الصفحة الرئيسية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الجغرافيا

الجغرافيا

خور دبي
خور دبي

المحتويات

    Loading index...

حدود الدولة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة دولة صغيرة واقعة في القسم الشرقي من العالم العربي على مساحات صحراوية بمعظمها، ويحيط بها الخليج الفارسي وبحر العرب. تشترك البلاد بالحدود مع سلطنة عُمان والمملكة العربية السعودية. تتمتع البلاد بموقع إستراتيجي فريد على الحدود مع خليج عُمان وتطلّ على القسم الجنوبي من مضيق هرمز، نقطة الترانزيت الحيوية في عالم النفط. يبلغ طول حدود الإمارات العربية المتحدة الإجمالي 867 كم: مع عُمان 410 كم؛ والمملكة العربية السعودية 457 كم. يبلغ طول الشريط الساحلي 1318 كم. يبلغ عمق المياه الإقليمية للبلاد 12 ميلاً بحرياً، والمنطقة المتاخمة 24 ميلاً بحرياً؛ والمنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة 200 ميل بحري؛ ويمتد الجرف القاري، أو الحافة القارية، 200 ميل بحري.

النزاعات الحدودية

على غرار بلدان أخرى في الشرق الأوسط، لم تكن حدود الإمارات العربية المتحدة واضحة الترسيم على الدوام. ولّد جزء من هذه الحدود نزاعاً لا يزال قائماً بينها وبين المملكة العربية السعودية. ولم تنجح اتفاقية جدة على ترسيم الحدود لعام 1974 في إنهاء المشكلة. تنص الاتفاقية على منح المملكة العربية السعودية ممراً إلى الخليج والإمارات العربية المتحدة ست قرى (بما فيها العين) ومنطقة صحراوية في الجنوب. تخلت المملكة العربية السعودية عن المطالبة بمنطقة واحة البريمي مقابل تنازل الإمارات عن شريط طوله 25 كم يصلها بقطر وعن 80% من موارد حقل الشيبة النفطي الواقع في جنوب شرق المملكة العربية السعودية. صادقت السعودية على الاتفاقية عام 1993، في حين بقي أن تصادق الإمارات العربية المتحدة عليها.

عاد النزاع الذي دام 30 عاماً لينشب مجدّداً عام 2006 بعد اعتراض السعودية على مدّ أنبوب للغاز الطبيعي من قطر إلى الإمارات – باعتباره يمرّ عبر المياه السعودية الإقليمية – وعلى خرائط نشرتها الإمارات تظهر أن حدودها البحرية تمتدّ غرباً لتصل إلى قطر. وتفاقم الخلاف إلى اشتباك بحري بين الطرفين في آذار/مارس 2010 وقبلها في صيف 2009 عندما قيّدت السعودية حركة الشاحنات ومنعت المواطنين الإماراتيين من دخول البلاد باستخدام بطاقة هوية إماراتية تظهر امتداد حدود الإمارات العربية إلى قطر.

كما أن الخلاف على ترسيم الحدود مع سلطنة عُمان لم يُحسم رسمياً، إلا أن الحكومتين وافقتا على ترسيمها في أيار/مايو 1999. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، أنشأت الإمارات العربية المتحدة سوراً على طول حدودها مع عمان والمملكة العربية السعودية.

هذا فضلاً عن الخلاف المزمن بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإيران حول ثلاث جزر واقعة في الخليج الفارسي: أبو موسى وطنب الكبرى وطنب الصغرى. فسيادة إيران على الجزر الثلاث ذات الموقع الإستراتيجي متنازع عليها منذ عام 1971، عندما استولَت إيران عليها عسكرياً. وترفض إيران على الدوام دعوات الإمارات العربية المتحدة لبدء مفاوضات أو تحكيم دولي لحل هذه المسألة. عام 1994، حاولت الإمارات إحالة القضية إلى محكمة العدل الدولية في لاهاي للبت فيها، إلا ان إيران رفضت ذلك.

عام 1971، وقّعت الإمارات العربية المتحدة معاهدة صداقة مع بريطانيا العظمى. وبدافع الخوف من تصاعد قوة إيران في الخليج، وقّعت الإمارات العربية المتحدة معاهدة دفاع مع الولايات المتحدة الأميركية عام 1995، ومعاهدات دفاع وتعاون عسكري مع إيطاليا وفرنسا عام 2009 وبريطانيا العظمى عام 2010.

الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
أبو موسى
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
طنب الكبرى
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
طنب الصغرى
صورة من خرائط جوجل لطنب الصغرى تظهر المنشآت العسكرية الإيرانية

الجغرافيا والمناخ

وفق كتاب حقائق العالم لوكالة الاستخبارات المركزية الأمريكية، تبلغ مساحة الإمارات العربية المتحدة 83,600 كم2، وتعادل مساحة النمسا وأذربيجان. ويمكن تقسيم الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى ثلاث مناطق جغرافية: منطقة ساحلية قاحلة مسطّحة ومنخفضة؛ منطقة تلال رملية تمتدّ من الساحل إلى صحراء واسعة ومهجورة تتصل بالربع الخالي، أكبر صحراء رملية في العالم؛ ومنطقة جبال وعرة مشتركة مع عُمان شمالاً وشرقاً. في حين بعض هذه المناطق قاحلة، يكسو بعضها الآخر غطاء نباتي، مثل منطقة الجبل الأخضر. أعلى نقطة عن سطح البحر في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي جبل يبر (جبر): 1527 م.

تقع الإمارات العربية المتحدة ضمن الحزام الشمالي لصحراء شبه الجزيرة العربية الذي يتّسم بندرة الأمطار والتي لا يمكن التنبؤ بها، وارتفاع درجات الحرارة ونسبة الرطوبة، وفترات السطوع الشمسي الطويلة (8 ساعات شتاءً و 11 ساعة صيفاً). مناخ الإمارات العربية المتحدة صحراوي قاسٍ، فصيفها حار ورطب بشكل عام، باستثناء المناطق الجبلية مثل جبال الحجر الغربي. يشتدّ الحر في شهري تموز/يوليو وآب/أغسطس، حيث تتجاوز معدّلات درجات الحرارة 48 درجة مئوية في المناطق السهلية الساحلية. وخلال أواخر أشهر الصيف، تجتاح البلاد رياح جنوبية شرقية رطبة، تُعرف بالرياح “الشرقية”، مما يزيد من رطوبة الجو إلى حد مزعج، مع انخفاض قليل في درجات الحرارة ليلاً.

درجات الحرارة والهطولات

تتراوح درجات الحرارة في شهري كانون الثاني/يناير وشباط/فبراير بين 10 و 14 درجة مئوية. ويكون الطقس دافئاً ومشمساً على الأغلب في الفترة ما بين كانون الأول/ديسمبر وآذار/مارس. ولا تتساقط الأمطار في فصل الشتاء إلا قليلاً، باستثناء الهطولات الغزيرة والزخات العرضية التي قد تؤدي إلى السيول في الأودية. تختلف نسب الهطولات السنوية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة باختلاف الأعوام والمناطق، ويبلغ معدّلها 100 مل.

مثل باقي دول المنطقة، تتعرض الإمارات العربية المتحدة لعواصف رملية وغبارية شديدة سببها رياح شمالية وشمالية غربية قوية، تعرف باسم “رياح الشمال” وقد تكون هذه الرياح خطيرة ومدمرة، وتسبب مشاكل صحية وإعاقة للرؤية.

الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
Photo Shutterstock
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
جبال الحجر
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
جبال الحجر
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
جبال الحجر
الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجغرافيا
طريق في وادي

خور دبي

تتميز مدن الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالخيران (جمع خور)، وهي ثغور بحرية عميقة تجري من البحر إلى المدن. كانت الخيران في مدن الإمارات الساحلية قاعدة لصناعة صيد الأسماك واللؤلؤ التي حدّدت معالم الاقتصاد المحلي حتى العصور الحديثة. وكانت أعمال التجريف حاسمة لتحويل دبي إلى مركز تجاري وميناء رئيسي حديث (امتلأ خور الشارقة بالطمي في الفترة ذاتها وأصبح راكداً).

خور دبي هو أشهر الخيران الإماراتية، وكان يمتدّ في العصور القديمة حتى مدينة العين، وكان الإغريق يسمّونه نهر زارا. يقسم الخور دبي إلى شقّين: ديرة وبر دبي (حيث استقر عام 1833 فرع من قبيلة بني ياس، التي هاجرت من أبوظبي، ليصبح لاحقاً سلالة آل مكتوم، الأسرة الحاكمة في دبي).

كان الخور يستخدم كممر مائي وميناء آمن للتجارة وصيد الأسماك واللؤلؤ والقرصنة، مما ساعد على نمو دبي وتحوّلها إلى مركز رئيسي للتجارة والنقل البحري. وأبحرت القوارب الشراعية المحلية، المعروفة باسم “الداو”، في الخليج الفارسي وبحر العرب والمحيط الهندي وصولاً إلى الهند وشواطئ إفريقيا الشرقية ذهاباً وإياباً حاملة السلع والبضائع. وبعد انحدار صيد اللؤلؤ وزيادة أهمية البلاد الإستراتيجية، تحوّل الخور إلى ممر مائي حديث. وتم تدشينه عام 1955 بمشاريع تجريف وبناء لتوسيعه وزيادة عمقه لاستيعاب السفن الأكبر حجماً، وبناء مصدات أمواج وأرصفة لتسهيل عملية تحميل وتفريغ السفن. وتم تشييد عدة جسور فوق الخور لوصل شقي مدينة دبي، وأولها جسر آل مكتوم الذي بُني عام 1963. ولا يزال الخور يلعب دوراً اقتصادياً هاماً من خلال التجارة والسياحة، بينما تتم معظم أنشطة الشحن اليوم عبر موانئ أضخم، مثل ميناء راشد وميناء جبل علي.

التنوع البيولوجي

في الإمارات العربية المتحدة أربعة أنظمة بيئية رئيسية: صحراء، وبحر، ومياه عذبة، وجبال.

تقع الموائل الصحراوية في المنطقة المدارية القاحلة وتساعد على ظهور أنواع قليلة من النباتات الموسمية، وهي تقل في الجنوب الذي يتكون من الطرف الشمالي الغربي للربع الخالي. تخضع البيئة الصحراوية لتغيّرات كبيرة نتيجة مشاريع التشجير الضخمة التي أطلقتها الدولة وانتشار المزارع الصحراوية.

تشكل الموائل البحرية جزءً من منطقتي الخليج وبحر العرب، ولكيلهما أنظمة بيئية هامة، بما فيها الجزر والشعب المرجانية والأعشاب البحرية ومناطق المد البحري والمستنقعات الملحية والخيران والمنغروف. وتندر مصادر المياه العذبة الدائمة، وتتوفّر على الأغلب في الوديان الضيقة في الجبال والسبخات (المياه المالحة الراكدة) والبحيرات الاصطناعية، والتي تشكل أنظمة بيئة رطبة.

تلتقط جبال الحجر، الواقعة شرق الإمارات العربية المتحدة، الأمطار. وتغذي الهطولات المياه الجوفية وموائل المياه العذبة في البحيرات والوديان والينابيع حيث تكثر الحياة البرية، مثل اليعسوب والعلجوم (ضفدع الطين) والأسماك. كما تستقطب الجبال الحيوانات البرية المهدّدة بالانقراض، مثل الفهد العربي والطهر العربي (من فصيلة الماعز).

الموارد الطبيعية

يمثّل النفط والغاز الطبيعي الموارد الطبيعية الرئيسية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتختزن إمارة أبوظبي أكثر من 90% من هذه الموارد. أما المياه الطبيعية العذبة فمحدودة وتتعرّض لاستغلال مفرط. انخفض منسوب أحواض المياه الجوفية 10 أمتار بين 1977 و 1984، ما أدّى إلى ارتفاع مستويات الملوحة وتسرّب مياه البحر إلى المياه الجوفية. تؤمن البلاد أغلبية احتياجاتها من المياه عن طريق محطات التحلية (ولذلك يمكن اعتبار مياه البحر مورداً طبيعياً في البلاد). كما يتم توليد كميات متزايدة من الطاقة الشمسية في مدينة “مصدر” الحديثة وصديقة البيئة، التي لا تزال قيد الإنشاء في أبوظبي.

إلى جانب البترول، تقوم الإمارات العربية المتحدة باستخراج الصخور والرمل لاستخدامها في عمليات البناء على الأغلب. ويتم استخدام الحجر الجيري والرمل والطين الجيري (المرل) والجبس في صناعة الإسمنت، كما يستخرج الكروميت على نطاق صغير في الفجيرة.

natural-resources_uae_oil-gasreserves_01

خصوبة التربة

نظراً إلى مناخ البلاد الصحراوي، تقدّر نسبة الأراضي القابلة للزراعة بـ 0,8%، منها 27% مروية. وتبلغ المنطقة المستخدمة للمحاصيل الدائمة 2,27%، معظمها مروية اصطناعياً (بيانات البنك الدولي). وتعمل الإمارات العربية المتحدة على تطوير إمكاناتها الزراعية، بأبحاث في تقنيات الري والتسميد الحديثة.

يعيش حوالي 16% من سكان الإمارات (عام 2010) حياة ريفية وشبه بدوية ومن الأنشطة الزراعية المختلفة. وعلى الرغم من ارتفاع معدلات الجفاف، طوّرت الإمارات العربية المتحدة زراعة مزدهرة، وباتت بعض المحاصيل الزراعية تحقّق اكتفاء ذاتياً على مدار السنة. كما نمت صناعتا اللحوم ومشتقات الحليب مع تزايد أعداد الجمال والمواشي. في الإمارات العربية المتحدة 42 مليون شجرة نخيل، الأكثر كثافة لأشجار نخيل في العالم.

في الإمارات عدد من الواحات في الصحراء جنوب غرب وجنوب شرق أبوظبي، وتوفر مصادر مناسبة للمياه الجوفية للاستيطان والأنشطة الزراعية المحدودة. وأكبر هذه الواحات هي واحة ليوا الواقعة على أطراف الربع الخالي قرب الحدود مع المملكة العربية السعودية.

المشاكل البيئية

تواجه الإمارات العربية المتحدة مشاكل بيئية رئيسية: أولاً، نقص المياه العذبة الطبيعية التي يتم الاستعاضة عنها عن طريق تحلية مياه البحر (ومعالجة الصرف الصحي لاستخدامها في الري)؛ ثانياً، التصحّر، الظاهرة التي تحاول البلاد مكافحتها من خلال مشاريع تشجير وتحريج رئيسية؛ ثالثاً، تلوّث الساحل والبحر بفعل تسرّب النفط والصرف الصحي والأنشطة البشرية الأخرى؛ رابعاً، تلوّث الهواء والتربة نتيجة النمو السكاني (والممارسات المدمرة الناتجة عنه) وامتداد العمران، والبنى التحتية والنقل والصناعة؛ وخامساً، اجتياح المناطق المبنية والنشاط البشري للأنظمة البيئية البحرية والصحراوية السريعة التلف. ويبدي أخصائيون بيئيون قلقهم من بناء الجزر الاصطناعية والأنشطة التجارية المرافقة لها، بالإضافة إلى السياحة الصحراوية ورحلات الاستجمام بالسيارات.

وقّعت الإمارات العربية المتحدة على عدة اتفاقات بيئية دولية، بما فيها التنوع البيولوجي؛ وتغيّر المناخ – بروتوكول كيوتو؛ واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة التصحر؛ واتفاقية التجارة الدولية في الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض؛ واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمنع التلوث البحري الناجم عن إغراق النفايات والمواد الأخرى؛ واتفاقية فيينا لحماية طبقة الأوزون. كما وقّعت البلاد على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لقانون البحار، لكن لم تصادق عليها بعد.

بدأت الحوكمة البيئية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 1975 عندما أنشأت وزارة الصحة اللجنة العليا لحماية البيئة، والتي استبدلت عام 1993 بالهيئة الاتحادية للبيئة، ومن ثم وزارة البيئة والمياه عام 2009. وأعقب ذلك تأسيس هيئة أبحاث البيئة والحياة الفطرية وتنميتها عام 1997، وأعيدت تسميتها عام 2005 بهيئة البيئة – أبوظبي. مهمة هذه الهيئة “حماية وإدارة التنوع البيولوجي، وتوفير بيئة نظيفة، وتعزيز التنمية المستدامة في إمارة أبوظبي” (هيئة البيئة-أبوظبي، 2009). إلى جانب هيئات حكومية أخرى، مثل برنامج رصد منطقة دبي الساحلية وهيئة البيئة والمحميات الطبيعية في الشارقة؛ ومنظمات غير حكومية وطوعية، مثل مجموعة الإمارات للبيئة.

النفط والغاز

أوشك النفط أن ينضب في الإمارات، باستثناء إمارة أبوظبي. بينما لم تتمكن إمارات عجمان والفجيرة وأم القيوين من العثور على النفط في أراضيها حتى الآن. انخفضت عائدات النفط في دبي بشكل ملحوظ، مما دفع بها إلى المسارعة إلى تنويع اقتصادها لاستبدال قطاع النفط المتضائل. وساد الاعتقاد عام 2000 بأن احتياطي النفط في إمارة دبي سينفذ خلال 20 عاماً؛ ولكن عام 2007، كانت شركة بترول دبي لا تزال تحتل المرتبة 29 بين شركات النفط الكبرى في العالم.

قبل اكتشاف النفط في الستينيات، كان اقتصاد الإمارات العربية المتحدة تقليدياً يعتمد بشكل كبير على التجارة وصيد السمك وصناعة اللؤلؤ المتضائلة. ولكن مع تشكيل الإمارات العربية المتحدة، قام المغفور له الشيخ زايد، حاكم أبوظبي والرئيس الأول للاتحاد، باستخدام عائدات النفط لتطوير إمارة أبوظبي وإمارات أخرى، مع استثمار مبالغ كبيرة في التعليم والرعاية الصحية والمؤسسات الوطنية والبنى التحتية في البلاد. وقد استقطبت صناعة النفط والنمو الاقتصادي الناشئ عنها المغتربين والعمال الأجانب الذين شكلوا في النهاية أغلبية سكان دولة الإمارات (80%).

تنتج إمارة أبوظبي معظم نفط البلاد، حيث تحتوي على عشر احتياطي النفط المؤكد في العالم تقريباً، وتساهم بأكثر من نصف الميزانية الوطنية. بُذلت الجهود لتقليص اعتماد البلاد على النفط والتحول إلى اقتصاد أكثر تنوعاً. ولكن وفق احصائيات عام 2009، أكثر من 85% من اقتصاد الإمارات العربية المتحدة كان يعتمد على تصدير النفط والغاز. عام 2009، بلغت صادرات النفط 2,8 مليون برميل في اليوم، مما جعل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة ثامن أكبر دولة منتجة للنفط في العالم. وقدّرت صادرات النفط عام 2007 بـ 2,7 مليون برميل في اليوم (ثالث أكبر دولة في العالم)، احتياطي النفط المؤكد عام 2010 بـ 97,8 مليار برميل. كما تعتبر الإمارات العربية المتحدة إحدى الدول الكبرى المنتجة للغاز الطبيعي، بإنتاج يصل إلى 50,3 مليار م3 (تقديرات عام 2008)، واحتلت المرتبة 18 في العالم. وقُدرت صادرات الغاز الطبيعي عام 2008 بـ 7,6 م3 (المرتبة 24)، كما بلغت احتياطات الغاز الطبيعي المؤكد في شهر كانون الثاني/يناير 2010، 6,1 تريليون م3 (المرتبة 7). ومع أن قطاع النفط يساهم بثلث الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، إلا أنه يوظف نسبة ضئيلة من القوى العاملة في البلاد.

Geography UAE - Oil Gas Production

Geography UAE - Oil Gas Reserves

شركات النفط والغاز

تشارك مئات الشركات في صناعة النفط والغاز الطبيعي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وذلك في كافة المجالات والمراحل المختلفة والعمليات المرتبطة بها. تم منح عقد التنقيب عن النفط الأول، وهو عبارة عن امتياز مدته 75 عاماً في الحقول البرية في أبوظبي، لشركة تنمية النفط (الإمارات المتصالحة)، وهي شركة تابعة لشركة نفط العراق، من بين شركات نفط عملاقة، منها شركة BP وشركة Shell وشركة Total وشركة ExxonMobil.

من بين هذه الشركات نذكر شركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية (ADNOC) المملوكة للدولة، والتي أنتجت 2,4 مليون برميل يومياً عام 2005، وتعتبر سادس أكبر شركة للنفط والغاز الطبيعي في العالم. تملك شركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية 14 شركة تابعة، وتدير حقول نفط برية وبحرية. كما يؤدي المجلس الأعلى للبترول، الذي يتولى الإشراف على كافة شركات وعمليات النفط والغاز الطبيعي في أبوظبي، دور مجلس الإدارة الخاص بشركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية. وفي هذا الإطار، تتمتع شركة أبوظبي العاملة في المناطق البحرية (ADMA-OPCO) بأكبر امتيازات نفطية في الحقول البحرية؛ وهي شركة تابعة لشركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية، وتملك شركات بريطانية وفرنسية ويابانية حصصاً فيها.

تعتبر شركة نفط أبوظبي المحدودة (ADOC) إحدى أكبر الشركات الأجنبية وأقدمها، وقد كانت في الأصل تتألف من ثلاث شركات يابانية منفصلة منحها حاكم أبوظبي امتيازاً عام 1967.

طورت البلاد سلسلة من العمليات الصناعية المرتبطة بصناعة النفط، بما في ذلك المصافي (كالمصافي الخاصة بشركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية في الرويس وأم النار في إمارة أبوظبي)، ومحطات صناعة البتروكيماويات، وعمليات الطاقة. وتشمل هذه العمليات مشاريع كبيرة للمياه والطاقة تعتمد على النفط والغاز الطبيعي، وبخاصة محطات تحلية المياه في أبوظبي ودبي. وتعد هيئتا المياه والكهرباء في الإمارتين (هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي وهيئة مياه وكهرباء دبي) من أكبر المستهلكين للنفط والغاز.

الطاقة النووية والشمسية

يتركز الكثير من الإنتاج الاقتصادي للإمارات العربية المتحدة في إمارة أبوظبي الغنية بالنفط، منتج التصدير الرئيسي ومصدر الثراء الأساسي، والصناعات المرتبطة به، مثل تكرير النفط والبتروكيماويات والأسمدة. كما ترتكز مشاريع صناعية كبرى أخرى، كالألمنيوم ومحطات توليد الكهرباء وتحلية المياه وإنتاج المواد الغذائية، في المناطق الصناعية في أبوظبي ودبي. وتقع محطات توليد الكهرباء الكبرى في جبل علي في دبي ومنطقة الطويلة في أبوظبي.

عام 2009، وقّعت البلاد على صفقة لبناء محطة للطاقة النووية في أبوظبي، تتضمن أربعة مفاعلات نووية سعتها عند الإنجاز 5600 ميغاواط، بتكلفة 40 مليار دولار. وتم منح عقود بناء المفاعلات النووية، وقيمتها أكثر من 20 مليار دولار، إلى اتحاد KEPCO الكوري الجنوبي والياباني. وتم اختيار ذات الاتحاد عام 2011 لبناء محطة للطاقة الحرارية في أبوظبي بكلفة 1,4 مليار دولار. وتم الانتهاء من دراسة وتخطيط محطة الطاقة النووية بإشراف مؤسسة الإمارات للطاقة النووية، الهيئة الخاصة التي تم تفويضها لهذا الغرض، والهيئة الاتحادية للرقابة النووية التابعة للحكومة. وأثناء التحضير لذلك، استشارت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية والمحطات النووية، وتوصلت إلى اتفاقية تعاون نووي مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 2009.

تخطط الإمارات العربية المتحدة لبناء أكبر محطة للطاقة الشمسية في العالم في مدينة زايد (أبوظبي) عام 2012، سعتها حوالى 100 ميغاواط. وأعلنت حكومة دبي عام 2009 عن خطط لبناء محطة كبيرة أخرى للطاقة الشمسية في المنطقة، وصفت بأنها الأكبر في المنطقة.

Home / United Arab Emirates / Geography

Geography

Geography UAE - Dubai Creek
Dubai creek

Contents

    Loading index...

State Borders

The UAE is a small country located in the eastern part of the Arab world, on a mostly desert stretch of land surrounded by the Persian Gulf and the Arabian Sea. The country shares borders with Oman and Saudi Arabia. It enjoys a unique strategic location, bordering the Gulf of Oman and overlooking the southern approach to the Strait of Hormuz, a vital transit point for world oil. The land borders of the UAE total 867 kilometres, 410 with Oman and 457 with Saudi Arabia. Its coastline is 1,318 kilometres long. Its maritime claims include 12 nautical miles (nm) territorial sea; 24 nm contiguous zone; 200 nm exclusive economic zone; and a continental shelf that extends out 200 nm, or to the continental margin.

Border Disputes

As in other countries of the Middle East, the UAE borders were not always clearly demarcated. Part of the border with Saudi Arabia caused a running dispute between the two countries. The Jeddah Treaty of 1974, the ‘Agreement on the Delimitation of Boundaries’, has failed to bring an end to this problem. The treaty gave Saudi Arabia a corridor to the Gulf and the UAE six villages (including al-Ain) and a desert area in the south. Saudi Arabia dropped its claim to the Buraimi oasis region, while the UAE relinquished a 25 kilometre-long strip of land linking it to Qatar and gave up some 80 percent of the resources of the Shayba oilfield in south-eastern Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia ratified the treaty in 1993, but the UAE has yet to follow suit.

The 30-year dispute was reignited in 2006, with Saudi objections to a natural-gas pipeline from Qatar to the UAE – on the grounds that it crossed into Saudi territorial waters – and to maps published by the UAE that depict the country’s border extending west all the way to Qatar. The dispute escalated with a naval clash between the two sides in March 2010, and earlier in the summer of 2009, when Saudis restricted the movement of trucks and barred UAE citizens from entering Saudi Arabia using a new UAE ID card that showed the UAE’s border extending to Qatar.

The border with Oman also remains officially unsettled, but the two governments agreed to delineate the border in May 1999. Since that time, the UAE has constructed a fence along the entire length of its borders with Oman and Saudi Arabia.

The UAE also has a festering dispute with Iran over three islands in the Persian Gulf – Abu Musa and Greater and Lesser Tunb. The strategically located islands have been under contested Iranian sovereignty since 1971, when Iran took control of them militarily. The UAE’s offers of negotiations or international arbitration to resolve the issue have been rejected consistently by Iran. In 1994 the UAE attempted to take the dispute before the International Court of Justice in The Hague for arbitration, but Iran refused.

The UAE has a friendship treaty with Great Britain, signed in 1971. Fearing Iran’s rising power in the Gulf, the UAE signed a defence treaty with the United States in 1995. Other defence and military cooperation treaties were signed with Italy and France in 2009 and Great Britain in 2010.

Geography UAE - Abu Masa
Abu Musa
Geography UAE - Greater Tunb
Greater Tunb

Geography UAE - Greater Tunb
Greater Tunb
Geography UAE - Lesser Tunb
Google Maps image of Lesser Tunb showing Iranian military installations

Geography and Climate

According to the CIA’s World Factbook, the UAE has a total surface area of 83,600 square kilometres, comparable to that of Austria or Azerbaijan. The UAE can be divided into three geographical zones: a flat, low-lying, barren coastal plain; rolling sand dunes that stretch from the coast into the expanse of a vast desert wasteland that blends into the Empty Quarter (al-Rub al-Khali), the world’s largest sand desert; and a rugged mountain range, shared with Oman, in the north and east. While parts of these mountains are bare, other parts, such as the Jabal al-Akhdar, have vegetation. The UAE’s highest point is the top of Jabal Yibir, at 1,527 metres.

The UAE lies within the northern desert belt of the Arabian Peninsula known for its scare and unpredictable rainfall, high temperatures and humidities, and prolonged periods of sunshine (about eight hours per day in winter and 11 hours in summer). The UAE has a harsh desert climate, generally hot and humid in the summer but cooler in the mountainous regions, such as the Hajar al-Gharbi Mountains. July and August are the hottest months, when average maximum temperatures can exceed 48 °C on the coastal plain. During the late summer months, a humid south-east wind called sharqi (‘easterly’) makes the summers too humid for comfort, but there is usually a slight drop in temperature in the evening.

Temperatures and Rainfall

In January and February the average minimum temperature ranges between 10 °C and 14 °C. From December to March, it is mostly warm and sunny. Winter typically brings very little or no rain, except for occasional showers and downpours that can cause flash floods in wadi beds. The average annual rainfall in the UAE is 100 millimetres, though this varies from year to year and between regions.

Like the broader region, the UAE is prone to occasional violent sand and dust storms. These are caused by strong northerly and north-westerly winds known as shamal (‘north wind’). Shamals can be very hazardous and disruptive, affecting health and reducing visibility.

Geography UAE - Camels
Camels in the desert (Photo Shutterstock)

Geography UAE - Al-Hajar Mountains
Al-Hajar Mountains (Photo Shutterstock)
Geography UAE - Al-Hajar Mountains
Al-Hajar Mountains
Geography UAE - Al-Hajar Mountains
Al-Hajar Mountains

Geography UAE - Wadi Road
Wadi road

Dubai Creek

The main cities of the UAE are favoured with creeks (khors), which are deep saltwater inlets that run from sea into the city. The creeks of UAE coastal cities served as the basis for the fishing and pearling industries that defined the local economy until modern times.

The most famous of these is Dubai Creek (Khor Dubai‎), which, in ancient times, extended all the way to the city of al-Ain and was called by the Greeks the River Zara. The creek divides the city into its two older sections: Deira and Bur Dubai (the place where a branch of the Bani Yas tribe, migrating from Abu Dhabi, settled in 1833, to become later the Al Maktoum dynasty, the ruling family of Dubai). Dredging in the 1950s was critical to the emergence of Dubai as a major modern port and trade centre (Sharja’s creek silted up at about the same time and became a backwater).

The creek served as an waterway and sheltered port for trade, fishing, pearling, and piracy, helping Dubai to grow into a major shipping and commercial centre. The distinctive local sailboats, known as dhows, crisscrossed the waters of the Persian Gulf, Arabian Sea, and Indian Ocean all the way to India and the East African coast, carrying goods and merchandise back and forth. After the collapse of pearling and with the increased strategic importance of the country, the creek was transformed into a modern waterway. This was inaugurated in 1955 by construction and dredging projects to widen and deepen the creek to accommodate larger sea-going vessels and to build breakwaters and docks to facilitate the loading and unloading of ships. Several bridges over the creek now connect the two parts of Dubai, the first of which, Al Maktoum Bridge, was built in 1963. The creek continues to play an important economic role through trade and tourism, while most shipping activities now take place at much larger ports, such as Port Rashid and Jebel Ali Port.

Biodiversity

The UAE has four main ecosystems: desert, maritime, freshwater, and montane. The desert habitat falls within the arid tropical zone and supports varying amounts of sparse seasonal vegetation, with less of it in the south, which encompasses the north-western tip of the Empty Quarter, the world’s largest sand desert. The desert environment is undergoing significant changes due to the country’s massive forestation projects and the spread of desert farms.

The maritime habitats are part of the Gulf and Arabian Sea zones, both of which have important ecosystems, including islands, coral reefs, sea grasses, intertidal areas, salt marshes, khors (tidal inlets) and mangroves. Permanent freshwater sources are scarce and are found mostly in the gorges of wadis (valleys) in the mountains and in sabkhas (salt flats) and artificial lakes, which form wetland ecosystems.

The Hajar Mountains, located in the eastern UAE, act as rain catchers. The precipitation replenishes groundwater and feeds freshwater habitats of pools, wadis, and springs, where wildlife such as dragonflies, toads, and fish can be found. The mountains themselves attract endangered wildlife such as the Arabian leopard and the Arabian tahr (an ungulate related to goats).

Natural Resources

The UAE’s primary natural resources are petroleum and natural gas. More than 90 percent of these resources are found in the emirate of Abu Dhabi. Natural freshwater is extremely limited and has been critically overexploited. Underwater aquifers fell by 10 metres between 1977 and 1984, resulting in increased salinity levels and the intrusion of seawater into groundwater. The country gets most of its water from desalination plants (thus seawater may be counted as a natural resource). Increasing amounts of solar energy are being generated, as in the new, environmentally friendly city of Masdar, which is still under construction in Abu Dhabi.

In addition to petroleum, the UAE extracts rock and sand, mostly for use in construction. Limestone, sand, marl, and gypsum are used to make cement, and there is small-scale mining of chromite in Fujaira.

Geography UAE - Oil Gas Reserves
UAE proven oil and gas reserves

Land Fertility

Given the desert climate of the country, the arable land in the UAE is estimated at 0.8 percent, of which 27 percent is irrigated. The area used for permanent crops is 2.4 percent, most of it artificially irrigated (Worldbank data). The UAE has been working to develop its agricultural potential, with research in new irrigation and fertilization technologies.

Approximately 16 percent of the UAE’s people (in 2010) live rural and semi-nomadic lives and support themselves through various agricultural activities. Despite the high aridity, the country has developed a thriving agriculture, leading to year-round self-sufficiency in some vegetable crops. There are also growing meat and dairy industries, with many camels and cattle. The UAE has 42 million date palm trees, the largest concentration of palm trees in the world.

The UAE has several oases in the desert south-west and south-east of Abu Dhabi, which offer adequate sources of underground water for human settlement and limited agriculture. The largest of these is the Liwa Oasis, located at the edge of the Empty Quarter, near the border with Saudi Arabia.

Environmental Issues

There are several major environmental issues facing the UAE: first, the lack of natural freshwater, compensated for by water desalination (and the treatment of sewage water for use in irrigation). Second, desertification, which the country has been trying to counter through major afforestation and greening projects. Third, marine and coastal pollution from oil spills, sewage, and other human activity. Fourth, air and soil pollution resulting from the growth of the country’s population (and its wasteful habits), urbanization, infrastructure and transportation, and industry. Fifth, the encroachment of built-up areas and human activity on the fragile ecosystems of marine and desert environments. The many artificial islands and their commercial developments, as well as desert tourism and recreation using motorized vehicles, are of major concern to environmentalists.

The UAE is party to several international environmental agreements, including the Kyoto Protocol, the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification, the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, and the Convention on the Prevention of Marine Pollution by Dumping of Wastes and Other Matter. It has signed but not ratified the United Nations Convention on Law of the Sea.

Environmental governance in the UAE began in 1975, when the Ministry of Health set up the Higher Environmental Committee, later replaced by the Federal Environmental Agency (FEA) in 1993, and by the Ministry of Environment and Water in 2009; this was followed by the establishment of the Environmental Research and Wildlife Development Agency (ERWDA) in 1997, renamed the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi (EAD) in 2005; it describes its mission as ‘protecting and managing biodiversity, providing a clean environment and promoting Sustainable Development in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi’ (EAD, 2009). Other governmental agencies include the Dubai Coastal Zone Monitoring Programme and the Environment and Protected Areas Authority – Sharja. There are also some nongovernmental and voluntary environmental organization, such as the Emirates Environmental Group (EEG).

Oil and Gas

Except for Abu Dhabi, the emirates have all but run out of oil. Three emirates, Ajman, Fujaira, and Umm al-Quwain, have yet to discover any oil. Dubai’s oil revenues have dropped significantly, and the emirate is rapidly diversifying its economy to replace the dwindling oil sector. In 2000, it was believed that Dubai’s oil reserves would be exhausted in 20 years, but in 2007, Dubai Petroleum Company was still ranked as the 29th largest company in the world.

Before the discovery of oil in the 1960s, the UAE’s economy was traditional, relying mostly on trade, fishing, and a declining pearling industry. With the formation of the UAE, the late Sheikh Zayed, ruler of Abu Dhabi and first President of the union, used oil revenues to develop Abu Dhabi and other emirates, with large investments in education, health care, national institutions, and the country’s infrastructure.
The oil industry and the economic growth it powered attracted expatriates and foreign workers who eventually became a majority, making up about 80 percent of the UAE population.

Abu Dhabi produces most of the country’s oil, contains nearly one-tenth of the world’s proven oil reserves, and contributes more than half of the national budget. Efforts have been made to lessen the country’s dependence on oil and shift to a more diversified economy, but, according to 2009 figures, more than 85 percent of the UAE’s economy depended on exported oil and gas. Oil production was 2.8 million barrels per day in 2009, making the UAE the world’s 8th highest-producing country. Its oil exports were estimated in 2007 at 2.7 million barrels per day (the third largest in the world), and its oil proven reserves were estimated in 2010 to total 97.8 billion barrels. The UAE is also a major natural-gas producer, with production reaching 50.3 billion cubic metres (2008 est.), making it the 18th largest in the world. Exports of natural gas were estimated in 2008 to be 7.6 billion cubic metres (ranking 24th), and proven reserves as of January 2010 were 6.1 trillion cubic metres (ranking seventh). Despite its contributing almost one-third of the UAE GDP, the oil sector employs a small percentage of the country’s workforce.

Geography UAE - Oil Gas Production
Oil and gas production, consumption and export in the UAE

Geography UAE - Oil Gas Reserves
UAE oil reserves and export revenue

Oil and Gas Companies

Hundreds of companies are involved in the UAE’s oil and natural-gas industry, in all its different stages and related fields and operations. The first oil exploration and drilling contract, a 75-year concession for all onshore rights in Abu Dhabi, was granted to the Petroleum Development Company (Trucial States), a subsidiary of the Iraq Petroleum Company, a joint venture of several oil giants, including BP, Shell, Total, and ExxonMobil.

Among the largest of these is the state-owned Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), which in 2005 produced 2.4 million barrels per day and is the sixth largest oil and gas company in the world. ADNOC has 14 subsidiary companies and operates onshore and offshore oil fields. The Supreme Petroleum Council, which oversees all oil and gas operations and companies in Abu Dhabi, also doubles as the Board of Directors for ADNOC. A subsidiary of ADNOC, the Abu Dhabi Marine Operating Company (ADMA-OPCO), partially owned by British, French, and Japanese interests, has the largest offshore petroleum concessions.

Among foreign companies, one of the oldest and largest is the Abu Dhabi Oil Company (ADOC), consisting originally of three separate Japanese companies that were granted a concession by the ruler of Abu Dhabi in 1967.

The country has developed a range of related industrial operations related to the oil industry, including refineries (such as ADNOC’s Ruwais and Umm al-Nar refineries in Abu Dhabi), petrochemical plants, and energy operations. These include several large oil- and gas-based water and power projects, especially the desalination plants in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The water and electricity authorities in both emirates (ADWEA and DWEA

Nuclear and Solar Energy

Much of the economic production of the UAE is centred in the oil-rich Emirate of Abu Dhabi. Oil, the main export product and the main source of wealth, is concentrated in Abu Dhabi, as are the main industries associated with oil, including refining, petrochemicals, and fertilizers. Other major industrial projects, such as aluminium, power plants, water desalination, and food production, are also concentrated in the industrial zones of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The largest power plants are located in Jebel Ali, in Dubai, and al-Taweela, in Abu Dhabi.

The country signed a deal in 2009 to build a nuclear power plant in Abu Dhabi, with four reactors having a capacity of 5600 MW upon completion, at a cost of USD 40 billion. The contracts to build the reactors, worth more than USD 20 billion, were awarded to the South Korean and Japanese consortium KEPCO. The same consortium was chosen in 2011 to build a thermal power plant in Abu Dhabi, at a cost of USD 1.4 billion. The research and planning for the nuclear plant were done under the supervision of a special body mandated for this purpose, Emirates Nuclear Energy Corporation (ENEC), and the government’s Federal Authority for Nuclear Regulation. In preparation, the UAE consulted with the IAEA and nuclear powers and concluded a nuclear-cooperation agreement with the United States in November 2009.

The UAE is planning to build the largest solar power plant in the world, with a capacity of approximately 100 MW, in Madinat Zayed (in Abu Dhabi) in 2012. Plans for another huge solar-power farm, described as the region’s largest, were announced in 2009 by the Dubai government.