والقوات المسلحة) والوزارات الحكومية (مثل الإدارة العامة للإقامة وشؤون الأجانب) والمؤسسات شبه الحكومية (مثل مؤسسة الاتصالات العملاقة “اتصالات”) مكتظة بالموظفين الإماراتيين.

إلى جانب رداءة الخدمات وتفشي المحاباة و”الواسطة”، تنجم بعض المشاكل البيروقراطية عن هشاشة مركزية الإدارة وغياب الإجراءات الموحدة بين الإمارات السبع. بحيث يتطلب تغيير العمل ومكان الإقامة (من دبي إلى أبوظبي على سبيل المثال) عملية طويلة ومعقدة لتغيير رخصة العمل والكفيل ووضع الإقامة.

الفساد

على غرار البلدان الأخرى في المنطقة، تعاني الإمارات العربية المتحدة من تفشّي ظاهرتي المحاباة والمحسوبية، خاصة ما يُعرف “بالواسطة”، حيث يصل البعض إلى مبتغاهم من خلال علاقات شخصية أو النفوذ الذي توفّره لهم مكانتهم أو ثروتهم أو هويتهم الوطنية (فالجنسية الإماراتية ميزة فضلى). وتتم الكثير من الخدمات بفعالية وسرعة، ولكن في أغلبية الأحيان تتوفر فقط لأعمال معينة أو مقابل مبلغ أكبر من المعتاد.

ومع أن الخدمات الحكومية مكلفة بشكل عام، والدفع نقداً، إلا أن الرشاوى والاستغلالية قليلة نسبياً. ومع ذلك، كان هناك حالات فساد كبيرة، حيث تم كشف موظفين حكوميين كبار في الخدمة المدنية استغلوا مناصبهم وسيقوا إلى العدالة.

وينص قانون الإمارات العربية المتحدة على عقوبات جنائية في حالات الفساد الحكومي، وبشكل عام تطبّق الحكومة القانون بشكل فعال. ويتفشّى الفساد الحكومي على الأغلب على المستوى الإداري. إلا أن قوانين الدولة تخفي الكشوفات المالية للموظفين الحكوميين، مما يصعّب قياس مدى وعمق الفساد الرسمي المحتمل.

ونظراً لانعدام استقلالية المحاكم في البلاد، فمن غير الوارد تقريباً مساءلة الأشخاص الذين في السلطة أو المرتبطين بالأسر الحاكمة، أو ملاحقتهم قضائياً، أو معاقبتهم بسبب الفساد. ويسود الاعتقاد بأن المحاباة والممارسات المالية والقانونية الفاسدة مستمرة، حتّى في حال ظهور أدلة ثابتة. فعلى سبيل المثال، عام 2008 أعادت دائرة المحاسبة إلى وزارة المالية حوالي 300 مليون درهم (82 مليون دولار أميركي) اختلسها موظفون. وفي نهاية العام، لم تتوفّر معلومات عن مصير هؤلاء الموظفين. وينص القانون على إمكانية وصول عامة الشعب إلى المعلومات الحكومية، إلا أن الحكومة تتبع هذا الشرط انتقائياً، ولا يتم الرد على طلبات الحصول على المعلومات.

الإصلاحات المؤسساتية

منذ عام 2006، بُذلت بعض الجهود لإصلاح الأنظمة الحكومية المحلية والاتحادية. وتبلورت رؤية الحكومة في الخطة الإستراتيجية لعام 2007، بتغطية ستة قطاعات تنموية – التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية؛ والقطاع العام؛ والعدالة؛ والأمان؛ والبنية التحتية؛ والمناطق الريفية – بناءً على البرنامج الوطني لعام 2005 والذي أعدته الوزارات الاتحادية. ويبقى اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لزيادة التعاون بين الهيئات الحكومية الاتحادية والمحلية وتحسين الكفاءة وإعادة إحياء دور الوزارات في وضع التنظيمات ورسم السياسات، فضلاً عن تحديث الخدمات المدنية.

وفي عام 2006، كانت إحدى أهم الإصلاحات السياسية إدخال الانتخابات غير المباشرة لنصف أعضاء المجلس الوطني الاتحادي. كما بُذلت الجهود لتعزيز فعالية المؤسسات العامة وشفافيتها (للإمارات العربية المتحدة هيئة تدقيق رسمية لمراقبة أموال الاتحاد ومراجعة السجلات المالية الرسمية). ويتم تخصيص الموازنة السنوية الأكبر في الإمارات لأبوظبي، حيث تصل نفقاتها إلى ثلاثة أضعاف نفقات الاتحاد نظراً لارتفاع إنتاجها النفطي. وكجزء من الإصلاحات المالية، أنشأت هذه الإمارة جهاز أبوظبي للمحاسبة لمراقبة إيرادات ونفقات جميع المؤسسات الحكومية عن كثب وضمان حسن إدراة أموال الدولة. وتتمتع الهيئة بصلاحية مراجعة إيرادات ونفقات كافة الدوائر الحكومية المحلية، بما فيها المجلس الاستشاري الوطني، والمنشآت العامة، وجميع المؤسسات التي تمتلك فيها حكومة أبوظبي نسبة 25% على الأقل. كما يراقب جهاز المحاسبة تطبيق عقود القروض والسجلات الاستثمارية والمالية للمؤسسات العامة وتشرف على جرودها ومستودعاتها.

وتشمل الإجراءات الإصلاحية الأخرى تعديل المادة 62 من الدستور التي تحظر على رئيس الوزراء ونوابه، أو أي وزير من الحكومة الاتحادية الدخول في صفقات أعمال مع الحكومة الاتحادية والحكومات المحلية أو شغل أي منصب آخر.

الإصلاح السياسي والربيع العربي

بدأت موجة الانتفاضات في المنطقة في كانون الثاني/يناير 2011 في تونس، وسرعان ما انتشرت إلى مصر وليبيا والبحرين وعُمان واليمن وسوريا، مما دفع الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى تنفيذ إصلاحات سياسية. وقبل الربيع العربي، حدثت الإصلاحات الأكثر أهمية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006 عندما أجريَت انتخابات محدودة وغير مباشرة لاختيار نصف أعضاء المجلس الوطني الاتحادي. والهدف من هذه الخطوة، إلى جانب مشاركة 9 سيدات في البرلمان، أن تكون الأولى في عملية مصممة لتعزيز المشاركة العامة والدور الذي لعبه المجلس الوطني الاتحادي في الحكومة. وتشمل الخطوات الأخرى تعزيز السلطة التشريعية والقانونية للمجلس وتطوير قنوات فعالة للتنسيق بين المجلس والسلطة التنفيذية، مثل مجلس الوزراء. ومنذ الانتخابات، يسائل المجلس وزراء في الحكومة حول قضايا التضخم ومسائل اقتصادية واجتماعية أخرى. وجلساته مفتوحة لعامة الشعب. وفضلاً عن ذلك، لكل إمارة مجلسها الاستشاري الخاص بها. وإزاء التغيرات في المحيط السياسي الإقليمي، فقد زاد المجلس الوطني الاتحادي من قوة وقاعدة الهيئة الانتخابية من 7000 ناخب عام 2006 إلى 130,000 ناخب عام 2011، يمثلون شريحة أكبر من الإماراتيين ما فوق سن 21. ووصف وزير الدولة لشؤون المجلس الوطني الاتحادي والشؤون الخارجية أنور قرقاش الخطوة بأنها مصممة لتشجيع “مشاركة أوسع تعزّز التجرية الاتحادية وفقاً لرؤية سموّ الرئيس”. وأكد قرقاش على أهمية زيادة مشاركة المرأة والشباب في الهيئة الانتخابية.

Home / United Arab Emirates / Governance

Governance

Governance UAE - Fanack Chronicle
The founding fathers of the UAE, with third from left the first President Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan / Photo HH

Contents

The Executive
The Legislative
The Judicial
Political Parties
Bureaucracy
Corruption
Institutional Reforms
Political Reform and the Arab Spring

Introduction

The UAE is a loose federal system consisting of seven emirates, dominated by Abu Dhabi. Within each emirate, local governments are based on traditional patriarchal monarchies and ruled by sheikhs from royal families who long held the leadership position of tribal confederations. Each emirate has its own local government, the complexity of which varies according to the size and population of the emirates.

The federal system of the UAE combines traditional and modern elements of leadership and government and has been responsible for giving the country a distinct national identity and political stability. Every emirate has a voice in the civil administration of the country, in both the supreme council and the cabinet, though the status and power of the powerful emirates of Abu Dhabi and Dubai are apparent. Critical decisions, such as approving the federal budget and choosing the President and Prime Minister, are usually reached by consensus.

Individual emirates reserve considerable power and autonomy in running their own economies and social systems. The governments are largely in the hands of royal dynasties and their local allies from other rich and powerful merchants and business families. In both the federation and the individual emirates’ governments, there are no genuinely representative political institutions. Ordinary people are able to communicate their problems to local leaders by talking to them directly in the traditional consultative forum the leaders hold regularly, known as the majlis (council).

The Executive

The executive authority is in the hands of the Federal Supreme Council (FSC), the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, and cabinet. The FSC is the highest constitutional authority and the top policy-making entity. Its members are the seven rulers of the emirates; the Council elects the President and Vice-President from amongst them. The FSC has both legislative and executive powers. It establishes general policies, ratifies federal laws and decrees, approves the nomination of the Prime Minister by the President, and accepts the Prime Minister’s resignation. It also relieves him from his post upon the recommendation of the President. It meets four times a year. The rulers of Abu Dhabi and Dubai have effective veto powers. If a ruler cannot attend Federal Supreme Council meetings he may delegate his crown prince to take his seat. Crown princes and deputy rulers attending meetings when their ruler is present have no formal role in the Council.

The head of state is the President, who serves a five-year term. The FSC elects or re-confirms a President already in office. The current President is Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, who is also the ruler of Abu Dhabi. On 4 November 2004 he succeeded his father, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan – the first UAE President, often referred to as ‘the father of the nation’ – who had died two days earlier. In 2009 Sheikh Khalifa’s five-year term as President was renewed. He is said to be a pro-Western modernizer.

The Vice-President also has a five-year term. He is selected by the President but needs to be approved by the FSC. The post is currently held by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, who is also the ruler of Dubai. Sheikh Mohammed serves also as Prime Minister. The Prime Minister, who is appointed by the President, heads the Council of Ministers, or cabinet.

Local government

The relationship between the federal and local governments is laid down in the Constitution and allows some flexibility in the distribution of authority. Traditional government still plays an important part in the government of the UAE, with the institution of the majlis (council) maintaining a role in ensuring that the people have free access to their rulers. During the majlis the leader hears grievances, mediates disputes, and disperses largesse. In theory, anyone under the leader’s rule must be granted access to the majlis.

On the whole, leadership in each emirate falls to that emirate’s most politically prominent tribe, and the paramount leader, the emir, is selected by the notables of the ruling tribe from among their number. The choice is usually, but not always, a son of the previous emir. Each tribe, however, has its own leader, or sheikh, and a certain degree of political pluralism, as seen in the institution of the majlis, is necessary to maintain the ruling family’s position.

Rulers of the 7 Emirates

The Legislative

The UAE has no real elections, no political parties, and no democratic representative institutions. The country’s leadership and governmental bodies are either chosen through consultations between the local traditional leaders or appointed by these officials within the framework of the Constitution. In the past, legislation came in the form of decrees by the Federal Supreme Council (FSC).

Federal National Council

A slight change in government was introduced in December 2006, in the form of limited, indirect elections for the Federal National Council (FNC), an advisory body that has existed since 1972. The FNC’s functions include discussing constitutional amendments and draft laws, which may be approved, amended, or rejected (although the FNC may not submit its own draft laws); reviewing the annual draft budget of the federation; and debating international treaties and conventions. The FNC comprises 40 members, eight each from Abu Dhabi and Dubai, six each from Sharja and Ras al-Khaima, and four each from Ajman, Umm al-Quwain, and Fujaira. Until 2006 all FNC members were nominated for two-year terms by the rulers of the respective emirates. Since then, half of its members have been elected through an electoral college of 6,689 members handpicked by the rulers of the seven emirates, who themselves nominate the other half. In 2008 the Federal Supreme Council promulgated a constitutional amendment which extended the term of FNC members from two to four years.
In the September 2011 indirect elections for the FNC, in the aftermath of the so-called Arab Spring in 2011, 129,274 Emirati citizens – two thirds of the adult population, almost 20 times the number in 2006 – now selected by the National Election Committee established in 2011, were allowed to participate in the selection of 20 of the 40 FNC candidates. Since then, there have been seven women on the council, six appointed by the rulers and one elected.
Since 1972, the FNC has completed 14 legislative sessions. According to the Constitution, federal draft laws have to pass through the FNC for review and recommendations. Over the years a majority of its recommendations and amendments have been adopted by the government, and original draft laws from the cabinet have been amended by the FNC to suit the needs of the citizens they are supposed to represent.

The Judicial

The country’s legal code is based on a dual system comprising Sharia (Islamic law) courts and civil courts. (The UAE has not accepted International Court of Justice jurisdiction.) How each emirate applies this combination of laws differs. Some, such as Dubai, tend to be more liberal and open, while others, such as Sharja, are more conservative and guarded. The legal system has yet to evolve to accommodate the rapid development of the country’s social, economic, and cultural systems, so much urgently needed legislation comes in the form of decrees from the ruler or President.

The judiciary, whose independence is guaranteed by the Constitution, includes the Supreme Court – the highest institution, whose judges are appointed by the President – and the Courts of First Instance.

In the UAE’s dual system, Sharia courts handle criminal and personal-status matters, and secular courts handle matters of civil law. Non-Muslims are tried for criminal offences in Sharia courts, but non-Muslims most often receive civil penalties at the discretion of the judge, rather than Sharia penalties.

The UAE’s government is criticized for its refusal to abolish the death penalty, allow migrant workers substantive rights (especially the right of association), or normalize the situation of stateless people to enable them to attain full equality and receive such benefits as unconditional access to employment, health care, and other state benefits. Thirteen death sentences were handed down by courts in Sharja and Dubai in 2009, but none has been carried out.

Political Parties

The UAE has a closed political system, with no elections or political parties. The President appoints the Prime Minister and the cabinet, who manage the country’s daily affairs. Delegates of the 40-member Federal National Council are partly appointed, partly elected, through an electoral college hand-picked by the leaders of the seven emirates every four years; the council serves only as an advisory body.

Political parties are prohibited in the UAE, and rights of assembly and association are limited. Independent NGOs are prohibited, and all such organizations must register with the government and are subject to closure by the government. Trade unions are illegal. In 2002, the Dubai police created a human-rights department to monitor prison conditions, rehabilitate prisoners, and conduct programmes for crime victims, but independent human-rights groups are not permitted to operate in the UAE.

Bureaucracy

The public sector is one of the largest employers in the UAE, and Emiratis fill most positions. Some government services can be time-consuming and cumbersome. The need to process millions of visitors, resident visas, and work permits, in addition to other daily services (e.g., utilities, phone, Internet services, car registration) is a major challenge to the system. Many such services still involve complicated paperwork, stamps, long queues, and multiple visits to one or several governmental or semi-governmental offices. However, much improvement has been introduced, in the form of online facilities and reorganization of some services to make them faster and more efficient, as in the case of automobile registration.

Bureaucracy is aggravated by the presence of monopolies and the tendency to centralize some major services, which excludes competitors from the private sector and reduces the effectiveness and quality of these services. A classic example of this is the semi-governmental telecommunications corporation Etisalat, which, until 2007, was the only provider of phone, Internet, and cable TV services in the country and was widely perceived as inefficient. The creation of a second semi-governmental company, du, to break Etisalat’s monopoly, has improved the situation by introducing more competition and choice for residents, but the improvement has not been drastic. Because government jobs are mostly open to UAE citizens preferentially, Emirati nationals tend to prefer working there. Other reasons for this preference include high salaries, excellent benefits (including pensions), flexible and short working hours, and a relaxed work environment. As a result, all state sectors (such as the police and armed forces), governmental ministries (such as Immigration and Naturalization), and semi-public institutions, such as the telecommunications giant Etisalat – tend to be overstaffed with UAE citizens.

In addition to poor services, nepotism, and wasta, some of the bureaucratic problems are caused by the loose centralization of administration and the lack of uniform procedures that are accepted in all the seven emirates. Changing jobs and residency from one emirate to another (such as from Dubai to Abu Dhabi) would normally require a lengthy and complicated process of changing work permits, sponsors, and residency status.

Corruption

The UAE, like other countries in the region, suffers from nepotism and favouritism, especially in the widespread institution of wasta, by which people get things done through personal connections or the power they enjoy because of prestige, wealth, or national identity (being a national is a great advantage). Many services are done efficiently and quickly, but in many cases these are offered only to certain businesses or for higher-than-normal cost.

Though government services are generally costly, and everything is paid for in cash, there is relatively little corruption in the sense of bribery or profiteering. There are, however, occasional high-profile cases of corruption, in which senior governmental officials and civil servants have been identified as abusing their positions and have been brought to justice.

The UAE law provides criminal penalties for official corruption, and the government generally implements the law effectively. Much government corruption reportedly occurs at the administrative level. The country has laws that prevent financial disclosures for public officials, making it difficult to gauge the extent and depth of possible official corruption.

Given the lack of independence of the country’s courts, it is almost inconceivable that people in power or connected to the ruling families would ever be questioned, face legal proceedings, or be punished for corruption. It is widely believed that nepotism and corrupt financial and legal practices persist, even when the evidence for them is made public. For example, in 2008 the Department of Accountability returned to the Ministry of Finance approximately AED (dirhams) 300 million (approximately USD 82 million) that employees had embezzled. At year’s end, there was no information regarding what had happened to the employees. The law provides for public access to government information, but the government follows this provision selectively, and requests for access usually go unanswered.

Institutional Reforms

There have been, since 2006, some efforts at reforming the federal and local government systems. The government vision was expressed in its strategic plan of 2007, covering six developmental sectors – social, economic, public, justice and safety, infrastructure and rural areas development, based on the National Programme of 2005, prepared by the federal ministries. Steps are to be taken to increase cooperation between federal and local government bodies, improve efficiency, revitalize the ministries’ regulatory and policy-making roles, and upgrade the civil services.

One of the most important political reforms was the introduction, in 2006, of indirect elections of half the members of the Federal National Council. There were also efforts intended to enhance the effectiveness and transparency of public institutions. The UAE already had a state auditing body that controls federal funds and checks official financial records. Abu Dhabi has the largest annual budget in the UAE, and its expenditures are nearly three times the federal spending, because of its high oil production. As part of the fiscal reforms, it has created the Abu Dhabi Accountability Authority (ADAA), which closely monitors the revenues and expenditure of all government institutions and ensures that state funds are managed properly. The body is authorised to check the revenues and expenditures of all local government departments, including the National Consultative Council, city government, public establishments, and all institutions in which the Abu Dhabi government has at least a 25 percent ownership. The ADAA also controls the implementation of all loan agreements and monitors the investments and financial records at those public establishments, and supervising their inventories and warehouses.

Other reforms include the amendment of Article 62 of the Constitution, forbidding the Prime Minister, his deputies, and any federal minister from entering into business transactions with the federal or local governments or to hold any other jobs.

Political Reform and the Arab Spring

The popular uprisings in the region that began in January 2011 in Tunisia and quickly spread to Egypt, Libya, Bahrain, Oman, Yemen, and Syria, led the UAE to introduce political reforms. Before the Arab Uprising, the most significant reform took place in December 2006, when limited, indirect elections were held for half of the 40-seat Federal National Council (FNC). This measure, and the participation of nine women in the parliament, is intended to be the first phase of a process designed to enhance public participation and the role played by the FNC in government. Other steps include a strengthening of the legislative and legal powers of the FNC and the development of more effective channels of coordination between the FNC and executive authorities such as the cabinet. Since the election, the FNC has questioned government ministers on inflation and other mainly economic and social issues. Its sessions are open to the public. In addition, each emirate has its own consultative council.

In response to the changes in the regional political environment, the FNC increased the strength and base of the electoral college from 7,000 voters in 2006 to 130,000 in 2011, representing a larger proportion of UAE nationals over the age of 21. As described by the Minister of State for FNC Affairs, Anwar Gargash, the step is designed to encourage ‘wider participation that will support and strengthen the federal experience as envisioned by His Highness the President’. Gargash also stressed the importance of the increase in the number of women and young people in the electoral college.